DETAILED ACTION
The instant detailed action is in response to Applicant's submission filed on 21 December 2022.
REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1,5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US PG PUB No. 2018/0137005) in view of Bland (US PG PUB No. 2010/0293410).
As per claim 1, Wu discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a memory chip stack comprising memory chips having a first plurality of memory channels (see Wu [0059]: “In one example , each of the four stacks has 16 banks , which are divided into two channels ( Channel O ( CH [ 0 ] ) and Channel 1 ( CH [ 1 ] ) . While the mapping of banks can be any configuration , as shown , the banks to one side belong to Channel 0 , and the banks to the other side belong to Channel 1”),
However, Wu does not expressly disclose but in the same field of endeavor Bland discloses
where, non-yielding ones of the memory channels are to be disabled during operation of the memory chip stack, wherein, the first plurality of memory channels have a second plurality of memory banks, where non-yielding ones of the memory banks within yielding ones of the memory channels are to be disabled during the operation of the memory chip stack (see Bland FIG 2: 206 and [0028] and [0035]) .
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to disable the non-yielding ones of memory channels and banks as taught by Bland.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for the benefit of defect management (see Bland [0024]: “a defective DIMM of a particular channel in the computer memory subsystem (101); and disabling the defective DIMM, including enabling ODT for the defective DIMM without disabling any non-defective DIMMs.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to disable non-yielding ones of the memory channels and banks as suggesting by Bland for the benefit of defect management to arrive at the invention as specified in the claims.
As per claim 4, the apparatus of claim 1
wherein all yielding ones of the memory channels are to be enabled (see Bland FIG 2: 206).
As per claim 5, the apparatus of claim 4
wherein all yielding banks of the yielded memory channels are to be enabled (see Bland FIG 2: 206).
As per claim 6, the apparatus of claim 1
wherein the plurality of memory channels comprises at least 64 memory channels per memory chip of the memory chips (see Wu [0042]: “Different channel and bank configurations are possible.”)
As per claim 7, the apparatus of claim 6
wherein the plurality of memory channels comprises at least 128 memory channels per memory chip (see Wu [0042]: “Different channel and bank configurations are possible.”)
As per claim 8, the apparatus of claim 1
wherein at least some of the respective power and ground nodes of those of the memory channels on a same one of the memory chips are electrically isolated from one another (see Bland [0028]).
[Disabling selective parts requires isolating.]
Claim 9,12-17,20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US PG PUB No. 2018/0137005) in view of Bland (US PG PUB No. 2010/0293410) and Hendry (US PG PUB No. 20110252180)
As per claim 9, an apparatus, comprising:
a memory chip stack comprising memory chips having a first plurality of memory channels (see Wu [0059]: “In one example , each of the four stacks has 16 banks , which are divided into two channels ( Channel O ( CH [ 0 ] ) and Channel 1 ( CH [ 1 ] ) . While the mapping of banks can be any configuration , as shown , the banks to one side belong to Channel 0 , and the banks to the other side belong to Channel 1”),
a logic chip, the memory chip stack mounted to the logic chip (see Wu FIG 2D: 240),
However, Wu does not expressly disclose but in the same field of endeavor Hendry discloses
where, non-yielding ones of the memory channels are to be disabled during operation of the memory chip stack, wherein, the first plurality of memory channels have a second plurality of memory banks, where, non-yielding ones of the memory banks within yielding ones of the memory channels are to be disabled during the operation of the memory chip stack (see Bland FIG 2: 206 and [0028] and [0035]); and
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to disable the non-yielding ones of memory channels and banks as taught by Bland.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for the benefit of defect management (see Bland [0024]: “a defective DIMM of a particular channel in the computer memory subsystem (101); and disabling the defective DIMM, including enabling ODT for the defective DIMM without disabling any non-defective DIMMs.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to disable non-yielding ones of the memory channels and banks as suggesting by Bland for the benefit of defect management to arrive at the invention as specified in the claims.
However, Wu does not expressly disclose but in the same field of endeavor Hendry discloses
the logic chip comprising a decoder with interleaving circuitry, the interleaving circuitry to implement memory address interleaving that does not map host addresses to the non-yielding ones of the memory channels and the non-yielding ones of the memory banks (see Hendry [0116]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wu to further implement interleaving circuitry that dynamically maps as taught by Hendry.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for the benefit of improving power consumption (See Hendry [0005]).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wu to further implement interleaving circuitry with dynamic mapping for the benefit of improved power consumption to arrive at the invention as specified in the claims.
As per claim 12, the apparatus of claim 9
wherein all yielding ones of the memory channels are to be enabled (see Bland FIG 2: 206).
As per claim 13, the apparatus of claim 12
wherein all yielding banks of the yielded memory channels are to be enabled (see Bland FIG 2: 206).
As per claim 14, the apparatus of claim 9
wherein the plurality of memory channels comprises at least 64 memory channels per memory chip of the memory chips (see Wu [0042]: “Different channel and bank configurations are possible.”)
As per claim 15, the apparatus of claim 14
wherein the plurality of memory channels comprises at least 128 memory channels per memory chip (see Wu [0042]: “Different channel and bank configurations are possible.”)
As per claim 16, the apparatus of claim 9
wherein at least some of the respective power and ground nodes of those of the memory channels on a same one of the memory chips are electrically isolated from one another (see Bland [0028]).
[Disabling selective parts requires isolating.]
As per claim 17, a computing system, comprising:
a memory chip stack comprising memory chips having a first plurality of memory
channels (see Wu [0059]: “In one example , each of the four stacks has 16 banks , which are divided into two channels ( Channel O ( CH [ 0 ] ) and Channel 1 ( CH [ 1 ] ) . While the mapping of banks can be any configuration , as shown , the banks to one side belong to Channel 0 , and the banks to the other side belong to Channel 1”),
a logic chip, the memory chip stack mounted to the logic chip, (see Wu FIG 2D: 240), the logic chip comprising at least one of a general purpose processing core, a graphics processing core, a computational accelerator, a machine learning core, an inference engine core, an image processing core, and an infrastructure processing unit core (see e.g., Wu [0033]).
[The interconnect parts are taken as part of the logic chip.]
However, Wu does not expressly disclose but in the same field of endeavor Bland discloses
where, non-yielding ones of the memory channels are to be disabled during operation of the memory chip stack, wherein, the first plurality of memory channels have a second plurality of memory banks, where, non-yielding ones of the memory banks within yielding ones of the memory channels are to be disabled during the operation of the memory chip stack (see Bland FIG 2: 206 and [0028] and [0035]); and
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to disable the non-yielding ones of memory channels and banks as taught by Bland.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for the benefit of defect management (see Bland [0024]: “a defective DIMM of a particular channel in the computer memory subsystem (101); and disabling the defective DIMM, including enabling ODT for the defective DIMM without disabling any non-defective DIMMs.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to disable non-yielding ones of the memory channels and banks as suggesting by Bland for the benefit of defect management to arrive at the invention as specified in the claims.
However, Wu does not expressly disclose but
the logic chip comprising a decoder with interleaving circuitry, the interleaving circuitry to implement memory address interleaving that does not map host addresses to the non-yielding ones of the memory channels and the non-yielding ones of the memory banks (see Hendry [0116]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wu to further implement interleaving circuitry that dynamically maps active and inactive memory as taught by Hendry.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for the benefit of improving power consumption (See Hendry [0005]).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wu to further implement interleaving circuitry with dynamic mapping for the benefit of improved power consumption to arrive at the invention as specified in the claims.
As per claim 20, the computing system of claim 17
wherein all yielding ones of the memory channels are to be enabled (see Bland FIG 2: 206).
As per claim 21, an apparatus, comprising:
a logic chip, a memory chip stack to be mounted to the logic chip , (see Wu FIG 2D: 240),
the logic chip comprising at least one of a general purpose processing core, a graphics processing core, a computational accelerator, a machine learning core, an inference engine core, an image processing core, and an infrastructure processing unit core (see Wu [0033])
[The interconnect parts are taken as part of the logic chip.]
However, Wu does not expressly disclose distinguishing between yielding and non-yielding ones of the memory chip but in the same field of endeavor Bland discloses managing defective (i.e., nonyielding) memory (see Bland FIG 2: 206 and [0028] and [0035]); and
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to disable the non-yielding ones of memory channels and banks as taught by Bland.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for the benefit of defect management (see Bland [0024]: “a defective DIMM of a particular channel in the computer memory subsystem (101); and disabling the defective DIMM, including enabling ODT for the defective DIMM without disabling any non-defective DIMMs.”).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to disable non-yielding ones of the memory channels and banks as suggesting by Bland for the benefit of defect management to arrive at the invention as specified in the claims.
However, Wu does not expressly disclose but in the same field of endeavor Hendry discloses
the logic chip comprising a decoder with interleaving circuitry, the interleaving circuitry to implement memory address interleaving that does not map host addresses to non-yielding ones of the memory chip stack's memory channels nor to non-yielding memory banks of yielding ones of the memory chip stack's memory channels (see Hendry [0116]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wu to further implement interleaving circuitry that dynamically maps active and inactive memory as taught by Hendry.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for the benefit of improving power consumption (See Hendry [0005]).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wu to further implement interleaving circuitry with dynamic mapping for the benefit of improved power consumption to arrive at the invention as specified in the claims.
Claim 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Wu (US PG PUB No. 2018/0137005) in view of Bland (US PG PUB No. 2010/0293410) as applied to claims 1 above and further in view of Schmier (US PG PUB No. 20140244899).
As per claim 2, the apparatus of claim 1
However, Wu does not expressly disclose but in the same field of endeavor Schimer discloses
wherein yielding ones of the memory channels are to be disabled so that there is a predetermined number of working memory channels on each of the memory chips (Schmier [0115]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to disable predetermined number of working memory devices as taught by Schmier.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for the benefit of improving device lifetime (Schmier [0115]).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Schmier to further disable predetermined number of working memory devices as taught by Schmier for the benefit of improving device life time to arrive at the invention as specified in the claims.
As per claim 3, the apparatus of claim 1
However, Wu does not expressly disclose but in the same field of endeavor Schmier discloses
wherein yielding ones of the memory banks are to be disabled so that there is a predetermined number of working memory banks in each of the memory channels (Schmier [0115]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to disable predetermined number of working memory devices as taught by Schmier.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for the benefit of improving device lifetime (Schmier [0115]).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Schmier to further disable predetermined number of working memory devices as taught by Schmier for the benefit of improving device life time to arrive at the invention as specified in the claims.
Claim 10-11,18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US PG PUB No. 2018/0137005) in view of Bland (US PG PUB No. 2010/0293410) and Hendry (US PG PUB No. 20110252180) as applied to claims 9 and 17 above and further in view of Schmier (US PG PUB No. 20140244899).
As per claim 10, the apparatus of claim 9
However, Wu does not expressly disclose but in the same field of endeavor Schmier discloses
wherein yielding ones of the memory channels are to be disabled so that there is a predetermined number of working memory channels on each of the memory chips (Schmier [0115]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to disable predetermined number of working memory devices as taught by Schmier.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for the benefit of improving device lifetime (Schmier [0115]).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Schmier to further disable predetermined number of working memory devices as taught by Schmier for the benefit of improving device life time to arrive at the invention as specified in the claims.
As per claim 11, the apparatus of claim 9
However, Wu does not expressly disclose but in the same field of endeavor Schmier discloses
wherein yielding ones of the memory banks are to be disabled so that there is a predetermined number of working memory banks in each of the memory channels (Schmier [0115]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to disable predetermined number of working memory devices as taught by Schmier.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for the benefit of improving device lifetime (Schmier [0115]).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Schmier to further disable predetermined number of working memory devices as taught by Schmier for the benefit of improving device life time to arrive at the invention as specified in the claims.
As per claim 18, the computing system of claim 17
However, Wu does not expressly disclose but in the same field of endeavor Schmier discloses
wherein yielding ones of the memory channels are to be disabled so that there is a predetermined number of working memory channels on each of the memory chips (Schmier [0115]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to disable predetermined number of working memory devices as taught by Schmier.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for the benefit of improving device lifetime (Schmier [0115]).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Schmier to further disable predetermined number of working memory devices as taught by Schmier for the benefit of improving device life time to arrive at the invention as specified in the claims.
As per claim 19, the computing system of claim 17
However, Wu does not expressly disclose but in the same field of endeavor Schmier discloses
wherein yielding ones of the memory banks are to be disabled so that there is a predetermined number of working memory banks in each of the memory channels (Schmier [0115]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to disable predetermined number of working memory devices as taught by Schmier.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for the benefit of improving device lifetime (Schmier [0115]).
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Schmier to further disable predetermined number of working memory devices as taught by Schmier for the benefit of improving device life time to arrive at the invention as specified in the claims.
CONCLUSION
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. 20130265067: The Configurable Vertical Integration [CVI] invention pertains to methods and apparatus for the enhancement of yields of 3D or stacked integrated circuits and herein referred to as a CVI Integrated Circuit [CVI IC]. The CVI methods require no testing of circuit layer components prior to their fabrication as part of a 3D integrated circuit. The CVI invention uses active circuitry to configure the CVI IC as a means to isolate or prevent the use of defective circuitry. CVI circuit configuration method can be predominately described as a large grain method (Abstract).
DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
/KALPIT PARIKH/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2137
KALPIT . PARIKH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2137