DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s amendment filed on 01/13/2026 was received. Claims 1, 11, 17 were amended.
The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S.C. code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office action issued on 10/14/2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McArthur et al. (US 20040110044 A1) in view of Hoshi (US 20170214069 A1) and Yamauchi et al. (WO 2020203059 A1) on claims 1-3, 10-13, 17-18 are withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claims 1, 11, 17. The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McArthur et al. (US 20040110044 A1) in view of Hoshi (US 20170214069 A1), Yamauchi et al. (WO 2020203059 A1), and Kitamoto et al. (US 20190143839 A1) on claims 4 and 8 are withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 1. The claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McArthur et al. (US 20040110044 A1) in view of Hoshi (US 20170214069 A1), Yamauchi et al. (WO 2020203059 A1), and Zhou et al. (US 20230010307 A1) on claim 5 is withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 1. The claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McArthur et al. (US 20040110044 A1) in view of Hoshi (US 20170214069 A1), Yamauchi et al. (WO 2020203059 A1), and Hunt et al. (US 20040083039 A1) on claim 6 is withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 1. The claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McArthur et al. (US 20040110044 A1) in view of Hoshi (US 20170214069 A1), Yamauchi et al. (WO 2020203059 A1), Crossley et al. (US 20240266865 A1), and Smith et al. (US 20140089055 A1) on claim 7 is withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 1. The claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McArthur et al. (US 20040110044 A1) in view of Hoshi (US 20170214069 A1), Yamauchi et al. (WO 2020203059 A1), Kitamoto et al. (US 20190143839 A1), Berels (US 20180345924 A1), and Kaschner (US 8469135 B2) on claim 9 is withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 1. The claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McArthur et al. (US 20040110044 A1) in view of Hoshi (US 20170214069 A1), Yamauchi et al. (WO 2020203059 A1), and Kitamoto et al. (US 20190143839 A1) on claim 14 is withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 11. The claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McArthur et al. (US 20040110044 A1) in view of Hoshi (US 20170214069 A1), Yamauchi et al. (WO 2020203059 A1) and Zhou et al. (US 20230010307 A1) on claim 15 is withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 11. The claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McArthur et al. (US 20040110044 A1) in view of Hoshi (US 20170214069 A1), Yamauchi et al. (WO 2020203059 A1), and Hunt et al. (US 20040083039 A1) on claim 16 is withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 11. The claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McArthur et al. (US 20040110044 A1) in view of Hoshi (US 20170214069 A1), Yamauchi et al. (WO 2020203059 A1), and of Kitamoto et al. (US 20190143839 A1) on claim 19 is withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 17. The claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McArthur et al. (US 20040110044 A1) in view of Hoshi (US 20170214069 A1), Yamauchi et al. (WO 2020203059 A1), and of Zhou et al. (US 20230010307 A1) on claim 20 is withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 17.
Claims 1-3, 10-13, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McArthur et al. (US 20040110044 A1) in view of Hoshi (US 20170214069 A1), Ballantine et al. (US 20170005480 A1), and Yamauchi et al. (WO 2020203059 A1).
Regarding to Claim 1: McArthur et al. disclose a network communication system for fuel cell powered vehicles and/or stationary fuel cells (par. 2). The system comprises a plurality of fuel cell powered vehicles (12) (equivalent to fuel cell systems), and docking stations (14) (equivalent to power units). A first power grid (16) is integrally connected to the docking stations (14) for collection and transportation of electricity to an aggregation unit (18) (par. 86, figure 1, figure PU below for equivalent part). An energy service provider (equivalent to a fuel cell power plant controller) communicates to all entities through a hardwired link or a wireless network (par. 33, 93, 110, figure 2). The energy service provider can decide a run mode (equivalent to an operation mode), a standby mode, or a shut-down (equivalent to an emergency stopped mode) if any faults or leaks are identified in the system (par. 33, 119, 129, 131). Thus, it is necessary that there is a control circuitry inside the energy service provider to control different operational modes of the system. The energy service provider can also meter faults or leaks in the system, trigger an alarm (par. 129), and monitor electricity generated (par. 130). Thus, it is necessary that there is a monitoring circuitry inside the energy service provider.
McArthur et al. fail to explicitly disclose (i) each fuel cell power plant system comprising a heat exchanger with a first loop that goes through a fuel cell stack and a thermostat, wherein the thermostat extends the first loop to a first portion of a plate if a temperature of a coolant is above a threshold; and (ii) a monitoring circuitry monitoring the temperature of the coolant. Regarding (i), Hoshi discloses that a fuel cell system includes a warm-up control unit that controls a flow rate of the refrigerant (abstract). In the system, a thermostat (36) starts gradually opening when the temperature of the cooling water becomes equal to or higher than the valve opening temperature (equivalent to a temperature of a coolant is above a threshold). Then, the thermostat (36) mixes the cooling water flowing by way of the bypass passage (34) and the cooling water flowing by way of the radiator (33) (equivalent to a first portion of a plate) and supplies the mixed cooling water to the fuel cell stack (1 (par. 77- 79, figure 1). See figure CL for equivalent parts. The combination of a radiator (33), a bypass passage (34), a heater (35), and a thermostat (36) (the parts that the cooling water passing by) is equivalent to a heat exchanger. Regarding (ii), Hoshi further discloses the temperature of the cooling water is detected by the stack inlet water temperature sensor (43) and the stack outlet water temperature sensor (44) (equivalent to monitoring a temperature of a coolant). Both sensors send the detected temperature to a controller (110) (par. 81-82). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the heat exchanger, the thermostat, and the configuration of mixing the cooling water of Hoshi into the fuel cell powered vehicles of McArthur et al. because Hoshi teaches that the fuel cell system of Hoshi prevents the freezing of a component while realizing early warm-up of the fuel cell (par. 7).
McArthur et al. and Hoshi fail to explicitly disclose the fuel cell power plant controller is on a load side of a power grid. However, Ballantine et al. disclose an electrical power system (abstract). The electrical power system comprises one or more power modules (206) (equivalent to the fuel cell power plant system) (par. 17, fig. 2) and a controller (210B) (par. 27, fig. 2). The power modules (206) is configured to house one or more hot boxes. Each hot box contains one or more stacks or columns of fuel cells (206A) (par. 20, fig. 2). The controller (210B) electrically connects to the power modules (206) and on a load side of a power grid (par. 28, fig. 2). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the location of the controller (210B) (the controller on the load side of the power grid) of Ballantine et al. as the location of the energy service provider (equivalent to a fuel cell power plant controller) of McArthur et al. because Ballantine et al. teaches that the fuel cell system can be started without relying on external electric (par. 51).
McArthur et al. mention “maintenance cost” in par. 97. This indicates that the system requires route maintenance. McArthur et al., Hoshi, and Ballantine et al. fail to explicitly disclose a maintenance mode of the system. However, Yamauchi et al. disclose a fuel cell device (100) comprising a fuel cell module (1), a number of auxiliaries, and a control device (30) (par. 4, 17, figure 1). When an operator performing maintenance, the fuel cell device (100) can be switched to a maintenance mode via the operation board (40) while the fuel cell device (100) is in operation (par. 60). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the maintenance mode of Yamauchi et al. to the network communication system of McArthur et al. and be controlled by the energy service provider of McArthur et al. because Yamauchi et al. teach that when a uniform shutdown operation is performed for maintenance, there is a risk of problems, such as damage to the fuel cell stack, delayed cooling of the fuel cell device, and boiling of the heat transfer medium (pars. 9-10).
Regarding to Claim 2: McArthur et al. disclose the system comprising the fuel cell powered vehicles (12) (par. 86, figure 1).
Regarding to Claim 3: McArthur et al. disclose the fuel cell powered vehicles (12) can be powered by hydrogen (par. 15).
Regarding to Claim 10: McArthur et al. disclose an inverter (24) is integrally connected to the aggregation unit (18), and an AC power grid (26) is integrally connected to an inverter (24) (par. 86, figure 1).
Regarding to Claim 11: McArthur et al. disclose a network communication system for fuel cell powered vehicles and/or stationary fuel cells (par. 2). The system comprises a plurality of fuel cell powered vehicles (12) (equivalent to fuel cell systems), and docking stations (14) (equivalent to power units). A first power grid (16) is integrally connected to the docking stations (14) for collection and transportation of electricity to an aggregation unit (18) (par. 86, figure 1, figure PU above for equivalent part). An energy service provider (equivalent to a fuel cell power plant controller) communicates to all entities through a hardwired link or a wireless network (par. 33, 93, 110, figure 2). The energy service provider can decide a run mode (equivalent to an operation mode), a standby mode, or a shut-down (equivalent to an emergency stopped mode) if any faults or leaks are identified in the system (par. 33, 119, 129, 131). Thus, it is necessary that there is a control circuitry inside the energy service provider to control different operational modes of the system. The energy service provider can also meter faults or leaks in the system, trigger an alarm (par. 129), and monitor electricity generated (par. 130). Thus, it is necessary that there is a monitoring circuitry inside the energy service provider.
McArthur et al. fail to explicitly disclose (i) each fuel cell power plant system comprising a heat exchanger with a first loop that goes through a fuel cell stack and a thermostat, wherein the thermostat extends the first loop to a first portion of a plate if a temperature of a coolant is above a threshold; and (ii) a monitoring circuitry monitoring the temperature of the coolant. Regarding (i), Hoshi discloses that a fuel cell system includes a warm-up control unit that controls a flow rate of the refrigerant (abstract). In the system, a thermostat (36) starts gradually opening when the temperature of the cooling water becomes equal to or higher than the valve opening temperature (equivalent to a temperature of a coolant is above a threshold). Then, the thermostat (36) mixes the cooling water flowing by way of the bypass passage (34) and the cooling water flowing by way of the radiator (33) (equivalent to a first portion of a plate) and supplies the mixed cooling water to the fuel cell stack (1) (par. 77- 79, figure 1). See figure CL above for equivalent parts. The combination of a radiator (33), a bypass passage (34), a heater (35), and a thermostat (36) (the parts that the cooling water passing by) is equivalent to a heat exchanger. Regarding (ii), Hoshi further discloses the temperature of the cooling water is detected by the stack inlet water temperature sensor (43) and the stack outlet water temperature sensor (44) (equivalent to monitoring a temperature of a coolant). Both sensors send the detected temperature to a controller (110) (par. 81-82). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the heat exchanger, the thermostat, and the configuration of mixing the cooling water of Hoshi into the fuel cell powered vehicles of McArthur et al. because Hoshi teaches that the fuel cell system of Hoshi prevents the freezing of a component while realizing early warm-up of the fuel cell (par. 7).
McArthur et al. and Hoshi fail to explicitly disclose the fuel cell power plant controller is on a load side of a power grid. However, Ballantine et al. disclose an electrical power system (abstract). The electrical power system comprises one or more power modules (206) (equivalent to the fuel cell power plant system) (par. 17, fig. 2) and a controller (210B) (par. 27, fig. 2). The power modules (206) is configured to house one or more hot boxes. Each hot box contains one or more stacks or columns of fuel cells (206A) (par. 20, fig. 2). The controller (210B) electrically connects to the power modules (206) and on a load side of a power grid (par. 28, fig. 2). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the location of the controller (210B) (the controller on the load side of the power grid) of Ballantine et al. as the location of the energy service provider (equivalent to a fuel cell power plant controller) of McArthur et al. because Ballantine et al. teaches that the fuel cell system can be started without relying on external electric (par. 51).
McArthur et al. mention “maintenance cost” in par. 97. This indicates that the system requires route maintenance. McArthur et al., Hoshi, and Ballantine et al. fail to explicitly disclose a maintenance mode of the system. However, Yamauchi et al. disclose a fuel cell device (100) comprising a fuel cell module (1), a number of auxiliaries, and a control device (30) (par. 4, 17, figure 1). When an operator performing maintenance, the fuel cell device (100) can be switched to a maintenance mode via the operation board (40) while the fuel cell device (100) is in operation (par. 60). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the maintenance mode of Yamauchi et al. to the network communication system of McArthur et al. and be controlled by the energy service provider of McArthur et al. because Yamauchi et al. teach that when a uniform shutdown operation is performed for maintenance, there is a risk of problems, such as damage to the fuel cell stack, delayed cooling of the fuel cell device, and boiling of the heat transfer medium (par. 9-10).
Regarding to Claim 12: McArthur et al. disclose the system comprising the fuel cell powered vehicles (12) (par. 86, figure 1).
Regarding to Claim 13: McArthur et al. disclose the fuel cell powered vehicles (12) can be powered by hydrogen (par. 15).
Regarding to Claim 17: McArthur et al. disclose a network communication system for fuel cell powered vehicles and/or stationary fuel cells (par. 2). The system comprises a plurality of fuel cell powered vehicles (12) (equivalent to fuel cell systems), and docking stations (14) (equivalent to power units). A first power grid (16) is integrally connected to the docking stations (14) for collection and transportation of electricity to an aggregation unit (18) (par. 86, figure 1, figure PU above for equivalent part). An energy service provider (equivalent to a fuel cell power plant controller) communicates to all entities through a hardwired link or a wireless network (par. 33, 93, 110, figure 2). The energy service provider can decide a run mode (equivalent to an operation mode), a standby mode, or a shut-down (equivalent to an emergency stopped mode) if any faults or leaks are identified in the system (par. 33, 119, 129, 131). Thus, it is necessary that there is a control circuitry inside the energy service provider to control different operational modes of the system. The energy service provider can also meter faults or leaks in the system, trigger an alarm (par. 129), and monitor electricity generated (par. 130). Thus, it is necessary that there is a monitoring circuitry inside the energy service provider.
McArthur et al. fail to explicitly disclose each fuel cell power plant system comprising a heat exchanger with a first loop that goes through a fuel cell stack and a thermostat, wherein the thermostat extends the first loop to a first portion of a plate if a temperature of a coolant is above a threshold. However, Hoshi discloses that a fuel cell system includes a warm-up control unit that controls a flow rate of the refrigerant (abstract). In the system, a thermostat (36) starts gradually opening when the temperature of the cooling water becomes equal to or higher than the valve opening temperature (equivalent to a temperature of a coolant is above a threshold). Then, the thermostat (36) mixes the cooling water flowing by way of the bypass passage (34) and the cooling water flowing by way of the radiator (33) (equivalent to a first portion of a plate) and supplies the mixed cooling water to the fuel cell stack (1) (par. 77- 79, figure 1). See figure CL for equivalent parts. The combination of a radiator (33), a bypass passage (34), a heater (35), and a thermostat (36) (the parts that the cooling water passing by) is equivalent to a heat exchanger. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the heat exchanger, the thermostat, and the configuration of mixing the cooling water of Hoshi into the fuel cell powered vehicles of McArthur et al. because Hoshi teaches that the fuel cell system of Hoshi prevents the freezing of a component while realizing early warm-up of the fuel cell (par. 7).
McArthur et al. and Hoshi fail to explicitly disclose the fuel cell power plant controller is on a load side of a power grid. However, Ballantine et al. disclose an electrical power system (abstract). The electrical power system comprises one or more power modules (206) (equivalent to the fuel cell power plant system) (par. 17, fig. 2) and a controller (210B) (par. 27, fig. 2). The power modules (206) is configured to house one or more hot boxes. Each hot box contains one or more stacks or columns of fuel cells (206A) (par. 20, fig. 2). The controller (210B) electrically connects to the power modules (206) and on a load side of a power grid (par. 28, fig. 2). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the location of the controller (210B) (the controller on the load side of the power grid) of Ballantine et al. as the location of the energy service provider (equivalent to a fuel cell power plant controller) of McArthur et al. because Ballantine et al. teaches that the fuel cell system can be started without relying on external electric (par. 51).
McArthur et al. mention “maintenance cost” in par. 97. This indicates that the system requires route maintenance. McArthur et al., Hoshi, and Ballantine et al. fail to explicitly disclose a maintenance mode of the system. However, Yamauchi et al. disclose a fuel cell device (100) comprising a fuel cell module (1), a number of auxiliaries, and a control device (30) (par. 4, 17, figure 1). When an operator performing maintenance, the fuel cell device (100) can be switched to a maintenance mode via the operation board (40) while the fuel cell device (100) is in operation (par. 60). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the maintenance mode of Yamauchi et al. to the network communication system of McArthur et al. and be controlled by the energy service provider of McArthur et al. because Yamauchi et al. teach that when a uniform shutdown operation is performed for maintenance, there is a risk of problems, such as damage to the fuel cell stack, delayed cooling of the fuel cell device, and boiling of the heat transfer medium (par. 9-10).
Regarding to Claim 18: McArthur et al. disclose the fuel cell powered vehicles (12) can be powered by hydrogen (par. 15).
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McArthur et al. (US 20040110044 A1), Hoshi (US 20170214069 A1), Ballantine et al. (US 20170005480 A1), and Yamauchi et al. (WO 2020203059 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kitamoto et al. (US 20190143839 A1).
Regarding to Claim 4: McArthur et al. disclose a network communication system for fuel cell powered vehicles and/or stationary fuel cells as described in paragraph 4 above. McArthur et al., Hoshi, Ballantine et al., and Yamauchi et al. fail to explicitly disclose the fuel cell systems include the fuel cell stack, a battery, an air pump, a DC-DC converter, and a fuel cell voltage converter unit (FCVCU). However, Kitamoto et al. disclose a control apparatus for a fuel cell device (abstract). The control apparatus (1) controls a fuel cell device (10) as the vehicle plant (par. 33, figure 1). In a vehicle (3), the fuel cell device (10), a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a VCU (30), are installed. The fuel cell device includes a fuel cell stack, a hydrogen tank, a hydrogen pump, an air pump, and a first ECU (11). The VCU (30) includes DC/DC converter (par. 33, 34, 37, 43, figure 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include all relevant parts (a fuel cell stack, an air pump, a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a VCU (30)) of Kitamoto et al. into the fuel cell vehicle of McArthur et al. because Kitamoto et al. teach that the control apparatus is capable of reducing computational load and a storage capacity for a vehicle plant (par. 6).
Regarding to Claim 8: McArthur et al. disclose a network communication system for fuel cell powered vehicles and/or stationary fuel cells as described in paragraph 4 above. McArthur et al., Hoshi, Ballantine et al., and Yamauchi et al. fail to explicitly disclose each of the two or more fuel cell systems includes a management electronic control unit (ECU) issuing a command to the corresponding fuel cell system. However, Kitamoto et al. disclose a control apparatus for a fuel cell device (abstract). The control apparatus (1) controls a fuel cell device (10) as the vehicle plant (par. 33, figure 1). The fuel cell device (10) includes a fuel cell stack, a hydrogen tank, a hydrogen pump, an air pump, and a first ECU (11) (par. 34, figure 2). The first ECU (11) controls the hydrogen pump and the air pump (equivalent to issuing a command to the corresponding fuel cell system) (par. 35). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the first ECU (11) of Kitamoto et al. into the fuel cell vehicle of McArthur et al. because Kitamoto et al. teach that the control apparatus is capable of reducing computational load and a storage capacity for a vehicle plant (par. 6).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McArthur et al. (US 20040110044 A1), Hoshi (US 20170214069 A1), Ballantine et al. (US 20170005480 A1), and Yamauchi et al. (WO 2020203059 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 20230010307 A1).
Regarding to Claim 5: McArthur et al. disclose the fuel cell powered vehicles (12) can be in a parking lot at a multi-unit dwelling or a garage of a conventional house. Stationary fuel cells located at industrial businesses could also be used to generate electricity (par. 89). Thus, the equivalent power units can be duplicated and becomes a plurality of equivalent platforms (see Fig. PU above). McArthur et al. disclose the first power grid (160) (equivalent to the electrical connections) is integrally connected to the docking stations (14) for collection and transportation of electricity and each docking station (14) also provides connections to the vehicle (12) for suppling fuel (par. 86, figure 1). Thus, it is necessary that fuel lines connect the multiple docking stations (14).
McArthur et al., Hoshi, Ballantine et al., and Yamauchi et al. fail to explicitly disclose a cooling line connection in the system when using stationary fuel cells. However, Zhou et al. disclose a fuel cell power station process system including a distributed cell stack module, a modular fuel supply system, a modular oxidant supply system, a modular cooling system, a power transmission and inverter system, and a power station master system (abstract). The distributed cell stack module is formed by connecting a first cell stack module, a second cell stack module... and an Nth cell stack module, and each of the cell stack modules is formed by connecting N single cell stacks (par. 6, figure 1). In the cooling system, a water delivery main pipe (PL406) of the coolant water container (V481) is connected with an inlet branch pipe (PL401) of the first cell stack module and an inlet branch pipe (PL403) of the second cell stack module. A water return main pipe (PL405) (PL405 is not tabled in figure 3. Examiner annotates it in Fig. PL405 below.) of the coolant water container (V481) is connected with an outlet branch pipe (PL402) of the first cell stack module and an outlet branch pipe (PL404) of the second cell stack module (par. 36, figure 3). As the cell stack modules of Zhou et al. can be duplicated to N times, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cooling system of Zhou et al. to connect all fuel cell systems of McArthur et al. when using stationary fuel cells because Zhou et al. teach that the cooling system plays a key role in the entire power station and stabilizes the heat balance (par. 36).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McArthur et al. (US 20040110044 A1), Hoshi (US 20170214069 A1), Ballantine et al. (US 20170005480 A1), and Yamauchi et al. (WO 2020203059 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hunt et al. (US 20040083039 A1).
Regarding to Claim 6: McArthur et al. disclose a network communication system for fuel cell powered vehicles and/or stationary fuel cells as described in paragraph 4 above. McArthur et al., Hoshi, Ballantine et al., and Yamauchi et al. fail to explicitly disclose one of the two or more fuel cell systems includes a gateway control circuitry controlling engine high voltage (EHV) associated with the corresponding fuel cell system. However, Hunt et al. disclose a power distribution control system for a hybrid fuel cell vehicle (abstract). In the control system, a load is connected with fuel cell subsystem (41) directly and with a battery (32) via a high voltage energy converter (HVEC) (34). The HVEC (34) is controlled by a HVEC controller (38) (equivalent a gateway control circuitry) (par. 24, 27, 29, 30, figure 2). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add HVEC (34) and HVEC controller (38) of Hunt et al. into the fuel cell systems of McArthur et al. because Hunt et al. teach that this system can increase the efficiency at relative low cost as the current can flow from the fuel cell to the loads (44) without passing through another device and the battery (32) and HVEC (34) can temporarily fill in current if the fuel cell cannot immediately provide it to the loads (44) (par. 31).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McArthur et al. (US 20040110044 A1), Hoshi (US 20170214069 A1), Ballantine et al. (US 20170005480 A1), and Yamauchi et al. (WO 2020203059 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Crossley et al. (US 20240266865 A1) and Smith et al. (US 20140089055 A1).
Regarding to Claim 7: McArthur et al. disclose a reconciliation function to identify gas leak (equivalent to a fuel leak sensor) in the system (par. 129). McArthur et al. in view of Hoshi disclose monitoring the temperature of the coolant as described in paragraph 4. McArthur et al., Hoshi, Ballantine et al., and Yamauchi et al. fail to explicitly disclose a first fuel cell system of the two or more fuel cell systems includes a major gateway control circuitry monitoring a water temperature, a fuel leak sensor, or a smoke sensor associated with the corresponding power unit. However, Smith et al. disclose a power generation system (2) comprising at least one fuel cell cluster (10) (equivalent to power units). Each fuel cell cluster (10), containing a cluster of fuel cell systems (20) (equivalent to fuel cell systems), is operably connected to a data server (50) via a gateway (40) (equivalent to a major gateway control circuitry). The gateway (40) is a computer that receives and sends information, such as operating temperature, fuel flow rate and utilization, output power, and setting, related to a fuel cell cluster (10) to the data server (50) (par. 32, 33, 34, 37, figures 2, 3). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the gateway (40) of Smith et al. monitor gas leak and temperature of the coolant of the equivalent power unit of McArthur et al. because Smith et al. teach a way to automate the collection of real-time operational data from fuel cell systems and the control of the systems within the fleet for achieving operational objectives (par. 4).
McArthur et al., Hoshi, Ballantine et al., Yamauchi et al., and Smith et al. do not explicitly disclose features of monitoring a smoke sensor in the system. However, Crossley et al. disclose a fuel cell power generation system (abstract). In the system, a controller can receive alarm-trigger-signals, which is provided by a smoke sensor (par. 439, 440, 441). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the capability of monitoring the alarm-trigger-signals of Crossley et al. in the gateway (40) of Smith et al. which is already incorporated into the equivalent power unit of McArthur et al. because et al. Crossley et al. teach that the alarm-trigger-signals are safety critical information (par. 440).
Claim 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McArthur et al. (US 10220040110044 A1), Hoshi (US 20170214069 A1), Ballantine et al. (US 20170005480 A1), Yamauchi et al. (WO 2020203059 A1), and Kitamoto et al. (US 20190143839 A1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Berels (US 20180345924 A1) and Kaschner (US 8469135 B2).
Regarding to Claim 9: McArthur et al. in view of Kitamoto et al. disclose the fuel cell powered vehicle including the first ECU as described in paragraph 5 above. McArthur et al., Hoshi, Ballantine et al., Yamauchi et al., and Kitamoto et al. fail to explicitly disclose the command issued by ECU is a vehicle stability management (VSM) override operation. However, Berels discloses a method and an apparatus for a traction and stability control system (equivalent to a vehicle stability management) in a vehicle. The vehicle can be a standard gasoline powered vehicle, a hybrid vehicle, an electric vehicle, or a fuel cell vehicle (abstract, par. 13). The traction control system comprises a traction control module (equivalent to ECU) which could disable the traction control system when the vehicle is stuck (par. 4, 13, figure 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a function of disabling the traction control system of Berels into the ECU of et al. Kitamoto et al. which is already incorporated into the fuel cell vehicle of McArthur et al. because Berels. teaches that the traction control system limits the torque to the wheels to prevent them from spinning, and this results in the problem of hindering the ability to get the vehicle unstuck (par. 2).
McArthur et al., Hoshi, Ballantine et al., Yamauchi et al., Kitamoto et al., and Berels fail to explicitly disclose the command issued by ECU is an immobilizer override operation. However, Skelton discloses systems and methods for safe operation of a vehicle. The vehicle can include a combustion engine, electric engine, fuel cell, or other engine (abstract, par. 54). In the system of Skelton, the vehicle comprises a processor (equivalent to ECU) to receive an input from a mobile device. The processor prevents operation of the vehicle when the mobile device is not coupled to the circuit, and allows operation of the vehicle when the mobile device is coupled to the circuit (equivalent to immobilizer function) (par. 4, 70). In certain instances, when the vehicle must be moved or started without an authorized mobile device, the override system may permit operation of the vehicle without coupling the mobile device to the vehicle (par. 63). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the function of overriding the mobile device-vehicle coupling system of Skelton into the ECU of et al. Kitamoto et al. which is already incorporated into the fuel cell vehicle of McArthur et al. because Skelton teaches that this feature is desired to access the vehicle due to safety and other reasons (par. 63).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McArthur et al. (US 20040110044 A1), Hoshi (US 20170214069 A1), Ballantine et al. (US 20170005480 A1), and Yamauchi et al. (WO 2020203059 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Kitamoto et al. (US 20190143839 A1).
Regarding to Claim 14: McArthur et al. disclose a network communication system for fuel cell powered vehicles and/or stationary fuel cells as described in paragraph 4 above. McArthur et al., Hoshi, Ballantine et al., and Yamauchi et al. fail to explicitly disclose the fuel cell systems include a fuel cell stack, a battery, an air pump, a DC-DC converter, and a fuel cell voltage converter unit (FCVCU). However, Kitamoto et al. disclose a control apparatus for a fuel cell device (abstract). The control apparatus (1) controls a fuel cell device (10) as the vehicle plant (par. 33, figure 1). In a vehicle (3), the fuel cell device (10), a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a VCU (30), are installed. The fuel cell device includes a fuel cell stack, a hydrogen tank, a hydrogen pump, an air pump, and a first ECU (11). The VCU (30) includes DC/DC converter (par. 33, 34, 37, 43, figure 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include all relevant parts (a fuel cell stack, an air pump, a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a VCU (30)) of Kitamoto et al. into the fuel cell vehicle of McArthur et al. because Kitamoto et al. teach that the control apparatus is capable of reducing computational load and a storage capacity for a vehicle plant (par. 6).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McArthur et al. (US 20040110044 A1), Hoshi (US 20170214069 A1), Ballantine et al. (US 20170005480 A1), and Yamauchi et al. (WO 2020203059 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 20230010307 A1).
Regarding to Claim 15: McArthur et al. disclose the fuel cell powered vehicles (12) can be in a parking lot at a multi-unit dwelling or a garage of a conventional house. Stationary fuel cells located at industrial businesses could also be used to generate electricity (par. 89). Thus, the equivalent power units can be duplicated and becomes a plurality of equivalent platforms (see Fig. PU above). McArthur et al. disclose the first power grid (16) (equivalent to the electrical connections) is integrally connected to the docking stations (14) for collection and transportation of electricity and each docking station (14) also provides connections to the vehicle (12) for suppling fuel (par. 86, figure 1). Thus, it is necessary that fuel lines connect the multiple docking stations (14). McArthur et al., Hoshi, Ballantine et al., and Yamauchi et al. fail to explicitly disclose a cooling line connection in the system when using stationary fuel cells. However, Zhou et al. disclose a fuel cell power station process system including a distributed cell stack module, a modular fuel supply system, a modular oxidant supply system, a modular cooling system, a power transmission and inverter system, and a power station master system (abstract). The distributed cell stack module is formed by connecting a first cell stack module, a second cell stack module... and an Nth cell stack module, and each of the cell stack modules is formed by connecting N single cell stacks (par. 6, figure 1). In the cooling system, a water delivery main pipe (PL406) of the coolant water container (V481) is connected with an inlet branch pipe (PL401) of the first cell stack module and an inlet branch pipe (PL403) of the second cell stack module. A water return main pipe (PL405) (PL405 is not tabled in figure 3. Examiner annotates it in Fig. PL405 above) of the coolant water container (V481) is connected with an outlet branch pipe (PL402) of the first cell stack module and an outlet branch pipe (PL404) of the second cell stack module (par. 36, figure 3). As the cell stack modules of Zhou et al. can be duplicated to N times, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cooling system of Zhou et al. to connect all fuel cell systems of McArthur et al. when using stationary fuel cells because Zhou et al. teach that the cooling system plays a key role in the entire power station and stabilizes the heat balance (par. 36).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McArthur et al. (US 20040110044 A1), Hoshi (US 20170214069 A1), Ballantine et al. (US 20170005480 A1), and Yamauchi et al. (WO 2020203059 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Hunt et al. (US 20040083039 A1).
Regarding to Claim 16: McArthur et al. disclose a network communication system for fuel cell powered vehicles and/or stationary fuel cells as described in paragraph 4 above. McArthur et al., Hoshi, and Yamauchi et al. fail to explicitly disclose one of the two or more fuel cell systems includes a gateway control circuitry controlling engine high voltage (EHV) associated with the corresponding fuel cell system. However, Hunt et al. disclose a power distribution control system for a hybrid fuel cell vehicle (abstract). In the control system, a load is connected with fuel cell subsystem (41) directly and with a battery (32) via a high voltage energy converter (HVEC) (34). The HVEC (34) is controlled by a HVEC controller (38) (equivalent a gateway control circuitry) (par. 24, 27, 29, 30, figure 2). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add HVEC (34) and HVEC controller (38) of Hunt et al. into the fuel cell systems of McArthur et al. because Hunt et al. teach that this system can increase the efficiency at relative low cost as the current can flow from the fuel cell to the loads (44) without passing through another device and the battery (32) and HVEC (34) can temporarily fill in current if the fuel cell cannot immediately provide it to the loads (44) (par. 31).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McArthur et al. (US 20040110044 A1), Hoshi (US 20170214069 A1), Ballantine et al. (US 20170005480 A1), and Yamauchi et al. (WO 2020203059 A1) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Kitamoto et al. (US 20190143839 A1).
Regarding to Claim 19: McArthur et al. disclose a network communication system for fuel cell powered vehicles and/or stationary fuel cells as described in paragraph 4 above. McArthur et al., Hoshi, and Yamauchi et al. fail to explicitly disclose the fuel cell systems include a fuel cell stack, a battery, an air pump, a DC-DC converter, and a fuel cell voltage converter unit (FCVCU). However, Kitamoto et al. disclose a control apparatus for a fuel cell device (abstract). The control apparatus (1) controls a fuel cell device (10) as the vehicle plant (par. 33, figure 1). In a vehicle (3), the fuel cell device (10), a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a VCU (30), are installed. The fuel cell device includes a fuel cell stack, a hydrogen tank, a hydrogen pump, an air pump, and a first ECU (11). The VCU (30) includes DC/DC converter (par. 33, 34, 37, 43, figure 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include all relevant parts (a fuel cell stack, an air pump, a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a VCU (30)) of Kitamoto et al. into the fuel cell vehicle of McArthur et al. because Kitamoto et al. teach that the control apparatus is capable of reducing computational load and a storage capacity for a vehicle plant (par. 6).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McArthur et al. (US 20040110044 A1), Hoshi (US 20170214069 A1), Ballantine et al. (US 20170005480 A1), and Yamauchi et al. (WO 2020203059 A1) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 20230010307 A1).
Regarding to Claim 20: McArthur et al. disclose the fuel cell powered vehicles (12) can be in a parking lot at a multi-unit dwelling or a garage of a conventional house. Stationary fuel cells located at industrial businesses could also be used to generate electricity (par. 89). Thus, the equivalent power units can be duplicated and becomes a plurality of equivalent platforms (see Fig. PU above). McArthur et al. disclose the first power grid (16) (equivalent to the electrical connections) is integrally connected to the docking stations (14) for collection and transportation of electricity and each docking station (14) also provides connections to the vehicle (12) for suppling fuel (par. 86, figure 1). Thus, it is necessary that fuel lines connect the multiple docking stations (14). McArthur et al., Hoshi, and Yamauchi et al. fail to explicitly disclose a cooling line connection in the system. However, Zhou et al. disclose a fuel cell power station process system including a distributed cell stack module, a modular fuel supply system, a modular oxidant supply system, a modular cooling system, a power transmission and inverter system, and a power station master system (abstract). The distributed cell stack module is formed by connecting a first cell stack module, a second cell stack module... and an Nth cell stack module, and each of the cell stack modules is formed by connecting N single cell stacks (par. 6, figure 1). In the cooling system, a water delivery main pipe (PL406) of the coolant water container (V481) is connected with an inlet branch pipe (PL401) of the first cell stack module and an inlet branch pipe (PL403) of the second cell stack module. A water return main pipe (PL405) (PL405 is not tabled in figure 3. Examiner annotates it in Fig. PL405 above) of the coolant water container (V481) is connected with an outlet branch pipe (PL402) of the first cell stack module and an outlet branch pipe (PL404) of the second cell stack module (par. 36, figure 3). As the cell stack modules of Zhou et al. can be duplicated to N times, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cooling system of Zhou et al. to connect all fuel cell systems of McArthur et al. because Zhou et al. teach that the cooling system plays a key role in the entire power station and stabilizes the heat balance (par. 36).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant primarily argues McArthur does not teach the energy service provider (equivalent to a fuel cell power plant controller) is not electrically connected the two or more power units at the fuel cell power plant system and on a load side of a power grid such that the controller could support black start operation during power outage.
In response:
Applicant’s arguments are moot because the newly cited Ballantine reference teaches the controller (210B) electrically connects to the power modules (206) and on a load side of a power grid (par. 28, fig. 2). The fuel cell system can use its own power output without relying on external electric power (par. 51).
Conclusion
/PIN JAN WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717