DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2021/113343 to Ross (Ross hereinafter, copy provided by applicant on 12/22/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Ross teaches a delivery device for delivery of medical agent to a biological barrier comprising:
a main body (12) including a central region defining a receptacle (24),
a peripheral region defined by a number of petal members (48 or separated lower sections of collet 22), and
a set of retention tabs (113) extending into the receptacle;
a reservoir (16, 18) including
at least one delivery sharp (14),
a main interior volume (272), and
at least one septum (322) in fluid communication with the main interior volume, the reservoir coupled to the main body via the retention tabs;
an adhesive (192) coupled to the main body; and
at least one bias member (370) positioned within the receptacle between the reservoir and a wall (400) of the receptacle.
Regarding claim 2, Ross teaches that the bias member is configured to distort upon transition of the main body from a first state (Fig. 2A) to a second state (Fig. 2B), the bias member configured to restore against the reservoir urging fluid out of the at least one delivery sharp once distorted by transition of the main body from the first to the second state (page 40, ln. 30 through page 41, ln. 13), the reservoir configured to displace toward the biological barrier (as shown in Fig. 2B) as the main body transitions from the first state to the second state.
Regarding claim 3, Ross teaches a wall (286) including a collapse facilitator (upper portion shown compressed in Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 6, Ross teaches a guard (320, Fig. 22) comprising a septum (326) and a fluid pathway (274) from the main interior volume to the septum.
Regarding claim 7, Ross teaches a septum (326) including a plug portion (322) sealed with an aperture (274) through a rigid portion (278).
Regarding claim 8, Ross teaches a rigid portion (278) and a flexible portion (280), as well as a septum (322) with a first section (324) in a passage (272) through the rigid portion (278) and a second section (322) having a recessed channel (326) configured to block displacement of the flexible portion (280) into the channel at least by maintaining fluid pressure which holds the flexible portion away from the rigid portion.
Regarding claim 10, Ross teaches that the main body (12) is formable by by or indistinguishable from a body formed by side action free injection molding. There is no evidence of record indicating that this method of making the apparatus produces a patentable distinction in the structure of the apparatus.
Claim(s) 11, 13, and 15-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 03/084598 to Wilkinson et al. (Wilkinson, copy provided by applicant on 12/22/2025).
Regarding claim 11, Wilkinson teaches a method of delivering an agent, comprising
affixing (with adhesive 66) to a surface (70) a delivery device (10) including at least one delivery sharp (36) coupled to a collapsible reservoir (22, 74) containing the agent;
applying pressure on the delivery device to transition first (23, 52, 64) and second (48) portions of the delivery device to respective distorted states, penetrate the surface with the at least one delivery sharp, and initiate collapse of the reservoir to force the agent out of the at least one delivery sharp (paragraph 58); and
relieving pressure (at least upon removal of the device, per “removably attached” in paragraph 44) on the delivery device to allow the first portion of the delivery device to at least partially restore from its distorted state and lift the surface, at least via friction with the delivery sharps (36).
Regarding claim 13, Wilkinson teaches contacting the surface (70) with a protrusion (30) from the reservoir after the delivery sharp has penetrated.
Regarding claim 15, Wilkinson teaches that collapse of the reservoir (at 74) occurs simultaneously with restoration of the first portion (23, 52 64) which will flex under the pressure exerted by the first portion.
Regarding claim 16, Wilkinson teaches an array of microneedles (36).
Regarding claim 17, Wilkinson teaches transitioning the second portion (48) from a protruding state (Fig. 6) to an indented state (Fig. 5, indented relative to inner surface 50).
Regarding claim 18, Wilkinson teaches a delivery device (10) for delivering fluid into a biological barrier (70) comprising:
a main body (12) including a peripheral region with a plurality of petal members (64); and
a reservoir (22) coupled to the main body including at least one delivery sharp (36); and
wherein the main body is configured to transition between a first state (Fig. 6) and a second state (Fig. 5), the petal members configured to stretchingly distort from an initial state, to an intermediate state, and at least partially restore from the intermediate state at any time, including as the main body transitions from the first state to the second state.
Regarding claim 19, Wilkinson teaches a protuberance (30) as the reservoir displaces along a vertical displacement path.
Regarding claim 20, Wilkinson teaches that reservoir is partly collapsible (at 48).
Regarding claim 21, Wilkinson teaches adhesive (66) and configuration for spreading displacement of the petal members by their formation from flexible polymeric film (paragraph 53).
Regarding claim 22, Wilkinson teaches that the petal members are substantially flat (see e.g. Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 23, Wilkinson teaches a constant, perpendicular angle to a vertical center axis of the device and a concave curvature leading to and attached to the central region of the main body.
Regarding claim 24, as shown in Fig. 3, the curved segment is intermediate first and second flat regions (upper and lower edges) of the petal members (64).
Regarding claim 25, Wilkinson teaches that the peripheral edge of the delivery device is defined by the outermost edges of the petal members, the outermost edges being able to curve along a skin path other than that defined by a constant radius extending from a point along the center axis of the delivery device.
Regarding claim 26, Wilkinson teaches that the main body includes a central region (16) formed integrally with the peripheral region, the central region including a portion (48) configured to flip from a protruding state (Fig. 6) to a depressed state (Fig. 5, depressed from inner surface 50) as the delivery device transitions from the first state to the second state, and wherein the delivery device further comprises a bias member between the reservoir and the portion, the bias member configured to distort when the portion is flipped to the depressed state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ross in view of Wilkinson.
Regarding claim 4, Ross teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, and further teaches that diverse bias elements may be used, including “resilient elements” broadly (page 39, ln. 11), as well as hollow bias members (e.g. 370). Ross does not explicitly teach elastomeric materials. Wilkinson, as noted above, teaches another delivery device generally, and particularly teaches that resilient bias may be provided by elastomeric materials (paragraph 51). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to provide the hollow bias member of Ross formed from an elastomeric material as taught by Wilkinson in order to provide the desired resilience.
Regarding claim 5, Ross teaches two bias tiers (366, 370) which are concentric and therefore have differing footprint areas.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ross in view of US Pre-Grant Publication 2015/0320990 to Burton et al. (Burton).
Regarding claim 9, Ross teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, but does not teach the use of vaccines in the delivery device. Burton teaches another delivery device generally, and particularly teaches that such devices may be used to provide vaccines (paragraph 59) which have known prophylactic properties. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to fill the reservoir of Ross with a vaccine as taught by Burton in order to take advantage of the prophylaxis offered thereby.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilkinson in view of US Pre-Grant Publication 2005/0261631 to Clarke et al. (Clarke).
Regarding claims 14 and 19, the previously applied references teach the limitations of claims 11 and 18 from which claim 14 and 19 respectively depend, but do not teach a marking protrusion. Clarke teaches a marking protrusion (270) which allows marking of locations where microneedles have pierced the skin (paragraph 87). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to provide a marking protrusion as taught by Clarke to the device of Wilkinson in order to mark where the stratum corneum has been pierced.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 22 December 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ross, Wilkinson, and Burton. The examiner notes that these references were found in the IDS filed with the noted response.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 22 December 2025 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP E STIMPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 3 April 2026