DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response filed on 4/10/2026
Hereon, claims 1-22 are currently pending; claims 1-22 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,6,7,18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SABO, (USNO.2012/0146426).
As for claim 1, Sabo discloses and shows in Fig. 7 a tool ( ref’s appliance/ power tool) having a tool housing, a motor disposed in the tool housing, and a rechargeable battery pack, the tool comprising: first and second receivers (ref’s primary and secondary coil) disposed in the tool housing and adapted to wirelessly receive energy to supply power the motor (via supply power from the battery) (par.[0024,0032-0034,0046,0055]).
As for claim 2, Sabo discloses and shows the first and second receivers are disposed in different planes
As for claim 3, Sabo discloses and shows the first and second receivers are coils of wire.
As for claim 6, Sabo discloses and shows an the first and second receivers are further adapted, to supply power to the rechargeable battery pack
As for claim 7, Sabo discloses and first and second receivers are further adapted to supply the power to the rechargeable battery pack
As for claim 18, Sabo discloses and shows in Figs. 7 a system for wirelessly providing power, the system comprising: a transmitting structure including transmitters adapted to produce a multidimensional magnetic or electromagnetic field at a frequency; and a receiving structure including receivers and a voltage converter, wherein the receivers are adapted to receive energy from the multidimensional magnetic or electromagnetic field, and the voltage converter is adapted to convert the energy to a voltage to be applied to a motor of a power tool (via supply from the battery).
As for claim 19, Sabo discloses and shows transmitting structure includes a sidewall, and the transmitters are disposed in the sidewall
As for claim 20, Sabo discloses and shows receiving structure is disposed in a power tool
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4,5,11-12,21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SABO in view of Melone et al, (Melone), (USNO.2022/0255361).
As for claim 4, SABO discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose first and second receivers are antennae
Melone discloses first and second receivers are antennae (par.[0005,0015-0015,0082, 0127])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have modified the teachings of SABO by using first and second receivers are antennae for advantages such as providing to optimizing power transfer (par.[0004]) , as taught by Melone.
As for claim 5, Sabo in combination with Melone discloses and shows first and second receivers are antennae and coils of wire
As for claim 21, Sabo in combination with Melone discloses and shows the frequency is in a range of about 6.87 MHz to about 13.56 MHz (par.[0015-0018]).
As for claim 22, Sabo in combination with Melone discloses and shows a sensor that is adapted to sense the multidimensional magnetic or electromagnetic field in the frequency range of about 6.87 MHz to about 13.56 MHz to cause the receivers to receive the multidimensional magnetic or electromagnetic field (par.[0015-0018]).
Claim(s) 8-13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SABO in view of Melone and further in view of Vahle et al, (USPATNO.11,522,382)
As for claim 8, Sabo discloses and shows in Figs. 7 and 14 an adapter for a power operated tool, the adapter comprising: an adapter housing including a tool attachment portion adapted to couple to the tool, and a battery attachment portion adapted to couple to a rechargeable battery pack; and a receiver disposed in the adapter housing and adapted to wirelessly received energy to supply power to at least one of the tool and the rechargeable battery pack (par.[0024,0032-0034,0046,0055]).
SABO discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a adapter (via charger) housing adapted to be disposd between the tool and a rechargeable battery pack
Vahle discloses and shows in Fig. 8 a adapter housing adapted to be disposed between the tool and a rechargeable battery pack (col.13, lines 28-33,51-60)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have modified the teachings of SABO by having an adapter housing adapted to be disposd between the tool and a rechargeable battery pack for advantages such as providing to optimizing power transfer (col.13, lines 51-60) , as taught by Vahle.
As for claim 9, Sabo discloses and shows receiver includes first and second receivers that are disposed in different planes
As for claim 10, Sabo discloses and shows the receiver is a coil of wire
As for claim 11, Sabo in combination with Vahle and Melone discloses and shows the receiver is an antenna.
As for claim 12, Sabo in combination with Vahle and Melone discloses and shows the receiver is an antenna and a coil of wire.
As for claim 13, Sabo discloses and shows an AC/DC converter electrically coupled to an output of the receiver.
As for claim 14, Sabo discloses and shows the AC/DC converter converts the energy into an electrical current to supply the power to the at least one of the tool and the rechargeable battery pack
Claim(s) 15,16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SABO in view of Ettes et al, (USNO.2011/0163714)
As for claim 15, Sabo discloses and shows in Figs. 7 and 14 a transmitting structure for wirelessly providing energy to a receiver, the transmitting structure comprising: a sidewall; and transmitters disposed in the sidewall, wherein the transmitters are respectively oriented in different planes and are adapted to produce a multidimensional magnetic or electromagnetic field radiating outwardly away from a sidewall (par.[0024,0032-0034,0046,0055]).
SABO discloses all limitations, but differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose first and second sidewalls angularly oriented with respect to each other; first and second transmitter and the transmitters are respectively oriented in different planes
Ettes discloses and shows in Figs 1. and 7 first and second sidewalls angularly oriented with respect to each other, first and second transmitter, and the transmitters are respectively oriented in different planes (par.[0045])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have modified the teachings of SABO by using first and second sidewalls angularly oriented with respect to each other; and first and second transmitter for advantages such as providing to optimizing power transfer and decreasing charging time (par.[0062]) , as taught by Ettes.
As for claim 16, Sabo in combination with Ettes discloses and shows at least one sidewall includes first and second sidewalls that are oriented substantially perpendicularly with respect to each other
As for claim 17, Sabo discloses and shows the first transmitters includes more than one transmitter disposed in the first sidewall
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. -
In response to applicants’ argument that
Sabo make no mention of power being transferred from the induction power transfer device to a motor in the appliance, as claimed. Accordingly, Sabo fails to disclose the features of amended independent claims 1 and 18.
II. Sabo does not disclose any type of adapter housing that is adapted to be disposed between a tool and a rechargeable battery pack, where the adapter housing includes a tool attachment portion adapted to couple to the tool and a battery attachment portion adapted to couple to a rechargeable battery pack, and a receiver disposed in the adapter housing and adapted to wirelessly received energy to supply power to at least one of the tool and the rechargeable battery pack, as claimed
The examiner respectfully disagree and submits,
Sabo discloses and shows in Fig. 7 a tool ( ref’s appliance/ power tool) having a tool housing, a motor disposed in the tool housing, and a rechargeable battery pack, the tool comprising: first and second receivers (ref’s primary and secondary coil) disposed in the tool housing and adapted to wirelessly receive energy to supply power the motor (via supply power from the battery) (par.[0024,0032-0034,0046,0055]).
Sabo in combination with Vahle discloses and shows in Fig. 8 a adapter housing adapted to be disposed between the tool and a rechargeable battery pack (col.13, lines 28-33,51-60), which is indicated above in a new rejection necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARUN C WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859