DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2 (12, 13 and 21), the claim states “transmit information indicating one or more resources associated with no intended transmission by a user equipment (UE)” which is unclear. The specification states a regular latency transmission can be intended for the device. A low latency data transmission may or may not be intended for the device, Para [0138]. Therefore, it is assumed the limitation should state no intended transmission for a UE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 2016/0234857, hereinafter Chen, claiming priority date of provisional application 62/165,783 and 62/113,066), in view of Yang et al (US 2016/0234853, hereinafter Yang) and in view of Chen et al (US 2016/0226650, hereinafter Chen2, claiming priority of provisional application 62/109,206).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses a base station (BS, Fig. 9) for wireless communication, the base station comprising: a processor and a memory coupled with the processor (memory and processor, Fig. 9), the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor to cause the base station to: transmit first downlink control information indicating a first set of resources in one or both of a time domain or a frequency domain for a first physical downlink shared channel (PDCCH carries DCI including DL scheduling assignments, Para [0051], scheduling a low latency transmission to a second UE, Para [0057], a low latency indicator in the PDCCH can indicate the frequency and time domain resources, Para [0062]); transmit second downlink control information indicating a second set of resources in one or both of the time domain or the frequency domain for a second physical downlink shared channel (PDCCH carries DCI including DL scheduling assignments, Para [0051], scheduling non-low latency transmission to a first UE, Para [0057], BS schedules frequency and time resources for non-low latency, Para [0067]); and transmit information indicating one or more resources associated with no intended transmission for a UE in a subframe scheduled for low-latency transmission the one or more resources associated with the first set of resources and partially overlapping with the second set of resources (low latency indicator indicates frequency and domain resources, Para [0035], non-low latency devices can ignore the symbols for low latency, Para [0031], a UE can use the indicator to mitigate low latency interference and decode non-low latency, Para [0058] and the low latency resources may overlap with the resources scheduled for non-low latency, Para [0061]. Also see Para [0004, 39, 57, 62] from provisional application 62/165,783); but does not disclose where the information indicating one or more resources comprises a DCI format indicating at least one resource block and at least one orthogonal frequency multiplexing symbol where no transmission is intended for a user equipment (UE). Yang discloses DCI format can indicate the PDSCH transmission is not intended for the victim UE, where DCI format can indicate using a bit, that PDSCH is intended for the UE or if it is interference PDSCH (not intended), Para [0099]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Yang in the system of Chen in order to improve interference cancellation techniques by indicating resource allocation information of the interference; and does not disclose the one or more resources are to be ignored or nulled by the UE. Chen2 discloses the BS can transmit to different UEs, where one UE supports low latency and the other doesn’t, where the one UE may ignore the symbols/resources in the sub-frame that is associated with low latency scheduling, Para [0080] or Para [0079] from the provisional. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Chen2 in the system of Chen in view of Yang in order to prevent higher latency between transmissions that would decrease system performance for applications that have latency requirements.
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses the base station of claim 2, wherein, to transmit the first downlink control information, the instructions are executable by the processor to cause the base station to: transmit, to a first user equipment (UE) on a first physical downlink control channel, the first downlink control information indicating the first set of resources in one or both of the time domain or the frequency domain for the first physical downlink shared channel (BS can schedule low latency transmission to a second UE, Para [0057], DCI transmitted to UE with DL scheduling assignment, Para [0051], DCI can be associated with a specific UE or multiple users, Para [0052]).
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses the base station of claim 3, wherein, to transmit the second downlink control information, the instructions are executable by the processor to cause the base station to: transmit, to the first UE or a second UE on a second physical downlink control channel, the second downlink control information indicating the second set of resources in one or both of the time domain or the frequency domain for the second physical downlink shared channel (BS can transmit the non-low latency transmission to a first UE, Para [0057], DCI transmitted to UE with DL scheduling assignment, Para [0051], DCI can be associated with a specific UE or multiple users, Para [0052]).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses the base station of claim 4, wherein, to transmit the information indicating the one or more resources associated with no intended transmission, the instructions are executable by the processor to cause the base station to: transmit, to the first UE, the information indicating the one or more resources associated with no intended transmission (non-low latency devices can ignore the symbols for low latency, Para [0031], a UE can use the indicator to mitigate low latency interference and decode non-low latency, Para [0058]).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses the base station of claim 5, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the base station to: transmit a marker signal indicating the one or more resources of the first set of resources partially overlapping with the second set of resources (low latency transmission may puncture or overlap with the non-low latency transmission, Para [0057], the UE receives an indication of the resources utilized for low latency, Para [0058]).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses the base station of claim 5, wherein the one or more resources are associated with no intended transmission to the first UE (UE can be a non-low latency or legacy device, where low latency is not intended for that UE, Para [0031]).
Regarding claims 8, 16 and 17, Chen discloses the base station/UE of claim 2/13/16, wherein the first set of resources in one or both of the time domain or the frequency domain are associated with a first subframe or a first slot, and wherein the second set of resources in one or both of the time domain or the frequency domain are associated with a second subframe or a second slot (regular PDSCH and low latency can be in either slot, Para [0072], meaning resources for low latency and resources for non-low latency can be associated with either slot 0 or slot 1).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Chen discloses the base station/UE of claim 8/17, wherein the second subframe follows the first subframe (subsequent sub-frame is after the current sub-frame, Para [0007]).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Chen discloses the base station/UE of claim 2/13, wherein the first set of resources comprises a first set of resource blocks, and wherein the second set of resources comprises a second set of resource blocks (resources for low latency may overlap with resource blocks assigned to non-low latency, Para [0033]).
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Chen discloses the base station/UE of claim 2/13, wherein the first set of resources comprises a first set of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbols, or wherein the second set of resources comprises a second set of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbols (orthogonal frequency division multiple access, Para [0003], sub-frames made up of slots including OFDMA symbols, Para [0054]).
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses a method of wireless communication at a base station, the method comprising: transmitting first downlink control information indicating a first set of resources in one or both of a time domain or a frequency domain for a first physical downlink shared channel (PDCCH carries DCI including DL scheduling assignments, Para [0051], scheduling a low latency transmission to a second UE, Para [0057], a low latency indicator in the PDCCH can indicate the frequency and time domain resources, Para [0062]); transmitting second downlink control information indicating a second set of resources in one or both of the time domain or the frequency domain for a second physical downlink shared channel (PDCCH carries DCI including DL scheduling assignments, Para [0051], scheduling non-low latency transmission to a first UE, Para [0057], BS schedules frequency and time resources for non-low latency, Para [0067]); and transmitting information indicating one or more resources associated with no intended transmission, the one or more resources associated with the first set of resources and partially overlapping with the second set of resources (low latency indicator indicates frequency and domain resources, Para [0035], non-low latency devices can ignore the symbols for low latency, Para [0031], a UE can use the indicator to mitigate low latency interference and decode non-low latency, Para [0058] and the low latency resources may overlap with the resources scheduled for non-low latency, Para [0061]. Also see Para [0004, 39, 57, 62] from provisional application 62/165,783); but does not disclose where the information indicating one or more resources comprises a DCI format indicating at least one resource block and at least one orthogonal frequency multiplexing symbol where no transmission is intended for a user equipment (UE). Yang discloses DCI format can indicate the PDSCH transmission is not intended for the victim UE, where DCI format can indicate using a bit, that PDSCH is intended for the UE or if it is interference PDSCH (not intended), Para [0099]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Yang in the system of Chen in order to improve interference cancellation techniques by indicating resource allocation information of the interference; and does not disclose the one or more resources are to be ignored or nulled by the UE. Chen2 discloses the BS can transmit to different UEs, where one UE supports low latency and the other doesn’t, where the one UE may ignore the symbols/resources in the sub-frame that is associated with low latency scheduling, Para [0080] or Para [0079] from the provisional. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Chen2 in the system of Chen in view of Yang in order to prevent higher latency between transmissions that would decrease system performance for applications that have latency requirements.
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses a user equipment (UE, Fig. 8) for wireless communication, the UE comprising: a processor and a memory coupled with the processor (memory and processor, Fig. 8), the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor to cause the UE to: receive first downlink control information indicating a first set of resources in one or both of a time domain or a frequency domain for a first physical downlink shared channel (PDCCH carries DCI including DL scheduling assignments, Para [0051], scheduling a low latency transmission to a second UE, Para [0057], a low latency indicator in the PDCCH can indicate the frequency and time domain resources, Para [0062]); and receive information indicating one or more resources associated with no intended transmission, the one or more resources associated with the first set of resources and partially overlapping with a second set of resources (low latency indicator indicates frequency and domain resources, Para [0035], non-low latency devices can ignore the symbols for low latency, Para [0031], a UE can use the indicator to mitigate low latency interference and decode non-low latency, Para [0058] and the low latency resources may overlap with the resources scheduled for non-low latency, Para [0061]. Also see Para [0004, 39, 57, 62] from provisional application 62/165,783); but does not disclose where the information indicating one or more resources comprises a DCI format indicating at least one resource block and at least one orthogonal frequency multiplexing symbol where no transmission is intended for a user equipment (UE). Yang discloses DCI format can indicate the PDSCH transmission is not intended for the victim UE, where DCI format can indicate using a bit, that PDSCH is intended for the UE or if it is interference PDSCH (not intended), Para [0099]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Yang in the system of Chen in order to improve interference cancellation techniques by indicating resource allocation information of the interference; and does not disclose the one or more resources are to be ignored or nulled by the UE. Chen2 discloses the BS can transmit to different UEs, where one UE supports low latency and the other doesn’t, where the one UE may ignore the symbols/resources in the sub-frame that is associated with low latency scheduling, Para [0080] or Para [0079] from the provisional. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Chen2 in the system of Chen in view of Yang in order to prevent higher latency between transmissions that would decrease system performance for applications that have latency requirements.
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses the UE of claim 13, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the UE to: receive second downlink control information indicating the second set of resources in one or both of the time domain or the frequency domain for a second physical downlink shared channel (BS can transmit the non-low latency transmission to a first UE, Para [0057], DCI transmitted to UE with DL scheduling assignment, Para [0051], DCI can be associated with a specific UE or multiple users, Para [0052]).
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses the UE of claim 13, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the UE to: receive a data transmission associated with the one or more resources of the first set of resources partially overlapping with the second set of resources (BS can transmit low latency to a UE, Para [0057]).
Regarding claim 21, Chen discloses a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving downlink control information indicating a first set of resources in one or both of a time domain or a frequency domain for a physical downlink shared channel (PDCCH carries DCI including DL scheduling assignments, Para [0051], scheduling a low latency transmission to a second UE, Para [0057], a low latency indicator in the PDCCH can indicate the frequency and time domain resources, Para [0062]); and receiving information indicating one or more resources associated with no intended transmission, the one or more resources associated with the first set of resources and partially overlapping with a second set of resources (low latency indicator indicates frequency and domain resources, Para [0035], non-low latency devices can ignore the symbols for low latency, Para [0031], a UE can use the indicator to mitigate low latency interference and decode non-low latency, Para [0058] and the low latency resources may overlap with the resources scheduled for non-low latency, Para [0061]. Also see Para [0004, 39, 57, 62] from provisional application 62/165,783); but does not disclose where the information indicating one or more resources comprises a DCI format indicating at least one resource block and at least one orthogonal frequency multiplexing symbol where no transmission is intended for a user equipment (UE). Yang discloses DCI format can indicate the PDSCH transmission is not intended for the victim UE, where DCI format can indicate using a bit, that PDSCH is intended for the UE or if it is interference PDSCH (not intended), Para [0099]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Yang in the system of Chen in order to improve interference cancellation techniques by indicating resource allocation information of the interference; and does not disclose the one or more resources are to be ignored or nulled by the UE. Chen2 discloses the BS can transmit to different UEs, where one UE supports low latency and the other doesn’t, where the one UE may ignore the symbols/resources in the sub-frame that is associated with low latency scheduling, Para [0080] or Para [0079] from the provisional. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the techniques taught by Chen2 in the system of Chen in view of Yang in order to prevent higher latency between transmissions that would decrease system performance for applications that have latency requirements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant amends the limitations in the claim and argues the 112 rejections are overcome. The 112 rejections remain for different reasons, as there is a minor clarity issue. The claim states transmit information indicating one or more resources associated with no intended transmission by a UE, however it is assumed it should be no intended transmission for a UE, which changes the meaning of the limitation. Applicant also argues Chen does not disclose the amended limitations. In response, argument is moot in view of new references being used in the current office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M CUNNINGHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461