DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the filing of the application on 12/22/2022. Since the initial filing, no claims have been amended, added, or cancelled. Thus, claims 1-17 are pending in the application.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because line 1 recites the language “The present disclosure discloses” which is an implied phrase and should be removed. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “and the switch element is configured for switching and controlling that the electric switch is unable to be turned on when the deflation port is closed” in lines 11-13. It is unclear if the switch element is performing a switching action, a controlling action, and whether than action is on one or both of the electric switch and the deflation port. Furthermore, it appears that the claim may be missing a structural relationship, as it is unclear how a switch element would be able to switch or control an electric switch.
Any remaining claims are rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saltzman et al. (US Pat. 5,402,869) in view of Brandon, Jr. (US Pat. 6,210,037; hereinafter “Brandon”) in view of McCrae (US Pub. 2007/0075109).
Regarding claim 1, Saltzman discloses a multifunctional bag (double bag 10 of Figs. 1-2), comprising a bag body (see Figs. 1-2 main bag 12) provided with a side bag at one side of the bag body (see Figs. 1-2 secondary bag 14); wherein the side bag is detachably fixed on the bag body (see Figs. 2, 4, and 7 where secondary bag 14 is connected to main bag 12 at zipper strip sections 40 42; see also Col. 2 line 65 to Col. 3 line 3).
Saltzman lacks a detailed description of the side bag has a double-layer structure formed by stitching a shell fabric and a lining.
However, Brandon teaches a bag where a pocket of the bag has a double-layer structure formed by stitching a shell fabric and a lining (see Figs. 1 and 3 where the liner insert 200 of the bag is attached within the bag space of the pocket to form a double layer structure; see also Col. 4 lines 30-36 where the attachment can be done via stitching, with the outer fabric of the backpack being the fabric shell and the insert 200 being the lining)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the side bag of the modified Saltzman device to have a liner stitched to its inside as taught by Brandon, as it would provide a liner that protects the fabric from puncture and moisture (Brandon; see Col. 2 lines 25-27).
The modified Saltzman device lacks a detailed description of the side bag is mounted with an electric heating material, and the electric heating material is connected to an external power bank through a wire.
However, McCrae teaches a therapeutic backpack system, where a removable contact portion (see Figs. 1-6 where contact portion 14 is able to be removed from the backpack (see [0038])) can be mounted with electric heating materials (see Figs. 4-5 where heating element 22 can be included within the contact portion 14; see also [0042]-[0043]), and the electric heating materials are connected to an external power bank through a wire (see [0014] lines 8-13 and [0057] where a power source 44 is external to the therapeutic components, and connects to them through a wire).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the secondary bag of the modified Saltzman device to include electric heating pads connected to a power source as taught by McCrae, as it would allow for the bag system to alleviate stiffness and discomfort while in use (McCrae; see [0006]-[0008])
Regarding claim 2, the modified Saltzman device has wherein a hand-in space with a hand-in opening is formed between the side bag and the bag body (Saltzman, see Fig. 7 where the secondary bag 14 can be partially detached from the main bag 12 via the zippers 40/42, forming a hand-in space on the surface of side surface 26, with pocket 28), the shell fabric of the side bag is provided with a pocket for storing the power bank and small items (Saltzman; see Fig. 10 where secondary bag 14, as modified to have the liner and heating materials, has its internal space surrounded by the shell fabric outer surface of the bag which is capable of storing components and small items); and the electric heating material is mounted on the lining (McCrae; where in the modified Saltzman device, see Figs. 4-5 where heating element 22 in Figs. 4-5 of McCrae is placed within the secondary bag, and thus mounted against the lining as taught by Brandon), and is connected with the outlet through the wire (McCrae; see [0014] lines 8-13 and [0057] where a power source 44 is external to the therapeutic components, and connects to them through a wire).
The modified Saltzman device lacks a detailed description of an outer pocket for storing the power bank and small items, the outer pocket is mounted with an outlet for connecting the power bank.
However, McCrae further teaches where the power bank, and its associated batteries, is located in an outer pocket space (see Fig. 9 the cavity that holds power source 44; see also [0053]), with the pocket mounted with an outlet that connects to the power bank (see [0057] where there is a wire connecting the power source 44 to the other components, and thus an outlet for the wire of the power bank to connect out to other elements).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the secondary bag of the modified Saltzman device to have a pocket on the outer surface for holding the power bank that connects to the rest of the components as taught by McCrae, as it would carry the power source with the secondary bag so that its components do not become unpowered after decoupling from the main bag.
Regarding claim 6, the modified Saltzman device has the outer pocket on the shell fabric.
The modified Saltzman device lacks a detailed description of wherein the outer pocket on the shell fabric has a structure in which three sides are stitched and one side is mounted with a zipper.
However, McCrae further teaches where an outer pocket on the shell fabric has a structure in which three sides are stitched and one side is mounted with a zipper (see Fig. 9 and [0052] where pocket 40 is stitched onto the bag on at least 3 of its sides, and a front side of the pocket 40 has a zipper mounted to it).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the outer pocket of the modified Saltzman device to be attached via stitching and accessed via a zipper as taught by McCrae, as it would be a simple substitution of one means for attaching and accessing the outer pocket for another, to yield the predictable result of providing an outer pocket.
Regarding claim 7, the modified Saltzman device has wherein the lining is provided with an interlayer (Brandon; see Fig. 4 where the insert 200 folds up so that it has an interlayer (see Fig. 2 where first and second side flaps 22/24 form the interlayer), and the electric heating material is fixed in the interlayer (McCrae; where in the modified Saltzman device, see Figs. 4-5 where heating element 22 in Figs. 4-5 of McCrae is placed within the secondary bag, and thus mounted against the lining as taught by Brandon, the lining including the interlayer flaps).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Saltzman device has wherein the bag body is a handbag (Saltzman; see Fig. 1).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saltzman in view of Brandon in view of McCrae as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Ukitsu et al. (US Pat. 7,152,772).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Saltzman device has wherein left side and a right side of the side bag are detachably fixed on the bag body (Saltzman; see Fig. 7 where zippers 40/42 are on the left and right side to be detachable), respectively, such that the hand-in opening is formed among an upper side and a lower side of the side bag and the bag body (Saltzman; see Fig. 7 where the top and bottom of side bag 14 are free of any attachment means, and thus give access to a hand-in opening).
The modified Saltzman device lacks a detailed description of wherein an upper side and a lower side of the side bag are detachably fixed on the bag body, respectively, such that the hand-in opening is formed among a left side and a right side of the side bag and the bag body.
However, Ukitsu teaches a side bag attached to a main bag, where the side bag has attachment points on the top and bottom, such that a hand-in opening is formed on the left and right sides (see Fig. 6 where fasteners 18 and 19 are on the top and bottom of small bag to, such that the sides of small bag 2 are free accessible to act as a hand-in opening).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the attachment points of the secondary bag to the main bag of the modified Saltzman device to be on the top and bottom instead as taught by Ukitsu, as it would be a simple substitution of one attachment means for another, to yield the predictable result of attaching the secondary bag to the main bag.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saltzman in view of Brandon in view of McCrae as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Johnson (US Pat. 7,942,296).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Saltzman device has an upper side and a lower side of the side bag.
The modified Saltzman device lacks a detailed description of wherein an upper side and a lower side of the side bag are respectively fixed on the bag body through zippers.
However, Johnson teaches a secondary bag attached to a main bag, through the use of a zipper which goes along both the top and bottom of the bags (see Figs. 2-3 where zipper 29 holes the purse 22 to diaper bag 20).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection between the side bag and main bag of the modified Saltzman device to be a zipper on the top and bottom as taught by Johnson, as it would be a simple substitution of one attachment means for another, to yield the predictable result of attaching the side bag to the main bag.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saltzman in view of Brandon in view of McCrae as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of in view of Johnson and Bull (US Pat. 4,862,519).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Saltzman device has an upper side and a lower side of the side bag.
The modified Saltzman device lacks a detailed description of wherein an upper side and a lower side of the side bag are respectively fixed on the bag body through zippers.
However, Johnson teaches a secondary bag attached to a main bag, through the use of a zipper which goes along both the top and bottom of the bags (see Figs. 2-3 where zipper 29 holes the purse 22 to diaper bag 20).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection between the side bag and main bag of the modified Saltzman device to be a zipper on the top and bottom as taught by Johnson, as it would be a simple substitution of one attachment means for another, to yield the predictable result of attaching the side bag to the main bag.
The modified Saltzman device lacks a detailed description of using studs.
However, Bull teaches a worn pocket having device, where the connection between a side pocket and the main body is done via studs (see snaps 15 in Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the top and bottom zipper connection of the modified Saltzman device to instead be a snap connection as taught by Bull, as it would be a simple substitution of one closing and attachment mechanism for another, to yield the predictable result of attaching the side bag to the main bag.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saltzman in view of Brandon in view of McCrae as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Bull (US Pat. 4,862,519).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Saltzman device has the lining is mounted with an inlet for connecting the electric heating material (McCrae; where in the modified Saltzman device, see Figs. 4-5 where heating element 22 in Figs. 4-5 of McCrae is placed within the secondary bag, and thus mounted against the lining as taught by Brandon), and the inlet is connected with the outlet through the wire (McCrae; see [0014] lines 8-13 and [0057] where a power source 44 is external to the therapeutic components, and connects to them through a wire).
The modified Saltzman device lacks a detailed description of wherein the lining is provided with an inner pocket for storing the electric heating material, and the electric heating material is placed in the inner pocket in a flexible manner.
However, Bull teaches a worn pocket heating device, where the lining is provided with an inner pocket for storing the electric heating material (see Figs. 4-5 where pocket 72 contains the heater material), and the electric heating material is placed in the inner pocket in a flexible manner (see Col. 3 lines 56-57 where the flannel pocket 72 is a flexible material, such that the heating material is flexible within the pocket).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lining of the modified Saltzman device to have an interior pocket for holding the heating material as taught by Bull, as it would provide an enclosed section for the heating material so that it does not interfere with or damage other nearby electrical components.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Saltzman device has the inner pocket.
The modified Saltzman device lacks a detailed description of wherein the inner pocket on the lining has a structure in which three sides are stitched and one side is mounted with a zipper.
However, McCrae further teaches where a pocket on the shell fabric has a structure in which three sides are stitched and one side is mounted with a zipper (see Fig. 9 and [0052] where pocket 40 is stitched onto the bag on at least 3 of its sides, and a front side of the pocket 40 has a zipper mounted to it).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pocket of the modified Saltzman device to be attached via stitching and accessed via a zipper as taught by McCrae, as it would be a simple substitution of one means for attaching and accessing the pocket for another, to yield the predictable result of providing an outer pocket. Further, it would ensure that the heat material pocket can be accessed in order to clean or replace the material as needed.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saltzman in view of Brandon in view of McCrae as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Von Neumann (US Pat. 6,189,750).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Saltzman device has wherein the bag body is provided with a hand strap in a middle of an upper of the bag body (Saltzman; see straps 30/32 in Figs. 1-2).
The modified Saltzman device lacks a detailed description of lugs at both sides of the upper of the bag body, and the lugs are detachably mounted with braces.
However, Von Neumann teaches a backpack system, where straps are attached by lugs, which detachably mount to braces (see Figs. 1-2 where hooks 28 are lug members which interact with loops 30 which are braces, in order to attach the strap to the bag; see also Col. 3 lines 18-28).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the attachment between the strap and bag of the modified Saltzman device to be a lug and brace connection as taught by Von Neumann, as it would be a simple substitution of one attachment means between the strap and bag for another, to yield the predictable result of attaching the strap to the bag. It also has the added benefits of allowing the connection to be disconnected, should any components need replacing (Von Neumann; Col. 3 lines 18-28).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Chang (US Pub. 2006/0113343), Zheng et al. (US Pat. 8,225,974), and Parekh (US Pat. 10,561,225) are cited to show similar bag/ backpack devices, and/or detachable secondary bags, and/or a massage/ heating feature incorporated into the bag.
/MATTHEW D ZIEGLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/JUSTINE R YU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785