DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1 and 11 state, “the first wall” in the newly amended language. For proper antecedent basis it appears this should state “the first wall structure”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-13, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US PG. Pub. 2013/0271933) in view of Washihira et al. (US PG. Pub. 2021/0083463).
Regarding claim 1 – Tanaka teaches an apparatus (figs. 1-2 & 5, 3 [paragraph 0020] Tanaka states, “base 3”) usable with a housing portion (2 [paragraph 0020] Tanaka states, “cover 2”) to form an enclosure (see enclosure shown in figure 1) associable with an enclosed area (see area having PCB 4 therein), the housing portion (fig. 5, 2) comprising at least one protrusion (5 [paragraph 0022] Tanaka states, “rail-shaped convex portion 5”), the apparatus (3) comprising: a receiving part (see part of the apparatus 3 that accepted the protrusion 5) shaped and dimensioned in a manner so as to be capable of receiving the protrusion (5) when the apparatus (3) and the housing portion (2) are coupled (claimed structure shown in figure 5), the receiving portion (see part of the apparatus 3 that accepted the protrusion 5) comprising: a first wall structure (6f [paragraph 0032] Tanaka states, “outer edge portion 6f”); and a second wall structure (6g [paragraph 0032] Tanaka states, “inner edge portion 6g”), the first wall structure (6f) and the second wall structure (6g) being spaced apart in a manner so as to define an adjoining structure (claimed structure shown in figure 5), wherein the first wall structure (6f) is shorter (see gap between apparatus 3 and housing portion 2 at 6f) as compared to the second wall structure (6g), wherein the second wall structure (6g) comprises a tip (upper portion of second wall structure 6g) such that, when the protrusion (5) has been received by the receiving part (see part of the apparatus 3 that accepted the protrusion 5), the tip of the second wall structure (6g) directly contacts the housing portion (2) to thereby form a seal against water ingress into the enclosure ([paragraph 0023] Tanaka states, “the rail-shaped convex portion 5 is fitted into the groove-shaped concave portion 6, whereby the cover 2, the base 3, and the connector 10 are mutually bonded, and a waterproof effect is obtained”).
Tanaka does not teach wherein when the protrusion has been received by the receiving part to form the enclosure, the first wall extends outward from the enclosure to overhang the protrusion and direct water away from the enclosure.
Washihira teaches wherein when the protrusion (fig. 4, 17 [paragraph 0044] Washihira states, “outer wall 17”) has been received by the receiving part (34 [paragraph 0043] Washihira states, “cover-side double-wall 34”) to form the enclosure (see enclosure shown in figures 1-2), the first wall (33 [paragraph 0043] Washihira states, “outer wall 33”) extends outward from the enclosure (see bumped out portion of first wall 33) to overhang the protrusion (17) and direct water away from the enclosure (claimed structure shown in figure 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus usable with a housing portion to form an enclosure having a housing with a protrusion joined to a receiving part having a first and second outer wall as taught by Tanaka with the first wall extending outward from the enclosure to overhand the protrusion as taught by Washihira because Washihira states, “The outer wall 33 of the upper cover 22, which is located upward from the case body 11, is located outward from the outer wall 17 of the case body 11. This obviates the entry of water into the gap between the outer wall 17 and the outer wall 33” [paragraph 0065].
Regarding claim 2 – Tanaka in view of Washihira teach the apparatus according to claim 1, the enclosure being shaped and dimensioned in a manner so as to carry at least one component (Tanaka; fig. 2, 9 [paragraph 0020] Tanaka states, “electronic component 9”) within the enclosed area (see area having PCB 4 therein) in a manner so as to facilitate Ingress Protection in association with the component (9) carried ([paragraph 0023] Tanaka states, “the rail-shaped convex portion 5 is fitted into the groove-shaped concave portion 6, whereby the cover 2, the base 3, and the connector 10 are mutually bonded, and a waterproof effect is obtained”).
Regarding claim 3 – Tanaka in view of Washihira teach the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first wall structure (Tanaka; fig. 5, 6f), the second wall structure (6g), and the adjoining structure (structure between the first and second wall structures) form a channel structure (figure 2 shows a channel structure).
Regarding claim 11 – Tanaka teaches a housing (figs. 1-2 & 5) comprising: a housing part 3 [paragraph 0020] Tanaka states, “base 3”) comprising a receiving part (see part of the apparatus 3 that accepted the protrusion 5 in figure 5), the receiving part comprising: a first wall structure (6f [paragraph 0032] Tanaka states, “outer edge portion 6f”); and a second wall structure (6g [paragraph 0032] Tanaka states, “inner edge portion 6g”) opposing the first wall structure (see fig. 5), wherein the first wall structure (6f) is shorter (see gap between apparatus 3 and housing portion 2 at 6f) as compared to the second wall structure (6g); and a housing portion (2 [paragraph 0020] Tanaka states, “cover 2”) capable of being coupled to the housing part (3, see fig. 5), the housing part (3) and the housing portion (2) when coupled forming an enclosure (see enclosure shown in figure 1) associable with an enclosed area (see area having PCB 4 therein) within which at least one component (fig. 2, 9 [paragraph 0020] Tanaka states, “electronic component 9”) is capable of being carried (see fig. 2); wherein the second wall structure (6g) comprises a tip such that, when the housing part (3) and the housing portion (2) have been coupled thereby forming the enclosure (claimed structure shown in figures 1-2 and 5), the tip of the second wall structure (2g) directly contacts the housing portion (2) to thereby form a seal against water ingress into the enclosure ([paragraph 0023] Tanaka states, “the rail-shaped convex portion 5 is fitted into the groove-shaped concave portion 6, whereby the cover 2, the base 3, and the connector 10 are mutually bonded, and a waterproof effect is obtained”).
Tanaka does not teach wherein when the protrusion has been received by the receiving part to form the enclosure, the first wall extends outward from the enclosure to overhang the protrusion and direct water away from the enclosure.
Washihira teaches wherein when the protrusion (fig. 4, 17 [paragraph 0044] Washihira states, “outer wall 17”) has been received by the receiving part (34 [paragraph 0043] Washihira states, “cover-side double-wall 34”) to form the enclosure (see enclosure shown in figures 1-2), the first wall (33 [paragraph 0043] Washihira states, “outer wall 33”) extends outward from the enclosure (see bumped out portion of first wall 33) to overhang the protrusion (17) and direct water away from the enclosure (claimed structure shown in figure 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus usable with a housing portion to form an enclosure having a housing with a protrusion joined to a receiving part having a first and second outer wall as taught by Tanaka with the first wall extending outward from the enclosure to overhand the protrusion as taught by Washihira because Washihira states, “The outer wall 33 of the upper cover 22, which is located upward from the case body 11, is located outward from the outer wall 17 of the case body 11. This obviates the entry of water into the gap between the outer wall 17 and the outer wall 33” [paragraph 0065].
Regarding claim 12 – Tanaka in view of Washihira teach the housing according to claim 11, the first wall structure (Tanaka; fig. 5, 6f) and the second wall structure (6g) being spaced apart such that an adjoining structure (see material of housing part 3 between 6f and 6g) is capable of being defined (claimed structure shown in figure 5).
Regarding claim 13 – Tanaka in view of Washihira teach the housing according to claim 12, the first wall structure (Tanaka; fig. 5, 6f), the second wall structure (6g) and the adjoining structure forming a channel structure ([paragraph 0024] Tanaka states, “The groove-shaped concave portion 6 of the second case member includes a first concave portion 6a, in which a groove width at a bottom surface 6e side is narrow, and a second concave portion 6b, in which a groove width at an aperture surface 6d side is wide”).
Regarding claim 16 – Tanaka in view of Washihira teach the housing according to claim 11, the housing portion (Tanaka; fig. 5, 2) comprising a mating portion (5 [paragraph 0024] Tanaka states, “rail-shaped convex portion 5”) shaped and dimensioned in a manner so as to be capable of being received by the receiving part (6 [paragraph 0024] Tanaka states, “groove-shaped concave portion 6”) when the housing part (3) and the housing portion (2) are coupled (claimed structure shown in figure 5).
Regarding claim 17 – Tanaka in view of Washihira teach the housing according to claim 16, the mating portion (Tanaka; fig. 5, 5) corresponding to a protrusion (element 5 is considered a “protrusion”) formed by manner of an angled bend (see vertical protrusion 5 that is 90 degrees bent from the top horizontal surface of the housing portion 2) along at least a portion of the housing portion (claimed structure shown in figures 1-2 and 5).
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. in view of Washihira et al. as applied to claims 3 and 13 above, and further in view of Yamauchi (US PG. Pub. 2009/0237896).
Regarding claim 4 – Tanaka in view of Washihira teach the apparatus according to claim 3, but fails to teach wherein the channel structure corresponds to a “U” shaped channel.
Yamauchi teaches wherein the channel structure (fig. 8, 33) corresponds to a “U” shaped channel ([paragraph 0059] Yamauchi states, “Each of the case wall 33a and the connector wall 33b has an approximately U-shape”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus having a channel structure that receives the protrusion as taught by Tanaka in view of Washihira with the channel structure has a “U” shaped channel as taught by Yamauchi because a “U” shaped channel allows easy alignment between the apparatus and the housing portion while also allowing for slight misalignment allowing for larger manufacturing dimensional tolerances.
Regarding claim 14 – Tanaka in view of Washihira teach the housing according to claim 13, but fails to teach wherein the channel structure corresponds to a “U” shaped channel.
Yamauchi teaches wherein the channel structure (fig. 8, 33) corresponds to a “U” shaped channel ([paragraph 0059] Yamauchi states, “Each of the case wall 33a and the connector wall 33b has an approximately U-shape”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the housing having a channel structure that receives the protrusion as taught by Tanaka in view of Washihira with the channel structure has a “U” shaped channel as taught by Yamauchi because a “U” shaped channel allows easy alignment between the apparatus and the housing portion while also allowing for slight misalignment allowing for larger manufacturing dimensional tolerances.
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. in view of Washihira et al. as applied to claim 3 and 13 above, and further in view of Lienert et al. (US PG. Pub. 2019/0036267).
Regarding claim 5 – Tanaka in view of Washihira teach the apparatus according to claim 3, but fails to teach explicitly wherein the channel structure corresponds to a “V” shaped channel.
Lienert teaches an apparatus (figs. 2-4B, 16 [paragraph 0038] Lienert states, “lid 16”) having a channel structure (18 [paragraph 0039] Lienert states, “groove 18”) wherein the channel structure (18) corresponds to a “V” shaped channel ([paragraph 0013] Lienert state, “it has been found that it may be advantageous for the groove webs to protrude from the inside diverging from one another, in particular protruding from the inside in a v-shape”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure having an apparatus with a channel structure as taught by Tanaka in view of Washihira with the channel structure corresponding to a “V” shaped channel as taught by Lienert because Lienert states, “This enormously facilitates the receiving of the outer edges when the base body is combined with the lid. The elastic deformation is also influenced such that the best possible sealing is achieved.” [paragraph 0013].
Regarding claim 15 – Tanaka in view of Washihira teach the housing according to claim 13, but fails to teach explicitly wherein the channel structure corresponds to a “V” shaped channel.
Lienert teaches a housing (see figs. 2-4B) with a housing part (16 [paragraph 0038] Lienert states, “lid 16”) having a channel structure (18 [paragraph 0039] Lienert states, “groove 18”) wherein the channel structure (18) corresponds to a “V” shaped channel ([paragraph 0013] Lienert state, “it has been found that it may be advantageous for the groove webs to protrude from the inside diverging from one another, in particular protruding from the inside in a v-shape”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the housing having a housing part with a channel structure as taught by Tanaka in view of Washihira with the channel structure corresponding to a “V” shaped channel as taught by Lienert because Lienert states, “This enormously facilitates the receiving of the outer edges when the base body is combined with the lid. The elastic deformation is also influenced such that the best possible sealing is achieved.” [paragraph 0013].
Claim(s) 9-10 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. in view of Washihira et al. as applied to claim 1 and 16 discussed above, and further in view of Mori et al. (US Patent 5574254).
Regarding claim 9 – Tanaka in view of Washihira teach the apparatus according to claim 1, but fails teach wherein, when the protrusion has been received by the receiving part, contact is established between the protrusion and the receiving part by manner of interference-fit.
Mori teaches an enclosure (figs. 1-3) having an apparatus (2 [column 3 lines 6-7] Mori states, “the main box 2”) wherein, when the protrusion (10 [column 3 line 36] Mori states, “locking projection wall 10”) has been received by the receiving part (7 [column 3 line 31] Mori states, “fitting groove 7”), contact is established between the protrusion (10) and the receiving part (7) by manner of interference-fit ([column 3 lines 42-47] Mori states, “FIG. 3 shows a state that the locking projection wall 10 is inserted into the fitting groove 7, wherein the locking projection wall 10 is first pushed into the narrowed portion 7a of the groove 7, and then pushed more profoundly receiving the suppression caused by the projections 8a and 9a”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the enclosure having an apparatus with the receiving portion that accepts a protrusion of a housing portion as taught by Tanaka in view of Washihira wherein the protrusion and the receiving part form an interference-fit as taught by Mori because Mori states, “With the construction above, a large force is not required for the fitting operation, an easy fitting between the water-proof covering and the main box is made possible, the locking member is substantially simplified, and also a sufficiently strong adhesive force is provided by the locking member which is made by monolithically molding a synthetic resin but not a metal.” [Abstract].
Regarding claim 10 – Tanaka in view of Washihira and Mori teach the apparatus according to claim 9, wherein contact is established between the protrusion (Mori; figs. 2-3, 10) and the receiving part (7) such that the protrusion (10) is wedged between the first wall structure (outer wall of fitting portion 5) and the second wall structure (inner wall of fitting portion 5).
Regarding claim 18 – Tanaka in view of Washihira teach the housing according to claim 16, but fails to teach wherein the mating portion capable of engaging at least the first wall structure and the second wall structure by manner of interference-fit.
Mori teaches a housing (figs. 1-3) wherein the mating portion (10 [column 3 line 36] Mori states, “locking projection wall 10”) capable of engaging at least the first wall structure (outer wall of fitting portion 5) and the second wall structure (inner wall of fitting portion 5) by manner of interference-fit([column 3 lines 42-47] Mori states, “FIG. 3 shows a state that the locking projection wall 10 is inserted into the fitting groove 7, wherein the locking projection wall 10 is first pushed into the narrowed portion 7a of the groove 7, and then pushed more profoundly receiving the suppression caused by the projections 8a and 9a”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the housing as taught by Tanaka in view of Washihira wherein the mating portion and the first and second wall structures form an interference-fit as taught by Mori because Mori states, “With the construction above, a large force is not required for the fitting operation, an easy fitting between the water-proof covering and the main box is made possible, the locking member is substantially simplified, and also a sufficiently strong adhesive force is provided by the locking member which is made by monolithically molding a synthetic resin but not a metal.” [Abstract].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 and 9-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takeuchi et al. (US PG. Pub. 2010/0127012) discloses a waterproof box.
I et al. (US PG. Pub. 2014/0246215) discloses an electrical junction box.
Kawada et al. (US Patent 10305267) discloses an electrical connection box and wire harness.
Yanase (US Patent 5722863) discloses an electric connection box.
Sumida (US Patent 5864091) discloses a shock resistant electrical connection box.
/STEVEN T SAWYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847