Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, “In contrast, the amended claims recite ‘a source domain for a main classification task,’ ‘a target domain for the main classification task,’ and ‘the source domain and target domain having different input distributions for the main classification task.’” Li section 4.2 teaches “Note that we adaptively choose techniques for our model according to label distribution shift across the source and target domains.” Label distribution shift is the different input distributions of label ration. Table 1 shows that each set of data has a different ratio of labeled input data.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 15-21 invoke means-for interpretation. Specification 100 teaches “The means may include various hardware and/or software component(s) and/or module(s), including, but not limited to, a circuit, an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), or processor.” The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1, 8 15 and 22 recite “source domain and target domain having different input distributions for the main classification task…” This is not described or mentioned in the specification. This is not a term of art.
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The phrase “adapting the machine learning model at test time on the target domain by regularizing weights of the machine learning model” in claims 1, 8, 14 and 22 is opposite the accepted meaning of using test data at test time to see if the model has achieved a level of accuracy such that the model doesn’t need another training iteration.
Claims 1, 8, 15 and 22 recite “source domain and target domain having different input distributions for the main classification task…” This is not defined in the specification because it is not described in the specification. It is not a term of art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, 20-25 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cross-Domain Sentiment Classification with In-Domain Contrastive Learning by Li et al and Overcoming catastrophic forgetting in neural networks by Kirkpatrick et al (Kirk).
Claims 5, 12, 19 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cross-Domain Sentiment Classification with In-Domain Contrastive Learning by Li et al, Overcoming catastrophic forgetting in neural networks by Kirkpatrick et al (Kirk) and US20190325861A1 to Singh et al.
Li teaches claims 1, 8, 15 and 22. A (Li fig. 1 below)
Li Fig. 1
training a machine learning model on a source domain for a main classification task; (Li fig. 1 below. Source data is the claims source domain. Li fig. 1 desc. “The model is jointly trained on the three objectives.” The source data is the data for a main classification task.)
testing the machine learning model on a target domain for the main classification task, after training the machine learning model on the source domain, the source domain and target domain having different input distributions for the main classification task; and (Li sec. 4.1 p. 5 “We also train BERT on the source labeled data and directly test on the target labeled data…” Target data is the target domain.
Li sec. 4.2 “Note that we adaptively choose techniques for our model according to label distribution shift across the source and target domains.”
adapting the machine learning model at test time on the target domain by regularizing weights of the machine learning model such that (Li fig. 1 desc. “The model is jointly trained on the three objectives.” The third objective is the target data/domain. Li says that they train differently based on shift in the data set.1 Part of Li’s training includes regularizing/updating weights, Li sec. 4.1 p. 5 where they teach that their weights are regularized2 during training, “On the neural network training, we use the AdamW [24] optimizer with learning rate 2e − 5, linear learning rate scheduler, linear learning rate warm up, warm up steps 0.1 of total training steps and weight decay 0.01.” Regularizing weight decay regularizes weights.)
Li doesn’t teach changing penalties.
However, Kirk teaches a processor, memory, computer readable media… (Kirk p. 5 “the EWC approach presented here makes use of a single network with fixed resources (i.e. network capacity) and has minimal computational overhead.” Computational overhead includes memory and processors.) individual shift-agnostic weights that are insensitive to domain shifts between the source domain and the target domain are subjected to a higher penalty than individual shift-biased (Kirk sec. 1 p. 2 “elastic weight consolidation (EWC for short). This algorithm slows down learning on certain weights based on how important they are to previously seen tasks.” Kirk’s “importance” is shift sensitivity. Kirk sec. 2 p.3 “when we use EWC, and thus take into account how important each weight is to task A, the network can learn task B well without forgetting task A (red curves)…. When moving to a third task, task C, EWC will try to keep the network parameters close to the learned parameters of both task A and B. This can be enforced either with two separate penalties, or…” The higher penalty for important weights is taught throughout Kirk, including sec. 1 p. 2, “This algorithm slows down learning on certain weights based on how important they are to previously seen tasks…. While learning task B, EWC therefore protects the performance in task A by constraining the parameters to stay in a region of low error for task A centered around θ∗ A, as shown schematically in Figure 1. This constraint is implemented as a quadratic penalty, and can therefore be imagined as a spring anchoring the parameters to the previous solution, hence the name elastic. Importantly, the stiffness of this spring should not be the same for all parameters; rather, it should be greater for those parameters that matter most to the performance during task A.”)
Li, Kirk and the claims are all learning algorithms. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to use Kirk for weight regularization because Kirk’s “EWC approach presented here makes use of a single network with fixed resources (i.e. network capacity) and has minimal computational overhead.” Kirk p. 5.
Li teaches claims 2, 9, 16 and 23. The processor-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising training the machine learning model based on a main task loss and an auxiliary task loss. (Li fig. 1 main task loss is entropy loss and auxiliary task loss is contrastive loss, see below.)
Li teaches claims 3, 10, 17 and 24. The processor-implemented method of claim 2, in which the main task loss is based on an entropy derived from a predicted probability, by the machine learning model, on test samples from the target domain. (Li fig. 1 main task loss is entropy loss. The samples are the “Unlabeled target data”, see below.)
Li teaches claims 4, 11, 18 and 25. The processor-implemented method of claim 3, in which the entropy comprises an entropy minimization loss. (Li Abstract: "we introduce in-domain contrastive learning and entropy minimization" Section 3.3 entropy minimization: "we minimize the entropy of the model’s prediction")
Li teaches claims 5, 12, 19 and 26. The processor-implemented method of claim 3, in which the entropy comprises an entropy (Li sec. 3.3 p. 4 “Applying the entropy loss too hastily asks the model to early decide labels for uncertain instances before the model has learnt good representations and the classification boundary on source domain. Therefore, we apply the entropy loss from the second epoch and it works out as expected.”) Li doesn’t teach the maximization.
However, Singh teaches entropy maximization loss. (Singh para 20 “minimize cross-entropy based label classification loss on the labeled source domain data and at the same time to maximize cross-entropy domain classification loss on the supervised source domain data and unsupervised target domain data.”)
Li, Singh and the claims all use entropy loss. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to combine a maximization loss so that “domain invariant features can be learned directly… with significant improvement over the [other ]… models trained without domain adaptation.” Sing para 9.
Li teaches claims 6, 13, 20 and 27. The processor-implemented method of claim 2, in which the auxiliary task loss moves target representations to a nearest class centroid of the source domain. (Li Sec. 4.2: p. 7 “In-domain contrastive learning focuses on pushing red points away from yellow and green points away from blue, which desirably enlarge the margin between positive and negative.” Li Figure 2 desc. "The red and yellow dots respectively represent the feature of positive and negative samples on the source domain, and the blue and green dots represents those on the target domain. Note that the margin between positive cluster and negative cluster on target domain becomes clearer from left to right.” In Li fig. 2, below, you can see that the target domain positive samples blue dots are pushed towards the source domain positive samples red dots. Pushing two clusters together like that necessarily moves the target cluster toward the centroid of the source cluster.)
Li teaches claims 7, 14, 21 and 28. The processor-implemented method of claim 6, in which the auxiliary task loss is computed on a representation mapped into an embedding space. (Li Figure 1 shows an embedded space with representation z mapped to it, from there contrastive/auxiliary task loss is computed, see below.)
Conclusion
/AUSTIN HICKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2142
1 Li abs. “we find through ablation studies that these two techniques behaviour differently in case of large label distri bution shift and conclude that the best practice is to choose one of them adaptively according to label distribution shift.”
2 Footnote 24 in Li points to a paper titled “Fixing weight decay regularization in adam.”