Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by YEO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0345360 A1)
1, YEO teaches a terminal device, comprising: wireless communication processor circuitry that transmits and receives signals to and from a first terminal device and a second terminal device [fig 9, par 0093, 0095, Hereinafter, an embodiment provides a method and apparatus for transmitting or receiving data between a base station and a terminal, or between terminals, by applying an outer code. In this case, data may be transmitted from a single terminal to multiple terminals, or from a single terminal to another single terminal. Alternatively, data may be transmitted from a base station to multiple terminals. A process of transmitting information indicating success or failure of data reception to a terminal 9-01 having transmitted data, by terminals 9-03, 9-05, 9-07, and 9-09 having received common data via groupcasting according to an embodiment of the disclosure. The information may include information such as HARQ-ACK feedback 9-11. In addition, each of the terminals 9-03, 9-05, 9-07, and 9-09 may be a terminal having an LTE-based sidelink or an NR-based sidelink function. When the terminal has the LTE-based sidelink function only, an NR-based sidelink signal and physical channel transmission and reception is not possible. In an embodiment of the disclosure, the term “sidelink” may be interchangeably used with “PC5”, “V2X”, or “device-to-device (D2D)”]
a controller that detects an occurrence of simultaneous transmission by the first
terminal device and the second terminal device on the basis of control information
including information that identifies a wireless resource used as the data channel [par 0044,0056-0057, 0173, The uplink indicates a radio link through which data or a control signal is transmitted from a terminal (a user equipment (UE), a mobile station (MS), or a terminal) to a base station (a gNode B (gNB) or a base station (BS)), and the downlink indicates a radio link through which data or a control signal is transmitted from a base station to a terminal. When the terminal is configured to simultaneously receive the LTE- and NR-based sidelink signal, the terminal may determine whether the NR sidelink signal and the LTE sidelink signal are simultaneously received. Determining whether simultaneous reception is performed may correspond to the case in which the NR sidelink signal and the LTE sidelink signal or the LTE downlink signal from the base station, or the NR downlink signal from the base station are received in the same symbol or the same slot. A resource to be expressed is determined according to a system bandwidth and a resource assignment scheme. Time-domain resource assignment: This indicates a slot and an OFDM symbol of the slot, in which a data-related channel is to be transmitted],
the control information being received by the wireless communication processor circuitry and transmitted from the first terminal device and the second terminal device by use of a control channel [par 0031,0094, 0144, sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted in an NR physical sidelink control channel (NR-PSCCH), which is a control channel, schedules the NR-PSSCH, according to an embodiment of the disclosure. The terminal 8-01 may be mobile terminals such as vehicles. For the groupcasting 8-11, separate control information, physical control channel, and data may be transmitted. The terminal which transmits the PSCCH and the PSSCH in the sidelink may include at least one piece of the following information in sidelink control information (SCI) and transmit the same to the reception terminal],
wherein the wireless communication processor circuitry transmits the signals to at least any one of the first terminal device and the second terminal device through a feedback channel, in a case the simultaneous transmission is detected [par 0107, 0124, the terminal may determine whether simultaneous transmission or reception of LTE- and NR-based sidelink signals is activated. In the above description, when the simultaneous transmission or reception of LTE- and NR-based sidelink signals is activated. In addition, simultaneous transmission in the above description may describe the case in which it is determined to transmit feedback in the NR-based sidelink at a particular time point, and to transmit data in the LTE-based sidelink at the same particular time point. A channel for feedback transmission may be defined as a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH). FIG. 14B illustrates an example in which a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) 14b-05, which is a physical channel for transmitting feedback information, is positioned at the end of a slot 14b-01. By securing a predetermined empty time between a PSSCH 14b-04 and the PSFCH 14b-05, the terminal, which has transmitted or received the PSSCH 14b-04, may prepare transmission or reception of the PSFCH 14b-05]
2, Yeo defines the terminal device according to claim 1, wherein the controller generates retransmission request to at least any one of the first terminal device and the second terminal device, in a case the controller detects the simultaneous transmission, and the wireless communication processor circuitry transmits the signals including the retransmission request through the feedback channel [par 0127, 0174, When the terminal transmits or receives a PSFCH, the number of HARQ-ACK feedback bits included in the PSFCH is to be identified in order to correctly perform transmission or reception. The number of HARQ-ACK feedback bits included in the PSFCH, and the PSSCH, the HARQ-ACK bits of which are to be included, may be determined based on one or more of parameters below. When it is determined that the simultaneous reception is performed, the terminal may obtain the minimum processing time required to process HARQ of the NR sidelink signal in consideration of processing of the LTE signal or the NR downlink signal from the base station. The terminal may obtain the minimum processing time by using a parameter mentioned in [Equation 2] above. The terminal may perform the HARQ operation for the reception of the NR sidelink signal by using the obtained minimum processing time]
3, Yeo provide the terminal device according to claim 1, wherein in the controller detects the occurrence of simultaneous transmission by determining, on the basis of the control information, whether or not the data channels corresponding to the first terminal device and the second terminal device overlap with each other [par 0095, claim 16, In addition, each of the terminals 9-03, 9-05, 9-07, and 9-09 may be a terminal having an LTE-based sidelink or an NR-based sidelink function. When the terminal has the LTE-based sidelink function only, an NR-based sidelink signal and physical channel transmission and reception is not possible. A first sidelink signal associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) and a transmission of a second sidelink signal associated with a second RAT; identifying whether the transmission of the first sidelink signal overlaps with the transmission of the second sidelink signal on a time domain; and transmitting one sidelink signal among the first sidelink signal or the second sidelink signal based on a first priority associated with the first sidelink signal and a second priority associated with the second sidelink signal, in case that the transmission of the first sidelink signal overlaps with the transmission of the second sidelink signal]
8. YEO discloses the terminal device according to claim 1, wherein the feedback channel is used in case retransmission is requested [par 0127, When the terminal transmits or receives a PSFCH, the number of HARQ-ACK feedback bits included in the PSFCH is to be identified in order to correctly perform transmission or reception].
9. YEO teaches a wireless communication system, comprising: a first terminal device that transmits a signal; a second terminal device that transmits a signal simultaneously with the first terminal device; and a third terminal device that receives the signals from the first terminal device and the second terminal device, wherein the third terminal device includes: wireless communication processor circuitry that transmits and receives signals to and from the first terminal device and the second terminal device[fig 9, par 0093, 0095, Hereinafter, an embodiment provides a method and apparatus for transmitting or receiving data between a base station and a terminal, or between terminals, by applying an outer code. In this case, data may be transmitted from a single terminal to multiple terminals, or from a single terminal to another single terminal. Alternatively, data may be transmitted from a base station to multiple terminals. A process of transmitting information indicating success or failure of data reception to a terminal 9-01 having transmitted data, by terminals 9-03, 9-05, 9-07, and 9-09 having received common data via groupcasting according to an embodiment of the disclosure. The information may include information such as HARQ-ACK feedback 9-11. In addition, each of the terminals 9-03, 9-05, 9-07, and 9-09 may be a terminal having an LTE-based sidelink or an NR-based sidelink function. When the terminal has the LTE-based sidelink function only, an NR-based sidelink signal and physical channel transmission and reception is not possible. In an embodiment of the disclosure, the term “sidelink” may be interchangeably used with “PC5”, “V2X”, or “device-to-device (D2D)”],
and a processor connected to the wireless communication processor circuitry, wherein the processor executes: detecting, on the basis of a signal received by the wireless communication processor circuitry, occurrence of simultaneous transmission by the first terminal device and the second terminal device[par 0044,0056-0057, 0173, The uplink indicates a radio link through which data or a control signal is transmitted from a terminal (a user equipment (UE), a mobile station (MS), or a terminal) to a base station (a gNode B (gNB) or a base station (BS)), and the downlink indicates a radio link through which data or a control signal is transmitted from a base station to a terminal. When the terminal is configured to simultaneously receive the LTE- and NR-based sidelink signal, the terminal may determine whether the NR sidelink signal and the LTE sidelink signal are simultaneously received. Determining whether simultaneous reception is performed may correspond to the case in which the NR sidelink signal and the LTE sidelink signal or the LTE downlink signal from the base station, or the NR downlink signal from the base station are received in the same symbol or the same slot. A resource to be expressed is determined according to a system bandwidth and a resource assignment scheme. Time-domain resource assignment: This indicates a slot and an OFDM symbol of the slot, in which a data-related channel is to be transmitted],
generating a retransmission request to at least any one of the first terminal device and the second terminal device in a case where the processor has detected the simultaneous transmission and causing the generated retransmission request to be transmitted from the wireless communication processor circuitry, any one of the first terminal device and the second terminal device executes retransmission of the signal [par 0045, 0157, The NR system adopts a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) scheme of retransmitting corresponding data in a physical layer when a decoding failure occurs in initial transmission. An LTE sidelink signal or an NR downlink signal to a base station and an NR-PSSCH are simultaneously received or are received in the same slot, in obtaining the minimum processing time for transferring HARQ-ACK feedback on the NR-PSCCH, in the case in which a single terminal supports both an LTE sidelink function and an NR sidelink function]
in a case where that one of the first terminal device and the second terminal device has received the retransmission request transmitted from the third terminal device[fig 8, par 0094, 0127, When the terminal transmits or receives a PSFCH, the number of HARQ-ACK feedback bits included in the PSFCH is to be identified in order to correctly perform transmission or reception. The number of HARQ-ACK feedback bits included in the PSFCH, and the PSSCH, the HARQ-ACK bits of which are to be included]
and the other one of the first terminal device and the second terminal device receives the signal retransmitted from that one of the first terminal device and the second terminal device[fig 9, par 0095, The information may include information such as HARQ-ACK feedback 9-11. In addition, each of the terminals 9-03, 9-05, 9-07, and 9-09 may be a terminal having an LTE-based sidelink or an NR-based sidelink function. When the terminal has the LTE-based sidelink function only, an NR-based sidelink signal and physical channel transmission and reception is not possible].
10. YEO conveys a retransmission control method executed by a terminal device that receives signals from a first terminal device and a second terminal device [fig 9, par 0093, 0095, Hereinafter, an embodiment provides a method and apparatus for transmitting or receiving data between a base station and a terminal, or between terminals, by applying an outer code. In this case, data may be transmitted from a single terminal to multiple terminals, or from a single terminal to another single terminal. Alternatively, data may be transmitted from a base station to multiple terminals. A process of transmitting information indicating success or failure of data reception to a terminal 9-01 having transmitted data, by terminals 9-03, 9-05, 9-07, and 9-09 having received common data via groupcasting according to an embodiment of the disclosure. The information may include information such as HARQ-ACK feedback 9-11. In addition, each of the terminals 9-03, 9-05, 9-07, and 9-09 may be a terminal having an LTE-based sidelink or an NR-based sidelink function. When the terminal has the LTE-based sidelink function only, an NR-based sidelink signal and physical channel transmission and reception is not possible. In an embodiment of the disclosure, the term “sidelink” may be interchangeably used with “PC5”, “V2X”, or “device-to-device (D2D)”]
the retransmission control method comprising: detecting, on the basis of the signals received, occurrence of simultaneous transmission by the first terminal device and the second terminal device channel [par 0044,0056-0057, 0173, The uplink indicates a radio link through which data or a control signal is transmitted from a terminal (a user equipment (UE), a mobile station (MS), or a terminal) to a base station (a gNode B (gNB) or a base station (BS)), and the downlink indicates a radio link through which data or a control signal is transmitted from a base station to a terminal. When the terminal is configured to simultaneously receive the LTE- and NR-based sidelink signal, the terminal may determine whether the NR sidelink signal and the LTE sidelink signal are simultaneously received. Determining whether simultaneous reception is performed may correspond to the case in which the NR sidelink signal and the LTE sidelink signal or the LTE downlink signal from the base station, or the NR downlink signal from the base station are received in the same symbol or the same slot. A resource to be expressed is determined according to a system bandwidth and a resource assignment scheme. Time-domain resource assignment: This indicates a slot and an OFDM symbol of the slot, in which a data-related channel is to be transmitted],
generating a retransmission request to at least any one of the first terminal device and the second terminal device, in a case where the simultaneous transmission has been detected, and transmitting the retransmission request generated [fig 8, par 0094, 0127, When the terminal transmits or receives a PSFCH, the number of HARQ-ACK feedback bits included in the PSFCH is to be identified in order to correctly perform transmission or reception. The number of HARQ-ACK feedback bits included in the PSFCH, and the PSSCH, the HARQ-ACK bits of which are to be included]
11.Yeo conveys the terminal device according to claim 1, further comprising: a transmitter configured to transmit, in response to the simultaneous transmission being detected, a third signal, through the feedback channel, to at least one of the first terminal device and the second terminal device detected [par 0107, 0124, the terminal may determine whether simultaneous transmission or reception of LTE- and NR-based sidelink signals is activated. In the above description, when the simultaneous transmission or reception of LTE- and NR-based sidelink signals is activated. In addition, simultaneous transmission in the above description may describe the case in which it is determined to transmit feedback in the NR-based sidelink at a particular time point, and to transmit data in the LTE-based sidelink at the same particular time point. A channel for feedback transmission may be defined as a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH). FIG. 14B illustrates an example in which a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) 14b-05, which is a physical channel for transmitting feedback information, is positioned at the end of a slot 14b-01. By securing a predetermined empty time between a PSSCH 14b-04 and the PSFCH 14b-05, the terminal, which has transmitted or received the PSSCH 14b-04, may prepare transmission or reception of the PSFCH 14b-05]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YEO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0345360 A1) in view of Kung et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0389257 A1).
4. Yeo discloses the terminal device according to claim 1, Kim fail to show wherein feedback channels are feedback channels corresponding to the first terminal device and the second terminal device.
In an analogous art Kung to show wherein feedback channels are feedback channels corresponding to the first terminal device and the second terminal device [fig 9, par 0224, 0266, When Option 2 is used for a groupcast transmission, it is supported [0225] each receiver UE uses a separate PSFCH for HARQ ACK/NACK. The UEs (first UE and second UE) could determine the frequency and/or code domain location of feedback resource(s) at least based on the identifiers provided by their upper layer. Each identifier could map to one feedback resource. The UE with identifier id1 could use feedback resource 1 for HARQ feedback transmission, and the UE with identifier id2 could use feedback resource 2 for HARQ feedback transmission].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Yeo and Kung because resource-efficient distribution of messages for platooning and dynamic control of the distribution area of the messages should be supported. [Kung par 0101]
Claim(s) 5, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in YEO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0345360 A1) in view of YEO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0351057 A1) hereinafter Jeongho
5. YEO demonstrates the terminal device according to claim 1, wherein the controller determines, in a case where the simultaneous transmission is detected, whether or not wireless resources used by the first terminal device and the second terminal device overlap with each other [par 0095, claim 16, In addition, each of the terminals 9-03, 9-05, 9-07, and 9-09 may be a terminal having an LTE-based sidelink or an NR-based sidelink function. When the terminal has the LTE-based sidelink function only, an NR-based sidelink signal and physical channel transmission and reception is not possible. A first sidelink signal associated with a first radio access technology (RAT) and a transmission of a second sidelink signal associated with a second RAT; identifying whether the transmission of the first sidelink signal overlaps with the transmission of the second sidelink signal on a time domain; and transmitting one sidelink signal among the first sidelink signal or the second sidelink signal based on a first priority associated with the first sidelink signal and a second priority associated with the second sidelink signal, in case that the transmission of the first sidelink signal overlaps with the transmission of the second sidelink signal]
YEO fail to show the wireless communication processor circuitry transmits, in a case where the wireless resources have been determined to overlap each other, the signals only to any one of the first terminal device and the second terminal device through the feedback channel.
In an analogous art Jeongho show the wireless communication processor circuitry transmits, in a case where the wireless resources have been determined to overlap each other, the signals only to any one of the first terminal device and the second terminal device through the feedback channel [abstract, Methods and apparatuses are provided in which first sidelink data and second sidelink data are received from one or more terminals. It is determined whether a first resource for transmitting first feedback information for the first sidelink data and a second resource for transmitting second feedback information for the second sidelink data overlap each other. When the first resource and the second resource overlap each other, feedback information corresponding to one of the first feedback information and the second feedback information having a higher priority, is transmitted to the one or more terminals].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of YEO and Jeongho because all slots of the sidelink may not have resources on which the PSFCH can be transmitted, it may be necessary for the receiving terminal to transmit a plurality of pieces of HARQ-ACK feedback information on a plurality of pieces of data on one PSFCH. [Jengho par 0007]
6. YEO and Jeongho creates the terminal device according to claim 5, YEO fail to show wherein the wireless communication processor circuitry transmits, in a case where the wireless resources have been determined to overlap with each other one of sets of data transmitted from the first terminal device and the second terminal device, the one having a higher priority through the feedback channel
In an analogous art Jeongho show wherein the wireless communication processor circuitry transmits, in a case where the wireless resources have been determined to overlap with each other one of sets of data transmitted from the first terminal device and the second terminal device, the one having a higher priority through the feedback channel [par 0009, When the first resource and the second resource overlap each other, the controller is further configured to transmit, to the one or more terminals via the transceiver, feedback information corresponding to one of the first feedback information and the second feedback information having a higher priority. A priority of each of the first feedback information and the second feedback information is based on sidelink control information scheduling each of the first sidelink data and the second sidelink data].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of YEO and Jeongho because all slots of the sidelink may not have resources on which the PSFCH can be transmitted, it may be necessary for the receiving terminal to transmit a plurality of pieces of HARQ-ACK feedback information on a plurality of pieces of data on one PSFCH. [Jengho par 0007]
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YEO et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0345360 A1) view of Farag et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0212106 A1).
7. YEO discloses the terminal device according to claim 1, YEO fail to show wherein the wireless communication processor circuitry performs half-duplex communication where transmission and reception of signals are not executed simultaneously.
In an analogous art Farag show wherein the wireless communication processor circuitry performs half-duplex communication where transmission and reception of signals are not executed simultaneously[par 0131, To address the persistent collision problem for PSSCH transmissions configured by higher layers and, due to half-duplex operation, the inability of a second UE to receive a transmission from a first UE when the second UE is transmitting, the first UE can perform another PSSCH transmission for a TB (PSSCH retransmission or HARQ retransmission)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of YEO and Farag because Sequences transmitted from multiple UEs can be multiplexed in a same PRB and in a same symbol, thereby resulting to low overhead. [Farag, par 0134]
Response to Arguments
Therefore, Applicant respectfully requests that, if any one of the independent claims is rejected based on a new reference in the next Office Action, or based on a revised rationale in the next Office Action, the next Office Action be non-final, instead of final, as the next Office Action that rejects claim 1, 9, or 10 (none of which is amended) based on a new reference or based on a revised rationale would introduce a new ground of rejection that is not necessitated by applicant's amendment of the claims. See MPEP 706.07(a).
The examiner respectfully disagrees the prior art anticipates the applicant’s claim.
Yeo merely discloses "transmitting a feedback signal" and "it is determined that the simultaneous reception is performed." However, the cited paragraphs of Yeo fail to disclose the above-noted feature of claim 1. Therefore, claim 1 is not anticipated by the cited art. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection of the claim under 35 U.S.C. $102.
The examiner respectfully disagrees in para 0044, shows The uplink indicates a radio link through which data or a control signal is transmitted from a terminal (a user equipment (UE), a mobile station (MS), or a terminal) to a base station (a gNode B (gNB) or a base station (BS)), and the downlink indicates a radio link through which data or a control signal is transmitted from a base station to a terminal, the paragraph shows receiving data or control information at a terminal
Yeo paragraphs 0173, when the terminal is configured to simultaneously receive the LTE- and NR-based sidelink signal, the terminal may determine whether the NR sidelink signal and the LTE sidelink signal are simultaneously received.
Par 0056, 0057, A resource to be expressed is determined according to a system bandwidth and a resource assignment scheme. Time-domain resource assignment: This indicates a slot and an OFDM symbol of the slot, in which a data-related channel is to be transmitted.
The paragraphs shows determining a terminal may determine whether the NR sidelink signal and the LTE sidelink signal are simultaneously received, The second set of paragraphs shows identifying a wireless resource used as the data channel.
The paragraphs shows 0031,0094, 0144, sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted in an NR physical sidelink control channel (NR-PSCCH), which is a control channel, schedules the NR-PSSCH, according to an embodiment of the disclosure. The terminal 8-01 may be mobile terminals such as vehicles. For the groupcasting 8-11, separate control information, physical control channel, and data may be transmitted. The terminal which transmits the PSCCH and the PSSCH in the sidelink may include at least one piece of the following information in sidelink control information (SCI) and transmit the same to the reception terminal, which discloses control information being received by the wireless communication processor and transmitted from the first terminal device and the second terminal device by use of a control channel.
In Yeo’s paragraphs 0107, 0124,shows the terminal may determine whether simultaneous transmission or reception of LTE- and NR-based sidelink signals is activated. In the above description, when the simultaneous transmission or reception of LTE- and NR-based sidelink signals is activated. In addition, simultaneous transmission in the above description may describe the case in which it is determined to transmit feedback in the NR-based sidelink at a particular time point, and to transmit data in the LTE-based sidelink at the same particular time point. A channel for feedback transmission may be defined as a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH). FIG. 14B illustrates an example in which a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) 14b-05, which is a physical channel for transmitting feedback information, is positioned at the end of a slot 14b-01. By securing a predetermined empty time between a PSSCH 14b-04 and the PSFCH 14b-05, the terminal, which has transmitted or received the PSSCH 14b-04, may prepare transmission or reception of the PSFCH 14b-05, which discloses transmitting the signals to at least one of the first terminal device and the second terminal device through a feedback channel, in a case the simultaneous transmission is detected.
Even if Yeo is considered, Yeo fails to the above-noted feature of claim 9. Therefore, claim 9 is not anticipated by the cited art. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection of the claim under 35 U.S.C. $102.
Even if Yeo is considered, Yeo fails to the above-noted feature of claim 10. Therefore, claim 10 is not anticipated by the cited art. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection of the claim under 35 U.S.C. $102.
The examiner respectfully disagrees in based upon the office action and response to arguments.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468