DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the nozzle" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There are more than one nozzle recited in line 4, it is unclear which particular nozzle is referred by the Applicant. Clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “intake portion” and “sensing portion” in claim 1, where the term “portion” is the placeholder and “intake” and “sensing” are the functional language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krishnan et al. (US20180354468. Krishnan hereinafter).
With respect to claim 1, Krishnan discloses a sensor barrier structure (Figs. 1-7) comprising:
an intake portion (20) provided in an environmental sensor (10, 16. [0041]) installed in a vehicle (12),
wherein the environmental sensor comprises a sensing portion (16 and 46) configured to (capable of) detect surrounding environment of the vehicle, and a passage of fluid flow (from 114 to 88 to 54) is formed from the intake portion to the sensing portion in the environmental sensor.
With respect to claim 2, Krishnan discloses the sensor barrier structure according to claim 1, wherein the passage of fluid flow has a cross-sectional area (at 112. Fig. 4) gradually decreasing from the intake portion to (in the direction of) the sensing portion.
With respect to claim 3, Krishnan discloses the sensor barrier structure according to claim 1, wherein the intake portion is disposed to (capable of) face a front (portion) of the vehicle (Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 4, Krishnan discloses the sensor barrier structure according to claim 1, wherein the passage of fluid flow comprises:
a distal (top) portion being an inlet (86) for a fluid and provided in the intake portion; and
one or more (annular) nozzles (88) being an outlet (Fig. 6) for the fluid passing through the passage of fluid flow and provided in the environmental sensor,
wherein the nozzle is disposed (downward) to face the sensing portion.
With respect to claim 6, Krishnan discloses the sensor barrier structure according to claim 1, wherein the intake portion has a cross-sectional area (at 112. Fig. 4) gradually decreasing towards (in the direction of) an inner side of the environmental sensor.
With respect to claim 7, Krishnan discloses the sensor barrier structure according to claim 6, wherein the intake portion comprises a distal portion (at 79. Fig. 4), an extension (sidewall of 112), and a proximal portion (184) provided in the passage of fluid flow, and
wherein:
the distal portion is an inlet for a fluid,
the extension extends from the distal portion inward of the environmental sensor and has a cross-sectional area decreasing inward of the environmental sensor, and
the proximal portion is a distal (downstream) end of the extension and is in communication with a nozzle assembly (88, 80, 82) disposed in the environmental sensor.
With respect to claim 8, Krishnan discloses the sensor barrier structure according to claim 1, further comprising: a nozzle assembly (88, 80, 82) disposed in the environmental sensor,
wherein the nozzle assembly forms a portion of the passage of fluid flow from the intake portion to the sensing portion (Fig. 6).
With respect to claim 11, Krishnan discloses the sensor barrier structure according to claim 1, wherein the environmental sensor further comprises a cap (192) provided with the intake portion, the cap being mounted on an upper portion (Fig. 6) of the environmental sensor.
With respect to claim 12, Krishnan discloses the sensor barrier structure according to claim 1, wherein the environmental sensor is a lidar sensor ([0011], [0029] and [0041]) mounted on a roof of the vehicle (Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rice et al. (US 20210309186. Rice hereinafter).
With respect to claim 1, Rice discloses a sensor barrier structure (Figs. 1-12) comprising:
an intake portion (560, 565) provided in an environmental sensor (125, 232, 234, 236, 300, 400, 500, 600 and 700. [0026]- [0026]) installed in a vehicle (105),
wherein the environmental sensor comprises a sensing portion (elements of the sensors and the curved lens) configured to (capable of) detect surrounding environment of the vehicle, and a passage of fluid flow (from 561 to the curved lens) is formed from the intake portion to the sensing portion in the environmental sensor.
With respect to claim 2, Rice discloses the sensor barrier structure according to claim 1, wherein the passage of fluid flow has a cross-sectional area (from 570 to 531) gradually decreasing from the intake portion to (in the direction of) the sensing portion.
With respect to claim 8, Rice discloses the sensor barrier structure according to claim 1, further comprising: a nozzle assembly (Figs. 5 and 9) disposed in the environmental sensor, wherein the nozzle assembly forms a portion of the passage of fluid flow from the intake portion to the sensing portion.
With respect to claim 9, Rice discloses the sensor barrier structure according to claim 8, further comprising: an inlet (from 850/950 to 570 to 531) configured to (capable of) communicate with the intake portion, a plurality of radial passages (defined by 935. Fig. 9) branching from the inlet, the radial passages each having a nozzle (930A-H) facing the sensing portion.
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 210835223. Li hereinafter).
With respect to claim 13, Li discloses an environmental sensor (lidar 322 . Figs. 1-13) disposed on a vehicle (10) and configured to (capable of) sense a surrounding environment, the environmental sensor comprising:
a passage of fluid flow (from 317 to 321) configured to (capable of) receive a traveling wind of the vehicle to form a flow passage of the traveling wind (the through hole 317 is downward, which can prevent rainwater from entering the air curtain machine protective cover 315 , play the role of protecting the air curtain machine, and can play the role of supplementing air for the air curtain machine 33. Page 11, first paragraph),
wherein the passage of fluid flow receives the traveling wind to (capable of) form an air curtain (in addition to the air curtain machine 33) at the environmental sensor.
With respect to claim 14, Li discloses the environmental sensor according to claim 13, wherein the air curtain is formed at a (front) portion of the environmental sensor facing a front (portion) of the vehicle (Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 15, Li discloses the environmental sensor according to claim 13, wherein the passage of fluid flow is configured to (capable of) direct the received traveling wind to a sensing portion (322) of the environmental sensor.
With respect to claim 16, Li discloses the environmental sensor according to claim 13, wherein the passage of fluid flow is configured to (capable of) allow the traveling wind to be introduced into an intake portion (opening of 33. Fig. 6) and sprayed through a nozzle (331) and to have a cross-sectional area decreasing from the intake portion to the nozzle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnan in view of Chung (US 20210048532).
With respect to claim 5, Krishnan discloses the sensor barrier structure according to claim 4 except for wherein the one or more nozzles are spaced apart from each other within a predetermined range in a portion of the environmental sensor facing a front of the vehicle.
However, Chung teaches a sensor barrier structure (Figs. 1-15) comprising: an intake portion (upper and lower portions of 204 with 208) provided in an environmental sensor (optical system 200) installed in a vehicle ([0003]), wherein the environmental sensor comprises a sensing portion (202) configured to (capable of) detect surrounding environment of the vehicle, and a passage of fluid flow (from 210 to 212. The fluid can from top to bottom or bottom to top. [0081]) is formed from the intake portion to the sensing portion in the environmental sensor. Chung further teaches wherein the passage of fluid flow comprises: a distal (inlet) portion being an inlet (downstream of 210) for a fluid and provided in the intake portion; and one or more nozzles (208) being an outlet (Fig. 6) for the fluid passing through the passage of fluid flow and provided in the environmental sensor, wherein the nozzle is disposed (upward or downward. [0081]) to face the sensing portion, wherein the one or more nozzles are spaced apart from each other within a predetermined range in a (top and bottom) portion of the environmental sensor facing a front of the vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of one or more nozzles are spaced apart from each other within a predetermined range, as taught by Chung, to Krishnan’s structure, in order to allow the cleaning fluid to flow out of or into the enclosed chamber to clean the sensing portion (Fig. 6 and [0079]).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnan in view of Rice.
With respect to claim 9, Krishnan discloses the sensor barrier structure according to claim 8, wherein the nozzle assembly comprises:
an inlet (86) configured to (capable of) communicate with the intake portion.
Krishnan fails to disclose a plurality of radial passages branching from the inlet, the radial passages each having a nozzle facing the sensing portion.
However, Rice teaches a sensor barrier structure (Figs. 1-12) comprising: an intake portion (560, 565) provided in an environmental sensor (125, 232, 234, 236, 300, 400, 500, 600 and 700. [0026]- [0026]) installed in a vehicle (105), wherein the environmental sensor comprises a sensing portion (elements of the sensors and the curved lens) configured to (capable of) detect surrounding environment of the vehicle, and a passage of fluid flow (from 561/850/950 to the curved lens) is formed from the intake portion to the sensing portion in the environmental sensor. Rice also teaches a nozzle assembly (Figs. 5 and 9) disposed in the environmental sensor, wherein the nozzle assembly forms a portion of the passage of fluid flow from the intake portion to the sensing portion. Rice further teaches an inlet (from 850/950 to 570 to 531) configured to (capable of) communicate with the intake portion, a plurality of radial passages (defined by 935. Fig. 9) branching from the inlet, the radial passages each having a nozzle (930A-H) facing the sensing portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a plurality of radial passages branching from the inlet, as taught by Rice, to Krishnan’s fluid passage, in order to assist in directing the pressurized fluid to the respective nozzle ([0132] and Fig. 9).
With respect to claim 10, Krishnan’s sensor barrier structure modified by Rice’s plurality of radial passages, Krishnan further discloses wherein the passage of fluid flow has a cross-sectional area (at 112. Fig. 4) gradually decreasing from the inlet to the nozzle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to show the art with respect to a sensing protection device: Rice ‘450, Ekola et al., Ybarra, Newman, Rice ‘907, Pennecot et al., Schmidt and Garcia Crespo et al.
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 February 5, 2026