DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 10/25/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnsen (US 2024/0197150), hereinafter referred to as Johnsen, in view of Switzer (US 2022/0000346), hereinafter referred to as Switzer.
7. Regarding claim 1, Johnsen discloses an intrusive medical device comprising: a proximal end and a distal end spaced apart from the proximal end (paragraph 41 wherein endoscope comprises a proximal handle adapted to be gripped by a hand of an operator. And from the handle, an insertion cord extends towards the distal end of the endoscope);
a tubular member defining a lumen therein, the tubular member extending from the proximal end to the distal end (paragraphs 41 and 47 wherein insertion cord comprises an insertion tube and a bending section extending therefrom, and wherein the inner compartment accommodates an electronic vision device and at least one light source);
a camera positioned at the distal end (paragraph 42 wherein circuitry operable to configure the live video captured by the image sensor of the camera module of the endoscope).
However, Johnsen is silent in regards to disclosing a bundle of at least four unpaired conductors, the bundle extending from the proximal end to the distal end and electrically connected to the camera at the distal end, wherein the bundle is twisted at a pitch of 15 mm +/- 10 mm.
Switzer discloses a bundle of at least four unpaired conductors, the bundle extending from the proximal end to the distal end and electrically connected to the camera at the distal end, wherein the bundle is twisted at a pitch of 15 mm +/- 10 mm (paragraphs 11, 268 and 278 wherein the outer diameter of the insertion tube may be in the range of 8 mm to 16 mm, 10 mm to 14 mm, or approximately 12 mm, in order to allow a propulsion tube being fixed within or formed as part of an insertion tube of the endoscope).
Switzer provides motivation to combine the references wherein a propulsion tube being fixed within or formed as part of an insertion tube of the endoscope (paragraph 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Johnsen with the insertion tube of Switzer in order to allow a propulsion tube being fixed within or formed as part of an insertion tube of the endoscope (paragraph 11).
8. Claims 2-4, 6-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnsen, in view of Switzer, in further view of Gal (US 2015/0305602), hereinafter referred to as Gal.
9. Regarding claim 2, Johnsen and Switzer are silent in regards to disclosing the intrusive medical device of claim 1, wherein the at least four unpaired conductors include a ground conductor, a camera power conductor, a clock conductor and a data conductor; wherein the at least four unpaired conductors are arranged cross-sectionally with the data conductor positioned between two of the at least four unpaired conductors; and wherein the two of the at least four unpaired conductors does not include the clock conductor.
However, Gal discloses the intrusive medical device of claim 1, wherein the at least four unpaired conductors include a ground conductor, a camera power conductor, a clock conductor and a data conductor (paragraph 42 wherein cable may include a power conductor, a ground conductor, and an image data conductor for sending image data from camera to video console, and wherein image data and control signals may be modulated on the same conductors, resulting in a total of four conductors);
wherein the at least four unpaired conductors are arranged cross-sectionally with the data conductor positioned between two of the at least four unpaired conductors (fig. 4-5, paragraphs 68 and 77 wherein a side view of camera and camera body, and shows a cross-sectional view),
and wherein the two of the at least four unpaired conductors does not include the clock conductor (paragraph 51 wherein data serializer may also be used to reduce the number of conductors needed to transmit image data in a serialized format).
Gal provides motivation to combine the references wherein “clip-on” cameras typically transmit image information to a video-processing console, which sits on the endoscopic tower via a multi-conductor cable (paragraph 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Johnsen and Switzer with the teachings of Gal wherein “clip-on” cameras typically transmit image information to a video-processing console, which sits on the endoscopic tower via a multi-conductor cable (paragraph 7).
10. Regarding claim 3, Gal discloses the intrusive medical device of claim 2, wherein the at least four unpaired conductors consist of five unpaired conductors including the ground conductor, the camera power conductor, the clock conductor, the data conductor, and a light power conductor (paragraph 42 wherein cable and connectors each have six conductors: two for power and ground, two for inter-chip communication (I2C), and two for low voltage differential signal (LVDS) used to transmit image data),
and wherein the data conductor is positioned immediately next to the ground conductor and/or the camera power conductor and/or the light power conductor (paragraph 42 wherein cable may include a power conductor, a ground conductor, and an image data conductor for sending image data from camera to video console).
11. Regarding claim 4, Gal discloses the intrusive medical device of claim 3, wherein each of the conductors is insulated, and wherein each of the conductors, without the insulation, comprises a diameter of between 0.0790 and 0.210 mm (paragraph 69 wherein the wall thickness of bundle sheath 300 is between about 0.025 mm and about 0.127 mm, with the remaining space in lumen 306 to be maximally packed with illumination bundle).
12. Regarding claim 6, Johnsen discloses the intrusive medical device of claim 1, wherein the intrusive medical device comprises an endoscope including: a positioning interface having a distal end (paragraph 41 wherein the handle an insertion cord extends towards the distal end of the endoscope);
an insertion cord connected to and extending from the distal end of the positioning interface and comprising an insertion tube, a bending section, and a tip housing (paragraph 41 wherein the handle an insertion cord extends towards the distal end of the endoscope),
the camera positioned in the tip housing (paragraph 42 wherein circuitry operable to configure the live video captured by the image sensor of the camera module of the endoscope),
the tubular member extending from the positioning interface through the insertion tube to the tip housing, wherein the bundle extends from the positioning interface to the tip housing (paragraph 41 wherein insertion cord comprises an insertion tube and a bending section extending therefrom).
13. Regarding claim 7, Gal discloses the intrusive medical device of claim 6, wherein the bundle of at least four unpaired conductors is enclosed in an electrical shield (paragraph 85 wherein pieces help seal the inside of camera body. LED cover also shields any excess light from LED from escaping into the user's environment).
14. Regarding claim 8, Gal discloses the intrusive medical device of claim 7, wherein the electrical shield is electrically disconnected at the distal end of the bundle (paragraph 85 wherein lever may be designed to bottom out on the distal end of front cap 406 to allow consistent alignment of the various lumens and cameras).
15. Regarding claim 9, Gal discloses the intrusive medical device of claim 7, wherein the bundle has a proximal end, and wherein the electrical shield is only grounded at the proximal end of the bundle (paragraph 85 wherein pieces help seal the inside of camera body. LED cover also shields any excess light from LED from escaping into the user's environment).
16. Regarding claim 10, Switzer discloses the intrusive medical device of claim 6, wherein the tip housing comprises a diameter smaller than 3.4 mm (paragraphs 178 and 243 wherein porous ceramic material may be formed as a disc having a diameter similar to an inner diameter of the propulsion tube and a thickness in the range of 0.5 mm to 5 mm, 1 mm to 3 mm, or 1 mm to 2 mm, and wherein accelerometer may be configured to send data generated based on the movement of the distal tip of propulsion tube unit).
17. Regarding claim 11, Gal discloses the intrusive medical device of claim 6, wherein the tip housing comprises a diameter smaller than 3.4 mm, wherein the bundle of at least four unpaired conductors is enclosed in an electrical shield (paragraph 42 wherein cable and connectors each have six conductors: two for power and ground, two for inter-chip communication (I2C), and two for low voltage differential signal (LVDS) used to transmit image data,
and wherein the electrical shield is electrically disconnected at the distal end of the bundle (paragraph 85 wherein lever may be designed to bottom out on the distal end of front cap 406 to allow consistent alignment of the various lumens and cameras).
18. Regarding claim 12, Johnsen discloses the intrusive medical device of claim 1, further comprising: a tubular member having a peripheral wall defining a lumen therein (paragraphs 41 and 47 wherein insertion cord comprises an insertion tube and a bending section extending therefrom, and wherein the inner compartment accommodates an electronic vision device and at least one light source);
and an illumination lumen within the peripheral wall, wherein the camera and the bundle of at least four unpaired conductors are positioned in the illumination lumen (paragraph 42 wherein circuitry operable to configure the live video captured by the image sensor of the camera module of the endoscope).
19. Regarding claim 13, Gal discloses the intrusive medical device of claim 12, further comprising an inflatable cuff positioned at the distal end (paragraph 24 wherein method may optionally further include: removably coupling the camera body with the medical device via locking features on the mating feature and the corresponding mating feature, and wherein medical device is inflatable cuff).
20. Regarding claim 14, Johnsen discloses the intrusive medical device of claim 13, wherein the intrusive medical devise comprises a dual-lumen tube comprising a medial wall dividing the lumen into a first lumen and a second lumen (paragraph 47 wherein end wall comprises an external end surface and the surrounding side wall comprises an external surrounding side surface, forming the exterior surface of the housing).
21. Regarding claim 15, Gal discloses the intrusive medical device of claim 12, wherein the at least four unpaired conductors include a ground conductor, a camera power conductor, a clock conductor and a data conductor (paragraph 42 wherein cable and connectors each have six conductors: two for power and ground, two for inter-chip communication (I2C), and two for low voltage differential signal (LVDS) used to transmit image data);
wherein the at least four unpaired conductors are arranged cross-sectionally with the data conductor positioned between two of the at least four unpaired conductors (fig. 4-5, paragraphs 68 and 77 wherein a side view of camera and camera body, and shows a cross-sectional view);
and wherein the two of the at least four unpaired conductors does not include the clock conductor (paragraph 51 wherein data serializer may also be used to reduce the number of conductors needed to transmit image data in a serialized format).
22. Regarding claim 16, Gal discloses the intrusive medical device of claim 15, wherein the at least four unpaired conductors consist of five unpaired conductors including the ground conductor, the camera power conductor, the clock conductor, the data conductor, and a light power conductor (paragraph 42 wherein cable and connectors each have six conductors: two for power and ground, two for inter-chip communication (I2C), and two for low voltage differential signal (LVDS) used to transmit image data),
and wherein the data conductor is positioned immediately next to the ground conductor and/or the camera power conductor and/or the light power conductor (paragraph 42 wherein cable may include a power conductor, a ground conductor, and an image data conductor for sending image data from camera to video console).
23. Regarding claim 18, Gal discloses the intrusive medical device of claim 12, wherein the at least four unpaired conductors include eight conductors including two pairs of twisted pair conductors (fig. 4-5, paragraphs 68 and 77 wherein a side view of camera and camera body, and shows a cross-sectional view).
24. Regarding claim 19, Gal discloses the intrusive medical device of claim 12, wherein the at least four unpaired conductors include eight conductors including a video out conductor positioned in a center of the bundle and surrounded by the other of the eight conductors (paragraph 42 wherein cable may include a power conductor, a ground conductor, and an image data conductor for sending image data from camera to video console, and wherein image data and control signals may be modulated on the same conductors, resulting in a total of four conductors).
25. Regarding claim 20, Johnsen discloses a visualization system comprising: the intrusive medical device of claim 1 (paragraphs 41 and 47 wherein insertion cord comprises an insertion tube and a bending section extending therefrom, and wherein the inner compartment accommodates an electronic vision device and at least one light source);
and a video processing apparatus configured to communicatively connect with the intrusive medical device to receive a video stream therefrom (paragraph 42 wherein circuitry operable to configure the live video captured by the image sensor of the camera module of the endoscope).
26. Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnsen, in view of Switzer, in further view of Gal, in further view of Rajagopalan (US 2016/0008050), hereinafter referred to as Rajagopalan.
27. Regarding claims 5 and 17, Johnsen, Switzer and Gal are silent in regards to disclosing the intrusive medical device of claim 15, wherein at least three of the at least four conductors are coaxial.
However, Rajagopalan discloses the intrusive medical device of claim 15, wherein at least three of the at least four conductors are coaxial (paragraph 104 wherein first treatment device includes coaxial shafts).
Rajagopalan provides motivation to combine the references wherein shafts can be inserted over a standard interventional guidewire, such as guidewire shown exiting distal end (paragraph 104). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rask and Tanabe with the coax cable of Rajagopalan (paragraph 104).
Conclusion
/CHARLES N HICKS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2424
/BENJAMIN R BRUCKART/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2424