Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-2, 4, 7-11, 14, 17-20 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Prosecution is reopened pursuant to a strategic review. Office of Patent Quality Assurance performed the strategic review, discovered new prior art and proposed a new ground of rejection. TC2400 Quality Assurance Specialist agreed and improved the proposed rejections. This office action is examined by a Supervisory Patent Examiner.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The amended claims do not overcome the previous rejections. However, a new ground of rejection is raised in light of newly discovered reference CN 109417759. Please see claim mapping below for a response.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu CN 109417759.
Regarding claim 1, Liu anticipates A method comprising: identifying, by a wireless communication device, a plurality of receiver chain circuits (Paragraph [0076] receiver chains including one or more demodulators 254 to 255) for processing data ([0076] Each demodulator 254 to 255 can adjust (e.g., filter, amplify, down-convert, and digitize) its received signal to obtain an input sample. Each demodulator 254 to 255 can further process the input samples (e.g., for OFDM, etc.) to obtain the received symbols. The MIMO detector 256 can obtain received symbols from one or more demodulators 254 to 255, perform MIMO detection on the received symbols if applicable, and provide the detected symbols. The receiver processor 258 can process the detected symbols (e.g., demodulate, deinterleave, and decode), provide decoded data for the UE 215 to the data output, and provide decoded control information to the processor 280 or the memory 282) to be received by the wireless communication device from a wireless network; (Abstract, The invention claims technology for wireless communication of the wireless communication device. can be made related to determining a plurality of receive chain in multiple receive chains for channels to be enabled. can be based on the receive chain of the determined number enable to adjust the power of the receive chain; Paragraph [0138] the receive chain enable determiner 1135 can be used to determine several receive chains among a plurality of receive chains…)
determining, by the wireless communication device, that a first receiver chain circuit of the plurality of receiver chain circuits is to receive the data within an upcoming time duration (transmission scheduling rate (e.g., PDSCH_SCHED_RATE) for a time period) ([0081] , HORxD can be enabled when the transmission scheduling rate associated with the channel between base station 205 and UE 215 is higher than a threshold (e.g., four receive chains can be enabled). For example, HORxD can be enabled when PDSCH_SCHED_RATE > S<sub>th,2</sub>, where PDSCH_SCHED_RATE is the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) scheduling rate and S<sub>th,2</sub> is the transmission scheduling rate threshold; [0083] The transmission scheduling rate (e.g., PDSCH_SCHED_RATE) for a time period can be determined (e.g., calculated).[0138] In the first configuration, the receive chain enable determiner 1135 can be used to determine several receive chains among a plurality of receive chains to be enabled for the channel. The number of receiver chains to be enabled can be determined at least in part based on the following: the transmission scheduling rate for device 1115…[0148] The transmission scheduling rate may be based at least in part on the following:…the number of TTIs during which device 1215 is scheduled to receive transmissions on the channel during the time period)
and that a second receiver chain circuit of the plurality of receiver chain circuits is to receive no data within the upcoming time duration (transmission scheduling rate (e.g., PDSCH_SCHED_RATE) for a time period); ([0080] Aspects of this disclosure are described using HORxD corresponding to four receiver chains; [0081] HORxD can be disabled when the transmission scheduling rate associated with the channel between base station 205 and UE 215 is below a threshold; [0083] The transmission scheduling rate (e.g., PDSCH_SCHED_RATE) for a time period can be determined (e.g., calculated). [0090] Assuming the transmission scheduling rate does not exceed the threshold (e.g.,S<sub>th,1</sub>) and the channel quality is high, HORxD (the on-to-off transition) can be disabled during the second wake-up period 315-a. [0148] The transmission scheduling rate may be based at least in part on the following:…the number of TTIs during which device 1215 is scheduled to receive transmissions on the channel during the time period )
and causing, by the wireless communication device responsive to the determination, power to be reduced (decreasing the power) to the second receiver chain circuit ([0141] The receive chain power regulator 1140 can be used to adjust the power of multiple receive chains, at least in part, based on the receive chain enable determinant 1135, which determines the number of receive chains to be enabled for the channel. In some examples, the receive chain power regulator 1140 can adjust the power of multiple receive chains by increasing the power of disabled receive chains included in a number of receive chains enabled for the channel, or by decreasing the power of enabled receive chains not included in a number of receive chains enabled for the channel) and not be reduced (maintaining the power) to the first receiver chain circuit, within the time duration ([0141] In some cases, the receive chain power conditioner 1140 can adjust the power of multiple receive chains by maintaining the power state of enabled receive chains included in a number of receive chains enabled for the channel. [0148] The transmission scheduling rate may be based at least in part on the following:…the number of TTIs during which device 1215 is scheduled to receive transmissions on the channel during the time period.
For claim 10, Liu teaches a wireless communication device comprising; one or more processors configured to (Liu, Fig. 13, Processor 1310): identify a plurality of receiver chain circuits (Paragraph [0076] receiver chains including one or more demodulators 254 to 255) for processing data ([0076] Each demodulator 254 to 255 can adjust (e.g., filter, amplify, down-convert, and digitize) its received signal to obtain an input sample. Each demodulator 254 to 255 can further process the input samples (e.g., for OFDM, etc.) to obtain the received symbols. The MIMO detector 256 can obtain received symbols from one or more demodulators 254 to 255, perform MIMO detection on the received symbols if applicable, and provide the detected symbols. The receiver processor 258 can process the detected symbols (e.g., demodulate, deinterleave, and decode), provide decoded data for the UE 215 to the data output, and provide decoded control information to the processor 280 or the memory 282) to be received by the wireless communication device from a wireless network; (Abstract, The invention claims technology for wireless communication of the wireless communication device. can be made related to determining a plurality of receive chain in multiple receive chains for channels to be enabled. can be based on the receive chain of the determined number enable to adjust the power of the receive chain; Paragraph [0138] the receive chain enable determiner 1135 can be used to determine several receive chains among a plurality of receive chains…)
Determine that a first receiver chain circuit of the plurality of receiver chain circuits is to receive the data within an upcoming time duration (transmission scheduling rate (e.g., PDSCH_SCHED_RATE) for a time period) ([0081] , HORxD can be enabled when the transmission scheduling rate associated with the channel between base station 205 and UE 215 is higher than a threshold (e.g., four receive chains can be enabled). For example, HORxD can be enabled when PDSCH_SCHED_RATE > S<sub>th,2</sub>, where PDSCH_SCHED_RATE is the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) scheduling rate and S<sub>th,2</sub> is the transmission scheduling rate threshold; [0083] The transmission scheduling rate (e.g., PDSCH_SCHED_RATE) for a time period can be determined (e.g., calculated).[0138] In the first configuration, the receive chain enable determiner 1135 can be used to determine several receive chains among a plurality of receive chains to be enabled for the channel. The number of receiver chains to be enabled can be determined at least in part based on the following: the transmission scheduling rate for device 1115…[0148] The transmission scheduling rate may be based at least in part on the following:…the number of TTIs during which device 1215 is scheduled to receive transmissions on the channel during the time period)
and that a second receiver chain circuit of the plurality of receiver chain circuits is to receive no data within the upcoming time duration (transmission scheduling rate (e.g., PDSCH_SCHED_RATE) for a time period); ([0080] Aspects of this disclosure are described using HORxD corresponding to four receiver chains; [0081] HORxD can be disabled when the transmission scheduling rate associated with the channel between base station 205 and UE 215 is below a threshold; [0083] The transmission scheduling rate (e.g., PDSCH_SCHED_RATE) for a time period can be determined (e.g., calculated). [0090] Assuming the transmission scheduling rate does not exceed the threshold (e.g.,S<sub>th,1</sub>) and the channel quality is high, HORxD (the on-to-off transition) can be disabled during the second wake-up period 315-a. [0148] The transmission scheduling rate may be based at least in part on the following:…the number of TTIs during which device 1215 is scheduled to receive transmissions on the channel during the time period )
and responsive to the determination, cause power to be reduced (decreasing the power) to the second receiver chain circuit ([0141] The receive chain power regulator 1140 can be used to adjust the power of multiple receive chains, at least in part, based on the receive chain enable determinant 1135, which determines the number of receive chains to be enabled for the channel. In some examples, the receive chain power regulator 1140 can adjust the power of multiple receive chains by increasing the power of disabled receive chains included in a number of receive chains enabled for the channel, or by decreasing the power of enabled receive chains not included in a number of receive chains enabled for the channel) and not be reduced (maintaining the power) to the first receiver chain circuit, within the time duration ([0141] In some cases, the receive chain power conditioner 1140 can adjust the power of multiple receive chains by maintaining the power state of enabled receive chains included in a number of receive chains enabled for the channel. [0148] The transmission scheduling rate may be based at least in part on the following:…the number of TTIs during which device 1215 is scheduled to receive transmissions on the channel during the time period.
For claim 20, Liu teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing program instructions for causing at least one processor of a wireless communication device to (Liu, Fig. 13, Memory 1320) identify a plurality of receiver chain circuits (Paragraph [0076] receiver chains including one or more demodulators 254 to 255) for processing data ([0076] Each demodulator 254 to 255 can adjust (e.g., filter, amplify, down-convert, and digitize) its received signal to obtain an input sample. Each demodulator 254 to 255 can further process the input samples (e.g., for OFDM, etc.) to obtain the received symbols. The MIMO detector 256 can obtain received symbols from one or more demodulators 254 to 255, perform MIMO detection on the received symbols if applicable, and provide the detected symbols. The receiver processor 258 can process the detected symbols (e.g., demodulate, deinterleave, and decode), provide decoded data for the UE 215 to the data output, and provide decoded control information to the processor 280 or the memory 282) to be received by the wireless communication device from a wireless network; (Abstract, The invention claims technology for wireless communication of the wireless communication device. can be made related to determining a plurality of receive chain in multiple receive chains for channels to be enabled. can be based on the receive chain of the determined number enable to adjust the power of the receive chain; Paragraph [0138] the receive chain enable determiner 1135 can be used to determine several receive chains among a plurality of receive chains…)
Determine that a first receiver chain circuit of the plurality of receiver chain circuits is to receive the data within an upcoming time duration (transmission scheduling rate (e.g., PDSCH_SCHED_RATE) for a time period) ([0081] , HORxD can be enabled when the transmission scheduling rate associated with the channel between base station 205 and UE 215 is higher than a threshold (e.g., four receive chains can be enabled). For example, HORxD can be enabled when PDSCH_SCHED_RATE > S<sub>th,2</sub>, where PDSCH_SCHED_RATE is the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) scheduling rate and S<sub>th,2</sub> is the transmission scheduling rate threshold; [0083] The transmission scheduling rate (e.g., PDSCH_SCHED_RATE) for a time period can be determined (e.g., calculated).[0138] In the first configuration, the receive chain enable determiner 1135 can be used to determine several receive chains among a plurality of receive chains to be enabled for the channel. The number of receiver chains to be enabled can be determined at least in part based on the following: the transmission scheduling rate for device 1115…[0148] The transmission scheduling rate may be based at least in part on the following:…the number of TTIs during which device 1215 is scheduled to receive transmissions on the channel during the time period)
and that a second receiver chain circuit of the plurality of receiver chain circuits is to receive no data within the upcoming time duration (transmission scheduling rate (e.g., PDSCH_SCHED_RATE) for a time period); ([0080] Aspects of this disclosure are described using HORxD corresponding to four receiver chains; [0081] HORxD can be disabled when the transmission scheduling rate associated with the channel between base station 205 and UE 215 is below a threshold; [0083] The transmission scheduling rate (e.g., PDSCH_SCHED_RATE) for a time period can be determined (e.g., calculated). [0090] Assuming the transmission scheduling rate does not exceed the threshold (e.g.,S<sub>th,1</sub>) and the channel quality is high, HORxD (the on-to-off transition) can be disabled during the second wake-up period 315-a. [0148] The transmission scheduling rate may be based at least in part on the following:…the number of TTIs during which device 1215 is scheduled to receive transmissions on the channel during the time period )
and responsive to the determination, cause power to be reduced (decreasing the power) to the second receiver chain circuit ([0141] The receive chain power regulator 1140 can be used to adjust the power of multiple receive chains, at least in part, based on the receive chain enable determinant 1135, which determines the number of receive chains to be enabled for the channel. In some examples, the receive chain power regulator 1140 can adjust the power of multiple receive chains by increasing the power of disabled receive chains included in a number of receive chains enabled for the channel, or by decreasing the power of enabled receive chains not included in a number of receive chains enabled for the channel) and not be reduced (maintaining the power) to the first receiver chain circuit, within the time duration ([0141] In some cases, the receive chain power conditioner 1140 can adjust the power of multiple receive chains by maintaining the power state of enabled receive chains included in a number of receive chains enabled for the channel. [0148] The transmission scheduling rate may be based at least in part on the following:…the number of TTIs during which device 1215 is scheduled to receive transmissions on the channel during the time period.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5-6, 11-12, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu CN 109417759 in view of PEZESHKI et al. (US20220086754A1).
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches the method of claim 1. Liu does not teach the time duration is within an off period of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of the plurality of receiver chain circuits of the wireless communication device and comprising: causing, by the wireless communication device, the power to not be reduced to the first receiver chain circuit and the second receiver chain circuit within an on period of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle.
However, in the analogous art, Pezeshki teaches the time duration is within an off period of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of the plurality of receiver chain circuits of the wireless communication device and comprising: causing, by the wireless communication device, the power to not be reduced to the first receiver chain circuit and the second receiver chain circuit within an on period of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle (PEZESHKI, paragraphs 79-80, teach not power on, or otherwise activating, specified receiver chains within a time duration of a DRX cycle.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of PEZESHKI with the teachings of ATTAR to cause the power to not be reduced to the first receiver chain circuit and the second receiver chain circuit within an on period of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle. The motivation would be to conserve power by powering down receiver chains for specific periods of time (PEZESHKI, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches the method of claim 1. Liu does not teach each of the plurality of receiver chain circuits includes at least one of: a multiplexer, a filter, a mixer, an amplifier, or an analog to digital converter.
However, in the analogous art, Pezeshki teaches each of the plurality of receiver chain circuits includes at least one of: a multiplexer, a filter, a mixer, an amplifier, or an analog to digital converter (PEZESHKI, paragraphs 31-32, teach the RF chain comprising an ADC.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of PEZESHKI with the teachings of ATTAR to configure each of the plurality of receiver chain circuits including at least one of: a multiplexer, a filter, a mixer, an amplifier, or an analog to digital converter. The motivation would be to conserve power by powering down receiver chains for specific periods of time (PEZESHKI, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 6, Liu teaches the method of claim 1. Liu does not teach causing, by the wireless communication device, the power to be reduced to the second receiver chain circuit by causing at least one of a multiplexer, a filter, a mixer, an amplifier or an analog to digital converter of the second receiver chain circuit to be disconnected or gated from the power.
However, in the analogous art, Pezeshki teaches causing, by the wireless communication device, the power to be reduced to the second receiver chain circuit by causing at least one of a multiplexer, a filter, a mixer, an amplifier or an analog to digital converter of the second receiver chain circuit to be disconnected or gated from the power (PEZESHKI, paragraphs 31-32, teach the RF chain comprising an ADC.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of PEZESHKI with the teachings of ATTAR to configure the power to be reduced to the second receiver chain circuit by causing at least one of a multiplexer, a filter, a mixer, an amplifier or an analog to digital converter of the second receiver chain circuit to be disconnected or gated from the power. The motivation would be to conserve power by powering down receiver chains for specific periods of time (PEZESHKI, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches the device of claim 10. Liu does not teach the wireless communication device of claim 10, wherein the time duration is within an off period of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of the plurality of receiver chain circuits of the wireless communication device.
However, in the analogous art, PEZESHKI teach the wireless communication device of claim 10, wherein the time duration is within an off period of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of the plurality of receiver chain circuits of the wireless communication device. (PEZESHKI, paragraphs 79-80, teach not power on, or otherwise activating, specified receiver chains within a time duration of a DRX cycle.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of PEZESHKI with the teachings of ATTAR to configure the time duration is within an off period of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle of the plurality of receiver chain circuits of the wireless communication device. The motivation would be to conserve power by powering down receiver chains for specific periods of time (PEZESHKI, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 12, Liu teaches the device of claim 10. Liu does not teach the one or more processors are configured to: cause the power to not be reduced to the first receiver chain circuit and the second receiver chain circuit within an on period of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle.
However, in the analogous art, PEZESHKI teach the one or more processors are configured to: cause the power to not be reduced to the first receiver chain circuit and the second receiver chain circuit within an on period of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle. (PEZESHKI, paragraphs 79-80, teach not power on, or otherwise activating, specified receiver chains within a time duration of a DRX cycle.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of PEZESHKI with the teachings of ATTAR to configure the power to not be reduced to the first receiver chain circuit and the second receiver chain circuit within an on period of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle. The motivation would be to conserve power by powering down receiver chains for specific periods of time (PEZESHKI, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 15, Liu teaches the device of claim 10. Liu does not teach each of the plurality of receiver chain circuits includes at least one of: a multiplexer, a filter, a mixer, an amplifier, or an analog to digital converter.
However, in the analogous art, PEZESHKI teaches each of the plurality of receiver chain circuits includes at least one of: a multiplexer, a filter, a mixer, an amplifier, or an analog to digital converter. (PEZESHKI, paragraphs 31-32, teach the RF chain comprising an ADC.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of PEZESHKI with the teachings of ATTAR to configure each of the plurality of receiver chain circuits including at least one of: a multiplexer, a filter, a mixer, an amplifier, or an analog to digital converter. The motivation would be to conserve power by powering down receiver chains for specific periods of time (PEZESHKI, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 16, Liu teaches the device of claim 10. Liu does not teach cause the power to be reduced to the second receiver chain circuit by causing at least one of a multiplexer, a filter, a mixer, an amplifier or an analog to digital converter of the second receiver chain circuit to be disconnected or gated from the power.
However, in the analogous art, PEZESHKI teaches … cause the power to be reduced to the second receiver chain circuit by causing at least one of a multiplexer, a filter, a mixer, an amplifier or an analog to digital converter of the second receiver chain circuit to be disconnected or gated from the power (PEZESHKI, paragraphs 31-32, teach the RF chain comprising an ADC.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of PEZESHKI with the teachings of ATTAR to configure the power to be reduced to the second receiver chain circuit by causing at least one of a multiplexer, a filter, a mixer, an amplifier or an analog to digital converter of the second receiver chain circuit to be disconnected or gated from the power. The motivation would be to conserve power by powering down receiver chains for specific periods of time (PEZESHKI, paragraph 79).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 7-9, 13-14 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412