DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response/communication filed 2/10/2026.
No claims have been cancelled.
No claims have been added.
Claims(s) 1-20 is/are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-9, filed 2/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 9 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejections(s) of claims 2-8, 9-16 and 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hosseini et al. US 20210058866 and Hu et al. US 20240023069.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini et al. US 20210058866 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 10/10/2025) in view of Hu et al. US 20240023069.
As to claim 1:
Hosseini et al. discloses:
A method comprising:
receiving, by a first wireless device, a message comprising one or more sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) parameters indicating a sidelink DRX inactive time of the first wireless device; and
(“Wireless communications system 100 may support various techniques for power savings when communicating on a sidelink. As an example, a UE 115 may determine one or more sidelink DRX parameters for use when communicating with another UE 115 over a sidelink communication link. The sidelink DRX parameters may be indicated to the UE 115 by a base station 105 or by another UE 115 (e.g., an in-coverage UE 115). In some examples, a UE 115 may select the sidelink DRX parameters from a set of sidelink DRX parameters, and the UE 115 may indicate the selected parameters to another UE 115 (e.g., an out-of-coverage UE 115). Based on the sidelink DRX parameters received, a UE 115 may discontinuously monitor for transmissions from another UE 115 over the sidelink communication link. As such, the UE 115 may refrain from continuously monitoring for sidelink transmissions in accordance with the sidelink DRX parameters (e.g., an ON duration, various sidelink DRX timers, and other DRX parameters) and may thereby save power and reduce battery consumption at the UE 115.”; Hosseini et al.; 0059)
(“The information 310 that is sent from UE 115-i to UE 115-j may, in some cases, include a DRX configuration for the UE 115-j. The DRX cycle may indicate time periods in which UE 115-j may monitor a control channel (e.g., a PDCCH, a PSCCH, etc.) according to the ON duration 320 of a configured DRX cycle. For example, the UE 115-j may wake up from an idle mode during each ON duration 320 of the DRX cycle to monitor for transmissions on the PDCCH or the PSCCH, and the UE 115-j may return to an idle or low power mode during each OFF duration of the DRX configuration. A DRX cycle duration 325 may be the time it may take to complete an ON duration and an OFF duration of the DRX configuration.”; Hosseini et al.; 0121)
(where
“a UE 115 may determine one or more sidelink DRX parameters for use when communicating with another UE 115 over a sidelink communication link. The sidelink DRX parameters may be indicated to the UE 115 … or by another UE 115 (e.g., an in-coverage UE 115)”/” UE 115 may refrain from continuously monitoring for sidelink transmissions in accordance with the sidelink DRX parameters (e.g., an ON duration, various sidelink DRX timers, and other DRX parameters) “/“information 310 that is sent from UE 115-i to UE 115-j may, in some cases, include a DRX configuration for the UE 115-j. The DRX cycle may indicate time periods in which UE 115-j may monitor a control channel (e.g., a PDCCH, a PSCCH, etc.) according to the ON duration 320 of a configured DRX cycle”
(where “information 310”/FIG. 3B/”UE 115-j” maps to “receiving, by a first wireless device, a message”,
“one or more sidelink DRX parameters…indicated to the UE 115” maps to “comprising one or more sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) parameters”,
“other DRX parameters”/”OFF duration of the DRX configuration” maps to “indicating a sidelink DRX inactive time of the first wireless device”
“DRX configuration for the UE 115-j” maps to “of the first wireless device”
the coordination information indicating at least one of:
a set of resources for the one or more sidelink transmissions; or
(where
“a WUS may indicate (e.g., via a bitmap or a WUS sequence) which sidelink resource pools may be used for sidelink communications” maps to “the coordination information indicating at least one of: a set of resources for the one or more sidelink transmissions”, where “WUS”/”bitmap…sequence” maps to “the coordination information”, “indicate…which sidelink resource pools may be used for sidelink communications” maps to “a set of resources for the one or more sidelink transmissions”
…
Hosseini et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
transmitting a request for coordination information for one or more sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device;
decoding, during the sidelink DRX inactive time, coordination information received from a second wireless device based on the request for the one or more sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device,
However, Hu et al. further teaches an assistance request/DRX-off capability which includes:
transmitting a request for coordination information for one or more sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device;
decoding, during the sidelink DRX inactive time, coordination information received from a second wireless device based on the request for the one or more sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device,
(“As shown in FIG. 1, when a resource selection for traffic is triggered at time n, if the UE is not configured with the DRX functionality, the UE selects and reserves resource for SL transmitting during the resource selection window based on the resource sensing result during the sensing window and performs resource re-evaluation during the re-evaluation window. After the resource re-evaluation cut-off time c, the UE may perform SL transmitting on a selected resource block.”; Hu et al.; 0050)
(“In some embodiments, wherein in response to configuring the period during which the at least one resource sensing result obtained by the at least one other UE is requested by the first UE, the method further includes transmitting an assistance request to a second UE for requesting a resource sensing result obtained by the second UE during the period, and receiving the resource sensing result from the second UE, wherein the second UE is a sidelink peer UE of the first UE, and a PC5 radio resource control (RRC) connection is established between first UE and second UE, and the period includes at least a part of the DRX-off period.”; Hu et al.; 0009)
(where
“the at least one resource sensing result obtained by the at least one other UE is requested by the first UE” maps to “transmitting a request for coordination information for one or more sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device”,
“based on the resource sensing result” is considered as requiring “decoding” in order to perform “based on”
“PC5”/“DRX-off period” maps to “during sidelink DRX inactive time”
“based on the resource sensing result” maps to “based on”
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the assistance request/DRX-off capability of Hu et al. into Hosseini et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hosseini et al. to include the assistance request/DRX-off capability as taught by the processing/communications of Hu et al., the benefits of improved wake-up (Hosseini et al.; Abstract) with improved performance (Hu et al.; 0069) are achieved.
As to claim 9:
Hosseini et al. discloses:
A first wireless device comprising:
one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the first wireless device to
receive a message comprising one or more sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) parameters indicating a sidelink DRX inactive time of the first wireless device; and
(“Wireless communications system 100 may support various techniques for power savings when communicating on a sidelink. As an example, a UE 115 may determine one or more sidelink DRX parameters for use when communicating with another UE 115 over a sidelink communication link. The sidelink DRX parameters may be indicated to the UE 115 by a base station 105 or by another UE 115 (e.g., an in-coverage UE 115). In some examples, a UE 115 may select the sidelink DRX parameters from a set of sidelink DRX parameters, and the UE 115 may indicate the selected parameters to another UE 115 (e.g., an out-of-coverage UE 115). Based on the sidelink DRX parameters received, a UE 115 may discontinuously monitor for transmissions from another UE 115 over the sidelink communication link. As such, the UE 115 may refrain from continuously monitoring for sidelink transmissions in accordance with the sidelink DRX parameters (e.g., an ON duration, various sidelink DRX timers, and other DRX parameters) and may thereby save power and reduce battery consumption at the UE 115.”; Hosseini et al.; 0059)
(“The information 310 that is sent from UE 115-i to UE 115-j may, in some cases, include a DRX configuration for the UE 115-j. The DRX cycle may indicate time periods in which UE 115-j may monitor a control channel (e.g., a PDCCH, a PSCCH, etc.) according to the ON duration 320 of a configured DRX cycle. For example, the UE 115-j may wake up from an idle mode during each ON duration 320 of the DRX cycle to monitor for transmissions on the PDCCH or the PSCCH, and the UE 115-j may return to an idle or low power mode during each OFF duration of the DRX configuration. A DRX cycle duration 325 may be the time it may take to complete an ON duration and an OFF duration of the DRX configuration.”; Hosseini et al.; 0121)
(where
“a UE 115 may determine one or more sidelink DRX parameters for use when communicating with another UE 115 over a sidelink communication link. The sidelink DRX parameters may be indicated to the UE 115 … or by another UE 115 (e.g., an in-coverage UE 115)”/” UE 115 may refrain from continuously monitoring for sidelink transmissions in accordance with the sidelink DRX parameters (e.g., an ON duration, various sidelink DRX timers, and other DRX parameters) “/“information 310 that is sent from UE 115-i to UE 115-j may, in some cases, include a DRX configuration for the UE 115-j. The DRX cycle may indicate time periods in which UE 115-j may monitor a control channel (e.g., a PDCCH, a PSCCH, etc.) according to the ON duration 320 of a configured DRX cycle”
(where “information 310”/FIG. 3B/”UE 115-j” maps to “receiving, by a first wireless device, a message”,
“one or more sidelink DRX parameters…indicated to the UE 115” maps to “comprising one or more sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) parameters”,
“other DRX parameters”/”OFF duration of the DRX configuration” maps to “indicating a sidelink DRX inactive time of the first wireless device”
“DRX configuration for the UE 115-j” maps to “of the first wireless device”
the coordination information indicating at least one of:
a set of resources for the one or more sidelink transmissions; or
(where
“a WUS may indicate (e.g., via a bitmap or a WUS sequence) which sidelink resource pools may be used for sidelink communications” maps to “the coordination information indicating at least one of: a set of resources for the one or more sidelink transmissions”, where “WUS”/”bitmap…sequence” maps to “the coordination information”, “indicate…which sidelink resource pools may be used for sidelink communications” maps to “a set of resources for the one or more sidelink transmissions”
…
Hosseini et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
transmitting a request for coordination information for one or more sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device;
decoding, during the sidelink DRX inactive time, coordination information received from a second wireless device based on the request for the one or more sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device,
However, Hu et al. further teaches an assistance request/DRX-off capability which includes:
transmitting a request for coordination information for one or more sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device;
decoding, during the sidelink DRX inactive time, coordination information received from a second wireless device based on the request for the one or more sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device,
(“As shown in FIG. 1, when a resource selection for traffic is triggered at time n, if the UE is not configured with the DRX functionality, the UE selects and reserves resource for SL transmitting during the resource selection window based on the resource sensing result during the sensing window and performs resource re-evaluation during the re-evaluation window. After the resource re-evaluation cut-off time c, the UE may perform SL transmitting on a selected resource block.”; Hu et al.; 0050)
(“In some embodiments, wherein in response to configuring the period during which the at least one resource sensing result obtained by the at least one other UE is requested by the first UE, the method further includes transmitting an assistance request to a second UE for requesting a resource sensing result obtained by the second UE during the period, and receiving the resource sensing result from the second UE, wherein the second UE is a sidelink peer UE of the first UE, and a PC5 radio resource control (RRC) connection is established between first UE and second UE, and the period includes at least a part of the DRX-off period.”; Hu et al.; 0009)
(where
“the at least one resource sensing result obtained by the at least one other UE is requested by the first UE” maps to “transmitting a request for coordination information for one or more sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device”,
“based on the resource sensing result” is considered as requiring “decoding” in order to perform “based on”
“PC5”/“DRX-off period” maps to “during sidelink DRX inactive time”
“based on the resource sensing result” maps to “based on”
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the assistance request/DRX-off capability of Hu et al. into Hosseini et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hosseini et al. to include the assistance request/DRX-off capability as taught by the processing/communications of Hu et al., the benefits of improved wake-up (Hosseini et al.; Abstract) with improved performance (Hu et al.; 0069) are achieved.
As to claim 17:
Hosseini et al. discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
receive, by a first wireless device, a message comprising one or more sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) parameters indicating a sidelink DRX inactive time of the first wireless device; and
(“Wireless communications system 100 may support various techniques for power savings when communicating on a sidelink. As an example, a UE 115 may determine one or more sidelink DRX parameters for use when communicating with another UE 115 over a sidelink communication link. The sidelink DRX parameters may be indicated to the UE 115 by a base station 105 or by another UE 115 (e.g., an in-coverage UE 115). In some examples, a UE 115 may select the sidelink DRX parameters from a set of sidelink DRX parameters, and the UE 115 may indicate the selected parameters to another UE 115 (e.g., an out-of-coverage UE 115). Based on the sidelink DRX parameters received, a UE 115 may discontinuously monitor for transmissions from another UE 115 over the sidelink communication link. As such, the UE 115 may refrain from continuously monitoring for sidelink transmissions in accordance with the sidelink DRX parameters (e.g., an ON duration, various sidelink DRX timers, and other DRX parameters) and may thereby save power and reduce battery consumption at the UE 115.”; Hosseini et al.; 0059)
(“The information 310 that is sent from UE 115-i to UE 115-j may, in some cases, include a DRX configuration for the UE 115-j. The DRX cycle may indicate time periods in which UE 115-j may monitor a control channel (e.g., a PDCCH, a PSCCH, etc.) according to the ON duration 320 of a configured DRX cycle. For example, the UE 115-j may wake up from an idle mode during each ON duration 320 of the DRX cycle to monitor for transmissions on the PDCCH or the PSCCH, and the UE 115-j may return to an idle or low power mode during each OFF duration of the DRX configuration. A DRX cycle duration 325 may be the time it may take to complete an ON duration and an OFF duration of the DRX configuration.”; Hosseini et al.; 0121)
(where
“a UE 115 may determine one or more sidelink DRX parameters for use when communicating with another UE 115 over a sidelink communication link. The sidelink DRX parameters may be indicated to the UE 115 … or by another UE 115 (e.g., an in-coverage UE 115)”/” UE 115 may refrain from continuously monitoring for sidelink transmissions in accordance with the sidelink DRX parameters (e.g., an ON duration, various sidelink DRX timers, and other DRX parameters) “/“information 310 that is sent from UE 115-i to UE 115-j may, in some cases, include a DRX configuration for the UE 115-j. The DRX cycle may indicate time periods in which UE 115-j may monitor a control channel (e.g., a PDCCH, a PSCCH, etc.) according to the ON duration 320 of a configured DRX cycle”
(where “information 310”/FIG. 3B/”UE 115-j” maps to “receiving, by a first wireless device, a message”,
“one or more sidelink DRX parameters…indicated to the UE 115” maps to “comprising one or more sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) parameters”,
“other DRX parameters”/”OFF duration of the DRX configuration” maps to “indicating a sidelink DRX inactive time of the first wireless device”
“DRX configuration for the UE 115-j” maps to “of the first wireless device”
the coordination information indicating at least one of:
a set of resources for the one or more sidelink transmissions; or
(where
“a WUS may indicate (e.g., via a bitmap or a WUS sequence) which sidelink resource pools may be used for sidelink communications” maps to “the coordination information indicating at least one of: a set of resources for the one or more sidelink transmissions”, where “WUS”/”bitmap…sequence” maps to “the coordination information”, “indicate…which sidelink resource pools may be used for sidelink communications” maps to “a set of resources for the one or more sidelink transmissions”
…
Hosseini et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
transmitting a request for coordination information for one or more sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device;
decoding, during the sidelink DRX inactive time, coordination information received from a second wireless device based on the request for the one or more sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device,
However, Hu et al. further teaches an assistance request/DRX-off capability which includes:
transmitting a request for coordination information for one or more sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device;
decoding, during the sidelink DRX inactive time, coordination information received from a second wireless device based on the request for the one or more sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device,
(“As shown in FIG. 1, when a resource selection for traffic is triggered at time n, if the UE is not configured with the DRX functionality, the UE selects and reserves resource for SL transmitting during the resource selection window based on the resource sensing result during the sensing window and performs resource re-evaluation during the re-evaluation window. After the resource re-evaluation cut-off time c, the UE may perform SL transmitting on a selected resource block.”; Hu et al.; 0050)
(“In some embodiments, wherein in response to configuring the period during which the at least one resource sensing result obtained by the at least one other UE is requested by the first UE, the method further includes transmitting an assistance request to a second UE for requesting a resource sensing result obtained by the second UE during the period, and receiving the resource sensing result from the second UE, wherein the second UE is a sidelink peer UE of the first UE, and a PC5 radio resource control (RRC) connection is established between first UE and second UE, and the period includes at least a part of the DRX-off period.”; Hu et al.; 0009)
(where
“the at least one resource sensing result obtained by the at least one other UE is requested by the first UE” maps to “transmitting a request for coordination information for one or more sidelink transmissions by the first wireless device”,
“based on the resource sensing result” is considered as requiring “decoding” in order to perform “based on”
“PC5”/“DRX-off period” maps to “during sidelink DRX inactive time”
“based on the resource sensing result” maps to “based on”
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the assistance request/DRX-off capability of Hu et al. into Hosseini et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hosseini et al. to include the assistance request/DRX-off capability as taught by the processing/communications of Hu et al., the benefits of improved wake-up (Hosseini et al.; Abstract) with improved performance (Hu et al.; 0069) are achieved.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 5, 10, 11, 12, 13, 18, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini et al. US 20210058866 in view of Hu et al. US 20240023069 and in further view of Tseng et al. US 20230066448 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 5/20/2025).
As to claim 2:
Hosseini et al. discloses:
wherein the one or more sidelink DRX parameters comprise at least one of:
a length of a sidelink DRX cycle;
(“The information 310 that is sent from UE 115-i to UE 115-j may, in some cases, include a DRX configuration for the UE 115-j. The DRX cycle may indicate time periods in which UE 115-j may monitor a control channel (e.g., a PDCCH, a PSCCH, etc.) according to the ON duration 320 of a configured DRX cycle. For example, the UE 115-j may wake up from an idle mode during each ON duration 320 of the DRX cycle to monitor for transmissions on the PDCCH or the PSCCH, and the UE 115-j may return to an idle or low power mode during each OFF duration of the DRX configuration. A DRX cycle duration 325 may be the time it may take to complete an ON duration and an OFF duration of the DRX configuration.”; Hosseini et al.; 0121)
(“Wireless communications system 100 may support various techniques for power savings when communicating on a sidelink. As an example, a UE 115 may determine one or more sidelink DRX parameters for use when communicating with another UE 115 over a sidelink communication link. The sidelink DRX parameters may be indicated to the UE 115 by a base station 105 or by another UE 115 (e.g., an in-coverage UE 115). In some examples, a UE 115 may select the sidelink DRX parameters from a set of sidelink DRX parameters, and the UE 115 may indicate the selected parameters to another UE 115 (e.g., an out-of-coverage UE 115). Based on the sidelink DRX parameters received, a UE 115 may discontinuously monitor for transmissions from another UE 115 over the sidelink communication link. As such, the UE 115 may refrain from continuously monitoring for sidelink transmissions in accordance with the sidelink DRX parameters (e.g., an ON duration, various sidelink DRX timers, and other DRX parameters) and may thereby save power and reduce battery consumption at the UE 115.”; Hosseini et al.; 0103)
Hosseini et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
a length of a sidelink DRX on duration timer;
a length of a sidelink DRX inactivity timer; or
a length of a sidelink DRX retransmission timer.
However, Tseng et al. further teaches a SL-DRX parameter capability which includes:
a length of a sidelink DRX on duration timer;
a length of a sidelink DRX inactivity timer; or
a length of a sidelink DRX retransmission timer.
(“If SL-DRX is configured, for all associated SL (e.g., unicast, group-cast and/or broadcast) groups, the MAC entity may monitor the PSCCH discontinuously using the SL-DRX operation. Otherwise, the MAC entity may monitor the PSCCH for SL packet reception. If SL-DRX is configured, for all the associated SL (e.g., unicast, group-cast and/or broadcast) groups, the MAC entity may transmit Sidelink Control Information (SCI) on the configured PSCCH(s) discontinuously using the SL-DRX operation. Specifically, in some implementations, the RRC entity may control the SL-DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: [0097] SL-drx-onDurationTimer: this duration may be at the beginning of an SL-DRX cycle; [0098] SL-drx-SlotOffset: this delay may be before starting the SL-drx-onDurationTimer; [0099] SL-drx-InactivityTimer: this duration may be after the PSCCH occasion in which a PSCCH indicates a new SL transmission/reception for the concerned MAC entity; [0100] drx-RetransmissionTimerSL_Rx (e.g., for each SL-HARQ reception process in which the UE needs to transmit SL-HARQ feedback information to the associated SL-Tx UE): this may be the maximum duration until an SL retransmission is received; [0101] drx-RetransmissionTimerSL_Tx (e.g., per SL-HARQ transmission process in which the UE needs to re-transmit an SL MAC PDU based on the SL-HARQ feedback information replied by at least one SL-Rx UE): this may be the maximum duration until an SL grant for SL retransmission is received; [0102] SL-drx-LongCycleStartOffset: this may include the Long SL-DRX cycle and drx-StartOffset which defines the subframe where the Long or Short SL-DRX cycle starts; [0103] SL-drx-ShortCycle (optional): this may be the Short SL-DRX cycle; [0104] SL-drx-ShortCycleTimer (optional): this may be the duration that the UE may follow in the Short SL-DRX cycle; [0105] drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerSL_Rx (e.g., for each SL-HARQ reception process in which the UE needs to transmit SL-HARQ feedback information to the associated SL-Tx UE): this may be the minimum duration before an SL assignment for SL-HARQ reception is expected by the MAC entity; [0106] drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerSL_Tx (e.g., per SL-HARQ transmission process in which the UE needs to re-transmit an SL MAC PDU based on the SL-HARQ feedback information replied by at least one SL-Rx UE): this may be the minimum duration before an SL-HARQ retransmission grant is expected by the MAC entity.”; Tseng et al.; 0096-0106)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SL-DRX parameter capability of Tseng et al. into Hosseini et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hosseini et al. to include the SL-DRX parameter capability as taught by the processing/communications of Tseng et al., the benefits of improved wake-up (Hosseini et al.; Abstract) with improved sidelink (Tseng et al.; 0005) are achieved.
As to claim 3:
Hosseini et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein a sidelink DRX active time in a sidelink DRX cycle comprise at least one of:
a sidelink DRX on duration timer is running;
a sidelink DRX inactivity timer is running; and
a sidelink DRX retransmission timer is running.
However, Tseng et al. further teaches a timer capability which includes:
wherein a sidelink DRX active time in a sidelink DRX cycle comprise at least one of:
a sidelink DRX on duration timer is running;
a sidelink DRX inactivity timer is running; and
a sidelink DRX retransmission timer is running.
(“In some implementations, when a DRX cycle is configured, the (SL-DRX) Active Time may include the time while: [0053] drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer or drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL or ra-ContentionResolutionTimer (as described in the 3 GPP TS 38 series specifications) is running; or [0054] a Scheduling Request (SR) is sent on a PUCCH and is pending (as described in the 3GPP TS 38 series specifications); or [0055] a PDCCH indicating a new transmission addressed to the C-RNTI of the MAC entity has not been received after successful reception of a Random Access Response for the Random Access Preamble not selected by the MAC entity among the contention-based Random Access Preamble (as described in the 3 GPP TS 38 series specifications).”; Tseng et al.; 0052)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the timer parameter capability of Tseng et al. into Hosseini et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hosseini et al. to include the timer parameter capability as taught by the processing/communications of Tseng et al., the benefits of improved wake-up (Hosseini et al.; Abstract) with improved sidelink (Tseng et al.; 0005) are achieved.
As to claim 4:
Hosseini et al. discloses:
A method, wherein the sidelink DRX inactive time in the sidelink DRX cycle is a time duration other than the sidelink DRX active time.
(“The information 310 that is sent from UE 115-i to UE 115-j may, in some cases, include a DRX configuration for the UE 115-j. The DRX cycle may indicate time periods in which UE 115-j may monitor a control channel (e.g., a PDCCH, a PSCCH, etc.) according to the ON duration 320 of a configured DRX cycle. For example, the UE 115-j may wake up from an idle mode during each ON duration 320 of the DRX cycle to monitor for transmissions on the PDCCH or the PSCCH, and the UE 115-j may return to an idle or low power mode during each OFF duration of the DRX configuration. A DRX cycle duration 325 may be the time it may take to complete an ON duration and an OFF duration of the DRX configuration.”; Hosseini et al.; 0121)
(see FIG. 3B)
As to claim 5:
Hosseini et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
further comprising receiving, from a base station, the message comprising the one or more sidelink DRX parameters, wherein the message is a radio resource control (RRC) message.
However, Tseng et al. further teaches an RRC capability which includes:
further comprising receiving, from a base station, the message comprising the one or more sidelink DRX parameters, wherein the message is a radio resource control (RRC) message.
(“If SL-DRX is configured, for all associated SL (e.g., unicast, group-cast and/or broadcast) groups, the MAC entity may monitor the PSCCH discontinuously using the SL-DRX operation. Otherwise, the MAC entity may monitor the PSCCH for SL packet reception. If SL-DRX is configured, for all the associated SL (e.g., unicast, group-cast and/or broadcast) groups, the MAC entity may transmit Sidelink Control Information (SCI) on the configured PSCCH(s) discontinuously using the SL-DRX operation. Specifically, in some implementations, the RRC entity may control the SL-DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: [0097] SL-drx-onDurationTimer: this duration may be at the beginning of an SL-DRX cycle; [0098] SL-drx-SlotOffset: this delay may be before starting the SL-drx-onDurationTimer; [0099] SL-drx-InactivityTimer: this duration may be after the PSCCH occasion in which a PSCCH indicates a new SL transmission/reception for the concerned MAC entity; [0100] drx-RetransmissionTimerSL_Rx (e.g., for each SL-HARQ reception process in which the UE needs to transmit SL-HARQ feedback information to the associated SL-Tx UE): this may be the maximum duration until an SL retransmission is received; [0101] drx-RetransmissionTimerSL_Tx (e.g., per SL-HARQ transmission process in which the UE needs to re-transmit an SL MAC PDU based on the SL-HARQ feedback information replied by at least one SL-Rx UE): this may be the maximum duration until an SL grant for SL retransmission is received; [0102] SL-drx-LongCycleStartOffset: this may include the Long SL-DRX cycle and drx-StartOffset which defines the subframe where the Long or Short SL-DRX cycle starts; [0103] SL-drx-ShortCycle (optional): this may be the Short SL-DRX cycle; [0104] SL-drx-ShortCycleTimer (optional): this may be the duration that the UE may follow in the Short SL-DRX cycle; [0105] drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerSL_Rx (e.g., for each SL-HARQ reception process in which the UE needs to transmit SL-HARQ feedback information to the associated SL-Tx UE): this may be the minimum duration before an SL assignment for SL-HARQ reception is expected by the MAC entity; [0106] drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerSL_Tx (e.g., per SL-HARQ transmission process in which the UE needs to re-transmit an SL MAC PDU based on the SL-HARQ feedback information replied by at least one SL-Rx UE): this may be the minimum duration before an SL-HARQ retransmission grant is expected by the MAC entity.”; Tseng et al.; 0096-0106)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the RRC capability of Tseng et al. into Hosseini et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hosseini et al. to include the RRC capability as taught by the processing/communications of Tseng et al., the benefits of improved wake-up (Hosseini et al.; Abstract) with improved sidelink (Tseng et al.; 0005) are achieved.
As to claim 10:
Hosseini et al. discloses:
wherein the one or more sidelink DRX parameters comprise at least one of:
a length of a sidelink DRX cycle;
(“The information 310 that is sent from UE 115-i to UE 115-j may, in some cases, include a DRX configuration for the UE 115-j. The DRX cycle may indicate time periods in which UE 115-j may monitor a control channel (e.g., a PDCCH, a PSCCH, etc.) according to the ON duration 320 of a configured DRX cycle. For example, the UE 115-j may wake up from an idle mode during each ON duration 320 of the DRX cycle to monitor for transmissions on the PDCCH or the PSCCH, and the UE 115-j may return to an idle or low power mode during each OFF duration of the DRX configuration. A DRX cycle duration 325 may be the time it may take to complete an ON duration and an OFF duration of the DRX configuration.”; Hosseini et al.; 0121)
(“Wireless communications system 100 may support various techniques for power savings when communicating on a sidelink. As an example, a UE 115 may determine one or more sidelink DRX parameters for use when communicating with another UE 115 over a sidelink communication link. The sidelink DRX parameters may be indicated to the UE 115 by a base station 105 or by another UE 115 (e.g., an in-coverage UE 115). In some examples, a UE 115 may select the sidelink DRX parameters from a set of sidelink DRX parameters, and the UE 115 may indicate the selected parameters to another UE 115 (e.g., an out-of-coverage UE 115). Based on the sidelink DRX parameters received, a UE 115 may discontinuously monitor for transmissions from another UE 115 over the sidelink communication link. As such, the UE 115 may refrain from continuously monitoring for sidelink transmissions in accordance with the sidelink DRX parameters (e.g., an ON duration, various sidelink DRX timers, and other DRX parameters) and may thereby save power and reduce battery consumption at the UE 115.”; Hosseini et al.; 0103)
Hosseini et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
a length of a sidelink DRX on duration timer;
a length of a sidelink DRX inactivity timer; or
a length of a sidelink DRX retransmission timer.
However, Tseng et al. further teaches a SL-DRX parameter capability which includes:
a length of a sidelink DRX on duration timer;
a length of a sidelink DRX inactivity timer; or
a length of a sidelink DRX retransmission timer.
(“If SL-DRX is configured, for all associated SL (e.g., unicast, group-cast and/or broadcast) groups, the MAC entity may monitor the PSCCH discontinuously using the SL-DRX operation. Otherwise, the MAC entity may monitor the PSCCH for SL packet reception. If SL-DRX is configured, for all the associated SL (e.g., unicast, group-cast and/or broadcast) groups, the MAC entity may transmit Sidelink Control Information (SCI) on the configured PSCCH(s) discontinuously using the SL-DRX operation. Specifically, in some implementations, the RRC entity may control the SL-DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: [0097] SL-drx-onDurationTimer: this duration may be at the beginning of an SL-DRX cycle; [0098] SL-drx-SlotOffset: this delay may be before starting the SL-drx-onDurationTimer; [0099] SL-drx-InactivityTimer: this duration may be after the PSCCH occasion in which a PSCCH indicates a new SL transmission/reception for the concerned MAC entity; [0100] drx-RetransmissionTimerSL_Rx (e.g., for each SL-HARQ reception process in which the UE needs to transmit SL-HARQ feedback information to the associated SL-Tx UE): this may be the maximum duration until an SL retransmission is received; [0101] drx-RetransmissionTimerSL_Tx (e.g., per SL-HARQ transmission process in which the UE needs to re-transmit an SL MAC PDU based on the SL-HARQ feedback information replied by at least one SL-Rx UE): this may be the maximum duration until an SL grant for SL retransmission is received; [0102] SL-drx-LongCycleStartOffset: this may include the Long SL-DRX cycle and drx-StartOffset which defines the subframe where the Long or Short SL-DRX cycle starts; [0103] SL-drx-ShortCycle (optional): this may be the Short SL-DRX cycle; [0104] SL-drx-ShortCycleTimer (optional): this may be the duration that the UE may follow in the Short SL-DRX cycle; [0105] drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerSL_Rx (e.g., for each SL-HARQ reception process in which the UE needs to transmit SL-HARQ feedback information to the associated SL-Tx UE): this may be the minimum duration before an SL assignment for SL-HARQ reception is expected by the MAC entity; [0106] drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerSL_Tx (e.g., per SL-HARQ transmission process in which the UE needs to re-transmit an SL MAC PDU based on the SL-HARQ feedback information replied by at least one SL-Rx UE): this may be the minimum duration before an SL-HARQ retransmission grant is expected by the MAC entity.”; Tseng et al.; 0096-0106)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SL-DRX parameter capability of Tseng et al. into Hosseini et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hosseini et al. to include the SL-DRX parameter capability as taught by the processing/communications of Tseng et al., the benefits of improved wake-up (Hosseini et al.; Abstract) with improved sidelink (Tseng et al.; 0005) are achieved.
As to claim 11:
Hosseini et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein a sidelink DRX active time in a sidelink DRX cycle comprise at least one of:
a sidelink DRX on duration timer is running;
a sidelink DRX inactivity timer is running; and
a sidelink DRX retransmission timer is running.
However, Tseng et al. further teaches a timer capability which includes:
wherein a sidelink DRX active time in a sidelink DRX cycle comprise at least one of:
a sidelink DRX on duration timer is running;
a sidelink DRX inactivity timer is running; and
a sidelink DRX retransmission timer is running.
(“In some implementations, when a DRX cycle is configured, the (SL-DRX) Active Time may include the time while: [0053] drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer or drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL or ra-ContentionResolutionTimer (as described in the 3 GPP TS 38 series specifications) is running; or [0054] a Scheduling Request (SR) is sent on a PUCCH and is pending (as described in the 3GPP TS 38 series specifications); or [0055] a PDCCH indicating a new transmission addressed to the C-RNTI of the MAC entity has not been received after successful reception of a Random Access Response for the Random Access Preamble not selected by the MAC entity among the contention-based Random Access Preamble (as described in the 3 GPP TS 38 series specifications).”; Tseng et al.; 0052)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the timer parameter capability of Tseng et al. into Hosseini et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hosseini et al. to include the timer parameter capability as taught by the processing/communications of Tseng et al., the benefits of improved wake-up (Hosseini et al.; Abstract) with improved sidelink (Tseng et al.; 0005) are achieved.
As to claim 12:
Hosseini et al. discloses:
A method, wherein the sidelink DRX inactive time in the sidelink DRX cycle is a time duration other than the sidelink DRX active time.
(“The information 310 that is sent from UE 115-i to UE 115-j may, in some cases, include a DRX configuration for the UE 115-j. The DRX cycle may indicate time periods in which UE 115-j may monitor a control channel (e.g., a PDCCH, a PSCCH, etc.) according to the ON duration 320 of a configured DRX cycle. For example, the UE 115-j may wake up from an idle mode during each ON duration 320 of the DRX cycle to monitor for transmissions on the PDCCH or the PSCCH, and the UE 115-j may return to an idle or low power mode during each OFF duration of the DRX configuration. A DRX cycle duration 325 may be the time it may take to complete an ON duration and an OFF duration of the DRX configuration.”; Hosseini et al.; 0121)
(see FIG. 3B)
As to claim 13:
Hosseini et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
further comprising receiving, from a base station, the message comprising the one or more sidelink DRX parameters, wherein the message is a radio resource control (RRC) message.
However, Tseng et al. further teaches an RRC capability which includes:
further comprising receiving, from a base station, the message comprising the one or more sidelink DRX parameters, wherein the message is a radio resource control (RRC) message.
(“If SL-DRX is configured, for all associated SL (e.g., unicast, group-cast and/or broadcast) groups, the MAC entity may monitor the PSCCH discontinuously using the SL-DRX operation. Otherwise, the MAC entity may monitor the PSCCH for SL packet reception. If SL-DRX is configured, for all the associated SL (e.g., unicast, group-cast and/or broadcast) groups, the MAC entity may transmit Sidelink Control Information (SCI) on the configured PSCCH(s) discontinuously using the SL-DRX operation. Specifically, in some implementations, the RRC entity may control the SL-DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: [0097] SL-drx-onDurationTimer: this duration may be at the beginning of an SL-DRX cycle; [0098] SL-drx-SlotOffset: this delay may be before starting the SL-drx-onDurationTimer; [0099] SL-drx-InactivityTimer: this duration may be after the PSCCH occasion in which a PSCCH indicates a new SL transmission/reception for the concerned MAC entity; [0100] drx-RetransmissionTimerSL_Rx (e.g., for each SL-HARQ reception process in which the UE needs to transmit SL-HARQ feedback information to the associated SL-Tx UE): this may be the maximum duration until an SL retransmission is received; [0101] drx-RetransmissionTimerSL_Tx (e.g., per SL-HARQ transmission process in which the UE needs to re-transmit an SL MAC PDU based on the SL-HARQ feedback information replied by at least one SL-Rx UE): this may be the maximum duration until an SL grant for SL retransmission is received; [0102] SL-drx-LongCycleStartOffset: this may include the Long SL-DRX cycle and drx-StartOffset which defines the subframe where the Long or Short SL-DRX cycle starts; [0103] SL-drx-ShortCycle (optional): this may be the Short SL-DRX cycle; [0104] SL-drx-ShortCycleTimer (optional): this may be the duration that the UE may follow in the Short SL-DRX cycle; [0105] drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerSL_Rx (e.g., for each SL-HARQ reception process in which the UE needs to transmit SL-HARQ feedback information to the associated SL-Tx UE): this may be the minimum duration before an SL assignment for SL-HARQ reception is expected by the MAC entity; [0106] drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerSL_Tx (e.g., per SL-HARQ transmission process in which the UE needs to re-transmit an SL MAC PDU based on the SL-HARQ feedback information replied by at least one SL-Rx UE): this may be the minimum duration before an SL-HARQ retransmission grant is expected by the MAC entity.”; Tseng et al.; 0096-0106)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the RRC capability of Tseng et al. into Hosseini et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hosseini et al. to include the RRC capability as taught by the processing/communications of Tseng et al., the benefits of improved wake-up (Hosseini et al.; Abstract) with improved sidelink (Tseng et al.; 0005) are achieved.
As to claim 18:
Hosseini et al. discloses:
wherein the one or more sidelink DRX parameters comprise at least one of:
a length of a sidelink DRX cycle;
(“The information 310 that is sent from UE 115-i to UE 115-j may, in some cases, include a DRX configuration for the UE 115-j. The DRX cycle may indicate time periods in which UE 115-j may monitor a control channel (e.g., a PDCCH, a PSCCH, etc.) according to the ON duration 320 of a configured DRX cycle. For example, the UE 115-j may wake up from an idle mode during each ON duration 320 of the DRX cycle to monitor for transmissions on the PDCCH or the PSCCH, and the UE 115-j may return to an idle or low power mode during each OFF duration of the DRX configuration. A DRX cycle duration 325 may be the time it may take to complete an ON duration and an OFF duration of the DRX configuration.”; Hosseini et al.; 0121)
(“Wireless communications system 100 may support various techniques for power savings when communicating on a sidelink. As an example, a UE 115 may determine one or more sidelink DRX parameters for use when communicating with another UE 115 over a sidelink communication link. The sidelink DRX parameters may be indicated to the UE 115 by a base station 105 or by another UE 115 (e.g., an in-coverage UE 115). In some examples, a UE 115 may select the sidelink DRX parameters from a set of sidelink DRX parameters, and the UE 115 may indicate the selected parameters to another UE 115 (e.g., an out-of-coverage UE 115). Based on the sidelink DRX parameters received, a UE 115 may discontinuously monitor for transmissions from another UE 115 over the sidelink communication link. As such, the UE 115 may refrain from continuously monitoring for sidelink transmissions in accordance with the sidelink DRX parameters (e.g., an ON duration, various sidelink DRX timers, and other DRX parameters) and may thereby save power and reduce battery consumption at the UE 115.”; Hosseini et al.; 0103)
Hosseini et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
a length of a sidelink DRX on duration timer;
a length of a sidelink DRX inactivity timer; or
a length of a sidelink DRX retransmission timer.
However, Tseng et al. further teaches a SL-DRX parameter capability which includes:
a length of a sidelink DRX on duration timer;
a length of a sidelink DRX inactivity timer; or
a length of a sidelink DRX retransmission timer.
(“If SL-DRX is configured, for all associated SL (e.g., unicast, group-cast and/or broadcast) groups, the MAC entity may monitor the PSCCH discontinuously using the SL-DRX operation. Otherwise, the MAC entity may monitor the PSCCH for SL packet reception. If SL-DRX is configured, for all the associated SL (e.g., unicast, group-cast and/or broadcast) groups, the MAC entity may transmit Sidelink Control Information (SCI) on the configured PSCCH(s) discontinuously using the SL-DRX operation. Specifically, in some implementations, the RRC entity may control the SL-DRX operation by configuring the following parameters: [0097] SL-drx-onDurationTimer: this duration may be at the beginning of an SL-DRX cycle; [0098] SL-drx-SlotOffset: this delay may be before starting the SL-drx-onDurationTimer; [0099] SL-drx-InactivityTimer: this duration may be after the PSCCH occasion in which a PSCCH indicates a new SL transmission/reception for the concerned MAC entity; [0100] drx-RetransmissionTimerSL_Rx (e.g., for each SL-HARQ reception process in which the UE needs to transmit SL-HARQ feedback information to the associated SL-Tx UE): this may be the maximum duration until an SL retransmission is received; [0101] drx-RetransmissionTimerSL_Tx (e.g., per SL-HARQ transmission process in which the UE needs to re-transmit an SL MAC PDU based on the SL-HARQ feedback information replied by at least one SL-Rx UE): this may be the maximum duration until an SL grant for SL retransmission is received; [0102] SL-drx-LongCycleStartOffset: this may include the Long SL-DRX cycle and drx-StartOffset which defines the subframe where the Long or Short SL-DRX cycle starts; [0103] SL-drx-ShortCycle (optional): this may be the Short SL-DRX cycle; [0104] SL-drx-ShortCycleTimer (optional): this may be the duration that the UE may follow in the Short SL-DRX cycle; [0105] drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerSL_Rx (e.g., for each SL-HARQ reception process in which the UE needs to transmit SL-HARQ feedback information to the associated SL-Tx UE): this may be the minimum duration before an SL assignment for SL-HARQ reception is expected by the MAC entity; [0106] drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerSL_Tx (e.g., per SL-HARQ transmission process in which the UE needs to re-transmit an SL MAC PDU based on the SL-HARQ feedback information replied by at least one SL-Rx UE): this may be the minimum duration before an SL-HARQ retransmission grant is expected by the MAC entity.”; Tseng et al.; 0096-0106)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SL-DRX parameter capability of Tseng et al. into Hosseini et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hosseini et al. to include the SL-DRX parameter capability as taught by the processing/communications of Tseng et al., the benefits of improved wake-up (Hosseini et al.; Abstract) with improved sidelink (Tseng et al.; 0005) are achieved.
As to claim 19:
Hosseini et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein a sidelink DRX active time in a sidelink DRX cycle comprise at least one of:
a sidelink DRX on duration timer is running;
a sidelink DRX inactivity timer is running; and
a sidelink DRX retransmission timer is running.
However, Tseng et al. further teaches a timer capability which includes:
wherein a sidelink DRX active time in a sidelink DRX cycle comprise at least one of:
a sidelink DRX on duration timer is running;
a sidelink DRX inactivity timer is running; and
a sidelink DRX retransmission timer is running.
(“In some implementations, when a DRX cycle is configured, the (SL-DRX) Active Time may include the time while: [0053] drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer or drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL or ra-ContentionResolutionTimer (as described in the 3 GPP TS 38 series specifications) is running; or [0054] a Scheduling Request (SR) is sent on a PUCCH and is pending (as described in the 3GPP TS 38 series specifications); or [0055] a PDCCH indicating a new transmission addressed to the C-RNTI of the MAC entity has not been received after successful reception of a Random Access Response for the Random Access Preamble not selected by the MAC entity among the contention-based Random Access Preamble (as described in the 3 GPP TS 38 series specifications).”; Tseng et al.; 0052)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the timer parameter capability of Tseng et al. into Hosseini et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hosseini et al. to include the timer parameter capability as taught by the processing/communications of Tseng et al., the benefits of improved wake-up (Hosseini et al.; Abstract) with improved sidelink (Tseng et al.; 0005) are achieved.
As to claim 20:
Hosseini et al. discloses:
A method, wherein the sidelink DRX inactive time in the sidelink DRX cycle is a time duration other than the sidelink DRX active time.
(“The information 310 that is sent from UE 115-i to UE 115-j may, in some cases, include a DRX configuration for the UE 115-j. The DRX cycle may indicate time periods in which UE 115-j may monitor a control channel (e.g., a PDCCH, a PSCCH, etc.) according to the ON duration 320 of a configured DRX cycle. For example, the UE 115-j may wake up from an idle mode during each ON duration 320 of the DRX cycle to monitor for transmissions on the PDCCH or the PSCCH, and the UE 115-j may return to an idle or low power mode during each OFF duration of the DRX configuration. A DRX cycle duration 325 may be the time it may take to complete an ON duration and an OFF duration of the DRX configuration.”; Hosseini et al.; 0121)
(see FIG. 3B)
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini et al. US 20210058866 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 10/10/2025) in view of Hu et al. US 20240023069 and in further view of Xue et al. US 20220070776 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 10/10/2025).
As to claim 6:
Hosseini et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein a container of the coordination information is at least one of:
a second stage sidelink control information (SCI) via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH); and
….
However, Xue et al. further teaches an SCI-2/PSSCH/WUS capability which includes:
wherein a container of the coordination information is at least one of:
a second stage sidelink control information (SCI) via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH); and
….
(“…for example, the SCI-2 may be appended to a data transmission via PSSCH from the SL hub UE to the SL peripheral UE. In some cases, all information related to the forward traffic monitoring (i.e., “WUS related information”) can be appended to a data transmission when same modulation and coding scheme (MCS) is used to save cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits.”; Xue et al.; 0060)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SCI-2/PSSCH/WUS capability of Xue et al. into Hosseini et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hosseini et al. to include the SCI-2/PSSCH/WUS capability as taught by the processing/communications of Xue et al., the benefits of improved wake-up (Hosseini et al.; Abstract) with reduced collisions (Xue et al.; 0061) are achieved.
As to claim 14:
Hosseini et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein a container of the coordination information is at least one of:
a second stage sidelink control information (SCI) via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH); and
….
However, Xue et al. further teaches an SCI-2/PSSCH/WUS capability which includes:
wherein a container of the coordination information is at least one of:
a second stage sidelink control information (SCI) via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH); and
….
(“…for example, the SCI-2 may be appended to a data transmission via PSSCH from the SL hub UE to the SL peripheral UE. In some cases, all information related to the forward traffic monitoring (i.e., “WUS related information”) can be appended to a data transmission when same modulation and coding scheme (MCS) is used to save cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits.”; Xue et al.; 0060)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SCI-2/PSSCH/WUS capability of Xue et al. into Hosseini et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hosseini et al. to include the SCI-2/PSSCH/WUS capability as taught by the processing/communications of Xue et al., the benefits of improved wake-up (Hosseini et al.; Abstract) with reduced collisions (Xue et al.; 0061) are achieved.
Claim(s) 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini et al. US 20210058866 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 10/10/2025) in view of Hu et al. US 20240023069 and in further view of Xue et al. US 20220070776 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 10/10/2025) and Ko et al. US 20230389045 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 5/20/2025).
As to claim 7:
Hosseini et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
further comprising receiving, via a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) and in a sensing window during the sidelink DRX inactive time, a first stage SCI scheduling the PSSCH.
However, Xue et al. further teaches an SCI/PSSCH/WUS capability which includes:
further comprising receiving, via a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) and … during the sidelink DRX inactive time, a first stage SCI scheduling the PSSCH
(“In some aspects, the WUS related information may be included in a SCI-1. That is, the SCI-1 that is carried over PSCCH may contain WUS related information in addition to the occupancy and/or reservation information that are included in SCI-1 of Release 16 of 3GPP and understood by the SL peripheral UE. For example, the SCI-1 may include new or scrambled bits related to the WUS related information. For instance, new or repurposed bits can be used in such SCI-1 for new unlicensed bands without corresponding legacy UEs. In some aspects, scrambling can be used for so-called “light-weight” SCI-only transmissions, i.e., SCI only transmissions that occupy a sub-channel partially and/or have a low coding rate and low transmission power. In some aspects, a SL peripheral UE may be allowed to occupy a sub-channel without sensing (e.g., without LBT) to transmit such SCI-only transmissions. In some cases, the “light-weight” feature, i.e., the aspect of the SCI-only transmissions related to partial occupancy of sub-channels and/or low coding rate/transmission power, may aid with reducing impact of any collision during channel use (e.g., when channel is occupied without sensing).”; Xue et al.; 0061)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SCI/PSSCH/WUS capability of Xue et al. into Hosseini et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hosseini et al. to include the SCI/PSSCH/WUS capability as taught by the processing/communications of Xue et al., the benefits of improved wake-up (Hosseini et al.; Abstract) with reduced collisions (Xue et al.; 0061) are achieved.
However, Ko et al. further teaches a sensing window capability which includes:
in a sensing window
(“Based on an embodiment, if the transmission operation of the SL DRX UE is performed in the on-duration, the SL DRX UE may select an SL resource with a relatively high sensing reliability within the latter part of the on-duration since the SL resource can be selected within the latter part of the on-duration based on a sensing result of the former part. However, if the UE performs sensing only in the on-duration or the active time, the reliability of sensing may be relatively low in the case of the former part of the on-duration. To solve these problems, a sensing window for performing channel sensing may be configured for an inactive time domain that precedes the on-duration by a specific threshold in time. In this case, the sensing window may be pre-defined, or pre-configured or configured by a higher layer.”; Ko et al.; 0105)
(see FIG. 8 and FIG. 9)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the sensing window capability of Ko et al. into Hosseini et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hosseini et al. to include the sensing window capability as taught by the processing/communications of Ko et al., the benefits of reduced latency (Ko et al.; 0009) are achieved.
As to claim 15:
Hosseini et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
further comprising receiving, via a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) and in a sensing window during the sidelink DRX inactive time, a first stage SCI scheduling the PSSCH.
However, Xue et al. further teaches an SCI/PSSCH/WUS capability which includes:
further comprising receiving, via a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) and … during the sidelink DRX inactive time, a first stage SCI scheduling the PSSCH
(“In some aspects, the WUS related information may be included in a SCI-1. That is, the SCI-1 that is carried over PSCCH may contain WUS related information in addition to the occupancy and/or reservation information that are included in SCI-1 of Release 16 of 3GPP and understood by the SL peripheral UE. For example, the SCI-1 may include new or scrambled bits related to the WUS related information. For instance, new or repurposed bits can be used in such SCI-1 for new unlicensed bands without corresponding legacy UEs. In some aspects, scrambling can be used for so-called “light-weight” SCI-only transmissions, i.e., SCI only transmissions that occupy a sub-channel partially and/or have a low coding rate and low transmission power. In some aspects, a SL peripheral UE may be allowed to occupy a sub-channel without sensing (e.g., without LBT) to transmit such SCI-only transmissions. In some cases, the “light-weight” feature, i.e., the aspect of the SCI-only transmissions related to partial occupancy of sub-channels and/or low coding rate/transmission power, may aid with reducing impact of any collision during channel use (e.g., when channel is occupied without sensing).”; Xue et al.; 0061)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SCI/PSSCH/WUS capability of Xue et al. into Hosseini et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hosseini et al. to include the SCI/PSSCH/WUS capability as taught by the processing/communications of Xue et al., the benefits of improved wake-up (Hosseini et al.; Abstract) with reduced collisions (Xue et al.; 0061) are achieved.
However, Ko et al. further teaches a sensing window capability which includes:
in a sensing window
(“Based on an embodiment, if the transmission operation of the SL DRX UE is performed in the on-duration, the SL DRX UE may select an SL resource with a relatively high sensing reliability within the latter part of the on-duration since the SL resource can be selected within the latter part of the on-duration based on a sensing result of the former part. However, if the UE performs sensing only in the on-duration or the active time, the reliability of sensing may be relatively low in the case of the former part of the on-duration. To solve these problems, a sensing window for performing channel sensing may be configured for an inactive time domain that precedes the on-duration by a specific threshold in time. In this case, the sensing window may be pre-defined, or pre-configured or configured by a higher layer.”; Ko et al.; 0105)
(see FIG. 8 and FIG. 9)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the sensing window capability of Ko et al. into Hosseini et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hosseini et al. to include the sensing window capability as taught by the processing/communications of Ko et al., the benefits of reduced latency (Ko et al.; 0009) are achieved.
Claim(s) 8 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini et al. US 20210058866 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 10/10/2025) in view of Hu et al. US 20240023069 and in further view of Do et al. US 20240015656 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 10/10/2025).
As to claim 8:
Hosseini et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein a container of the coordination information is a sequence via a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH).
However, Do et al. further teaches a WUS/sequence/PSFCH capability which includes:
wherein a container of the coordination information is a sequence via a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH).
(“…In some embodiments, the at least one of the WUS and the GTS is a cyclically-shifted base sequence received in a resource block during the PSFCH occasion.”; Do et al.; 0056)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the WUS/sequence/PSFCH parameter capability of Do et al. into Hosseini et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hosseini et al. to include the WUS/sequence/PSFCH parameter capability as taught by the processing/communications of Do et al., the benefits of improved wake-up (Hosseini et al.; Abstract) with improved data rate (Do et al.; 0121) are achieved.
As to claim 16:
Hosseini et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein a container of the coordination information is a sequence via a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH).
However, Do et al. further teaches a WUS/sequence/PSFCH capability which includes:
wherein a container of the coordination information is a sequence via a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH).
(“…In some embodiments, the at least one of the WUS and the GTS is a cyclically-shifted base sequence received in a resource block during the PSFCH occasion.”; Do et al.; 0056)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the WUS/sequence/PSFCH parameter capability of Do et al. into Hosseini et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Hosseini et al. to include the WUS/sequence/PSFCH parameter capability as taught by the processing/communications of Do et al., the benefits of improved wake-up (Hosseini et al.; Abstract) with improved data rate (Do et al.; 0121) are achieved.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky Ngo can be reached on 571-272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
MICHAEL K. PHILLIPS
Examiner
Art Unit 2464
/MICHAEL K PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 2464