DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 2, 3, 5-8, and 10-21 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Melrose (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0138074) in view of Whitley (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0073077).
Regarding claim 2: Melrose discloses a method of processing a plastic container having a longitudinal axis, the method comprising:
blow-molding the plastic container having an upper portion including a finish, a sidewall, see for example (Figs. 11a-d & paragraph 0094, “the container may be blow moulded”), a lower portion including a base portion defining a standing surface extending inward to a push- up portion (Figs. 8-12; via base 2 & push-up portion of panel 20 in response to mechanical pusher 22), the push-up portion having an external surface configured to engage or contact a mechanical device (via device 22), the external surface configured to move longitudinally upward under a mechanical force, the push-up portion surrounded by an inversion pressure panel (Figs. 7-10; via panel 11 surrounding the push up area), wherein the push-up portion and the inversion pressure panel merge via a first annular hinge comprising a first radius (via the hinge structure 13), the inversion pressure panel surrounded by a second hinge portion on a widest diameter of the inversion pressure panel (Figs. 13-14; via the shown two points of hinge 13 and/or inverts portion 31), the second hinge surrounded by an instep or recessed portion (via recess 8), and the instep or recessed portion surrounded by a mold parting line, wherein the mold parting line and the instep or recessed portion is formed by a movable push-up mold part that extends into the base as the container is being blow molded (via the shown push-up mold part of base 2), wherein: in an as-blown position the inversion pressure panel comprises a substantially continuous conical area extending around the base (via the shown central conical portions of base 2 and/or conical portion of the vacuum panel 11), and outward below the second hinge portion and above the first annular hinge at an angle greater than 30 degrees relative to a plane perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (abstract; “a steeply angled inventing conical section between 30 and 45 degrees”), and such that the inversion pressure panel is further from the opening than the second hinge portion, and further wherein the inversion pressure panel is configured to begin inversion at the region of widest diameter near the second hinge portion to locate the inversion pressure panel between the instep or recessed portion and the upper portion of the container when the inversion pressure panel is in the inwardly inclined position, wherein the push-up portion and the inversion pressure panel merge via the first annular hinge to comprise a second radius after the external surface has been mechanically moved by the mechanical device, see for example (Figs. 8-12; via the shown steps of converting and pushing up the pressure panel of base 2).
Melrose does not suggest the claimed actual mold via blow mold cavity comprising:
a first side mold part or portion:
a second side mold part or portion, the first and second side mold parts or portions being closed around a preform made of a softened polymer material:
an open bottom portion: and.
a movable base mold part or portion located in the open bottom portion and being moveable with respect to the first and second side mold parts or portions:
wherein, the blow-molding comprises:
inserting the preform into the mold cavity;
closing the first and second side mod parts or portions around the perform;
moving the movable base mold part or portion to a retracted or lowered position;
inserting a stretch rod into a neck portion of the preform;
elongating the preform through insertion of the stretch rod;
at least partially inflating the preform under pressure into conformity with the mold cavity using air or another medium during a pre-blowing step: and,
inflating the preform into substantially complete conformity with the mold cavity under an increased pressure during a final blowing step, wherein the base mold part or portion is moved upwardly along a vertical or longitudinal direction during the final blowing step.
However, Whitley discloses similar method with the claimed mold cavity comprising first and second side mold parts, movable base mold part (Fig. 2; via 32 & 34); wherein, the blow molding comprises inserting the preform into the mold cavity, closing the first and second side mod parts or portions around the perform; moving the movable base mold part or portion to a retracted or lowered position with insertion of stretch rod into a neck portion and elongating the perform through insertion of the stretch rod and partially inflating the preform under pressure, see for example (Fig. 4; via insert or preform 38, blow mold cavity 36, stretch rod 40); inflating the preform into complete conformity with the mold cavity under an increased pressure during a final blowing step (Fig. 4; via cavity 36 under pressure by rod 40 and/or “air pressure”); the base mold part or portion is moved upwardly along a vertical or longitudinal direction during the final blowing step between the first and second side mold parts (Fig. 4; via vertical movement of “retracted” base mold part 48a on base 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the invention was made to have modified Melrose’s method by using and/or having a molding structure with a mold cavity, as suggested by Whitley, in order to expedite the process and form or shape containers freshly out of mold without stress cracking in the walls of the molded containers (paragraph 0015).
Regarding claim 3: Whitley discloses that the first and second side mold parts or portions comprise the standing surface and closing the first and second side mold parts or portions and moving the base mold part or portion upwardly create a closed mold combination of at least three parts or portions after inserting a preform into the open mold combination, see for example (Fig. 4; via the shown movable bottom member 48a on base 34).
Regarding claim 5: Melrose further showing an inner wall extends in an upward direction from the standing surface to the hinge or inversion pressure panel and comprises the instep or recessed portion (via the hinged/sloped inwardly section of 31 and/or ribs 3).
Regarding claim 6: Melrose discloses that the inner wall has a length that exceeds a longitudinal height of the inversion pressure panel (Figs. 3-4; via 3).
Regarding claim 7: Melrose discloses that the inner wall includes a first and/or a second portion separating the instep or recessed portion from the standing surface such that the instep or recessed portion is closer to the opening than the standing surface (via the shown grooves or curved up portion at 8 and/or area at recess 8).
Regarding claim 8: Melrose shows the first portion and/or the second portion comprise(s) concave rings (Fig. 5; via concave rings around 8 and/or 13).
Regarding claim 10: Melrose shows the inversion pressure panel comprises a plurality of flutes, ribs or creases (via ribs 3).
Regarding claim 11: Melrose shows the push-up portion is recessed inwardly into the container (Figs. 11-12; via the shown push up portion bushed by mechanism 22).
Regarding claim 12: Melrose further comprising the steps of: introducing heated liquid contents into the container; capping or sealing the container; and moving the inversion pressure panel from an outward position to an inward position with the mechanical device or an inversion device (paragraph 0003; “holding a heated liquid”).
Regarding claim 13: Melrose further comprising the step of providing the container in the as-blown position for filling with heated liquid contents (paragraph 0003; “holding a heated liquid”); (c) introducing the heated liquid contents into the plastic container in the as-blown position (paragraph 0003; “This thermal shock is a result of either introducing the liquid hot at filling, or heating the liquid after it is introduced into the container”); (d) capping or sealing the plastic container (paragraph 0066; “the containers will be filled with a hot liquid and then capped”); and, (e) moving or inverting the inversion pressure panel relative to the as-blown position such that the inversion pressure panel extends inward to be closer to the opening than the instep or recessed portion, wherein the inversion pressure panel is mechanically moved from the as- blown position to the final position with the mechanical or inversion device and causes a change of radius from the first radius to the second radius (Figs. 11-12; via the shown pushed-up panel using mechanism 22).
Melrose does not suggest the claimed actual mold via blow mold cavity comprising:
a first side mold part or portion:
a second side mold part or portion, the first and second side mold parts or portions being closed around a preform made of a softened polymer material:
an open bottom portion: and.
a movable base mold part or portion located in the open bottom portion and being moveable with respect to the first and second side mold parts or portions:
wherein, the blow-molding comprises:
inserting the preform into the mold cavity:
closing the first and second side mold parts or portions around the perform;
moving the movable base mold part or portion to a retracted or lowered portion;
inserting a stretch rod into a neck portion of the preform;
elongating the preform through insertion of the stretch rod;
at least partially inflating the preform under pressure into conformity with the mold cavity using air or another medium during a pre-blowing step: and,
inflating the preform into substantially complete conformity with the mold cavity under an increased pressure during a final blowing step, wherein the base mold part or portion is moved upwardly along a vertical or longitudinal direction to an extended position during the final blowing step.
However, Whitley discloses similar method with the claimed mold cavity comprising first and second side mold parts, movable base mold part (Fig. 2; via 32 & 34); wherein, the blow molding comprises inserting the preform into the mold cavity with insertion of stretch rod into a neck portion and elongating the perform through insertion of the stretch rod and partially inflating the preform under pressure, see for example (Fig. 4; via insert or preform 38, blow mold cavity 36, stretch rod 40); inflating the preform into complete conformity with the mold cavity under an increased pressure during a final blowing step (Fig. 4; via cavity 36 under pressure by rod 40 and/or “air pressure”); closing the first and second side mold parts or portions around the perform; moving the movable base mold part or portion to a retracted or lowered portion; the base mold part or portion is moved upwardly along a vertical or longitudinal direction during the final blowing step between the first and second side mold parts (Fig. 4; via vertical movement of base mold part 48a on base 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the invention was made to have modified Melrose’s method by using and/or having a molding structure with a mold cavity, as suggested by Whitley, in order to expedite the process and form or shape containers freshly out of mold without stress cracking in the walls of the molded containers (paragraph 0015).
Regarding claim 14: Melrose discloses the moving the inversion pressure panel to the final position increases the pressure within the container (abstract; “to compensate for vacuum or reduced pressure”).
Regarding claim 15: Melrose further suggests the moving the inversion pressure panel to the final position creates a positive pressure within the container (paragraph 0095; “pressure is reached or even a slightly positive pressure is achieved”).
Regarding claim 16: Melrose further comprising the step of cooling the heated liquid contents to create a vacuum (via “liquid cools down”).
Regarding claim 17: Melrose discloses that moving the inversion pressure panel to the final position increases the pressure within the container and compensates for at least a portion of the vacuum created during the cooling of the heated liquid contents (abstract; “to compensate for vacuum or reduced pressure”).
Regarding claim 18: Melrose shows substantially all the vacuum is compensated for (abstract; “to compensate for vacuum or reduced pressure”).
Regarding claim 19: Melrose further suggests that wherein the inversion pressure panel is configured to begin inversion at the region of widest diameter near the second hinge portion to locate the inversion pressure panel between the instep or recessed portion and the upper portion of the container when the inversion pressure panel is in the inwardly inclined position, see for example (Figs. 11-12, shows the inverting process with different diameters and shapes of the base 2), wherein the push-up portion and the inversion pressure panel merge via the first hinge to comprise a second radius after the external surface has been mechanically moved by the mechanical device or an inversion device (Figs. 11-12; via at base 2 and/or portion 20);(b) providing the container in the as-blown position for filling with heated liquid contents (“holding a heated liquid”); (c) introducing heated liquid contents into the plastic container in the as-blown position; (d) capping or sealing the plastic container (“filled and capped container”); and, (e) moving or inverting the inversion pressure panel relative to the as-blown position such that the inversion pressure panel extends inward so as to increase the pressure within the plastic container with the mechanical or inversion device after the container has been filled and capped (Figs. 11-12; via the extended inwardly portions 20).
Melrose does not suggest the claimed actual mold via blow mold cavity comprising:
a first side mold part or portion:
a second side mold part or portion, the first and second side mold parts or portions being closed around a preform made of a softened polymer material:
an open bottom portion: and.
a movable base mold part or portion located in the open bottom portion and being moveable with respect to the first and second side mold parts or portions:
wherein, the blow-molding comprises:
inserting the preform into the mold cavity:
closing the first and second side mold parts or portions around the perform;
moving the movable base mold part or portion to a retracted or lowered portion;
inserting a stretch rod into a neck portion of the preform;
elongating the preform through insertion of the stretch rod;
at least partially inflating the preform under pressure into conformity with the mold cavity using air or another medium during a pre-blowing step: and,
inflating the preform into substantially complete conformity with the mold cavity under an increased pressure during a final blowing step, wherein the base mold part or portion is moved upwardly along a vertical or longitudinal direction during the final blowing step.
However, Whitley discloses similar method with the claimed mold cavity comprising first and second side mold parts, movable base mold part (Fig. 2; via 32 & 34); wherein, the blow molding comprises inserting the preform into the mold cavity with insertion of stretch rod into a neck portion and elongating the perform through insertion of the stretch rod and partially inflating the preform under pressure, see for example (Fig. 4; via insert or preform 38, blow mold cavity 36, stretch rod 40); inflating the preform into complete conformity with the mold cavity under an increased pressure during a final blowing step (Fig. 4; via cavity 36 under pressure by rod 40 and/or “air pressure”); closing the first and second side mold parts or portions around the perform; moving the movable base mold part or portion to a retracted or lowered portion; the base mold part or portion is moved upwardly along a vertical or longitudinal direction during the final blowing step between the first and second side mold parts (Fig. 4; via vertical movement of base mold part 48a on base 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the invention was made to have modified Melrose’s method by using and/or having a molding structure with a mold cavity, as suggested by Whitley, in order to expedite the process and form or shape containers freshly out of mold without stress cracking in the walls of the molded containers (paragraph 0015).
Regarding claim 20: Melrose shows that the standing surface comprises a plurality of footed or support portions having a downwardly inclined outer annular wall portion to form a discontinuous or footed contact surface for supporting the container (Figs. 2-7; via any of 4, 6, or 8 could be considered as footed portions supporting the standing container).
Regarding claim 21: Melrose shows the base further includes a plurality of webs extending radially along the base portion away from the inversion pressure panel toward an outer wall or a heel portion, each one of the webs having a surface that is radially displaced between the footed or support portions and longitudinally displaced upwardly from the footed contact surface (Figs. 5-8; via ribs 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2, 3, 5-8, and 10-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection adjusted to address the amended and newly added limitations to the claims.
As set forth above, giving the claims the broadest reasonable meaning, the Office still believes that the applied art of Whitley ‘077 discloses that amended claims referring to the mold having a cavity, first and second side parts, and vertical movement of a bottom part, see for example (Figs. 2 & 4; via side mold sections 37 and retracted and vertical base section 34).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., to have the step of retracting of the lower mold portion to come after the side mold parts or portions are closed and a preform is inserted into the mold cavity) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
It is noted that the latest amended claimed invention is broadly referring to the step of “moving the movable base mold part or portion to a retracted or lowered position” along with “the movable base mold part or portion includes an instep or recessed portion to form a second part of the base portion of the container” with further step of “moveable base mold part or portion is moved upwardly along a vertical or longitudinal direction to an extended position under the increased pressure during the final blowing step”; no where in the claim requires the argued upon issue of having the step of retracting of the lower mold portion vertically up “after” the step of having the side mold parts closed and “after” insertion of the preform into the mold cavity! It appears that applicant is reading and arguing of something might be suggested by the filed disclosure, but not clearly supported nor disclosed by the claimed invention.
Being that said, it appears that the applied art ‘077 suggests all the claimed steps, might only be missing specific arrangements of the process, which would be only a matter of engineering design choice and/or re-arranging of parts or steps.
In respect to applicant’s argument that ‘077 does not show the claimed central mold portion (via 34) to move during blow molding of the container.
The Office as set forth above, giving the claims the broadest reasonable meaning believes that ‘077 indeed do show via 34 to move during the blow molding process, see for example (Figs. 2 & 4; via the movement and push-up step of 34). It is noted that the entire process is a molding and shaping process, regardless to when exactly the vertical movement of 34 is taken place. The vertical movement of 34 at any given time to shape the preform 38 in respect to the entire process is considered to be “during” the blow molding process.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMEH TAWFIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731