DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 02/10/2026 in which claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11, 13-16 and 18-20 are pending. Claims 4, 6, 10, 12 and 17 were canceled.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed on 02/10/2026 with respect to amended independent claim 1 have been fully considered. Based on the amendments to the claims, further consideration and search were performed resulting in a new ground(s) of rejection presented below. The claims have not overcome the claim rejections as shown below.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11, 13-16 and 18-20 are pending.
Claims 4, 6, 10, 12 and 17 were canceled.
Response to Arguments
Regarding amended independent claim 1, Applicant argues that Shibaike and Yerramalli do not disclose or suggest or teach the amended limitation “determining, by the transmitting device, to use a second type of channel listening for channel listening based on a channel listening result of a first type of channel listening, wherein the first type of channel listening is the omnidirectional channel listening and the second type of channel listening is the directional channel listening, or the first type of channel listening is the directional channel listening and the second type of channel listening is the omnidirectional channel listening”.
Based on the amendments to the claim, further search was conducted resulting in the new ground of rejection presented below. The newly found prior art of Jia et al. (US 2019/0326968) discloses the amended feature of claim 1 as shown below in the Office Action.
Therefore, the amended independent claim 1 is rendered unpatentable. Independent claims 7 and 13 recite similar distinguishing features as claim 1, thus are also rendered unpatentable. As a result the features of the claims are shown by the cited references as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11, 13-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibaike et al. (EP 4175341) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Shibaike” in view of Yerramalli et al. (US 2018/0343676), hereinafter “Yerramalli” and further in view of Jia et al. (US 2019/0326968), hereinafter “Jia”.
As to claim 1, Shibaike teaches a method of channel listening (Shibaike, Fig. 8, [0105], a communication sequence between a UE and a network to perform LBT/CCA) comprising:
determining, by a transmitting device, a channel listening type (Shibaike, Fig. 8, step S20, [0109], “the UE 200 determines the type of LBT to be executed based on the type of LBT (e.g., Omni-LBT or Directional-LBT) included in the DCI (or the RRC signaling)”); and
performing, by the transmitting device, channel occupancy according to the channel listening type (Shibaike, Fig. 8, step S20, [0110], “The UE 200 executes LBT, for example, Omni-LBT or Directional-LBT, based on the determined type of LBT”);
wherein the channel listening type comprises directional channel listening, omnidirectional channel listening (Shibaike, Fig. 8, step S20, [0110], “The UE 200 executes LBT, for example, Omni-LBT or Directional-LBT, based on the determined type of LBT”).
Shibaike teaches the claimed limitations as stated above As discussed above, Shibaike discloses the UE performing Omni-LBT or Directional-LBT. Shibaike does not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 1, wherein the channel listening type comprises channel listening free;
wherein the method further comprises:
determining, by the transmitting device, to use a second type of channel listening for channel listening based on a channel listening result of a first type of channel listening, wherein the first type of channel listening is the omnidirectional channel listening and the second type of channel listening is the directional channel listening, or the first type of channel listening is the directional channel listening and the second type of channel listening is the omnidirectional channel listening.
However, Yerramalli teaches wherein the channel listening type comprises channel listening free (Yerramalli, [0040], “the base station may operate in either of the LBT modes, and may adaptively switch between the two LBT modes (e.g., based on a measured or predicted level of traffic interference, an amount of data to transmit, etc.)”, [0071], “base stations 105 may switch between operating using a non-LBT enabled mode and operating using an LBT enabled mode”. [0075], the LBT mode is indicated to a UE in order for the UE to determine the new LBT mode. The teaching of Yerramalli combined with the teachings of Shibaike regarding the Omni-LBT and Directional-LBT discloses the claimed feature).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shibaike to have the features, as taught by Yerramalli in order to support system acquisition in a shared radio frequency spectrum band, such as an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band (Yerramalli, [0005]).
Shibaike and Yerramalli teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Shibaike and Yerramalli do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
determining, by the transmitting device, to use a second type of channel listening for channel listening based on a channel listening result of a first type of channel listening, wherein the first type of channel listening is the omnidirectional channel listening and the second type of channel listening is the directional channel listening, or the first type of channel listening is the directional channel listening and the second type of channel listening is the omnidirectional channel listening.
However, Jia teaches wherein the method further comprises:
determining, by the transmitting device, to use a second type of channel listening for channel listening based on a channel listening result of a first type of channel listening (Jia, Fig. 4, [0116], “In a period of time, if it is found through omnidirectional clear channel assessment that a current channel is busy, the omnidirectional clear channel assessment may be switched to directional clear channel assessment”), wherein the first type of channel listening is the omnidirectional channel listening and the second type of channel listening is the directional channel listening (Jia, Fig. 4, [0116], the omnidirectional clear channel assessment and the directional clear channel assessment), or the first type of channel listening is the directional channel listening and the second type of channel listening is the omnidirectional channel listening.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shibaike and Yerramalli to have the features, as taught by Jia in order to improve beam training efficiency and optimize a beamforming training mechanism (Jia, [0117]).
As to claim 2, Shibaike teaches wherein the transmitting device determines the channel listening type comprises:
determining, by the transmitting device, the channel listening type based on indication information (Shibaike, Fig. 8, [0106]-[0109], steps S10-S20, [0115], the device determines the type of LBT to perform (Directional-LBT) based on the information included in the DCI for UL scheduling or the RRC signaling).
As to claim 3, Shibaike teaches wherein the indication information is carried in at least one of:
downlink control information (DCI) for uplink authorization, DCI for indicating channel occupancy time (COT) information, a second message (msg2) in four-step random access, uplink control information carried in uplink configuration authorization, system information, or paging information (Shibaike, Fig. 8, [0106]-[0109], steps S10-S20, [0115], the device determines the type of LBT to perform (Directional-LBT) based on the information included in the DCI for UL scheduling or the RRC signaling).
Shibaike teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Shibaike does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 5, further comprising.
in the case where the transmitting device determines to use channel listening free, the transmitting device determines to use omnidirectional channel listening or directional channel listening for channel listening based on time information.
As to claim 5, Yerramalli teaches further comprising:
in the case where the transmitting device determines to use channel listening free (Yerramalli, [0071], “base stations 105 may switch between operating using a non-LBT enabled mode and operating using an LBT enabled mode”. [0075], the LBT mode is indicated to a UE in order for the UE to determine the new LBT mode), the transmitting device determines to use omnidirectional channel listening or directional channel listening for channel listening based on time information (Yerramalli, [0076], “Base station 105-a may perform LBT mode switching based on this periodicity, and UE 115-a may correspondingly perform re-synchronization based on the periodicity. For example, base station 105-a may determine whether to perform an LBT mode switch at a set interval (e.g., every hour). If UE 115-a performs access following this set interval, UE 115-a may automatically perform a re-synchronization process. In the re-synchronization process, UE 115-a may determine whether or not base station 105-a switched LBT modes”. The switching to the LBT enable mode is based on a periodicity. The teaching of Yerramalli combined with the teachings of Shibaike regarding omni-directional LBT and directional LBT discloses the claimed feature).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shibaike to have the features, as taught by Yerramalli in order to support system acquisition in a shared radio frequency spectrum band, such as an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band (Yerramalli, [0005]).
As to claim 7, Shibaike teaches a device for channel listening (Shibaike, Fig. 8, [0105], Fig. 10, [0141], a UE in communication with a network to perform LBT/CCA), comprising:
a processing unit for (Shibaike, Fig. 8, Fig. 10, [0141], [0145]-[0146], the UE includes a processor 1001 to perform the functions of the UE) determining a channel listening type (Shibaike, Fig. 8, step S20, [0109], “the UE 200 determines the type of LBT to be executed based on the type of LBT (e.g., Omni-LBT or Directional-LBT) included in the DCI (or the RRC signaling)”);
wherein the processing unit is configured to (Shibaike, Fig. 8, Fig. 10, [0141], [0145]-[0146], the UE includes a processor 1001 to perform the functions of the UE) perform channel occupancy according to the channel listening type (Shibaike, Fig. 8, step S20, [0110], “The UE 200 executes LBT, for example, Omni-LBT or Directional-LBT, based on the determined type of LBT”);
wherein the channel listening type comprises directional channel listening, omnidirectional channel listening (Shibaike, Fig. 8, step S20, [0110], “The UE 200 executes LBT, for example, Omni-LBT or Directional-LBT, based on the determined type of LBT”).
Shibaike teaches the claimed limitations as stated above As discussed above, Shibaike discloses the UE performing Omni-LBT or Directional-LBT. Shibaike does not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 7, wherein the channel listening type comprises channel listening free;
wherein the processing unit is further configured to determine to use a second type of channel listening for channel listening based on a channel listening result of a first type of channel listening, wherein the first type of channel listening is the omnidirectional channel listening and the second type of channel listening is the directional channel listening, or the first type of channel listening is the directional channel listening and the second type of channel listening is the omnidirectional channel listening.
However, Yerramalli teaches wherein the channel listening type comprises channel listening free (Yerramalli, [0040], “the base station may operate in either of the LBT modes, and may adaptively switch between the two LBT modes (e.g., based on a measured or predicted level of traffic interference, an amount of data to transmit, etc.)”, [0071], “base stations 105 may switch between operating using a non-LBT enabled mode and operating using an LBT enabled mode”. [0075], the LBT mode is indicated to a UE in order for the UE to determine the new LBT mode. The teaching of Yerramalli combined with the teachings of Shibaike regarding the Omni-LBT and Directional-LBT discloses the claimed feature).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shibaike to have the features, as taught by Yerramalli in order to support system acquisition in a shared radio frequency spectrum band, such as an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band (Yerramalli, [0005]).
Shibaike and Yerramalli teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Shibaike and Yerramalli do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 7, wherein the processing unit is further configured to determine to use a second type of channel listening for channel listening based on a channel listening result of a first type of channel listening, wherein the first type of channel listening is the omnidirectional channel listening and the second type of channel listening is the directional channel listening, or the first type of channel listening is the directional channel listening and the second type of channel listening is the omnidirectional channel listening.
However, Jia teaches wherein the processing unit is further configured to determine to use a second type of channel listening for channel listening based on a channel listening result of a first type of channel listening (Jia, Fig. 4, [0116], “In a period of time, if it is found through omnidirectional clear channel assessment that a current channel is busy, the omnidirectional clear channel assessment may be switched to directional clear channel assessment”), wherein the first type of channel listening is the omnidirectional channel listening and the second type of channel listening is the directional channel listening (Jia, Fig. 4, [0116], the omnidirectional clear channel assessment and the directional clear channel assessment), or the first type of channel listening is the directional channel listening and the second type of channel listening is the omnidirectional channel listening.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shibaike and Yerramalli to have the features, as taught by Jia in order to improve beam training efficiency and optimize a beamforming training mechanism (Jia, [0117]).
As to claim 8, Shibaike teaches wherein the processing unit is configured to:
determine the channel listening type based on indicated information (Shibaike, Fig. 8, [0106]-[0109], steps S10-S20, [0115], the device determines the type of LBT to perform (Directional-LBT) based on the information included in the DCI for UL scheduling or the RRC signaling).
As to claim 9, Shibaike teaches wherein the indication information is carried in at least one of:
downlink control information (DCI) for uplink authorization, DCI for indicating channel occupancy time (COT) information, a second message (msg2) in four-step random access, uplink control information carried in uplink configuration authorization, system information, or paging information (Shibaike, Fig. 8, [0106]-[0109], steps S10-S20, [0115], the device determines the type of LBT to perform (Directional-LBT) based on the information included in the DCI for UL scheduling or the RRC signaling).
Shibaike teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Shibaike does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 11, wherein:
in a case where the processing unit determines to use channel listening free, the processing unit further determines to use omnidirectional channel listening or directional channel listening for channel listening based on time information.
As to claim 11, Yerramalli teaches wherein:
in a case where the processing unit determines to use channel listening free (Yerramalli, [0071], “base stations 105 may switch between operating using a non-LBT enabled mode and operating using an LBT enabled mode”. [0075], the LBT mode is indicated to a UE in order for the UE to determine the new LBT mode), the processing unit further determines to use omnidirectional channel listening or directional channel listening for channel listening based on time information (Yerramalli, [0076], “Base station 105-a may perform LBT mode switching based on this periodicity, and UE 115-a may correspondingly perform re-synchronization based on the periodicity. For example, base station 105-a may determine whether to perform an LBT mode switch at a set interval (e.g., every hour). If UE 115-a performs access following this set interval, UE 115-a may automatically perform a re-synchronization process. In the re-synchronization process, UE 115-a may determine whether or not base station 105-a switched LBT modes”. The switching to the LBT enable mode is based on a periodicity. The teaching of Yerramalli combined with the teachings of Shibaike regarding omni-directional LBT and directional LBT discloses the claimed feature).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shibaike to have the features, as taught by Yerramalli in order to support system acquisition in a shared radio frequency spectrum band, such as an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band (Yerramalli, [0005]).
As to claim 13, Shibaike teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, being used to store a computer program, the computer program causing a computer to perform the following (Shibaike, Fig. 8, Fig. 10, [0141], [0144], [0146], the memory includes software executed by the processor to perform the functions of the UE):
determining a channel listening type (Shibaike, Fig. 8, step S20, [0109], “the UE 200 determines the type of LBT to be executed based on the type of LBT (e.g., Omni-LBT or Directional-LBT) included in the DCI (or the RRC signaling)”); and
performing channel occupancy according to the channel listening type (Shibaike, Fig. 8, step S20, [0110], “The UE 200 executes LBT, for example, Omni-LBT or Directional-LBT, based on the determined type of LBT”);
wherein the channel listening type comprises directional channel listening, omnidirectional channel listening (Shibaike, Fig. 8, step S20, [0110], “The UE 200 executes LBT, for example, Omni-LBT or Directional-LBT, based on the determined type of LBT”).
Shibaike teaches the claimed limitations as stated above As discussed above, Shibaike discloses the UE performing Omni-LBT or Directional-LBT. Shibaike does not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 13, wherein the channel listening type comprises channel listening free;
wherein the computer further performs:
determining to use a second type of channel listening for channel listening based on a channel listening result of a first type of channel listening, wherein the first type of channel listening is the omnidirectional channel listening and the second type of channel listening is the directional channel listening, or the first type of channel listening is the directional channel listening and the second type of channel listening is the omnidirectional channel listening.
However, Yerramalli teaches wherein the channel listening type comprises channel listening free (Yerramalli, [0040], “the base station may operate in either of the LBT modes, and may adaptively switch between the two LBT modes (e.g., based on a measured or predicted level of traffic interference, an amount of data to transmit, etc.)”, [0071], “base stations 105 may switch between operating using a non-LBT enabled mode and operating using an LBT enabled mode”. [0075], the LBT mode is indicated to a UE in order for the UE to determine the new LBT mode. The teaching of Yerramalli combined with the teachings of Shibaike regarding the Omni-LBT and Directional-LBT discloses the claimed feature).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shibaike to have the features, as taught by Yerramalli in order to support system acquisition in a shared radio frequency spectrum band, such as an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band (Yerramalli, [0005]).
Shibaike and Yerramalli teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Shibaike and Yerramalli do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 13, wherein the computer further performs:
determining to use a second type of channel listening for channel listening based on a channel listening result of a first type of channel listening, wherein the first type of channel listening is the omnidirectional channel listening and the second type of channel listening is the directional channel listening, or the first type of channel listening is the directional channel listening and the second type of channel listening is the omnidirectional channel listening.
However, Jia teaches wherein the computer further performs:
determining to use a second type of channel listening for channel listening based on a channel listening result of a first type of channel listening (Jia, Fig. 4, [0116], “In a period of time, if it is found through omnidirectional clear channel assessment that a current channel is busy, the omnidirectional clear channel assessment may be switched to directional clear channel assessment”), wherein the first type of channel listening is the omnidirectional channel listening and the second type of channel listening is the directional channel listening (Jia, Fig. 4, [0116], the omnidirectional clear channel assessment and the directional clear channel assessment), or the first type of channel listening is the directional channel listening and the second type of channel listening is the omnidirectional channel listening.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shibaike and Yerramalli to have the features, as taught by Jia in order to improve beam training efficiency and optimize a beamforming training mechanism (Jia, [0117]).
As to claim 14, Shibaike teaches wherein the computer performs: determining the channel listening type based on indication information (Shibaike, Fig. 8, [0106]-[0109], steps S10-S20, [0115], the device determines the type of LBT to perform (Directional-LBT) based on the information included in the DCI for UL scheduling or the RRC signaling).
As to claim 15, Shibaike teaches wherein the indication information is carried in at least one of:
downlink control information (DCI) for uplink authorization, DCI for indicating channel occupancy time (COT) information, a second message (msg2) in four-step random access, uplink control information carried in uplink configuration authorization, system information, or paging information (Shibaike, Fig. 8, [0106]-[0109], steps S10-S20, [0115], the device determines the type of LBT to perform (Directional-LBT) based on the information included in the DCI for UL scheduling or the RRC signaling).
Shibaike teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Shibaike does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 16, wherein the computer further performs:
in the case where the computer determines to use channel listening free, determining to use omnidirectional channel listening or directional channel listening for channel listening based on time information.
As to claim 16, Yerramalli teaches wherein the computer further performs:
in the case where the computer determines to use channel listening free (Yerramalli, [0071], “base stations 105 may switch between operating using a non-LBT enabled mode and operating using an LBT enabled mode”. [0075], the LBT mode is indicated to a UE in order for the UE to determine the new LBT mode), determining to use omnidirectional channel listening or directional channel listening for channel listening based on time information (Yerramalli, [0076], “Base station 105-a may perform LBT mode switching based on this periodicity, and UE 115-a may correspondingly perform re-synchronization based on the periodicity. For example, base station 105-a may determine whether to perform an LBT mode switch at a set interval (e.g., every hour). If UE 115-a performs access following this set interval, UE 115-a may automatically perform a re-synchronization process. In the re-synchronization process, UE 115-a may determine whether or not base station 105-a switched LBT modes”. The switching to the LBT enable mode is based on a periodicity. The teaching of Yerramalli combined with the teachings of Shibaike regarding omni-directional LBT and directional LBT discloses the claimed feature).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shibaike to have the features, as taught by Yerramalli in order to support system acquisition in a shared radio frequency spectrum band, such as an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band (Yerramalli, [0005]).
Shibaike teaches the claimed limitations as stated above As discussed above, Shibaike discloses the UE performing Omni-LBT or Directional-LBT. Shibaike does not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 18, further comprising:
determining, by the transmitting device, to switch from a channel listening state to a non-channel-listening state based on a measurement result; or
determining, by the transmitting device, to switch from the non-channel-listening state to the channel listening state based on a measurement result.
As to claim 18, Yerramalli teaches further comprising:
determining, by the transmitting device, to switch from a channel listening state to a non-channel-listening state based on a measurement result (Yerramalli, [0071], “base stations 105 may switch between operating using a non-LBT enabled mode and operating using an LBT enabled mode”, [0074], “base station 105-a may semi-statically or dynamically switch between LBT modes. For example, base station 105-a may determine to switch to non-LBT enabled mode based on a level of congestion or traffic interference on the shared medium exceeding a certain threshold level of congestion or interference”. [0072], [0075], the switch is indicated to the UE in order for the UE to determine the new LBT mode); or
determining, by the transmitting device, to switch from the non-channel-listening state to the channel listening state based on a measurement result (Yerramalli, [0071], “base stations 105 may switch between operating using a non-LBT enabled mode and operating using an LBT enabled mode”, [0074], “base station 105-a may determine to switch to LBT enabled mode based on an amount of data to transmit exceeding a certain threshold size of data”. [0075], the switch is indicated to a UE in order for the UE to determine the new LBT mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shibaike to have the features, as taught by Yerramalli in order to support system acquisition in a shared radio frequency spectrum band, such as an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band (Yerramalli, [0005]).
Shibaike teaches the claimed limitations as stated above As discussed above, Shibaike discloses the UE performing Omni-LBT or Directional-LBT. Shibaike does not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 19, wherein
the processing unit is further configured to determine a switch from the channel listening state to the non-channel-listening state based on a measurement result; or
the processing unit is further configured to determine a switch from the non-channel-listening state to the channel listening state based on a measurement result.
As to claim 19, Yerramalli teaches wherein
the processing unit is further configured to determine a switch from the channel listening state to the non-channel-listening state based on a measurement result (Yerramalli, [0071], “base stations 105 may switch between operating using a non-LBT enabled mode and operating using an LBT enabled mode”, [0074], “base station 105-a may semi-statically or dynamically switch between LBT modes. For example, base station 105-a may determine to switch to non-LBT enabled mode based on a level of congestion or traffic interference on the shared medium exceeding a certain threshold level of congestion or interference”. [0072], [0075], the switch is indicated to the UE in order for the UE to determine the new LBT mode); or
the processing unit is further configured to determine a switch from the non-channel-listening state to the channel listening state based on a measurement result (Yerramalli, [0071], “base stations 105 may switch between operating using a non-LBT enabled mode and operating using an LBT enabled mode”, [0074], “base station 105-a may determine to switch to LBT enabled mode based on an amount of data to transmit exceeding a certain threshold size of data”. [0075], the switch is indicated to a UE in order for the UE to determine the new LBT mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shibaike to have the features, as taught by Yerramalli in order to support system acquisition in a shared radio frequency spectrum band, such as an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band (Yerramalli, [0005]).
Shibaike teaches the claimed limitations as stated above As discussed above, Shibaike discloses the UE performing Omni-LBT or Directional-LBT. Shibaike does not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 20, wherein the computer further performs:
determining to switch from a channel listening state to a non-channel-listening state based on a measurement result; or
determining to switch from the non-channel-listening state to the channel listening state based on a measurement result.
As to claim 20, Yerramalli teaches wherein the computer further performs:
determining to switch from a channel listening state to a non-channel-listening state based on a measurement result (Yerramalli, [0071], “base stations 105 may switch between operating using a non-LBT enabled mode and operating using an LBT enabled mode”, [0074], “base station 105-a may semi-statically or dynamically switch between LBT modes. For example, base station 105-a may determine to switch to non-LBT enabled mode based on a level of congestion or traffic interference on the shared medium exceeding a certain threshold level of congestion or interference”. [0072], [0075], the switch is indicated to the UE in order for the UE to determine the new LBT mode); or
determining to switch from the non-channel-listening state to the channel listening state based on a measurement result (Yerramalli, [0071], “base stations 105 may switch between operating using a non-LBT enabled mode and operating using an LBT enabled mode”, [0074], “base station 105-a may determine to switch to LBT enabled mode based on an amount of data to transmit exceeding a certain threshold size of data”. [0075], the switch is indicated to a UE in order for the UE to determine the new LBT mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shibaike to have the features, as taught by Yerramalli in order to support system acquisition in a shared radio frequency spectrum band, such as an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band (Yerramalli, [0005]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Goyal et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication no. 2020/0314906 – Channel access procedures for directional systems in unlicensed bands.
Yang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication no. 2019/0373635 – Data transmission and receiving method and apparatus, and base station and terminal.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473