DETAILED ACTION
This is a first Non-Final Office Action on the merits in response to the application filed 12/22/22. The request for foreign priority to a corresponding CN application filed 12/21/21 has been received and is proper. Claims 1-11 are currently pending. Claims 5-6 contain allowable subject matter. Claims 1-4 and 7-11 are rejected as detailed below. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim (i.e., claim 7). See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 11 not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Maki in view of Enriquez
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maki et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,918,632) in view of Enriquez (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0240236). Maki is directed to a rocker mechanism for a rocker recliner. See Abstract. Enriquez is directed to a bicycle mounting to support an infant seat. See Abstract.
Claim 1: Maki discloses a spring mechanism [Figs. 3a, 3b, 5-7] for a rocker assembly (22), the spring mechanism being connected to a rocker mechanism (40, 42) of the rocker assembly to assist a rocker member (20) of the rocker mechanism in returning from a rocking position to a rest position, characterized in that the spring mechanism comprises two mounting plates (58, 68) opposed at a spacing and two springs (44, 46) connected between the two mounting plates, each of the mounting plates being provided with two sets of holding structures (134, 137) for holding each of the springs in place on the mounting plate. Figs. 3a, 3b, 5-7.
Maki discloses all the limitations of this claim except for the “spacer” between the mounting plate and spring. Enriquez discloses a spring mechanism that also supports a seat, with a spring (42) located between mounting plates (52), wherein a spacer (44) is provided between each mounting plate and each spring to avoid the mounting plate from contacting at least one turn of the spring. See Figs. 5, 6. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include a spacer/washer in the Maki spring mechanism because this prevents direct frictional contact between the spring and plates, and this protection may increase the longevity of the spring and overall functionality of the mechanism.
Claim 2: Enriquez discloses that the spacer takes the form of a washer. It would be obvious to use plastic because the material selected is a design choice, based on factors such as plastic being relatively cheap and available.
Claim 3: Maki discloses that each set of holding structures comprises a clip portion (134) and a locating protrusion (137) formed on the mounting plate, and end turn of the spring is clipped by the clip portion and positioned by the locating protrusion. See Fig. 3b.
Claim 4: Maki discloses that each mounting plate is laterally provided with two lateral openings (116-122) to allow the end turns of the springs and the spacers to at least partially pass therethrough and be held on the mounting plate by the clip portions and locating protrusions.
Claim 7: Maki discloses a rocker assembly, comprising a base and two rocker mechanisms mounted symmetrically at the left and right sides of the base, characterized in that the rocker assembly further comprises two spring mechanisms according to any of claims 1 to 6, each of which is connected to the respective rocker mechanism and to the base. See Figs. 1, 2.
Claim 8: Maki discloses that the base comprises two support tubes arranged at a spacing in a horizontal direction and two base plates symmetrically disposed at the left and right sides of the two support tubes, each rocker mechanism being placed on a respective base plate, and each spring mechanism being connected to the respective base plate via a first mounting plate. See Figs. 2, 5, 6.
Maki in view of Enriquez and Lawson
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maki in view of Enriquez and Lawson et al. (CA 2974705). Lawson is directed to a rocker and recline linkage. See Abstract.
Claim 9: Maki discloses that each rocker mechanism comprises a rocker member (62) to which a movable member (64) is attached, wherein the movable member is movable as the rocker member swings on the base plate about a fulcrum. See Fig. 2. However, the “movable member” disclosed in Maki is used differently than the instant application. While another teaching reference is not necessarily needed here, for the sake of moving prosecution forward, Lawson is used here to teach the use of a movable member (34, 38) that is attached to the rocker member (22) and is movable as the rocker member swings. See Figs. 1, 22-23. It would be obvious to a one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use this movable member to limit the range of motion of the rocker, which is preferred for reclining furniture.
Claim 10: Lawson discloses that each movable member is connected to a corresponding rocker member via an intermediate bracket, and between two symmetrically arranged intermediate brackets, there are connected two connecting rods which are offset both horizontally and vertically; wherein a second mounting plate of each spring mechanism is fixedly connected to an intermediate connecting plate, which is inserted in a horizontal direction between and respectively connected to the two connecting rods. See Figs. 1, 22-23.
Claim 11: Lawson discloses a pair of stops is provided symmetrically at the left and right sides of one of the support tubes, intended to abut against the corresponding movable member to limit its further movement. See Figs. 1, 22-23 (38 contacting 12). See also claim objection above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
VISHAL SAHNI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3657
/VISHAL R SAHNI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 December 29, 2025