Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 4, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive or moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant asserts that Kung’s MAC CE is not used for DRX parameters. However, this is incorrect. Kung discloses, in paragraph [0072], a DRX command MAC CE. Additionally, it was well known was the art, at the time of the invention, for control information to be communicated from a base station to a UE via a MAC CE. See, for example Jeong et al. (US 2021/0400762) paragraph [0104].
Applicant further asserts that the Kung does not explicitly disclose that all of the claimed DRX parameters are communicated in a MAC CE. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a MAC CE, as in Kung, to communicate the DRX control information disclosed in the inventions of Akkarakaran and Ding. The motivation to combine the references would have been to efficiently signal control information in accordance with commonly known procedures.
Applicant further asserts that Akkarakaran and Kung do not disclose the amended claim limitations regarding stopping monitoring and restarting monitoring. However, these arguments are addressed in the present claim rejections, below, over Akkarakaran in view of Ding, and further in view of Kung. In particular, although the claimed timing aspects regarding stopping monitoring and restarting monitoring are disclosed in Akkarakaran, as discussed in the rejections below, the timings are more clearly illustrated Fig. 9 of Ding.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 9 and 17 recite “in response to an expiration of the DRX inactivity timer and after transmitting an acknowledgement for the transport block, stopping monitoring the control channel between the resource and the second resource, until the first duration expires” and “restarting monitoring the control channel from the second duration before the second resource after the first duration.” The limitations “stopping monitoring … until the first duration expires” and “restarting monitoring from the second duration …” appear to conflict with each, because both each indicates a different timing for determining when the “stopping monitoring” will end. Accordingly, the claims are indefinite.
For the purposes of Examination, the Examiner interprets that the second limitation means restarting monitoring the control channel AND STARTING the second duration before after the first duration. Accordingly, the second duration does not indicate a starting point for the restarting monitoring. This seems to be what is disclosed in Fig. 27 of Applicant’s Specification.
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 18 also recite “the second duration configured between timing of restarting monitoring the control channel and timing of the second resource.” These claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1, 9 and 17.
Dependent claims 3-8, 11-16 and 19-20 are rejected because the depend from claims 1, 9 and 17.
Claims 2, 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2, 10 and 18 recites “the first inactivity time duration.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akkarakaran et al. (US 2021/0251037) in view of Ding et al. (US 2021/0306948), and further in view of Kung et al. (US 2021/0227622).
Regarding claim 1, Akkarakaran discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by the wireless device, control information indicating discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration parameters, the DRX configuration parameters (Akkarakaran, paragraph [0035] UE may transmit a sidelink grant to a second UE, the resources may be considered active time for DRX mode; paragraph [0072], UE configured with DRX cycle; paragraph [0073], RTT timer for DRX cycle; paragraph [0075], SL receive grant to UE 104-b; paragraph [0077], configured with various timers or durations of time for DRX mode) indicating:
a first duration associated with a DRX Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) round trip time; a DRX inactivity timer (Akkarakaran, Fig. 5, SL RTT 540 started after ACK/NACK 534 is transmitted, SL inactivity timer 552; paragraph [0034], UE may monitor PSCCH during PSCCH/PSSCH monitoring occasions that coincide with active time, UE may start sidelink specific HARQ RTT timer in response to a sidelink transmission to determine whether to monitor the PSCCH for a retransmission grant; paragraph [0072], UE configured with DRX cycle; paragraph [0073], RTT timer for DRX cycle; paragraph [0077], configured with SL RTT timer 540 for HARQ process; paragraph [0079], SL inactivity timer 552); and
a second duration (Akkarakaran, Fig. 5, SL ReTx Timer 542; paragraph [0032], after the RTT timer [first duration], the UE may monitor a configured duration of a ReTx timer [second duration]; paragraph [0073], RTT timer [first duration] may start at the end of an ACK for the transmission, RTT timer [first duration] measures an amount of time until the UE is to monitor for a grant, UE starts ReTx timer [second duration] to monitor a window during which a grant may be received; ; paragraph [0077], configured with SL ReTx timer 542 [second duration] for HARQ process; paragraph [0079], SL ReTx timer 542);
receiving, by the wireless device via a control channel when monitoring the control channel, first control information (Akkarakaran, Fig. 5, PSCCH 530; paragraph [0034], UE may monitor PSCCH during PSCCH/PSSCH monitoring occasions that coincide with active time; paragraph [0035] UE may transmit a sidelink grant to a second UE, the resources may be considered active time for DRX mode; paragraph [0040], monitor the PSCCH; paragraph [0072], UE configured with DRX cycle; paragraph [0076], UE-b may receive the PSCCH) indicating:
a resource for a transport block (Akkarakaran, paragraph [0032], UE receives grant for receiving a transmission; paragraph [0035] UE may transmit a sidelink grant to a second UE, the resources may be considered active time for DRX mode; paragraph [0072], UE receives grant for receiving a transmission; paragraph [0076], transmit the PSSCH according to the PSCCH); and
a second resource reserved for a second transport block (Akkarakaran, paragraph [0034], monitor the PSCCH for a retransmission grant; paragraph [0097], second grant for a second transmission);
decoding successfully the transport block based on the first control information (Akkarakaran, paragraph [0032], acknowledgement for sidelink reception; paragraph [0073], ACK for the transmission; paragraph [0107], decode the SL resource configurations);
in response to an expiration of the DRX inactivity timer and after transmitting an acknowledgement for the transport block, stopping monitoring the control channel between the resource and the second resource (Akkarakaran, Fig. 5, SL inactivity timer 552, ACK/NACK 534; paragraph [0032], sidelink RTT timer [first duration] may start after transmitting an acknowledgement for sidelink reception [sidelink reception is a first resource] [the period after the ack/nack is transmitted is HARQ process after the first resource], the UE is no longer in DRX active time during the SL RTT timer [first duration], during the SLL RTT timer [first duration] the UE may not monitor [stopping monitoring] [after the first resource] for another grant; paragraph [0072], UE may start an inactivity timer when a new grant [of a first resource] is received, the UE may monitor for grants while the inactivity timer is running, and then when the inactivity timer expires, the UE may start a DRX cycle [stopping monitoring] [after the first resource]; paragraph [0077], configured with SL RTT timer 540 for HARQ process [HARQ process after the first resource]; paragraph [0078], UE-b may begin the SL RTT timer 540 for the HARQ process after transmission of the ACK [HARQ process after the first resource], the monitoring component may begin the SL ReTx timer 542 [second duration] in the symbol after the SL RTT timer 540 expires [HARQ process after the first resource], UE-b may monitor for another SL Rx grant for a retransmission during the SL ReTx timer 542 and, if a retransmission is scheduled [second resource], the UE-b may monitor the SL ReTx timer again [second resource]; paragraph [0079], SL inactivity timer 552; paragraph [0090], SL inactivity timer 552 may expire and the UE may start a DRX cycle [stopping monitoring]), until the first duration expires (Akkarakaran, Fig. 5, SL RTT 540 started after ACK/NACK 534 is transmitted, SL inactivity timer 552; paragraph [0032], sidelink RTT timer [first duration] may start after transmitting an acknowledgement for sidelink reception, the UE is no longer in DRX active time during the SL RTT timer [first duration], during the SLL RTT timer [first duration] the UE may not monitor for another grant; paragraph [0034], UE may monitor PSCCH during PSCCH/PSSCH monitoring occasions that coincide with active time, UE may start sidelink specific HARQ RTT timer in response to a sidelink transmission to determine whether to monitor the PSCCH for a retransmission grant);
restarting monitoring the control channel from the second duration before the second resource after the first duration (Akkarakaran, paragraph [0032], RTT timer may start after a sidelink transmission or after transmitting an acknowledgement for sidelink reception, the UE is no longer in DRX active time during the SL RTT timer; paragraph [0073], RTT timer may start after a sidelink transmission or after transmitting an acknowledgement for sidelink reception, RTT timer measures an amount of time until the UE is to monitor for a grant, UE starts ReTx timer [second duration] to monitor a window during which a grant may be received; paragraph [0078], UE-b may begin the SL RTT timer 540 for the HARQ process after transmission of the ACK [HARQ process after the first resource], the monitoring component may begin the SL ReTx timer 542 [second duration] in the symbol after the SL RTT timer 540 expires [HARQ process after the first resource], UE-b may monitor for another SL Rx grant for a retransmission [grant for second resource] during the SL ReTx timer 542 and, if a retransmission is scheduled [second resource], the UE-b may monitor the SL ReTx timer again); and
based on the monitoring, receiving second control information indicating the second transport block (Akkarakaran, paragraph [0032], RTT timer may start after a sidelink transmission or after transmitting an acknowledgement for sidelink reception, the UE is no longer in DRX active time during the SL RTT timer, the UE may not monitor; paragraph [0073], RTT timer may start after a sidelink transmission or after transmitting an acknowledgement for sidelink reception, RTT timer measures an amount of time until the UE is to monitor for a grant, UE starts ReTx timer to monitor a window during which a grant may be received; paragraph [0078], UE-b may monitor for another SL Rx grant for a retransmission during the SL ReTx timer 542 and, if a retransmission is scheduled, the UE-b may monitor the SL ReTx timer again).
Although Akkarakaran discloses starting a DRX cycle (discontinuous reception is stopping monitoring) in response to an expiration of the DRX inactivity timer, the Examiner includes the Ding reference, which more explicitly disclose stopping monitoring the control channel in response to an expiration of the DRX inactivity timer.
Ding discloses discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration parameters, the DRX configuration parameters (Ding, paragraph [0075], DRX configuration of a DRX cycle) indicating:
a first duration associated with a DRX Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) round trip time; a DRX inactivity timer (Ding, paragraph [0083], SL drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer, SL drx-Inactivity-Timer); and
a second duration (Ding, paragraph [0083], SL drx-RestransmissionTimer);
in response to an expiration of the DRX inactivity timer and after transmitting an ACK/NACK signal, stopping monitoring the control channel, until the first duration expires (Ding, Fig. 9, after NACK is transmitted at t3, DRX inactive time starts at t4 when inactivitytimer-RX ends, and DRX inactive time ends at t5 when drx-HARQ-RTT-timer-RX [first duration] ends);
restarting monitoring the control channel from the second duration before the second resource after the first duration (Ding, Fig. 9, DRX inactive time ends at t5 when drx-HARQ-RTT-timer-RX [first duration] ends, and then DRX active time resumes during drx-RetransmissionTimer-RX [second duration]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to stop monitoring the control channel in response to an expiration of the DRX inactivity timer, in the invention of Akkarakaran. The motivation to combine the references would have been to perform DRX monitoring in accordance with commonly understood DRX procedures, in which a drx inactivity timer indicates a time until an inactive portion of a DRX cycle may begin.
Akkarakaran does not explicitly disclose a MAC CE.
Kung discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by the wireless device, a medium access control control element (MAC CE) indicating discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration parameters, the DRX configuration parameters (Kung,; paragraph [0052], retransmission grant expected by MAC entity; paragraph [0072], DRX command MAC CE is received) indicating:
a first duration associated with a DRX Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) round trip time; a DRX inactivity timer; and a second duration (Kung, paragraph [0045], drx-InactivityTimer; paragraph [0046], drx-RetransmissionTimer; paragraph [0051], DRX operation configured with a drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer parameter; paragraph [0052], retransmission grant expected by MAC entity; paragraph [0072], DRX command MAC CE is received; paragraph [0390], Tx UE may indicate or update information about periodic resource reservation in a sidelink control information, the Rx UE applies SL DRX ; paragraph [0393], Rx UE could determine whether to monitor a sidelink control channel at a timing based on sidelink information transmitted from a Tx UE);
receiving, by the wireless device via a control channel when monitoring the control channel, first control information indicating: a resource for a transport block; and a second resource reserved for a second transport block (Kung, paragraph [0052], retransmission grant; paragraph [0390], Tx UE may indicate or update information about periodic resource reservation in a sidelink control information, the Rx UE applies SL DRX ; paragraph [0393], Rx UE could determine whether to monitor a sidelink control channel at a timing based on sidelink information transmitted from a Tx UE; paragraph [0394], first sidelink transmission could be associated with a configured sidelink grant corresponding to multiple periodic sidelink resources for transmissions; paragraph [0397], Tx performs SL transmission to Rx UE at t1, the SL transmission includes transmitting a first SCI and a sidelink TB, the first SCI indicates a timing information associated with a SL transmission 2 and a resource associated with SL transmission 2; paragraph [0420], first sidelink information in SCI includes an offset associated with a timing of the SCI, first sidelink transmission contains a TB via PSSCH);
decoding successfully the transport block based on the first control information (Kung, paragraph [0291], successfully decode the TB);
stopping monitoring the control channel between the resource and the second resource (Kung, paragraph [0391], Rx UE not in active time an may not monitor PSCCH; paragraph [0393], Rx UE could determine whether to monitor a sidelink control channel at a timing based on sidelink information from a Tx UE; paragraph [0394], first sidelink transmission could be associated with a configured sidelink grant corresponding to multiple periodic sidelink resources for transmissions; paragraph [0398], Rx UE could restart a timer in response to the sidelink information, the Rx UE monitors the PSSCH when the timer is running; paragraph [0421], Rx UE may not monitor the sidelink control channel at a timing if the timing is not associated with a SL resource or SL control channel reception, the SCI could be associated with periodic SL resources), until the first duration expires (Kung, paragraph [0388], drx-RetransmissionTime is started after the expiry of drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer);
restarting monitoring the control channel from the second duration before the second resource after the first duration (Kung, paragraph [0388], drx-RetransmissionTime is started after the expiry of drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer; paragraph [0393], Rx UE could determine whether to monitor a sidelink control channel at a timing based on sidelink information from a Tx UE; paragraph [0394], first sidelink transmission could be associated with a configured sidelink grant corresponding to multiple periodic sidelink resources for transmissions; paragraph [0398], Rx UE could restart a timer in response to the sidelink information, the Rx UE monitors the PSSCH when the timer is running; paragraph [0421], Rx UE may not monitor the sidelink control channel at a timing if the timing is not associated with a SL resource or SL control channel reception, the SCI could be associated with periodic SL resources); and
based on the monitoring, receiving second control information indicating the second transport block (Kung, paragraph [0394], first sidelink transmission could be associated with a configured sidelink grant corresponding to multiple periodic sidelink resources for transmissions).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a MAC CE to communicate the DRX control information, in the invention of Akkarakaran. The motivation to combine the references would have been to efficiently signal control information in accordance with commonly known procedures.
Regarding claim 2, Akkarakaran and Ding disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising
starting the first inactivity time duration from receiving the first control information (Akkarakaran, paragraph [0072], UE may start an inactivity timer when a new grant [of a first resource] is received, the UE may monitor for grants while the inactivity timer is running, and then when the inactivity timer expires, the UE may start a DRX cycle [stopping monitoring] [after the first resource]) (Ding, Figs. 7, 8, 9, at DRX wakeup at t2, inactivity-timer-RX starts); and wherein the DRX configuration parameters further indicate:
a time resource assigned for the acknowledgement for the transport block (Akkarakaran, paragraph [0083], receive SL grant in a downlink signal, then receive sidelink signal such as PSFCH) (Ding, paragraph [0073], feedback symbol of the sidelink communication structure may allot for any sidelink feedback information communicated in D2D); and
the second duration configured between timing of restarting monitoring the control channel and timing of the second resource and associated with reception of retransmitted transport blocks (Akkarakaran, paragraph [0032], after the RTT timer, the UE may monitor a configured duration of a ReTX timer; paragraph [0073], UE starts ReTx timer to monitor a window during which a grant may be received) (Ding, paragraph [0083], SL drx-RestransmissionTimer).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the DRX parameters and resources of Ding, in the invention of Akkarakaran. The motivation to combine the references would have been to perform DRX monitoring in accordance with commonly understood DRX procedures.
Regarding claim 3, Akkarakaran discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the second duration is associated with a DRX retransmission timer (Akkarakaran, paragraph [0032], after the RTT timer, the UE may monitor a configured duration of a ReTX timer; paragraph [0073], RTT timer may start at the end of an ACK for the transmission, RTT timer measures an amount of time until the UE is to monitor for a grant, UE starts ReTx timer to monitor a window during which a grant may be received).
Regarding claim 4, Akkarakaran discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the monitoring the control channel after the duration associated with the round trip time comprises monitoring the control channel during a portion of the second duration (Akkarakaran, paragraph [0032], after the RTT timer, the UE may monitor a configured duration of a ReTX timer; paragraph [0073], RTT timer may start at the end of an ACK for the transmission, RTT timer measures an amount of time until the UE is to monitor for a grant, UE starts ReTx timer to monitor a window during which a grant may be received).
Regarding claim 5, Akkarakaran in view of Kung discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the DRX configuration parameters are received from a second wireless device via at least one of: at least one sidelink radio resource control message; or the control channel (Akkarakaran, paragraph [0031], receive DCI on PDCCH).
Regarding claim 6, Akkarakaran in view of Kung discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first control information is first sidelink control information (SCI) received from a second wireless device (Akkarakaran, paragraph [0121], SCI on the PSCCH).
Regarding claim 7, Akkarakaran in view of Kung discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the control channel is a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) (Akkarakaran, paragraph [0121], SCI on the PSCCH).
Regarding claim 8, Akkarakaran in view of Kung discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the control channel is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Akkarakaran, paragraph [0121], receive DCI on PDCCH).
Claim 9 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 1. Akkarakaran additionally discloses the one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Akkarakaran, paragraph [0007], memory storing instructions and a processor).
Claims 10-16 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 2-8, respectively.
Claim 17 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 1. Akkarakaran additionally discloses the one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Akkarakaran, paragraph [0007], memory storing instructions and a processor).
Claims 18 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 2 and 6.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 7-8, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Han et al. (US 20230209644) discloses, in paragraph [0025], that SCI indicates a plurality of reserved resources for transmission and retransmission of the TB.
Zhang et al. (US 20230106109) discloses, in paragraph [0201], that SCI indicates a plurality of reserved resources for transmission and retransmission.
Jeong et al. (US 2021/0400762) discloses, in paragraph [0104], that MAC CE can be used to set SL DRX on-duration timer and/or SL DRX inactivity timer.
/ALAN L LINDENBAUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413