DETAILED ACTION
The Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed 09/28/26 has been entered. Claims 1, 3 and 5-16 are currently pending, with claim 4 being moved up into claim 1 and claims 14-16 being newly added. In light of the claim amendments, new Drawing Objections, 112 and 103 rejections are detailed below. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). First, the drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the spacer “at least partially pass[ing] through a respective one of the lateral openings” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). See claims 1, 5 and 12. Figures 2 and 3 clearly show that the spacer 7 does NOT extend through the lateral openings 11. The disclosure includes only a spacer that is half-moon shaped (i.e., semi-circular), as seen in Figure 5, hence it does not extend through the lateral opening 11 of the mounting plate 5. No new matter should be entered.
Second, the claims are objected to because Figure 2 does not properly depict the “spacer” 7. The coil 6 on the left side of Figure 2 has a top coil that appears to integrally mesh with where the spacer would be located, hence it is unclear if a spacer is included or not. This appears to be an error in the drawing and must be addressed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3 and 5-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as based on a disclosure which is not enabling. The disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without using a “spacer” that extends/passes beyond the lateral openings of the mounting plate, which is/are critical or essential to the practice of the invention but not included in the claim(s). See In re Mayhew, 527 F.2d 1229, 188 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1976). See claims 1, 5 and 12. However, the disclosure includes only a spacer that is half-moon shaped (i.e., semi-circular), as seen in Figure 5, hence it does not and cannot extend through the lateral opening 11 of the mounting plate 5, as seen in Figures 2 and 3. It is unclear how a spacer 7 of this shape, which must be centered on the coil spring due to notch 23, could possibly extend through the lateral opening 11 when this opening is located in the bottom half of the coil, as seen in Figure 3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Maki in view of Li
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 7-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maki et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,918,632) in view of Li (CN 103786651) (previously cited). Maki is directed to a rocker mechanism for a rocker recliner. See Abstract. Li is directed to a device for eliminating noise for a spring. See Abstract.
Claim 1: Maki discloses a spring mechanism [Figs. 3a, 3b, 5-7] for a rocker assembly (22), the spring mechanism being connected to a rocker mechanism (40, 42) of the rocker assembly to assist a rocker member (20) of the rocker mechanism in returning from a rocking position to a rest position, the spring mechanism comprising two mounting plates (58, 68) opposed at a spacing and two springs (44, 46) connected between the two mounting plates, each of the mounting plates being provided with two sets of holding structures (134, 137) for holding each of the springs in place on the mounting plate, wherein each mounting plate is laterally provided with two lateral openings (116-122) to allow the end turns of the springs to at least partially pass therethrough and be held on the mounting plate by a respective one of the sets of holding structures. Figs. 3a, 3b, 5-7.
Maki discloses all the limitations of this claim except for the plastic “spacer” between the mounting plate and spring and passing through the lateral opening. Li discloses a spring mechanism [Fig. 2], wherein a plastic spacer (5) is provided at the top end of a coil spring (4) between the top coil and a holding structure (31) and the spacer passes through a lateral opening (between 31 and 1) at a mounting plate (1). See Figs. 2, 3. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include a spacer in the Maki spring mechanism because this prevents direct frictional contact between the spring and plates, reducing noise/vibration, and this protection may increase the longevity of the spring and overall functionality of the mechanism, and the use of a plastic washer is cheap and readily available.
Claim 3: Maki discloses that each set of holding structures comprises a clip portion (134) and a locating protrusion (137) formed on the mounting plate, and end turn of the spring is clipped by the clip portion and positioned by the locating protrusion. See Fig. 3b.
Claim 7: Maki discloses a rocker assembly, comprising a base and two rocker mechanisms mounted symmetrically at the left and right sides of the base, characterized in that the rocker assembly further comprises two spring mechanisms according to any of claims 1 to 6, each of which is connected to the respective rocker mechanism and to the base. See Figs. 1, 2.
Claim 8: Maki discloses that the base comprises two support tubes arranged at a spacing in a horizontal direction and two base plates symmetrically disposed at the left and right sides of the two support tubes, each rocker mechanism being placed on a respective base plate, and each spring mechanism being connected to the respective base plate via a first mounting plate. See Figs. 2, 5, 6.
Claim 12: see claim 1 above. Butler further discloses that the spacer is removable. See Fig. 2. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the at the effective filing date of the invention for the washer to be removable because this permits ease in replacement of parts, either due to wear, or to vary the damping effect of the spring mechanism.
Claim 13: Maki discloses a rocker assembly comprising a base, two rocker mechanisms mounted symmetrically at the left and right sides of the base, and two spring mechanisms according to claim 12, each of the two spring mechanisms is connected to the respective rocker mechanism and to the base. See Figs. 3a, 3b, 5-7.
Claim 14: Maki discloses an end turn of each spring is spaced from a first surface of the respective mounting plate by the first portion of the spacer, and a turn of the spring adjacent to the end turn is spaced from a second surface of the mounting plate opposite the first surface by the second portion of the spacer. See Figs. 2, 3.
Claim 15: Maki discloses that the spacer is formed from a folded plate sheet, the first portion and the second portion being formed by folding the plate sheet. See Fig. 3.
Claim 16: Maki discloses that the spacer is a plastic spacer. See Translation.
Maki in view of Li and Lawson
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maki in view of Li and Lawson et al. (CA 2974705). Lawson is directed to a rocker and recline linkage. See Abstract.
Claim 9: Maki discloses that each rocker mechanism comprises a rocker member (62) to which a movable member (64) is attached, wherein the movable member is movable as the rocker member swings on the base plate about a fulcrum. See Fig. 2. However, the “movable member” disclosed in Maki is used differently than the instant application. While another teaching reference is not necessarily needed here, for the sake of moving prosecution forward, Lawson is used here to teach the use of a movable member (34, 38) that is attached to the rocker member (22) and is movable as the rocker member swings. See Figs. 1, 22-23. It would be obvious to a one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use this movable member to limit the range of motion of the rocker, which is preferred for reclining furniture.
Claim 10: Lawson discloses that each movable member is connected to a corresponding rocker member via an intermediate bracket, and between two symmetrically arranged intermediate brackets, there are connected two connecting rods which are offset both horizontally and vertically; wherein a second mounting plate of each spring mechanism is fixedly connected to an intermediate connecting plate, which is inserted in a horizontal direction between and respectively connected to the two connecting rods. See Figs. 1, 22-23.
Claim 11: Lawson discloses a pair of stops is provided symmetrically at the left and right sides of one of the support tubes, intended to abut against the corresponding movable member to limit its further movement. See Figs. 1, 22-23 (38 contacting 12). See also claim objection above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3 and 7-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claims 5 and 6 still contain some allowable subject matter, but also suffer from section 112 enablement issues which must be resolved to move prosecution forward.
Conclusion
VISHAL SAHNI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3657
/VISHAL R SAHNI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 October 26, 2026