Claim Objections
This office action is in response to the amendment and remarks of 2/3/2026
Claims 1, 4, 8, 10, 15 and 17 have been amended; support for claim 1 is found in original claim 3; claims 4, 8, 10, 15 and 17 have been amended for dependency and grammar.
Claim 3 has been cancelled.
Claims 1, 2 and 4-17 are currently pending.
Claims 2, 8 and 14-15 have been previously indicated as allowable subject matter.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 2/3/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by You et al. (US 2021/0305651 A1).
As to claim 1. You et al. discloses a battery module (abstract), comprising
a casing and a cell stack disposed in the casing, wherein the casing comprises:
a top plate (300 or 400 cover frame) and a bottom plate ( see figure 3 , 300 is on top and bottom; see figure 4- unnumbered bottom plate below cells 100) opposite to each other (see figure 4); and
two side plate (200 end plates), wherein the two side plates are connected between the top plate and the bottom plate (see figures 2, 4), and the two side plates are opposite to each other (figure 2, 4), wherein at least one of the side plates is able to move relative to the top plate and the bottom plate in a first direction, and the first direction is a stacking direction of the cell stack (figure 3, 6- depicts the arrows ).
You further discloses wherein the top plate (300) is provided with a plurality of first deformation portions (350), the first deformation portions are disposed between the two side plates (figure 1-3), and the first deformation portions are able to produce plastic deformation in the first direction (figure 3 depicts the arrows), the bottom plate is provided with a plurality of second deformation portions (350 see figure 2 or 3), the second deformation portions are disposed between the two side plates (350 see figure 2 or 3), and the second deformation portions are able to produce plastic deformation in the first direction (figure 3 depicts the arrows).
It is noted a preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951). In claim 1, the intended use of solid state battery is not given patentable weight.
As to claim 4, You discloses the solid-state battery module according to claim 1, wherein the first deformation portions(350) are first protrusions or first recesses disposed on the top plate, and the second deformation portions are second protrusions or second recesses disposed on the bottom plate (350) (discloses corrugated ribs 350).
As to claim 5. You discloses the solid-state battery module according to claim 4, wherein the first protrusions or the first recesses are arranged in a length direction of the top plate, and the second protrusions or the second recesses are arranged in a length direction of the bottom plate (see figure 1).
As to claim 6. You discloses the solid-state battery module according to claim 5, wherein a length of the first protrusions or a length of the first recesses is equal to a length of the top plate, and a length of the second protrusions or a length of the second recesses is equal to a length of the bottom plate (see figure 1).
As to claim 9. The solid-state battery module according to claim 1, wherein the side plates are provided with connecting portions, and the connecting portions are configured to be connected to a battery pack (as shown in at least figure 3 at the top and bottom ends of the endplate is a portion that is connected to the top and bottom thus there are connecting portions that connect to the housing which connect to the battery pack).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al. (US 2021/0305651 A1).
As to claim 1. You et al. discloses a battery module (abstract), comprising
a casing and a cell stack disposed in the casing, wherein the casing comprises:
a top plate (300 or 400 cover frame) and a bottom plate ( see figure 3 , 300 is on top and bottom; see figure 4- unnumbered bottom plate below cells 100) opposite to each other (see figure 4); and
two side plate (200 end plates), wherein the two side plates are connected between the top plate and the bottom plate (see figures 2, 4), and the two side plates are opposite to each other (figure 2, 4), wherein at least one of the side plates is able to move relative to the top plate and the bottom plate in a first direction, and the first direction is a stacking direction of the cell stack (figure 3, 6- depicts the arrows ).
You further discloses wherein the top plate is provided with a plurality of first deformation portions (450-deformation portion), the first deformation portions are disposed between the two side plates (figure 6), and the first deformation portions are able to produce plastic deformation in the first direction (depicted by arrows in figure 6), however You does not explicitly state that deformation portion 450 is also on the bottom plate. However You discloses in another embodiment that the elastic deforming portion 350 is both on the top and bottom plate as shown in figures 1-3. Thus You has envisioned the bottom plate is provided with a plurality of second deformation portions, the second deformation portions are disposed between the two side plates, and the second deformation portions are able to produce plastic deformation in the first direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to include a second deformation portion on the bottom plate because this would prevent the pressing force of the battery module 10 from increasing beyond a predetermined magnitude, thereby significantly reducing the risk of damage of the battery cells or the cover frame [0044].
Furthermore, the mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04). In this case, the deformation section prevents the cover frame or the battery cells from being damaged when the battery cells are inflated [0007].
It is noted a preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951). In claim 1, the intended use of solid state battery is not given patentable weight.
As to claim 4, You discloses the solid-state battery module according to claim 1, wherein the first deformation portions(450) are first recesses disposed on the top plate, and the second deformation portions are second recesses disposed on the bottom plate (450).
As to claim 5. You discloses the solid-state battery module according to claim 4, wherein the first recesses are arranged in a length direction of the top plate, the second recesses are arranged in a length direction of the bottom plate (see figure 4).
As to claim 6. You discloses the solid-state battery module according to claim 5, wherein a length of the first recesses is equal to a length of the top plate, and a length of the second recesses is equal to a length of the bottom plate (see figure 4, the recesses go the entire length of the plate).
As to claim 7. You discloses the solid-state battery module according to claim 5, wherein the first recesses are provided with through slots (opening as shown in figure 4), and the number of through slots is N, then N is a natural number greater than or equal to 1, and/or the second recesses are provided with through slots, and the number of through slots is N, then N is a natural number greater than or equal to 1 (N is equal to 9 as seen figure 4).
Claim(s) 10-13, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable You et al. (US 2021/0305651 A1) in view of Yang et al. (US 2019/0131596 A1) and Watanabe et al. (US 2008/0318119 A1).
As to claim 10, You discloses the solid-state battery module according to claim 1 (as discussed above). You does not disclose a battery pack, comprising: a box body; wherein the solid-state battery module is disposed in the box body; and a connecting piece, connected between one side plate of the solid-state battery module and the box body, wherein the connecting piece is able to produce plastic deformation in the first direction.
Yang et al. discloses a battery module and teaches the use of side cover plates (160) having mounting pads (1140) extend outwardly from the wall and are used to couple the module to the plate/box body [0105].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to include the mounting pads to the side walls of You in order to couple to the box.
Modified You does not disclose the connecting piece.
Watanabe et al. discloses a battery pack and teaches the use of a connecting piece/ interposed area 71) that presses the flange toward the lower case/box [0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include the interposed area/connecting piece of Watanabe et al. to the modified You because this would ensure the module is pressed against the box.
As to claim 11, Modified You disclose the connecting piece but does not disclose the material as made of low carbon steel, aluminum alloy, or plastic steel. However, the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07). In this case the connecting piece would provide strength.
As to claim 12. The battery pack according to claim 10, wherein the connecting piece comprises: a first portion ( 72)connected to one of the side plates of the casing; a second portion located on one side of the first portion away from the side plate (71) and fixedly connected to the box body; and a third portion fixedly connected between the first portion and the second portion (wavy portion connecting part 71 to 72 as seen in figure 7) [0044].
As to claim 13. The battery pack according to claim 12, wherein the third portion is disposed obliquely (figure 7) [0044].
As to claim 16. Modified You discloses the battery pack according to claim 12, the second portion and the box body are fixedly connected by a threaded fastener [0044-0045], 71h. but does not state that the first portion is connected by treaded fasteners.
However it would have been obvious to include the first portion is fixedly connected to one of the side plates by a threaded fastener, because this is a known fastening member and furthermore the mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04). In this case this would ensure a mechanical fastening connection.
As to claim 17. Modified You discloses the connection of the second portion to the battery box via bolts and not welds as is instantly claim. And is silent to the type of connection for the first portion.
However welding is a well-known mechanical connection that between two pieces and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to replace the bolts of Modified You with welding as these are known equivalents in the mechanical connections. Thus one of ordinary skill would be able to have the first portion is welded and fixed to the side plates, and the second portion is welded and fixed to the box body.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 8, 14 and 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art cited does not disclose:
the top plate is provided with a first sliding rail extending in the first direction, and at least one of the side plates is slidably connected to the first sliding rail, the bottom plate is provided with a second sliding rail extending in the first direction, and at least one of the side plates is slidably connected to the second sliding rail.
each of the through slots is provided with a first adjustment connecting piece capable of producing plastic deformation, and both ends of the first adjustment connecting piece are fixedly connected to the top plate or the bottom plate in the first direction.
the third portion comprises a plurality of connecting split parts, and two ends of each of the connecting split parts are fixedly connected to the first portion and the second portion, a gap is provided between two adjacent connecting split parts.
a second adjustment connecting piece capable of producing plastic deformation, wherein the second adjustment connecting piece is fixedly connected to the first portion and the second portion and located in the gap.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the preference discloses elastic deformation and not plastic deformation.
However plastic deformation is a point past the elastic deformation on a stress strain diagram. Thus if the product has an elastic deformation, then with enough pressure being applied the material will plastically deform. The deformation portions of You will plastically deform when pressure is applied past the point of elastic deformation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Maria Laios/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727