DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment
Claim 1 is amended and field on 2/2/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 a recites the limitation “a sheath disposed over the needle shaft and fixed in at least location thereon, the sheath sealing the needle slot thereunder but for a sheath opening in a proximal portion of the sheath” in lines 4-5. It is unclear if the slot is sealed completely or only a portion of the slot which under the sheath. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret the limitation such as “a sheath disposed over the needle shaft and fixed in at least location on the shaft, the sheath sealing the needle slot without sealing a portion of the slot under the a sheath opening in a proximal portion of the sheath” ( base on the applicant argument with regards to 112b) . Note: base on the applicant argues in the remark that the 112 that it is clear to the ordinary skill in the art if he reads the scope of claims through the specification, such as the sheath cover the needle slot except the portion under the sheath opening 162, Fig. 8-10 (need to write that similar in claim). As claimed , it is unclear if there is a portion of the slot under the sheath opening or not and Fig. 2 shows there is a sealing module that seal the slot. The applicant is advised to refine the claim such as to incorporate the sheath seals the needle slot except a portion under a sheath opening.
Claim 22 a recites the limitation “the strip sealing the needle slot thereunder but for a proximal portion of the needle slot, thereby creating an opening in a side of the introducer needle” in lines 4-6. It is unclear if the slot is sealed completely of just a portion of the slot which under the strip is sealed and leaving an opening free from sealing. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret the limitation such as “a sheath disposed over the needle shaft and fixed in at least location on the shaft, the sheath sealing the needle slot without sealing a portion of the slot under the a sheath opening in a proximal portion of the sheath” ( base on the applicant argument with regards to 112b) . Note: base on the applicant argues in the remark that the 112 that it is clear to the ordinary skill in the art if he reads the scope of claims through the specification, such as the sheath cover the needle slot except the portion under the sheath opening 162, Fig. 8-10 (need to write that similar in claim). As claimed , it is unclear if there is a portion of the slot under the sheath opening or not and Fig. 2 shows there is a sealing module that seal the slot. The applicant is advised to refine the claim such as to incorporate the sheath seals the needle slot except a portion under a sheath opening.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 17-19 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Makower et al. (US.5380290) (“ Makower”).
Re Claim 1, Makower discloses an introducer needle ( Fig 14-18), comprising: a needle shaft (shaft of 14) including a needle slot (20) extending from a proximal portion (close to 44) of the needle shaft through a distal needle tip (18), wherein the proximal portion is distal a proximal end of the needle shaft (close to 15); a sheath (54) disposed over the needle shaft and fixed in at least location thereon (22, ¶Fig. 17), the sheath sealing the needle slot thereunder (Fig. 17) but for a sheath opening (close to 56) in a proximal portion of the sheath (Fig. 17); and a needle hub around at least the proximal portion of the needle shaft (15).
Re Claim 17, Makower discloses wherein the sheath is disposed over the needle shaft with an engineering fit selected from a transition fit and an interference fit interference fit , Fig. 16).
Re Claim 18, Makower discloses wherein an outer surface of the needle shaft is textured or roughened ( the outer surface has a microscopic roughness as it made from a metal).
Re Claim 22, Makower discloses an introducer needle (Figs. 1-6), comprising: a needle shaft (14, Fig. 7) including a needle slot (26, 34) extending from a proximal portion of the needle shaft (close to 34) through a distal needle tip (close to 18); a longitudinal strip adhered to the needle shaft (layer 28), the strip sealing the needle slot thereunder (Col. 3, lines 45-60) but for a proximal portion of the needle slot ( at 34), thereby creating an opening in a side of the introducer needle (Fig. 7); and a needle hub around at least the proximal portion of the needle shaft (15, Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makower.
Re Claim 21, Makower is silent as to the specifics of the sheath has a sheath-wall thickness from about 0.006" to about 0.008". The instant disclosure describes the parameter of sheath-wall thickness as being merely preferable, and does not describe the sheath-wall thickness as contributing any unexpected results to the system ( see ¶0101 of the current application). As such, parameters such as sheath-wall thickness are considered to be matters of design choice, well within the skill of the ordinary artisan, obtained through routine experimentation in determining optimum results. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made that the limitation of the sheath-wall thickness would be dependent on the actual application of the system and, thus would be a design choice based on the actual application.
Claim(s) 2, 6, 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurth in view of Adams (US.20030205843A1).
Re Claim 2, Makower fails to disclose wherein the sheath is adhered to the needle shaft with an intervening adhesive.
However, Adams discloses a needle (20, ¶0040, Fig. 1-15) and wherein the sheath (40, Fig. 1-15) and wherein the sheath (40, Fig. 1-15) is adhered to the needle shaft with by one of: adhesive, welding or crimping (¶046).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify sheath of Makower so that the sheath is adhered to the needle shaft with an intervening adhesive as taught by Adams for the purpose of using an art recognized an alternative method of adhering the sheath (Adams, ¶0046).
Re Claim 6, Makower fails to disclose wherein the sheath is laser-welded to the needle shaft, the sheath translucent to at least a wavelength or range of wavelengths of a laser used to laser-weld the sheath to the needle shaft.
However, Adams discloses a needle (20, ¶0040, Fig. 1-15) and wherein the sheath (40, Fig. 1-15) is laser-welded to the needle shaft (¶040), the sheath translucent to at least a wavelength or range of wavelengths of a laser used to laser-weld the sheath to the needle shaft (¶0040, the sheath 40 is translucent to make the welding to the needle).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify sheath of Makower so that the sheath is laser-welded to the needle shaft, the sheath translucent to at least a wavelength or range of wavelengths of a laser used to laser-weld the sheath to the needle shaft as taught by Adams for the purpose of using an art recognized an alternative method of adhering the sheath (Adams, ¶0126).
Re Claim 12, Makower fails to disclose wherein the proximal portion of the needle shaft proximal of the needle slot includes a flared portion configured to restrict the sheath from proximally sliding over the needle shaft.
However, Adams discloses a needle (20, ¶0040, Fig. 1-15) and wherein the sheath (40, Fig. 1-15) and the proximal portion of the needle shaft proximal of the needle slot includes a flared portion configured to restrict the sheath from proximally sliding over the needle shaft (right portion of 21, Fig. 15).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the one-or-more protrusions of the needle of Makower so that the proximal portion of the needle shaft proximal of the needle slot includes a flared portion configured to restrict the sheath from proximally sliding over the needle shaft as taught by Adams for the purpose of securing the sheath on the needle (Adams, ¶0038).
Re Claim 13, Makower fails to disclose wherein the proximal portion of the needle shaft proximal of the needle slot includes a stepped portion configured to restrict the sheath from proximally sliding over the needle shaft.
However, Adams discloses a needle (20, ¶0040, Fig. 1-15) and wherein the sheath (40, Fig. 1-15) and wherein the proximal portion of the needle shaft proximal of the needle slot includes a stepped portion configured to restrict the sheath from proximally sliding over the needle shaft (right portion of 21, Fig. 15).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the one-or-more protrusions of the needle of Makower so that the proximal portion of the needle shaft proximal of the needle slot includes a stepped portion configured to restrict the sheath from proximally sliding over the needle shaft as taught by Adams for the purpose of securing the sheath on the needle (Adams, ¶0038).
Re Claim 14, Makower fails to disclose wherein the needle shaft includes a recessed portion between the proximal portion of the needle shaft and the needle tip configured to restrict the sheath from proximally or distally sliding over the needle shaft, the sheath disposed in the recessed portion of the needle shaft flush with a remainder of the needle shaft.
However, Adams discloses a needle (20, ¶0040, Fig. 1-15) and wherein the sheath (40, Fig. 1-15) and wherein the needle shaft includes a recessed portion (21, Fig. 14) between the proximal portion of the needle shaft and the needle tip configured to restrict the sheath from proximally or distally sliding over the needle shaft, the sheath (40) disposed in the recessed portion of the needle shaft flush with a remainder of the needle shaft (right portion of 21, Fig. 15).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the one-or-more protrusions of the needle of Makower so that the needle shaft includes a recessed portion between the proximal portion of the needle shaft and the needle tip configured to restrict the sheath from proximally or distally sliding over the needle shaft, the sheath disposed in the recessed portion of the needle shaft flush with a remainder of the needle shaft as taught by Adams for the purpose of securing the sheath on the needle (Adams, ¶0038).
Re Claim 15, Makower fails to disclose wherein the sheath includes an inwardly protruding protrusion in the proximal portion of sheath configured sit within the needle slot and abut a proximal end of the needle slot to restrict the sheath from proximally sliding over the needle shaft.
However, Adams discloses a needle (20, ¶0040, Fig. 1-16) and wherein the sheath (40, Fig. 1-15) and wherein the sheath (40) includes an inwardly protruding protrusion (80, Fig. 16, ¶0032) in the proximal portion of sheath capable to sit within the needle slot and abut a proximal end of the needle slot (48 or 18) to restrict the sheath from proximally sliding over the needle shaft (¶0045, Fig. 4).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the one-or-more protrusions of the needle of Makower so that the sheath includes an inwardly protruding protrusion in the proximal portion of sheath configured sit within the needle slot and abut a proximal end of the needle slot to restrict the sheath from proximally sliding over the needle shaft as taught by Adams for the purpose of securing the sheath on the needle (Adams, ¶0038).
Re Claim 16, Makower fails to disclose wherein the sheath includes an inwardly protruding longitudinal ridge extending from the proximal portion of sheath to a distal portion of the sheath, the ridge configured sit within the needle slot and abut a proximal end of the needle slot to restrict the sheath from proximally sliding over the needle shaft.
However, Adams discloses a needle (20, ¶0040, Fig. 1-16) and wherein the sheath (40, Fig. 1-15) and the sheath includes an inwardly protruding longitudinal ridge extending from the proximal portion of sheath to a distal portion of the sheath (portion in 70, Fig. 15), the ridge capable sit within the needle slot (18) and abut a proximal end of the needle slot to restrict the sheath from proximally sliding over the needle shaft (¶0045, Fig. 15).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the one-or-more protrusions of the needle of Makower so that the sheath includes an inwardly protruding longitudinal ridge extending from the proximal portion of sheath to a distal portion of the sheath, the ridge configured sit within the needle slot and abut a proximal end of the needle slot to restrict the sheath from proximally sliding over the needle shaft as taught by Adams for the purpose of securing the sheath on the needle (Adams, ¶0038).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makower in view of Adams and further in view of Hoshi et al. (US. 20210332274A1) (“Hoshi”).
Re Claim 3, Makower in view of Adams fails to disclose wherein the adhesive is a pressure- sensitive adhesive.
However, Hoshi disclose an adhesive material can be a pressure- sensitive adhesive (¶0026), epoxy (¶0029).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify adhesive of Makower in view of Hoshi so that the adhesive is a pressure- sensitive adhesive as taught by Hoshi for the purpose of using more efficient adhesive (Hoshi, ¶0026).
Re Claim 4, Makower in view of Adams fails to disclose wherein the adhesive is a cured epoxy resin.
However, Hoshi discloses an adhesive material can be a pressure- sensitive adhesive (¶0026) or epoxy (¶0029).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify adhesive of Makower in view of Hoshi so that the adhesive is a cured epoxy resin as taught by Hoshi for the purpose of using more efficient adhesive (Hoshi, ¶0026).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makower in view of Adams and further in view of Poole et al. (US. 7172587B2) (“Poole”).
Re Claim 5, Makower in view of Adams fails to disclose wherein the adhesive is a cured tie- layer resin.
However, Poole discloses an adhesive material can be a tie layer (Col. 6, line 62 up to Col. 7, line 5).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify adhesive of Makower in view of Poole so that the adhesive is a cured tie-layer resin as taught by Poole for the purpose of using an art recognized bonding adhesive (Poole, ¶0026).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makower in view of Adams and further in view of Woehr et al. (US. 20160175563A1) (“Woehr”).
Re Claim 7, Makower in view of Adams fails to disclose wherein the sheath is translucent to visible light, thereby enabling a user to witness blood flash into the needle shaft through the sheath sealing the needle slot thereunder upon performing a percutaneous puncture with the introducer needle.
However, Woehr discloses a needle (¶0181, Fig. 22) and wherein the sheath (300, Fig. 22) is translucent to visible light, thereby enabling a user to witness blood flash into the needle shaft through the sheath sealing the needle slot thereunder upon performing a percutaneous puncture with the introducer needle (¶0181, the sheath 300 cover the slot 120).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify sheath of Makower so that the sheath is translucent to visible light, thereby enabling a user to witness blood flash into the needle shaft through the sheath sealing the needle slot thereunder upon performing a percutaneous puncture with the introducer needle as taught by Woehr for the purpose of indicating that the needle is accessing the vascular (Woehr, ¶0182).
Claim(s) 8-9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makower in view of Khaw (US. 20070276288A1).
Re Claim 8, Makower fails to disclose wherein the needle shaft includes one or more outwardly protruding protrusions in the proximal portion of needle shaft proximal of the needle slot, the proximal portion of needle shaft distal of the needle slot, a distal portion of needle shaft proximal of the needle tip, or a combination thereof, the one-or-more protrusions configured to restrict the sheath from sliding over the needle shaft.
However, Khaw discloses a needle (134, ¶040, Fig. 3A-B) comprises a slot (136) and the sheath (140) and wherein the needle shaft includes one or more outwardly protruding protrusions (160, ¶0043, Fig. 3a-b) in the proximal portion of needle shaft proximal of the needle slot (lower portion of 134, Fig. 3A-B), the proximal portion of needle shaft distal of the needle slot, a distal portion of needle shaft proximal of the needle tip, or a combination thereof, the one-or-more protrusions configured to restrict the sheath from sliding over the needle shaft ( restrict the motion of the sheath around the needle, ¶0045).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify needle of Makower so that the needle shaft includes one or more outwardly protruding protrusions in the proximal portion of needle shaft proximal of the needle slot, the proximal portion of needle shaft distal of the needle slot, a distal portion of needle shaft proximal of the needle tip, or a combination thereof, the one-or-more protrusions configured to restrict the sheath from sliding over the needle shaft as taught by Khaw for the purpose of controlling the position of the sheath with respect to the needle (Khaw, ¶0044).
Re Claim 9, Makower fails to disclose wherein the one-or-more protrusions are one or more pillars, respectively.
However, Khaw discloses a needle (134, ¶040, Fig. 3A-B) comprises a slot (136) and the sheath (140) and wherein the needle shaft includes one or more outwardly protruding protrusions (160, ¶0043, Fig. 3a-b) in the proximal portion of needle shaft proximal of the needle slot (lower portion of 134, Fig. 3A-B), and wherein the one-or-more protrusions are one or more pillars, respectively (pin is pillar 160).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify needle of Makower so that the one-or-more protrusions are one or more pillars, respectively as taught by Khaw for the purpose of controlling the position of the sheath with respect to the needle (Khaw, ¶0044).
Re Claim 11, Makower fails to disclose wherein the sheath includes one or more through holes shaped in accordance with the one-or-more protrusions, the one-or-more protrusions of the needle shaft disposed in the one-or-more through holes of the sheath, respectively.
However, Khaw discloses a needle (134, ¶040, Fig. 3A-B) comprises a slot (136) and the sheath (140) and wherein the needle shaft includes one or more outwardly protruding protrusions (160, ¶0043, Fig. 3a-b) in the proximal portion of needle shaft proximal of the needle slot (lower portion of 134, Fig. 3A-B), and the sheath includes one or more through holes shaped in accordance with the one-or-more protrusions (162), the one-or-more protrusions of the needle shaft disposed in the one-or-more through holes of the sheath, respectively (pin is pillar 160 in within the hole 162, ¶0045).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify needle and the sheath of Makower so that the sheath includes one or more through holes shaped in accordance with the one-or-more protrusions, the one-or-more protrusions of the needle shaft disposed in the one-or-more through holes of the sheath, respectively as taught by Khaw for the purpose of controlling the position of the sheath with respect to the needle (Khaw, ¶0044).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makower in view of Khaw and further in view of Adams.
Re Claim 10, Makower in view of Khaw fails to disclose wherein the one-or-more protrusions are one or more arcuate ridges, respectively, each arcuate ridge of the one-or-more arcuate ridges along at least a portion of a circumference of the needle shaft.
However, Adams discloses a needle (20, ¶0040, Fig. 1-15) and wherein the sheath (40, Fig. 1-15) and wherein the one-or-more protrusions are one or more arcuate ridges (21, Fig. 14-1)5, respectively, each arcuate ridge of the one-or-more arcuate ridges along at least a portion of a circumference of the needle shaft (Fig. 15).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the one-or-more protrusions of the needle of Makower in view of Khaw so that the one-or-more protrusions are one or more arcuate ridges, respectively, each arcuate ridge of the one-or-more arcuate ridges along at least a portion of a circumference of the needle shaft as taught by Adams for the purpose of securing the sheath on the needle (Adams, ¶0038).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makower in view of Kurth et al. (US. 20090187147A1) (“Kurth”).
Re Claim 19, Makower fails to disclose wherein the sheath has a sheath-wall thickness from about 0.001" to about 0.003".
However, Kurth discloses an insertion device and wherein the sheath has a sheath-wall thickness from about 0.001" to about 0.003" (¶059, thickness (e.g. OD 0.032’ – ID 0.027’)/2= 0.0025”).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify sheath of Makower so that the sheath is adhered to the needle shaft with an intervening adhesive as taught by Kurth for the purpose of using an art recognized sized of the blood insertion device (Kurth, ¶0059).
Re Claim 20, Makower discloses wherein the sheath has a sheath-wall thickness of about 0.003" to about 0.006".
However, Kurth discloses an insertion device and wherein the sheath has a sheath-wall thickness of about 0.003" to about 0.006" (¶059, thickness (e.g. OD 0.032’ – ID 0.027’)/2= 0.0025” which is about 0.003” as word about is interpret as approximately).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify sheath of Makower so that the sheath has a sheath-wall thickness of about 0.003" to about 0.006" as taught by Kurth for the purpose of using an art recognized sized of the blood insertion device (Kurth, ¶0059).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/2/2026 with regards to 112 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the one ordinary skill in the art would understand that claim means that the sheath covers the needle slot except the portion under the sheath opening 162, Fig. 8-10. As claimed, it is unclear if there is a portion of the slot under the sheath opening or not and Fig. 2 shows there is a sealing module that seals the slot. Therefore, the applicant is advised to refine the claim such as to incorporate that the sheath seals the needle slot except a portion of the slot located under a sheath opening.
Applicant’s arguments filed on 2/2/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 2/2/2026 with regards to claim 22 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant that the Makower sheath is covering all the slot and the guidewire pierces the sheath to enter the needle’s slot, therefore there is no sheath opening. This is found not persuasive as claimed, the opening is created (for guidewire) even if it created by piercing the sheath. The applicant may further define the sheath’ opening such as strip is sealing the slot except a proximal portion of the slot which form an opening. Etc.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAMZA A DARB/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783