DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Junichi (JP2011068411A, see Machine Translation for citations) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on December 21st, 2022).
Regarding Claim 1, Junichi discloses a manufacturing system for a battery pack ([001]), the battery pack including a stack and a restraining member (stack of unit cells, [001]) restraining the stack, [006], restraining band-54, [0015]), the stack includes a front surface and a rear surface opposing each other in the single direction (front surface and rear surface are opposite sides of the stack, Fig. 4), the manufacturing system comprising:
A first unit that applies a first pressures to press the front surface and the rear surface of the stack for a certain period of time so as to sandwich the stack in the single direction (front pressure plate-104a acts as first unit, [0068]); and
A second unit that causes the restraining member to restrain the stack while applying a second pressure to press the front surface and the rear surface of the stack so as to sandwich the stack in the single direction after the first unit presses unit presses the stack for a certain period of time (rear pressure plate-104b, [0068], left upper guide mechanism and right upper guide mechanism that are apply compression mechanism to front and rear surface respectively, stop operating in sequence, [0087]), wherein
The first unit includes:
A first pressure application portion that comes into contact with the front surface and the rear surface of the stack to press the front surface and the rear surface of the stack (front pressure-104a is clamped to stack structure-60 using pressure, [0069], compression mechanism section-104, [0077]); and
A first restriction portion that comes into contact with the stack to restrict a position of the stack (holding plates-52 as act restriction portions, [0101]),
The first pressure application portion presses the front surface and the rear surface of the stack in a state in which the first restriction portion is in contact with the stack (front pressure plate-104a contacts stack structure-60, Fig. 4, Fig. 5, [0022] [0069]),
The second unit includes:
A second pressure application portion that comes into contact with the front surface and the rear surface of the stack to press the front surface and the rear surface of the stack (rear pressure-104b is clamped to stack structure-60 using pressure, [0069], compression mechanism section-104, [0077]); and
A second restriction portion that comes into contact with the stack to restrict the position of the stack (holding plates-52 as act restriction portions, [0101]),
The second pressure application portion presses the front surface and the rear surface of the stack in a state in which the first restriction portion or the second restriction is in contact with the stack (rear pressure plate-104b contacts stack structure-60, Fig. 4, Fig. 5, [0022], [0069]), and
Junichi does not directly disclose wherein the second pressure is smaller than the first pressure.
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language in view of the specifications, the claim language “wherein the second pressure is smaller than the first pressure” can be interpreted to mean that the second pressure is any amount, including mere differences in pressure, less than the first pressure, as long as the pressure amount cause the restraining member to restrain the stack to which the second pressure is applied.
Junichi discloses wherein a restraint load is applied to the stack structure by a compression mechanism ([0085]). Junichi further discloses wherein the compression mechanism includes the front pressure plate and rear pressure plate ([0088]). Junichi further discloses wherein a predetermined compression pattern and restraint load are applied to the stack structure through the compression mechanism ([0094]). Junichi further discloses wherein the once the pressure load is applied to the stack, restraint bands are added and the battery pack structure is created ([0095]).
Therefore, absent a showing of criticality, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Junichi to have wherein the second pressure is smaller than the first pressure.
Regarding Claim 2, Junichi discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Junichi further discloses wherein the stack includes the end plates that sandwich cells in the single direction (end plates-53, Fig. 4, Fig. 5, [0098]),
The restraining member is a case that restrains the stack by accommodating the stack (restraint band-54 connects the end plates and accommodated the stack, [0022], Fig. 4 & Fig. 5, holding plates-52 act as restriction members, [0101]),
The two end plates each include projection extending in a single direction (end plates-53 have projection in stacking direction, [0015]),
Wherein the front half pressure application portion includes two front half pressure application members that respectively come into contact with the two end plates, the two first pressure application members come into contact with distal ends of the projection of the two end plates (104a- front pressure plate-104 has two sections that come into contact with the end plate, Fig. 1, [0068]),
The second application portion includes two second pressure application members that respectively come into contact with the two end plates (104b- rear pressure plate has two sections that come into contact with the end plate, Fig. 1, [0068]),
The second pressure application members include insertion portions that are each inserted between adjacent ones of the projection of the two end plates, and the insertion portions come into contact with the end plates so that the second pressure application portion causes the restraining member to accommodate the restraining member while pressing the stack (abutment bar-32 acts as insertion portions, Fig. 1, [0039]).
Regarding Claim 3, Junichi discloses the limitations as set forth above. Junichi discloses a controller that controls the first unit and the rear half-unit (guide support mechanism-102 controls compression mechanism-104, [0084]).
Junichi does not directly disclose wherein the controller: causes the first pressure application portion to apply the first pressure to press the stack for the certain period of time in a state in which the first restriction portion restricts the position of the stack, and then causes the first pressure application portion to apply the second pressure to press the stack in the state in which the first restriction portion restricts the position of the stack; brings the second restriction portion and the second pressure application portion into contact with the stack in the state in which the first restriction portion restricts the position of the stack and in a state in which the first pressure application portion applies the second pressure to press the stack; and separates the first restriction portion and the first pressure application portion from the stack in a state in which the second restriction portion restricts the position of the stack and in a state in which the second pressure application portion applies the second pressure to press the stack.
However, Junichi discloses wherein the guide support mechanism presses the left first guide member to start the compression mechanism ([0084]). Junichi further discloses wherein the stack structure is compressed in the stacking direction by compression based on predetermined compression pattern ([0084]). Junichi further discloses the left upper guide mechanisms and the right upper guide mechanism operating in sequence ([0087]). Junichi further discloses wherein the front pressure plate and the rear pressure plate compression mechanisms are relatively spaced apart to the greatest extent possible ([0088]). Junichi further discloses wherein the holding plates are used to restrict the battery stack ([0106]). Junichi further discloses wherein the completed battery pack is then detached from the stacking jig ([0089]). Junichi further discloses wherein when a constraint load is applied to the stack restraint bangs are assembled to the stack structure ([0085]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Junichi to have wherein the controller: causes the first pressure application portion to apply the first pressure to press the stack for the certain period of time in a state in which the first restriction portion restricts the position of the stack, and then causes the first pressure application portion to apply the second pressure to press the stack in the state in which the first restriction portion restricts the position of the stack; brings the second restriction portion and the second pressure application portion into contact with the stack in the state in which the first restriction portion restricts the position of the stack and in a state in which the first pressure application portion applies the second pressure to press the stack; and separates the first restriction portion and the first pressure application portion from the stack in a state in which the second restriction portion restricts the position of the stack and in a state in which the second pressure application portion applies the second pressure to press the stack.
Regarding Claim 4, Junichi discloses the limitations as set forth above. Junichi further discloses wherein the stack includes:
An upper surface (top side of the battery stack, Fig. 4);
A lower surface located opposite the upper surface (Fig. 4);
A first side surface continuous with the upper surface and the lower surface; a second side surface located opposite the first side surface; a first restriction pieces located at a corner position defined by the upper surface and the first side surface, the first restriction pieces being laid out in the single direction (restraint band-54 acts as first restriction piece on first side, Fig. 4), and
Second restriction pieces located at a corner portion defined by the upper surface and the second side surface, the second restriction pieces being laid out in the single direction (restraint band-54 on opposite side of first side is second restriction piece, Fig. 4),
The front surface and the rear surface are continuous with the upper surface, the lower surface, the first side surface and the second side surface (all surfaces are continuous with each other, Fig. 4).
The first restriction portion includes:
A first restriction member that comes into contact with the first restriction pieces (holding plate-52 on front side of battery stack act as front half restriction piece that is in contact with restraint band that acts as first restriction pieces, Fig. 4)
A second restriction member that comes into contact with the second restriction pieces, a third restriction member that comes into contact with the first restriction pieces, a fourth restriction member that comes into contact with the second restriction pieces (holding plates act as first restriction members, Fig. 4);
The first restriction member and the second restriction member respectively come into contact with the first restriction pieces and the second restriction pieces so as to sandwich the stack (restraint bands-54 hold holding plates-52 together, Fig. 4),
The third restriction member comes into contact with the first restriction pieces from above such that the first restriction pieces are pressed against the first restriction member (restraint bands-54 hold holding plates-52 together, Fig. 4). And
The fourth restriction member comes into contact with the second restation pieces from above such that the second restriction pieces are pressed against the second restriction member (restraint bands-54 hold holding plates-52 together, Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 8, Junichi in view of Kamo discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Junichi does not directly disclose wherein the predetermined time is such that the stack undergoes creep deformation.
The examiner notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language in view of the specification, “creep deformation” can be interpreted to mean any process that allows for the slow deformation of the materials being pressed which prevents the stack from returning to its original shape.
However, Junichi discloses wherein the compression mechanism has a upper limit and return limit position that allows for the stack structure to create a stack shape ([0089]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Junichi to have wherein the predetermined time is such that the stack undergoes creep deformation.
Regarding Claim 9, Junichi in view of Kamo discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Junichi further discloses wherein each of the front surface and the rear surface includes a first portion and a second portion different from the first portion ([0094]),
The first unit is configured to press the first portions of the front surface and the rear surface of the stack (front pressure plate is pressed, [0068]),
The second unit is configured to press the second portions of the front surface and the rear surface of the stack (rear pressure plate is pressed, [0068]),
The first pressure application portion is configured to come into contact with the first portions of the front surface and the rear surface of the stack to press the first portions of the front surface and the rear surface of the stack (compression mechanism with left guide, [0077], [0101]), and
The second pressure application portion is configured to come into contact with the second portions of the front surface and the rear surface of the stack to press the second positions of the front surface and the rear surface of the stack (compression mechanism with right guide, [0077], [0101]).
Claim(s) 5 & 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Junichi (JP2011068411A, see Machine Translation for citations) in view of Kamo (US20200235445).
Regarding Claim 5, Junichi discloses the limitations as set forth above. Junichi does not directly disclose wherein the second restriction portion includes: a fifth restriction member that comes into contact with the first restriction pieces; a sixth restriction member that comes into contact with the second restriction pieces; a seventh restriction member that comes into contact with the first restriction pieces; a eighth restriction member that comes into contact with the second restriction pieces, the fifth restriction member and the sixth restriction member respectively come into contact with the first restriction pieces and the second restriction pieces so as to sandwich the stack, the seventh restriction member comes into contact with the first restriction pieces from above such that the first restriction pieces are pressed against the fifth restriction member, and the eighth restriction member comes into contact with the second restriction pieces from above such that the second restriction pieces are pressed against the sixth restriction member.
Kamo discloses a battery stack structure that is pressed together with a pressure apparatus ([006]). Kamo further discloses wherein the battery stack structure has two sets of battery stacks that are held together with restraining members, bottom plates that form the front and rear plates of the battery stacks ([0067]). Kamo further discloses wherein the cushion members are used to hold the stack together (Fig. 4, cushion members-113a, [0111]). Kamo teaches that this structure provides improved heat dissipation, [007]).
The examiner notes that the second restraining members are identical to the front half restriction members but displaced to the rear of the battery stack as shown in instant Fig. 5. Therefore, it is the examiner’s position that by having a battery stack structure that contains two identical battery stack structure with the same restraining member structure would meet the claim limitations of claim 5.
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Junichi with the teachings of Kamo to have wherein the second restriction portion includes: a fifth restriction member that comes into contact with the first restriction pieces; a sixth restriction member that comes into contact with the second restriction pieces; a seventh restriction member that comes into contact with the first restriction pieces; a eighth restriction member that comes into contact with the second restriction pieces, the fifth restriction member and the sixth restriction member respectively come into contact with the first restriction pieces and the second restriction pieces so as to sandwich the stack, the seventh restriction member comes into contact with the first restriction pieces from above such that the first restriction pieces are pressed against the fifth restriction member, and the eighth restriction member comes into contact with the second restriction pieces from above such that the second restriction pieces are pressed against the sixth restriction member. This modification would yield the expected result of improved heat dissipation.
Regarding Claim 6, Junichi in view of Kamo discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Junchi does not directly disclose wherein the controller, when bringing the second restriction portion into contact with the stack, separates the first restriction member, the second restriction member, the third restriction member, and the fourth restriction member from the stack and then brings the fifth restriction member, the sixth restriction member, the seventh restriction member, and the eighth restriction member into contact with the stack.
Kamo discloses a battery stack structure that is pressed together with a pressure apparatus ([006]). Kamo further discloses wherein the battery stack structure has two sets of battery stacks that are held together with restraining members, bottom plates that form the front and rear plates of the battery stacks ([0067]). Kamo further discloses wherein the cushion members are used to hold the stack together (Fig. 4, cushion members-113a, [0111]). Kamo teaches that this structure provides improved heat dissipation, [007]).
The examiner notes that the second restraining members are identical to the front half restriction members but displaced to the rear of the battery stack as shown in instant Fig. 5. Therefore, it is the examiner’s position that by having a battery stack structure that contains two identical battery stack structures with the same restraining member structure would meet the claim limitations of claim 5 & 6 and that the controller of Junchi can be configured to apply pressure to the second restriction portion.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Junchi with the teachings of Kamo to have wherein the controller, when bringing the second restriction portion into contact with the stack, separates the first restriction member, the second restriction member, the third restriction member, and the fourth restriction member from the stack and then brings the fifth restriction member, the sixth restriction member, the seventh restriction member, and the eighth restriction member into contact with the stack. This modification would yield the expected result of improved heat dissipation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 27th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Junichi only discloses compression mechanism unit that acts as the “first unit” and does not disclose a “second unit”. Applicant further argues that the front pressure plate and rear pressure plate of Junichi disclose pressing the stack in a simultaneous manner and not through a first pressure and second pressure.
The examiner notes that the compression mechanism of Junichi comprises distinct structures of a left upper guide mechanism, right upper guide mechanism, a rear pressure plate, and a front pressure plate ([0087], [0088]). Junichi further discloses wherein the left upper guide mechanism and right upper guide mechanism stop operating in sequence, not simultaneously ([0087]).
The examiner further notes that under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, in view of the specifications, “sandwich the stack in a single direction” can be interpreted to mean that the stack is pressed to move the stack to a singular center point. The examiner points to instant paragraphs [0087-0088], where “the controller… brings the front-half pressure application portion in contact with the stack… the controller causes the rear-half pressure application portion to approach the stack”.
Therefore, it is the examiner’s position that Junichi discloses the limitations of Claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728