DETAILED ACTION
2. This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 11/26/2025. Claims 8-10 and 18-20 are canceled and claims 1-7 and 11-17 are pending and have been considered below.
3. The rejections of Claims 4-9 and 14-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph are moot pursuant to claims amendment.
4. The rejections of Claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 as directed to non-statutory subject matter are moot pursuant to amendment and arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-7 and 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 unpatentable over GAO et al. (CN 114003859) in view of Yang et al. (CN 110473137).
Claim 1. GAO discloses a three-dimensional (3D) pooling operation method for computing an input tensor to generate an output tensor, the input tensor comprising a plurality of input tiles, and the output tensor comprising a plurality of output tiles, the method comprising:
(A) reading from an external memory one of the input tiles as a target input tile and storing the target input tile in a memory (…steps of obtaining three-dimensional
Data…) (abstract);
(B) reading from the memory the target input tile (DDR memory 320 may be used to load and store data and/or instructions) ([0065]);
(C) performing a first (2D) pooling operation on the target input tile R times to generate an intermediate tensor, R being a positive integer (performing two-dimensional convolution operation on the two-dimensional input data and the two-dimensional convolution kernel to obtain a plurality of first two-dimensional convolution operation) (abstract)
results);
(D) performing a second 2D pooling operation on the intermediate tensor one time to generate a target output tile of the output tiles (obtaining a second two-dimensional convolution operation result of each three-dimensional data block based on the first two-dimensional convolution operation result) (abstract); and
(E) storing the target output tile in the memory ([0065]); wherein, when the instruction indicates that dimensions of the input tensor include a depth dimension, a height dimension, and a width dimension, then R=Kd, and when the instruction indicates that dimensions of the input tensor include only two of the depth dimension, the height dimension, and the width dimension, then R=1, wherein, Kd is a size of a first sliding window in depth direction ([0015], [0053],[0060], claim 7).
GAO does not explicitly disclose performing by a two-dimensional (2D) vector core in response to an instruction.
However, Yang discloses vector calculation unit that is used for calculations such as pooling ([0098]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate this feature in GAO. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce space convolutional neural network model.
Claim 2. GAO and Yang disclose the method of claim 1, GAO further discloses wherein the intermediate tensor has a first dimension parameter and a second dimension parameter, the step (D) comprising: using a third dimension parameter to represent a combination of the first dimension parameter and the second dimension parameter; and setting a size of a sliding window corresponding to the third dimension parameter to one, setting a stride of the sliding window corresponding to the third dimension parameter to one, and setting a padding corresponding to the third dimension parameter to zero ([0015],[0024], [0034],[0060]).
Claim 3. GAO and Yang disclose the method of claim 2, GAO discloses wherein a product of the first dimension parameter and the second dimension parameter is equal to the third dimension parameter ([0081]).
Claim 4. GAO and Yang disclose the method of claim 1, GAO discloses wherein the memory stores a first sub-tensor and a second sub-tensor of the target input tile, the second sub-tensor immediately follows the first sub-tensor, the step (C) processes the first sub-tensor and the second sub-tensor, and R is one ([0079],[0083]).
Claim 5. GAO and Yang disclose the method of claim 4, GAO discloses wherein the first sub-tensor has a first channel dimension, the second sub-tensor has a second channel dimension, the step (B) reads the first sub-tensor and the second sub-tensor in response to an instruction, and a target number of channels of the instruction is greater than or equal to a sum of the first channel dimension and the second channel dimension ([0082],[0094],[0104]).
Claim 6. GAO and Yang disclose the method of claim 5, GAO discloses wherein the first channel dimension is equal to the second channel dimension ([0098]).
Claim 7. GAO and Yang disclose the method of claim 5, GAO discloses wherein both the first channel dimension and the second channel dimension are equal to a width of the memory divided by a data format of the input tensor ([0015]-[0016]).
Claims 11-17 represent the processing unit of claims 1-9, respectively and are rejected along the same rationale
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments filed 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in light of new ground of rejection(s).
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTOL-892).
/PHENUEL S SALOMON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2146