DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I in the reply filed on 05 March 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there would not be a search burden for the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because the inventions are patentably distinct, and would be separately classified, as explained previously in the Restriction Requirement.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 4-5 recite the limitation "the garment" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Connor (U.S. ). Connor discloses (Figures 2-4) a wearable system configured to be worn by a user (, “wearable arcuate band”), the system comprising: a plurality of reversibly detachable (, “the second portion further comprises one or more electromyographic sensors and wherein the location of the second portion can be moved with respect to the first portion…the second portion can be reversibly-attached to the first portion. In an example, the location at which the second portion is reversibly attached to the first portion can be moved so as to optimally collect data concerning muscle activity by a specific person or muscle activity during a specific type of physical activity.”) textile patches (, “a system of modular electromyographic clothing can include a removably-attachable electromyographic patch, wherein this electromyographic patch includes one or more electromyographic sensors.”); a plurality of bioelectrical sensors integrated into each reversible detachable textile patch (see previous citation); a reversibly detachable computing unit (204 in Figure 2); a power source in electrical communication with the plurality of bioelectrical sensors (, “a control unit can further comprise a power source”); and a plurality of conductive threads in electrical communication with the reversibly detachable computing unit and the plurality of bioelectrical sensors (, “electroconductive threads”), wherein a first bioelectrical sensor of the plurality of bioelectrical sensors is a bioelectrical impedance analysis sensor (, “electromagnetic impedance sensor”), and wherein the wearable system is configured to collect a plurality of determinable signals from the plurality of bioelectrical sensors, wherein the plurality of determinable signals are correlated with a physiological health metric of the user (see previous citation, a variety of sensors that correspond to health metric collection, e.g., EMG sensors).
Regarding claim 2, Connor discloses () the plurality of bioelectrical signals further comprises a second bioelectrical sensor comprising at least a temperature sensor.
Regarding claim 4, Connor discloses (, “a system of modular electromyographic clothing can include a removably-attachable electromyographic patch, wherein this electromyographic patch includes one or more electromyographic sensors.”) the plurality of textile patches are configured to detach from the garment.
Regarding claim 5, Connor discloses () the bioelectrical sensors are permanently integrated in the garment.
Regarding claim 6, Connor discloses (Figure 3) the system further comprises a portable energy source (308).
Regarding claim 7, Connor discloses () the system comprises a portable energy source configured to be recharged wirelessly (“energy-harvesting power source”).
Regarding claim 8, Connor discloses () the conductive threads are at least partially covered by an electrically insulating material (“dielectric layer of low-conductivity material”).
Regarding claim 9, Connor discloses () the computing unit comprises a control module (“control unit”).
Regarding claim 11, Connor discloses () the system has at least a wireless interface (“wireless data receiver, and wireless data transmitter”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connor (U.S. ) in view of Longinotti-Buitoni et al (U.S. 2021/0195732). Connor discloses the claimed invention except for the system further comprises a storage device that is detachable from the control module. Longinotti-Buitoni, however, discloses (par. 0035) a wearable sensor garment including removable elements, including a removable memory (12) or “other content storage capacity” (par. 0269-0270). Connor and Longinotti-Buitoni both disclose wearable systems for collecting physiological data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify Connor’s reversibly detachable elements with Longinotti-Buitoni’s removable memory in order to switch out memory media as needed without affecting the other elements of the system.
Conclusion
/DEBORAH L MALAMUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792