DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
In response to applicant’s RCE filed 9/21/2026, claims 1-10 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sowadski et al. (US 2014/0080099) in view of Wickman et al. (US 2022/0134881).
Regarding claim 1, Sowadski discloses a mixed simulation system with a geospatial virtual environment and both real and virtual assets with defined locations in the environment. See paragraphs 0082 and 0089. Sowadski discloses wherein the locations of the real and virtual vehicles are updated, and wherein the virtual vehicle is registered in the main simulation space and can be visible to the real vehicle via various displays (e.g. radar, etc.). See paragraphs 0098-0099 and 0107.
Sowadski does disclose a head-mounted AR device to view both the physical and virtual space, as described in paragraph 0125, but it is not entirely clear to what extent it is utilized. Sowadski does not explicitly disclose wherein the virtual asset is viewable through a HMD, and the view depends upon the user’s head position and the vehicle position in the main simulation space. However, this manner of simulation view is established, as is disclosed by the simulation system of Wickman in paragraphs 0016 (i.e. the view of the simulated vehicle itself through the HMD). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to consider such a scheme in the Sowadski system, to provide a realistic simulation.
Regarding claims 2-3, Sowadski discloses wherein the real vehicle is an airplane with a pilot engaged in a training task. See paragraphs 0081-0082.
Regarding claim 4, Sowadski discloses multiple real vehicles. See paragraph 0111.
Regarding claims 5-6, Sowadski discloses wherein weapons can be deployed both by the real or virtual assets. See paragraphs 0110 and 0119.
Regarding claims 7-8, Sowadski discloses countermeasures in paragraph 0115.
Regarding claim 10, Sowadski discloses wherein the real vehicle can be a ground transportation vehicle. See paragraph 0245.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sowadski et al. (US 2014/0080099) in view of Wickman et al. (US 2022/0134881) and Norbury (US 2004/0266540).
Regarding claim 9, Sowadski discloses wherein the simulation concepts can be used with various settings in paragraph 0245, but roller-coasters are not specifically disclosed. However, simulation of such is established, as is disclosed by the system of Norbury in paragraph 0002. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to consider this with the Sowadski system in order to provide various simulation scenarios.
Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments and remarks dated 9/21/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY A MUSSELMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715