DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 24 October 2025:
Claims 2-14 and 16-17 are pending
Claims 1 and 15 are cancelled
Claims 16 and 17 are amended
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments to the claims filed 24 October 2025 have been acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 24 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On Pages 6-10 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant has amended Claims 16 and 17 to further recite the following limitation: “wherein, in the non-assembled state, the seal member is disposed within the vaporizer”. Applicant argues that disassembling the suction nozzle assembly (14) as shown in Figure 2 of Zou would remove the assembly/seal member from the device and thus not meet the new limitations in amended Claim 16 and 17.
Examiner disagrees because while no explicit disclosure is made that the seal member is retained within said device in a non-assembled state, one ordinarily skilled in the art could reasonably retain a part of the seal member in the device. It should be noted that the nozzle assembly (14) comprises multiple parts which are all individually shown to be detachable (see Figure 2, Parts 141-43). As such, one ordinarily skilled in the art could interpret the disassembled state to be one where parts of the assembly/sealed is detached, but some parts such as the third sealing member (143) could still be retained within said device. Thus, Zou would still read upon the new limitations in amended Claims 16-17.
Below is a modified rejection based on amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 10, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al (Publication No. US20230115358A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Zou discloses an electronic vaporization device, comprising:
a housing assembly (11) (Fig. 3; [0034]);
a vent tube (Exhaust channel 124) arranged in the housing assembly (Fig. 3; [0035]);
and a seal member (Suction assembly 14) arranged on the vent tube (124);
and detachable (i.e., movable) along the vent tube (124) from a detached (i.e., non-assembled) state to a fixed (i.e., assembled) state (Figs. 3-5; [0036, 0041]; the suction/seal assembly 141 utilizes a bracket 141 which allows the sealing cover 142 to be detachably fixed around the vent tube/exhaust channel);
the seal member being provided with an assembling hole (see annotated Fig. 2);
wherein the housing assembly (11), the vent tube (124), and the seal member (14) at least in part define a liquid storage cavity (113) (see Fig. 3; [0035, 0044]; the storage cavity is shown between the housing, vent/exhaust tube, and seal/suction member components);
wherein, in the disassembled (i.e., non-assembled) state, the assembling hole defines a fluid channel in fluid communication with the liquid storage cavity (113) (see Figs. 2-5, annotated Fig. 2 above; assembly hole is formed by the bracket 141 portion of the sealing/suction member 14; substrate is injected through the opening 112 between the second end 122 and housing 11; since the bracket 141 is fixed on the second end, it is implicit that liquid is injected between the second end and housing via the assembling hole located on the bracket 141 and thus, said hole defines a fluid channel in fluid communication with the cavity to enable liquid injection);
wherein, upon movement from the non-assembled state to the assembled state (i.e., disassembled to attached state), the assembling hole defines a gap (i.e., exhaust channel) between the seal member (141) and the vent tube (124) (see annotated Fig. 3 below; [0035-0036, 0038]; when the suction/sealing assembly is full detached and assembled, a gap/groove is formed between the vent/exhaust tube and the sealing cover 142 portion of the sealing member);
the vent hole (126) forms an exhaust channel fluidically connecting the liquid storage cavity (113) to outside air (see Figs. 2-5, annotated Fig. 3 above; [0041-0044]; the vent hole creates a communication between the tube 124, exhaust channel, and opening 1421; the communication between said parts enable compressed air within the liquid cavity 113 to be discharged; implies that the vent hole fluidly connects the storage cavity, exhaust channel, and opening to the outside environment/air for venting);
and wherein, in the assembled (i.e., attached/installed) state, the seal member (14) seals the liquid storage cavity (113) (Figs. 1-2; [0036]).
Zou does not explicitly disclose that in the non-assembled state, the seal member is disposed within the electronic vaporization device. However, Zou does disclose that the seal member (14) can comprise of multiple sealing members such as a third sealing member (143), bracket (142), and sealing cover (143) (Figs. 2-4; [0042]; note that each component is shown to be detachable).
Since the overall seal member (14) comprises multiple parts, one ordinarily skilled in the art could disassemble parts of the seal member (i.e., a disassembled state) but still retain some parts such as the third sealing member so that it is still within the vaporizing device when said device is in a disassembled (i.e., the assembly seal 14 is partially detached) state.
Regarding Claim 10, Zou further discloses a vaporization assembly (Atomization assembly 13), wherein a vaporization cavity (Base 12) that is in communication with the liquid storage cavity (Exhaust channel 124) is formed in the vent tube (124) (Figs. 3-5; [0034-0036]; atomization assembly shown to be sleeved inside the vent tube formed from the lower end of the base 12);
and wherein the vaporization assembly is assembled in the vaporization cavity tube (Figs. 3-5; [0034-0036]; atomization assembly shown to be sleeved the lower end of the base 12).
Regarding Claim 12, Zou further discloses the vaporization device comprising:
a top cover (Sealing cover 142) that is detachably connected to the first housing (Figs. 2-3; [0041]; cover is detachable from housing via bracket 141);
wherein the seal member (14) is connected to the top cover (Figs. 2-3; [0041]; connection is implied as the cover is part of the entire sealing/nozzle assembly 14);
wherein a first air outlet channel (through hole 1421) is formed on the top cover (Figs. 2-3; [0041]);
and wherein the first air outlet channel is configured to be in communication with an inside of the vent tube (i.e., exhaust channel 124) (Figs. 2-3; [0041]).
Regarding Claim 17, Zou discloses a vaporizer comprising:
a liquid storage shell (113) (Fig. 3; [0034-0035]; the housing 11 and its inner walls form a liquid storage cavity 113 between said inner wall and exhaust channel 124 , and is considered equivalent to a liquid storage shell);
and a vent tube (Exhaust channel 124) that is sleeved at intervals in the liquid storage shell (113) (see Fig. 3; [0041-0042]; vent tube is sleeved at different portions/intervals associated with the sealing cover 142 and the sealing member 143; sealing parts seal the upper opening of the liquid cavity/shell and is considered the same as being inside of said liquid storage shell);
and detachable (i.e., movable) along the vent tube (124) from a detached (i.e., non-assembled) state to a fixed (i.e., assembled) state (Figs. 3-5; [0036, 0041]; the suction/seal assembly 141 utilizes a bracket 141 which allows the sealing cover 142 to be detachably fixed around the vent tube/exhaust channel);
the seal member being provided with an assembling hole (see annotated Fig. 2);
wherein the housing assembly (11), the vent tube (124), and the seal member (14) at least in part define a liquid storage cavity (113) (see Fig. 3; [0035, 0044]; the storage cavity is shown between the housing, vent/exhaust tube, and seal/suction member components);
wherein, in the disassembled (i.e., non-assembled) state, the assembling hole defines a fluid channel in fluid communication with the liquid storage cavity (113) (see Figs. 2-5, annotated Fig. 2 above; assembly hole is formed by the bracket 141 portion of the sealing/suction member 14; substrate is injected through the opening 112 between the second end 122 and housing 11; since the bracket 141 is fixed on the second end, it is implicit that liquid is injected between the second end and housing via the assembling hole located on the bracket 141 and thus, said hole defines a fluid channel in fluid communication with the cavity to enable liquid injection);
wherein, upon movement from the non-assembled state to the assembled state (i.e., getting detached), the assembling hole defines a gap (i.e., exhaust channel) between the seal member (141) and the vent tube (124) (see annotated Fig. 3 below; [0035-0036, 0038]; when the suction/sealing assembly is full detached and assembled, a gap/groove is formed between the vent/exhaust tube and the sealing cover 142 portion of the sealing member);
the vent hole (126) forms an exhaust channel fluidically connecting the liquid storage cavity to outside air (see Figs. 2-5, annotated Fig. 3 above; [0041-0044]; the vent hole creates a communication between the tube 124, exhaust channel, and opening 1421; the communication between said parts enable compressed air within the liquid cavity 113 to be discharged, which implies that the vent hole fluidly connects the storage cavity, exhaust channel, and opening to the outside environment/air for venting);
and wherein, in the assembled (attached/installed) state, the seal member (14) seals the liquid storage cavity (113) (Figs. 1-2; [0036]).
Zou does not explicitly disclose that in the non-assembled state, the seal member is disposed within the electronic vaporization device. However, Zou does disclose that the seal member (14) can comprise of multiple sealing members such as a third sealing member (143), bracket (142), and sealing cover (143) (Figs. 2-4; [0042]; note that each component is shown to be detachable).
Since the overall seal member (14) comprises of multiple parts, one ordinarily skilled in the art could disassemble parts of the seal member (i.e., a disassembled state) but still retain some parts such as the third sealing member so that it is still within the vaporizing device when said device is in a disassembled (i.e., the assembly seal 14 is partially detached) state.
Claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al (Publication No. US2023115358A1) as applied to Claim 16 above, and further in view of Zhou et al (Publication No. US20220202093A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Zou further discloses a surface of at least one of the seal members and the vent tube that faces another is provided with a vent hole (126) that can discharge gas in the liquid storage cavity to the outside air to prevent liquid leakage (Figs. 3-5; [0044]);
wherein the seal member comprises a first seal end (sealing cover 142) and a second seal end (sealing member 143) that are arranged at two opposite ends of the vent hole in an assembly direction (see annotated Fig. 3);
Zou does not disclose the following:
the vent tube is provided with an exhaust groove instead of a vent hole.
wherein said groove is formed by a gap between the first seal end and the vent tube, a gap between the second seal end and the vent tube, and the exhaust groove.
Regarding (I), Zhou, directed to an atomizing (i.e., vaporizing) device, discloses a central post (i.e., vent pipe) with an inner surface (122) that defines an inhalation hole. The inner surface further comprises a receiving groove that extends along the central axis of the inhaling hole which can receive and obstruct any liquid leakage (Figs. 3-5, [0031, 0048, 0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the vent hole disclosed by Zou to be a groove as disclosed by Zhou, as both are directed to a vaporizing device, where one ordinarily skilled in the art can reasonably substitute one known venting/liquid leakage prevention design (i.e., hole) with another known liquid leakage prevention design (i.e., groove) to a similar vaporizing device and predictably result in a vent tube with a groove that can prevent liquid leakage.
Regarding (II), Zhou discloses a gap between the vent pipe and the first sealing member (Zou, see annotated Figs. 3 above). Zou also discloses that the receiving groove (i.e., exhaust groove) extends along the central axis of the inhaling hole which subsequently means extending along the central axis of the mounting post/vent pipe, (Zhou, see Figs. 3 and 5).
Therefore, when modifying Zhou’s exhaust/vent pipe with Zou’s receiving groove, one ordinarily skilled in the art would reasonably construct said groove to extend along the central axis of Zhou’s vent pipe, such that it is formed in the gap on the first end of the Zou’s sealing member and predictably result in a groove formed by a gap that can prevent liquid leakage.
Furthermore, while Zhou does not show a similar gap on the second end of the sealing member, it should be noted that duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.04.VI.B). One ordinarily skilled in the art can apply the same design as shown in Zou for the first end of the sealing member to form a similar groove via a gap on the second end of the sealing member to predictably yield a second groove on the second sealing member end that can prevent liquid leakage.
Regarding Claim 3, Zou further discloses the seal member (Nozzle assembly 14) is at least partially sleeved between the housing assembly (11) and the vent tube (Exhaust channel 124) to seal the liquid storage cavity (Figs. 2-3; [0036, 0041-0042]; the seal member is detachably sleeved over the vent tube and is illustrated to be between the vent tube and housing);
and wherein a seal formed in the attached (i.e., assembled) state comprises at least one of the following: the first seal end (Sealing cover 142) and the vent tube; and the second seal end (Sealing member 143) and the vent tube (see Figs. 2-3; [0041-0042]).
Regarding Claim 4, Modified Zou further discloses the assembling hole runs through the seal member in the assembly direction, the seal member being sleeved on the vent tube through the assembling hole (see Zou, annotated Fig. 3);
and wherein a surface of at least one of a hole wall of the assembling hole and the vent tube is provided with the exhaust groove (see Zou, annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 5, Zou further discloses the seal member comprises a body and a limiting portion (see annotated Fig. 3 below);
wherein the body is provided with the assembling hole (see annotated Fig. 3 below);
the limiting portion is arranged on the first seal end (i.e., Sealing cover 142) and protrudes from the hole wall of the assembling hole (see annotated Fig. 3 below);
and wherein the vent tube is sleeved in the assembling hole and abuts against the limiting portion in a limiting manner in the attached (i.e., assembled) state, and seals the first seal end and the vent tube (see annotated Fig. 3 below; [00036-0038, 0041-0042]; sealing cover is disclosed to be in communication with the vent/exhaust tube 134; the protrusions have a gap matching the tube implying said tube can abut against the gap to seal and communicate the tube with the sealing cover).
Regarding Claim 6, Zou wherein one end of the vent tube that is arranged at the opening of the liquid storage cavity (i.e., end 122 of base 12) is provided with an inwardly bent flange that abuts against the limiting portion in a limiting manner in an axial direction of the vent tube (see Figs. 3 and 5; [0043-0045]; end 122 that abuts against the limiting portion is shown to have an inwardly bent surface which is considered equivalent to a flange; abutting in the axial direction illustrated in annotated Fig. 3 in Claim 5 above).
Regarding Claim 7, Zou further discloses the assembling hole comprises a mounting section and an opening section (see annotated Fig. 3 below);
the mounting section being arranged between the opening section and the limiting portion (see annotated Fig. 3 below);
and wherein the opening section faces the liquid storage cavity (see annotated Fig. 3 below).
Zou does not disclose the opening section is outwardly expanding, wherein a diameter of the outwardly expanding opening section is greater than a diameter of the mounting section;
However, it should be noted that the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design (see MPEP § 2144.04.IV.B). Zou discloses that the base (12) has several sections with varying opening sizes that have an increased diameter (i.e., outwardly expanding) (see annotated Fig. 3 below).
For example, the base portion where the atomizing assembly (13) is sleeved has an opening with a larger diameter in comparison to the upper portion of the base where the exhaust channel (124) and vent hole (126) are located (see Figs. 2, 3, and 5).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one ordinarily skilled in the art to change the shape of the opening section to expand outward to have a larger diameter than the mounting section so long as the vent tube (i.e., exhaust channel) is still capable of being sleeved inside the mounting section and maintain a seal.
Regarding Claim 8, the vent tube comprises a step surface, the vent tube being sleeved in the assembling hole (see annotated Fig. 3 below, and Fig. 5; vent tube is sleeved where it is inserted into the nozzle assembly);
Zou further discloses the second seal end (i.e., sealing member 143) abuts against a surface of the vent tube (i.e., exhaust channel 124) (see annotated Fig. 3 above; vent tube/exhaust channel is shown to be flushed against the sealing member). Zou does not explicitly disclose the second seal end abuts against the step surface and seals the second seal end and the vent tube in the attached (i.e., assembled) state.
However, it should be noted that mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.04.VI.B).
One ordinarily skilled in the art could duplicate the step surface disclosed by Zou to be located on the vent tube (i.e., exhaust channel 124) close to the opening such that it abuts against the second seal and predictably result in a seal forming between the surface and the second seal, so long as the step surface is sized such that the exhaust channel can still be inserted into the mounting portion and maintain a seal.
Regarding Claim 9, Modified Zou further discloses the outwardly expanding opening section is arranged on the second seal end (see Claim 7 rejection for modification justification; the expanding opening section is equivalent to the opening section located on sealing member 143 in annotated Fig. 3);
wherein the vent tube is sleeved in the assembling hole (see annotated Fig. 3 below; vent tube/exhaust channel is inserted into the seal which is equivalent to sleeving in the assembling hole);
Zou further discloses that the inner wall of the opening section is flushed against the surface of the vent tube and the step surface is an inclined surface (see annotated Fig. 3 below, and Fig. 5):
Zou does not disclose an inner wall of the outwardly expanding opening section and the step surface are both configured as inclined surfaces that match each other; and wherein the inner wall of the outwardly expanding opening section abuts against the step surface in a limiting manner in the attached (i.e., assembled) state.
However, it should be noted that the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design (see MPEP § 2144.04.IV.B). As discussed in the rejection of Claims 7-8, one could modify the shape of the opening disclosed in Zou to have an outwardly expanding shape and the vent tube surface to have a step surface abutting the opening so long as a seal is maintained with the sealing member (143).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to construct the outwardly expanding opening section to have a matching inclined surface with the step surface so that the vent tube and sealing member can be sleeved (i.e., abutting) together at the opening to maintain the seal.
Claims 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al (Publication No. US2023115358A1) as applied to Claim 16 above, and further in view of Li et al (Publication No. US20190246692A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Zou further discloses the vaporization device further comprising:
a battery core assembly (Figs. 1, 2, 5; [0034]; Battery assembly 2);
wherein the housing assembly comprises a first housing (see Figs. 1, 2, 5; [0034]; when the atomizer and battery assembly are detachable/connected, the housing is split wherein the atomizer portion is considered the first housing and the battery assembly the second housing);
wherein one end of the vent tube (Exhaust channel 124) is sleeved at intervals with the first housing (see Fig. 3; [0041-0042]; vent tube is sleeved at different portions/intervals associated with the sealing cover 142 and the sealing member 143);
another end of the vent tube is connected to the battery core assembly (see Figs. 1-5; the battery assembly is the second housing which is connected to the first housing and subsequently the vent tube from the end opposite the sealing member/nozzle assembly).
and wherein the liquid storage cavity is defined and formed between the vent tube and the first housing (Figs. 1-3; [0034-0036]; vent tube is sleeved on the housing portion associated with the atomizer which is considered equivalent to the first housing).
Zou does not explicitly disclose the battery core assembly is sleeved in the first housing.
However, Li, directed to an atomizing (i.e., vaporizing device), discloses a first housing (atomizer 1) and second housing (battery assembly 2) which are detachably connected to each other (Figs. 26, 27; [0096]). The first housing includes an atomization assembly with a base (111) that comprises two electrode columns (i.e., battery core assembly) that electrically connect to the battery assembly portion (i.e., second housing) (Fig. 26-27, 29-30; [0097-0100]; the base with the electrode columns is shown to be inside the first/atomizer housing which is considered equivalent to being sleeved).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first housing disclosed by Zou to include a battery core assembly (i.e., base with electrode columns) in the first housing as disclosed by Li, as both are directed to an atomizing/vaporizing device, where one ordinarily skilled in the art would reasonably apply Li’s teaching of placing the batter core assembly in the first housing to a similar vaporizing device disclosed by Zou to predictably yield a first housing that can be electrically connected to a battery assembly located in the second housing to supply power to the device.
Regarding Claim 14, Zou further discloses a first housing (i.e., Atomizer 1) and second housing (i.e., battery assembly 2) that are detachably connected (Figs. 1, 2, 5; [0034]; disclosed that battery assembly and atomizer can be connected, which implies that the housing 11 would split into two parts associated with each component).
Zou does not disclose a battery core base, wherein the second housing is detachably connected to the battery core base.
However, Li, directed to an atomizing (i.e., vaporizing device), discloses a first housing (atomizer 1) and second housing (battery assembly 2) which are detachably connected to each other (Figs. 26, 27; [0096]). The first housing includes an atomization assembly with a base (111) (i.e., battery core base) that comprises two electrode columns (i.e., battery core assembly) that electrically connect to the battery assembly portion (i.e., second housing) (Fig. 26-27, 29-30; [0097-0100]; the base with the electrode columns is shown to be inside the first/atomizer housing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first housing disclosed by Zou to include a battery core base (i.e., base with electrode columns) in the first housing as disclosed by Li, as both are directed to an atomizing/vaporizing device, where one ordinarily skilled in the art would reasonably apply Li’s teaching of placing the batter core assembly in the first housing to a similar vaporizing device disclosed by Zou to predictably yield a first housing with a battery core base that can electrically connect to a battery assembly located in the second housing to supply power to the device.
Claims 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al (Publication No. US20230115358A1) as applied to Claim 16 above, and further in view of Lin et al (Publication No. US20190387800A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Zou further discloses the housing assembly comprises a second housing (Battery assembly 2) and a liquid storage shell (liquid storage cavity 113) (see Figs. 1, 2, 5; [0034]; when the atomizer and battery assembly are detachable/connected, the housing is split wherein the atomizer portion is considered the first housing and the battery assembly the second housing; shell is considered equivalent to cavity as the cavity is formed from the housing/shell walls);
wherein the vent tube is sleeved at intervals in the liquid storage shell (see Fig. 3; [0041-0042]; vent tube is inside the cavity as shown in Figure 3, and is sleeved at different portions/intervals associated with the sealing cover 142 and the sealing member 143);
wherein the liquid storage cavity with an opening on one end is defined and formed between the liquid storage shell and the vent tube (Figs. 3-5; [0035, 0044]; cavity shown between the housing and exhaust/vent tube; opening shown in Fig. 4 which is sealed by the nozzle assembly 14);
and the seal member is arranged at the opening of the liquid storage cavity and is sealedly sleeved between the liquid storage shell and the vent tube (see Zou, annotated Fig. 3; ; [0034-0036, 0041-0042]);
Zou does not disclose the following:
wherein the second housing is sleeved outside the liquid storage shell and the seal member
the second housing being provided with a second air outlet channel that is in communication with an inside of the vent tube.
Regarding (III), Lin, directed to an electronic cigarette (i.e., vaporizing device), discloses a first housing (Housing 1) comprising a liquid storage shell (Liquid storage chamber 17) (Figs., 2, 5; [0051]; storage shell is defined by the housing walls). Lin further discloses the first housing is detachably connected/plugged into a second housing (battery assembly B) through a lower opening that has a smaller diameter (see Figs. 1, 2, and 5; [0048-0049, 0052-0053]; the first housing’s smaller diameter near the opening where it plugs/sleeves with the second housing is shown to extend up to the liquid storage shell portion, implying that the second housing is sleeved outside the liquid storage shell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first housing disclosed by Zou to have a decreasing diameter where the liquid shell portion and opening are, so it detachably connects with the second housing (i.e., battery assembly portion) as disclosed by Lin, as both are directed to an atomizing/vaporizing device, where Lin teaches the advantage of utilizing such a design to allow easy and convenient assembly/disassembly of the vaporizer and battery assembly [0064].
Regarding (IV), Lin further discloses that the battery assembly portion (i.e., second housing) comprises an outer air inlet (303) (i.e., second air outlet channel) which allows air to flow through the vaporizing chamber and subsequently through (i.e., inside) the vapor outlet tube (12) (i.e., vent tube) to be inhaled by the user (Figs. 1-2, 5-7; [0060, 0064]; air can flow from the air outlet channel to the vent tube which implies they are in communication with each other).
Conclusion
/V.P./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755