DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Greenwood (US 4,647,549).
Regarding claim 1, Greenwood discloses a system for regenerating a spent catalyst into a reactivated catalyst having a predetermined heat content, the system comprising: a reactor configured to generate the spent catalyst, since a spent catalyst stream in a spent catalyst line (8) perhaps coming from a reactor is sent to the upper chamber (80) via the riser (25) (see figure 1 and paragraph 0026); receiving the spent catalyst in a regenerator, since the reactor may comprise may comprise a reactor catalyst inlet and a reactor catalyst outlet through which the spent catalyst exits the reactor; and the regeneration vessel (85) may be in downstream communication with the reactor via the catalyst outlet (see figure 1 and paragraph 0027); a regenerator (1) configured to regenerate the spent catalyst from the reactor; and an electrically energized heater (the heating means may be tubes containing a heat transfer fluid, but are preferably electric resistance heating elements; a top section view of the portion of vessel (1) which contains the heating tubes or elements, which are denoted by reference number (25); reference number (24) identifies the balance of the heating apparatus associated with tubes or elements (25), see figures 1-2 and column 5, lines 30-55) configured to selectively increase a heat content of the spent catalyst to the predetermined heat content, the heater having a plurality of energy emitting members at least partially immersed in the spent catalyst (see figures 1-2 and column 4, line 21 through column 6, line 4).
Regarding claim 3, Greenwood discloses a system wherein the heater is positioned internal to the regenerator (see figures 1-2 and column 4, line 21 through column 6, line 4).
Regarding claim 8, Greenwood discloses a system further comprising an electrical power source configured to supply power to the heater, since Greenwood discloses a system for regenerating a spent catalyst into a reactivated catalyst having a predetermined heat content, the system comprising: a regenerator (1) configured to regenerate the spent catalyst from the reactor; and an electrically energized heater (the heating means may be tubes containing a heat transfer fluid, but are preferably electric resistance heating elements; a top section view of the portion of vessel (1) which contains the heating tubes or elements, which are denoted by reference number (25); reference number (24) identifies the balance of the heating apparatus associated with tubes or elements (25), see figures 1-2 and column 5, lines 30-55) configured to selectively increase a heat content of the spent catalyst to the predetermined heat content, the heater having a plurality of energy emitting members at least partially immersed in the spent catalyst (see figures 1-2 and column 4, line 21 through column 6, line 4).
Regarding claims 10-13, Greenwood discloses a system wherein the heater is further configured to have a first selectable operating mode wherein the heat does not increase the heat content if one or more non-electrical sources increase the heat content to the predetermined heat content; wherein the heater is further configured to have a second selectable operating mode wherein the heater and one or more non-electrical sources increase the heat content to the predetermined heat content; wherein the heater is further configured to have a third selectable operating mode wherein only the heater increases the heat content to the predetermined heat content; and wherein the heater and one or more non-electrical sources increase the heat content to the predetermined heat content, since the use of the apparatus isn't limiting or the material the apparatus acts upon isn't limiting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Owen et al. (US 5066627) in view of Greenwood (US 4,647,549).
Regarding claim 1, Owen et al. discloses a system (see figure 3 and column 9, line 66 through column 11, line 21) for regenerating a spent catalyst into a reactivated catalyst having a predetermined heat content, the system comprising: a reactor configured to generate the spent catalyst; a regenerator (H.E.R. regenerator) configured to regenerate the spent catalyst from the reactor; and heater (heat exchanger, 303) (see figure 3 and column 8, line 66 through column 11, line 21), since the heat exchanger (303) is vertical, with catalyst in the shell side and the heat exchanger medium, preferably water, passes through the tubes via lines (309) and (309’) (see column 9, line 63 through column 10, line 10); control of the duty of the heat exchanger (303) may be achieved by controlling the quantity of fluidizing gas in line (377); and the quantity of steam generated and flowing through line (309’) may be measured by meter (324) (see column 10, line 63 through column 11, line 11).
Owen et al. fails to disclose an electrically energized heater configured to selectively increase a heat content of the spent catalyst to the predetermined heat content, the heater having a plurality of energy emitting members at least partially immersed in the spent catalyst.
Greenwood discloses a system for regenerating a spent catalyst into a reactivated catalyst having a predetermined heat content, the system comprising: a reactor configured to generate the spent catalyst, since a spent catalyst stream in a spent catalyst line (8) perhaps coming from a reactor is sent to the upper chamber (80) via the riser (25) (see figure 1 and paragraph 0026); receiving the spent catalyst in a regenerator, since the reactor may comprise may comprise a reactor catalyst inlet and a reactor catalyst outlet through which the spent catalyst exits the reactor; and the regeneration vessel (85) may be in downstream communication with the reactor via the catalyst outlet (see figure 1 and paragraph 0027); a regenerator (1) configured to regenerate the spent catalyst from the reactor; and an electrically energized heater (the heating means may be tubes containing a heat transfer fluid, but are preferably electric resistance heating elements; a top section view of the portion of vessel (1) which contains the heating tubes or elements, which are denoted by reference number (25); reference number (24) identifies the balance of the heating apparatus associated with tubes or elements (25), see figures 1-2 and column 5, lines 30-55) configured to selectively increase a heat content of the spent catalyst to the predetermined heat content, the heater having a plurality of energy emitting members at least partially immersed in the spent catalyst (see figures 1-2 and column 4, line 21 through column 6, line 4).
Additionally, Greenwood discloses a heating means may be tubes containing a heat transfer fluid (see column 5, lines 30-34).
Because these two heaters (heat exchanger and an electrically energized heater configured to selectively increase a heat content of the spent catalyst to the predetermined heat content, the heater having a plurality of energy emitting members at least partially immersed in the spent catalyst) were art-recognized equivalents before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute an electrically energized heater configured to selectively increase a heat content of the spent catalyst to the predetermined heat content, the heater having a plurality of energy emitting members at least partially immersed in the spent catalyst for hot flue gas heated heating tubes catalyst heater.
Regarding claim 2, Owen et al. discloses a system wherein the heater (303) is positioned external to the regenerator; and wherein the heater (303) is positioned internal to the regenerator (see figure 3 and column 9, line 66 through column 11, line 21).
Regarding claim 4, Owen et al. discloses a system wherein the heater (303) includes:
- one or more shells positioned external to the regenerator,
- a first inlet (308) conveying the catalyst from the regenerator into the shell, and
- a second inlet (307) conveying a fluidizing agent into the shell (see figure 3 and column 9, line 66 through column 11, line 21).
Owen et al. fails to discloses a system wherein the plurality of energy emitting members are positioned inside the shell.
Greenwood discloses a system wherein the plurality of energy emitting members are positioned inside a shell (the heating means may be tubes containing a heat transfer fluid, but are preferably electric resistance heating elements; a top section view of the portion of vessel (1) which contains the heating tubes or elements, which are denoted by reference number (25); reference number (24) identifies the balance of the heating apparatus associated with tubes or elements (25), see figures 1-2 and column 5, lines 30-55), since Greenwood discloses that catalyst discharged from the annular space between the catalyst retention screens fills all of the lower section of the chamber (1), with the exception of the space below catalyst screen (6) which contains heating means; and catalyst flows past the heating means through downcomers, or catalyst passages, which are defined by plates (5) and (23) and portions of the sidewall (27) of the lower section of chamber (1) (see figure 1 and column 5, line 30-55) resulting in a shell with an open bottom.
Because these two heaters (heat exchanger and an electrically energized heater configured to selectively increase a heat content of the spent catalyst to the predetermined heat content, the heater having a plurality of energy emitting members at least partially immersed in the spent catalyst) were art-recognized equivalents before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute an electrically energized heater configured to selectively increase a heat content of the spent catalyst to the predetermined heat content, the heater having a plurality of energy emitting members at least partially immersed in the spent catalyst for hot flue gas heated heating tubes catalyst heater.
Regarding claims 5-7, Owen et al. discloses a system wherein the heater (303) further includes: a catalyst outlet (the area where the spent catalyst enters the heat exchanger (303) is also the regenerated catalyst exits the heat exchanger (303)) from which the catalyst in the shell exits; further comprising a gas outlet (the fluidizing gas exit the heat exchanger (303) through the same exit as the regenerated catalyst, since the fluidizing gas lifts the regenerated catalyst into the regenerator) from which the fluidizing agent in the shell exits; and further comprising a passage connecting the heater (303) and the regenerator, wherein at least the catalyst enters and exits the regenerator via the passage (see figure 3 and column 9, line 66 through column 11, line 21).
Regarding claim 8, Owen et al. fails to discloses a system further comprising an electrical power source configured to supply power to the heater; and wherein the electrical power source is a renewable power source.
Greenwood discloses a system further comprising an electrical power source configured to supply power to the heater, since Greenwood discloses a system for regenerating a spent catalyst into a reactivated catalyst having a predetermined heat content, the system comprising: a regenerator (1) configured to regenerate the spent catalyst from the reactor; and an electrically energized heater (the heating means may be tubes containing a heat transfer fluid, but are preferably electric resistance heating elements; a top section view of the portion of vessel (1) which contains the heating tubes or elements, which are denoted by reference number (25); reference number (24) identifies the balance of the heating apparatus associated with tubes or elements (25), see figures 1-2 and column 5, lines 30-55) configured to selectively increase a heat content of the spent catalyst to the predetermined heat content, the heater having a plurality of energy emitting members at least partially immersed in the spent catalyst (see figures 1-2 and column 4, line 21 through column 6, line 4).
Because these two heaters (heat exchanger and an electrically energized heater configured to selectively increase a heat content of the spent catalyst to the predetermined heat content, the heater having a plurality of energy emitting members at least partially immersed in the spent catalyst) were art-recognized equivalents before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute an electrically energized heater configured to selectively increase a heat content of the spent catalyst to the predetermined heat content, the heater having a plurality of energy emitting members at least partially immersed in the spent catalyst for hot flue gas heated heating tubes catalyst heater.
Regarding claims 10-13, the combined teachings of Owen et al. and Greenwood discloses a system wherein the heater is further configured to have a first selectable operating mode wherein the heat does not increase the heat content if one or more non-electrical sources increase the heat content to the predetermined heat content; wherein the heater is further configured to have a second selectable operating mode wherein the heater and one or more non-electrical sources increase the heat content to the predetermined heat content; wherein the heater is further configured to have a third selectable operating mode wherein only the heater increases the heat content to the predetermined heat content; and wherein the heater and one or more non-electrical sources increase the heat content to the predetermined heat content, since the use of the apparatus isn't limiting or the material the apparatus acts upon isn't limiting.
Regarding claim 14, Owen et al. discloses a method for regenerating a spent catalyst into a reactivated catalyst having a predetermined heat content, the method comprising: generating a spent catalyst in a reactor; receiving the spent catalyst in a regenerator (H.E.R. regenerator); at least partially immersing a plurality of members (lines (309) and (309’)) of a heater (heat exchanger, 303) in the spent catalyst; and selectively increasing a heat content of the spent catalyst to the predetermined heat content by using the heater (303), since the heat exchanger (303) is vertical, with catalyst in the shell side and the heat exchanger medium, preferably water, passes through the tubes via lines (309) and (309’) (see column 9, line 63 through column 10, line 10); control of the duty of the heat exchanger (303) may be achieved by controlling the quantity of fluidizing gas in line (377); and the quantity of steam generated and flowing through line (309’) may be measured by meter (324) (see column 10, line 63 through column 11, line 11).
Owen et al. fails to disclose a method comprising: at least partially immersing a plurality of energy emitting members of a heater in the spent catalyst.
Greenwood discloses a method comprising: at least partially immersing a plurality of energy emitting members of a heater in the spent catalyst (the heating means may be tubes containing a heat transfer fluid, but are preferably electric resistance heating elements; a top section view of the portion of vessel (1) which contains the heating tubes or elements, which are denoted by reference number (25); reference number (24) identifies the balance of the heating apparatus associated with tubes or elements (25), see figures 1-2 and column 5, lines 30-55).
Because these two heaters (heat exchanger and an electrically energized heater configured to selectively increase a heat content of the spent catalyst to the predetermined heat content, the heater having a plurality of energy emitting members at least partially immersed in the spent catalyst) were art-recognized equivalents before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute an electrically energized heater configured to selectively increase a heat content of the spent catalyst to the predetermined heat content, the heater having a plurality of energy emitting members at least partially immersed in the spent catalyst for hot flue gas heated heating tubes catalyst heater.
Regarding claim 15, Owen et al. disclose a method wherein the heater (303) includes at least one shell positioned external to the regenerator, wherein the plurality of members (lines (309) and (309’)) of a heater (heat exchanger, 303) are positioned inside the shell, and further comprising:
- conveying the catalyst from the regenerator into the shell using a first inlet (the area where the spent catalyst enters the heat exchanger (303)), and
- conveying a fluidizing agent into the shell using a second inlet (377) (see figure 3 and column 9, line 66 through column 11, line 21).
Owen et al. fails to discloses a method wherein the plurality of energy emitting members are positioned inside the shell.
Greenwood discloses a method plurality of energy emitting members are positioned inside the shell (the heating means may be tubes containing a heat transfer fluid, but are preferably electric resistance heating elements; a top section view of the portion of vessel (1) which contains the heating tubes or elements, which are denoted by reference number (25); reference number (24) identifies the balance of the heating apparatus associated with tubes or elements (25), see figures 1-2 and column 5, lines 30-55).
Because these two heaters (heat exchanger and an electrically energized heater configured to selectively increase a heat content of the spent catalyst to the predetermined heat content, the heater having a plurality of energy emitting members at least partially immersed in the spent catalyst) were art-recognized equivalents before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute an electrically energized heater configured to selectively increase a heat content of the spent catalyst to the predetermined heat content, the heater having a plurality of energy emitting members at least partially immersed in the spent catalyst for hot flue gas heated heating tubes catalyst heater.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art references are Owen et al. (US 5066627) and Greenwood (US 4,647,549).
Regarding claim 9, Owen et al. and Greenwood fail to disclose a system wherein the electrical power source is a renewable power source.
Regarding claim 16, Owen et al. disclose a method further comprising connecting the reactor and the regenerator with a passage (308) (see figure 3 and column 9, line 66 through column 11, line 21).
Greenwood discloses disclose a method further comprising connecting the reactor and the regenerator with a passage, since a spent catalyst stream in a spent catalyst line (8) perhaps coming from a reactor is sent to the upper chamber (80) via the riser (25) (see figure 1 and paragraph 0026)
The prior art references fail to disclose or suggest at least the catalyst enters and exits the regenerator via the passage.
Regarding claims 17-19, the prior art references fail to disclose or suggest a method wherein selectively increasing includes not increasing the heat content if one or more non-electrical sources increase the heat content to the predetermined heat content; wherein selectively increasing includes using the heater and one or more non-electrical sources to increase the heat content to the predetermined heat content; and wherein selectively increasing includes using only the heater to increase the heat content to the predetermined heat content.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed march 12, 2026, with respect to the objection of the drawings, the objection to claims 6 and 13, and the 102 and 103 rejection of claim 9 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the drawings, the objection to claims 6 and 13, and the 102 and 103 rejection of claim 9 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues that Greenwood fails to disclose "an electrically energized heater configured to selectively increase a heat content of the spent catalyst to the predetermined heat content, the heater having a plurality of energy emitting members at least partially immersed in the spent catalyst."
The Office disagrees.
Greenwood discloses that the heating means may be tubes containing a heat transfer fluid, but are preferably electric resistance heating elements; a top section view of the portion of vessel (1) which contains the heating tubes or elements, which are denoted by reference number (25); reference number (24) identifies the balance of the heating apparatus associated with tubes or elements (25) (see figures 1-2 and column 5, lines 30-55).
In response to applicant's argument that configured to selectively increase a heat content of the spent catalyst to the predetermined heat content, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues that the combination of Owen et al. and Greenwood is improper because the combination would not be obvious and results in improper hindsight.
The Office disagrees.
Both references discloses heating means comprising tube containing a heat transfer fluid. Greenwood give the option of electric resistance heating elements.
Regarding claim 14, the applicant argues that Owen et al .fails to disclose “selectively increasing a heat content of the spent catalyst to the predetermined heat content by using the heater”.
The Office disagrees.
Owen discloses controlling the heat exchanger (303) by controlling the fluidizing gas (377) (see figure 3 and column 10, line 63 through column 11, line 11). Both references discloses heating means comprising tube containing a heat transfer fluid. Greenwood give the option of electric resistance heating elements. If the heating means comprising tube containing a heat transfer fluid of Owen et al., which is taught by Greenwood, the controller controlling the fluidizing gas used as a heat transfer fluid would be controlling the amount of power used by electric resistance heating elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Iglesias (US 2014/0046105 A1) discloses heater (312) is used to heat solvent and/or feedstock and/or catalyst, can be natural gas fired heater, solar furnace, geothermal, nuclear, coal, lignite, bitumen, coke, electrical, induction, resistive, etc. and use natural, radiant, and convective heat transfer (see figure 3 and paragraph 0152).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NATASHA E. YOUNG
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/NATASHA E YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774