DETAILED ACTION
Claims 15-21, and 23-29 are pending.
Claims 1-14, 22, and 30 are cancelled.
Response to Amendments
The amendment filed November 17th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 15-21, and 23-29 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 15-21, and 23-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15-21, and 23-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Independent Claim 15, at step 1, the claim recites a method comprising series of steps (receiving, determining, presenting, displaying), and therefore is a process, which is a statutory category of invention.
At step 2A, prong one, the claim recites “based on a forecasted energy production curve and a forecasted energy consumption curve, determining a future state of an energy system at the selected future time”, “wherein the predicted time is based at least in part on the forecasted energy production curve, the forecasted energy consumption curve, and an energy storage device control plan that controls charging or discharging of the energy storage device”, and “wherein the energy storage device control plan is generated based at least in part on an evaluation of residential-side and grid-side criteria”.
The limitation of “based on a forecasted energy production curve and a forecasted energy consumption curve, determining a future state of an energy system at the selected future time”, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind and/or performed using mathematical concepts. For example, Paragraph [0273] describes “At 2404, based on a forecasted energy (e.g., solar) production curve and a forecasted energy consumption curve for an energy system at a site, a future state of the energy system is determined. In some embodiments, the forecasts of solar production and energy consumption are generated using process 300 of FIG. 3”, and Fig. 3 describes using optimization engine, which in the context of his claim encompasses an observation, evaluation, judgement, and/or opinion; and/or mathematical calculations.
The limitation of “wherein the predicted time is based at least in part on the forecasted energy production curve, the forecasted energy consumption curve, and an energy storage device control plan that controls charging or discharging of the energy storage device” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind and/or performed using mathematical concepts. For example, Paragraph [0246] “the predictions and optimal control plan generated above are used to power and drive various information in various interfaces with respect to solar generation, battery storage, grid usage, and consumption, such as when the battery will be full, when peak consumption will be, etc.” in the context of this claim encompasses an observation, evaluation, judgement, and/or opinion; and/or mathematical calculations.
The limitation of “wherein the energy storage device control plan is generated based at least in part on an evaluation of residential-side and grid-side criteria” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind and/or performed using mathematical concepts. For example, Paragraph [0044], and Paragraph [0100] describes generating a control plan using optimization engine that uses a linear solver, which in the context of this claim encompasses an observation, evaluation, judgement, and/or opinion; and/or mathematical calculations.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, and of mathematical calculations, then it falls within the “Mental Processes”, and “Mathematical Concepts” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
At step 2A, prong two, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites “receiving… a user selection of a future time”, “via user interface”, “presenting a visual representation of the future state of the energy system”, and “displaying a predicted time at which an energy storage device is expected to be fully charged”.
The limitation of “receiving… a user selection of a future time” represents mere data gathering (obtaining user selection of a future time) that is necessary for use of the recited exception, as the obtained information is used in the abstract mathematical and/or mental process of determining future state of energy system at the selected future time. The obtaining of user selection of a future time is recited at a high level of generality. Therefore, it is insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The limitation of “via user inface” is recited at a high level of generality and recited so generically that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The limitation of “presenting a visual representation of the future state of the energy system”, and “displaying a predicted time at which an energy storage device is expected to be fully charged” represents extra-solution activity because it is a mere nominal or tangential addition to the claim, amounting to mere data output (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
At step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “user interface” amount to no more than an attempt to generally link the use of judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept.
The receiving a user selection, as discussed above, represents mere data gathering and is insignificant extra-solution activity.
The presenting a visual representation, and displaying a predicted time when energy storage device is expected to be fully charged as discussed above, represents mere data output and is a nominal or tangential addition to the claim. Further, these elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional.
With respect to receiving a user selection, the courts have found limitation directed to obtaining information electronically, as recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, and “storing and retrieving information in memory”.
With respect to a presenting a visual representation, and displaying a predicted time when energy storage device is expected to be fully charged, the courts have found limitation directed to obtaining information electronically, as recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, and “Storing and retrieving information in memory”. Additionally, see references below.
Considering the additional elements individually and in combination and the claim as a whole, the additional elements do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Independent Claim 23, the claim recites substantively the same abstract idea identified in claim 15 above; and recites substantively similar additional elements (a system, comprising: a processor configured to perform the abstract idea) and is ineligible for the same reasons as those indicated in the analysis of claim 15 above.
Regarding Dependent Claim 16, the additional limitations of “wherein the user selection of the future time is based at least in part on user manipulation of a scrollable user interface element” merely defines user selection process, thus the limitation is part of insignificant extra-solution activity.
Regarding Dependent Claim 17, the additional limitations of “wherein responsive to the user manipulation of the scrollable user interface element, representations of energy flows among an energy consumer, a local generation system, the energy storage device, and a utility grid are updated” represents extra-solution activity because it is mere nominal or tangential addition to the claim, amounting to mere data output (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding Dependent Claim 18, the additional limitations of “wherein presenting the visual representation of the future state of the energy system comprises displaying an indication of projected consumption, at the selected future is time, of energy provided by at least one of a local generation system or the energy storage device” represents extra-solution activity because it is mere nominal or tangential addition to the claim, amounting to mere data output (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding Dependent Claim 19, the additional limitations of “wherein presenting the visual representation of the future state of the energy system comprises displaying an indication of projected consumption, at the selected future time, of energy from a utility grid” represents extra-solution activity because it is mere nominal or tangential addition to the claim, amounting to mere data output (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding Dependent Claim 20, the additional limitations of “further comprising displaying a projected period of self-consumption” represents extra-solution activity because it is mere nominal or tangential addition to the claim, amounting to mere data output (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding Dependent Claim 21, the additional limitations of “further comprising displaying a predicted total solar production for a period of time” represents extra-solution activity because it is mere nominal or tangential addition to the claim, amounting to mere data output (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding Dependent Claims 24-29, the additional limitations are rejected for the same reasons as those indicated in the analysis of claims 16-21 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-21, and 23-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chanda et al. Kiuchi et al. USPGPUB 2014/0336837 (hereinafter “Kiuchi”), in view of Zauli USP 11532943 (hereinafter “Zauli”).
Regarding claim 15, Kiuchi teaches a method, comprising: receiving, via a user interface (Paragraph [0074] “display unit”), a user selection of a future time (Paragraph [0095-0096], and Paragraph [0097] “As illustrated in FIG. 6, in particular, when a transition of the power controlling state of the energy management apparatus 20 is displayed in a chronological order, a default display may include a time axis (horizontal axis) with a scale representing, for example, a day (24 hours), a month (30 days, for example), or a year (12 months). For example, when it is 12th of March today, a transition during one month including today, i.e., from 1st of March to 31st of March may be displayed in the chronological order. When the display includes, for example, the first day and the last day of a month as a unit as described above, upon detection of the input operation by the user to touch and sweep the graph, the display preferably shows a previous month or a next month in response to such a sweeping input operation”, wherein examiner interpreted user touching and sweeping graph as selection of a future time);
based on a forecasted energy production curve (Paragraph [0115] “The graph illustrated in FIG. 9 shows, as examples of the various information associated with the power consumption, a transition of predicated solar power generation (PV prediction) by the solar power generation system 50, a transition of charge/discharge of the storage unit 60, and a transition of a purchasing price of the power purchased from the commercial power supply. Here, as the transition of the PV prediction, when prediction information associated with the solar power generation may be retrieved from an external server such as the system EMS 200 or the like illustrated in FIG. 1, for example, prediction of power which the solar power generation system 50 may generate is displayed, preferably based on the prediction information”, wherein examiner interpreted predicted solar power generation displayed on display unit as shown in Fig. 9 as forecasted energy production curve) and a forecasted energy consumption curve (Paragraph [0097], Paragraph [0017], Paragraph [0142], and Paragraph [0143] “Here, the "Display of Planned Operation" is used to display operation plans of the solar power generation system 50 and the storage unit 60, for example. When proceeding to a panel of the "Display of Planned Operation", a predicted future operation plan based on operation history or a preset future operation plan may be displayed, for example. Also, the "Loading Pattern" is used to display loading patterns of the loading apparatuses 80-1 to 80-N, for example. When proceeding to a panel of the "Loading Pattern", a predicted future loading pattern and the like based on loading pattern history and the like may be displayed, for example”, wherein examiner interpreted displaying power consumption for future time as shown in Fig. 6, and displaying the predicted loading pattern as forecasted energy consumption), determining a future state of an energy system at the selected future time (Paragraph [0096] “Preferably, a graph showing the history information illustrated in FIG. 6, upon detection of an input operation by the user to sweep the graph or the like, shifts each axis of the graph so as to, for example, display older history information. Also preferably, in the graph showing the history information illustrated in FIG. 6, upon detection of an input operation by the user to touch the graph with two fingers and move touch positions by bringing the fingers close to each other or away from each other (by pinching-in or pinching-out), a scale of each axis is changed”, Paragraphs [0098-0103], and Paragraph [0114-0117], wherein examiner interpreted displaying of the graphs as shown in Figs. 6-10 based on user inputting the date and time, or touching and sweeping the graph in the future time as determining of the future state of an energy system at the selected future time);
presenting a visual representation of the future state of the energy system (Paragraph [0062] “The display terminal 10 displays a power controlling state of the energy management apparatus 20 on a display unit such that an ordinary user may easily understand the power controlling state”, and Figs. 6-10, and Paragraphs [0094-0119], and Fig. 5, wherein examiner interpreted the graphs being displayed as presenting a visual representation of the future state of the energy system); and
wherein the energy storage device control plan is generated based at least in part on an evaluation of residential-side and grid-side criteria (Paragraph [0059] “The power control system according to the present embodiment preferably includes, in addition to power supplied from a power system (a commercial power supply), at least one of a power supply system using, for example, a solar power generation and a storage battery system capable of charging/discharging the power. Note that the power supply system is not limited to a solar power generation system but may be a variety of types of power generation systems including, for example, a fuel cell system including a fuel cell such as SOFC. The present embodiment described hereafter uses an example that includes the solar power generation system as the power generation system and, further, a power storage unit as a power storage system”, and Paragraph [0061] “The power control system illustrated in FIG. 1 may supply, in addition to power supplied from a commercial power supply 100, power generated by the solar power generation system 50 and discharged power out of charged power in the power storage unit 60. In FIG. 1, although a loading apparatus 80-1, a loading apparatus 80-2, a loading apparatus 80-3, and a loading apparatus 80-N are connected to the power control system, any number of loading apparatuses may be connected”, Paragraph [0063] “ The energy management apparatus 20 may be constituted by using, for example, HEMS and controls and manages the power in the power control system illustrated in FIG. 1. In particular, for example, the energy management apparatus 20 is connected to the loading apparatuses 80-1 to 80-N in the wired or wireless manner and controls power consumption thereof”, Paragraph [0070] “The power storage unit 60 includes a storage battery and may supply power by discharging the power stored in the storage battery. Also, the power storage unit 60 may store the power supplied from the commercial power supply 100 and the power supplied from the solar power generation system 50. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the power discharged from the power storage unit 60 may also be supplied to each of the loading apparatuses 80”, and Paragraph [0108], wherein examiner interpreted power control system for power system that includes a commercial power supply and the home power system to control and manage power in the power control system as energy storage device control plan being generated at least in part on an evaluation of residential-side and grid-side criteria).
Kiuchi does not explicitly teach displaying a predicted time at which an energy storage device is expected to be fully charged, wherein the predicted time is based at least in part on the forecasted energy production curve, the forecasted energy consumption curve, and an energy storage device control plan that controls charging or discharging of the energy storage device.
However, Zauli teaches displaying a predicted time at which an energy storage device is expected to be fully charged, wherein the predicted time is based at least in part on the forecasted energy production curve, the forecasted energy consumption curve, and an energy storage device control plan that controls charging or discharging of the energy storage device (Col. 44, Line 32-49 “The charge start time-determining module can be configured to determine the amount of energy required to bring the state of charge of an energy storage device from the current state of charge to a target state of charge such as the usable energy capacity (e.g. defined by a cumulative charge-to-full parameter), and determine a charge window indicating how long it will take for the energy source, or sources, to produce the determined amount of energy, based on a predicted power production (i.e. a power prediction) of the energy source, or sources, and set the charge start time as the beginning of the determined charge window. The charge window can be a window ending at a ‘charge-complete time’ and beginning at the charge start time. The charge-complete time can be set as the time of need, such as the time of a scheduled arrival event (e.g. a user-inputted time or determined time, corresponding to a time a user arrives home or a time the energy storage device is needed to provide energy to a load)”, Col. 49, Line 39-51 “Optionally, the user interface module is configured to create a graphical display of forecast data or power prediction, e.g. received from the forecast retrieving unit or determined by the power-predicting module. Optionally, the graphical display comprises a graph of power or energy over a time window. Optionally, the time window is a future time window. Optionally, the time window starts at the current time and ends at a future time. Optionally, the time window starts at the current time and ends at a scheduled arrival event. Optionally, the user interface module updates the graphical display based on updated forecast data or power prediction data one or more times (e.g. periodically or responsive to a user requesting the graphical display)”, wherein examiner interpreted determining a time window of setting charge start time and charge-complete time that displays the window in a user interface module that can be a future time window as displaying a predicted time at which an energy storage device is expected to be fully charged, wherein examiner interpreted the time window being based on energy production and need for providing energy to a load as the predicted time being based on at least in part on the forecasted energy production curve, the forecasted energy consumption curve, and an energy storage device control plan that controls charging or discharging of the energy storage device, wherein examiner interpreted the charging and providing energy to energy storage device and from energy storage device as being the energy storage device control plan that controls charging or discharge of energy storage device).
Kiuchi, and Zauli are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They relate to power systems.
Therefore, before the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method of presenting a visual representation of the future energy system, as taught by Kiuchi, and incorporating displaying a predicted time at which an energy storage device is expected to be fully charged, as taught by Zauli.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated improve Col. 49, Line 39-55 “displaying charge start time and/or forecast of energy generated over time”, as suggested by Zauli.
Regarding claim 16, Kiuchi, and Zauli teaches all of the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above.
Kiuchi further teaches wherein the user selection of the future time is based at least in part on user manipulation of a scrollable user interface element (Paragraph [0081] “When the operation illustrated in FIG. 3 starts, the control unit 16 controls such that the input detection unit 14 may detect an input to touch the icon depicting the object or a displayed graph, an input to touch and sweep (drag) the displayed graph, and an input to touch and flick the displayed graph (step S11)”, and Paragraph [0096] “Preferably, a graph showing the history information illustrated in FIG. 6, upon detection of an input operation by the user to sweep the graph or the like, shifts each axis of the graph so as to, for example, display older history information”, Paragraph [0097], and Paragraph [0100], wherein examiner interpreted sweeping or dragging the graph that shifts each axis of graph as the manipulation of a scrollable user interface element, wherein examiner interpreted user input of touch and sweep of graph and icons as the scrollable user interface element).
Regarding claim 17, Kiuchi, and Zauli Kiuchi, and Zauli teaches all of the features with respect to claim 16 as outlined above.
Kiuchi further teaches wherein responsive to the user manipulation of the scrollable user interface element, representations of energy flows among an energy consumer, a local generation system, the energy storage device, and a utility grid are updated (Fig. 5 describes each icon relation to energy flows among the energy consumer, a local generation system, an energy storage device, and a utility grid, and the following Figs. 6-10, and Paragraph [0094-0119] describes the graphs associated with each icons of the power system, and describes sweeping the graph to view information shown in Figs. 6-10, therefore examiner interpreted the sweeping of graphs to display information as user manipulation of the scrollable user interface element, where representations of energy flows among an energy consumer, local generation system, the energy storage device, and a utility grid are updated).
Regarding claim 18, Kiuchi, and Zauli teaches all of the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above.
Kiuchi further teaches wherein presenting the visual representation of the future state of the energy system comprises displaying an indication of projected consumption, at the selected future time, of energy provided by at least one of a local generation system or the energy storage device (Fig. 9, Paragraph [0115] “The graph illustrated in FIG. 9 shows, as examples of the various information associated with the power consumption, a transition of predicated solar power generation (PV prediction) by the solar power generation system 50, a transition of charge/discharge of the storage unit 60, and a transition of a purchasing price of the power purchased from the commercial power supply”, wherein examiner interpreted power consumption associated with the solar power generation and charge/discharge of storge unit as displaying indication of projected consumption, at the selected future time, of energy provided by at least one of a local generation system or the energy storage device, and see Fig. 5, Paragraphs [0092-0094] which describes and shows power moving from solar power generation system and storage battery to electric appliances).
Regarding claim 19, Kiuchi, and Zauli teaches all of the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above.
Kiuchi further teaches wherein presenting the visual representation of the future state of the energy system comprises displaying an indication of projected consumption, at the selected future time, of energy from a utility grid (Fig. 9, Paragraph [0115] “The graph illustrated in FIG. 9 shows, as examples of the various information associated with the power consumption, a transition of predicated solar power generation (PV prediction) by the solar power generation system 50, a transition of charge/discharge of the storage unit 60, and a transition of a purchasing price of the power purchased from the commercial power supply”, wherein examiner interpreted power consumption associated with the solar power generation and charge/discharge of storge unit as displaying indication of projected consumption, at the selected future time, of energy provided by at least one of a local generation system or an energy storage device, and see Fig. 5, Paragraphs [0092-0094] which describes power provided by commercial power supply to electric appliances).
Regarding claim 20, Kiuchi, and Zauli teaches all of the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above.
Kiuchi further teaches further comprising displaying a projected period of self-consumption (Paragraph [0143] “Here, the "Display of Planned Operation" is used to display operation plans of the solar power generation system 50 and the storage unit 60, for example. When proceeding to a panel of the "Display of Planned Operation", a predicted future operation plan based on operation history or a preset future operation plan may be displayed, for example”, wherein examiner interpreted predicted future operation plan related to solar power generation system and storage unit as displaying projected period of self-consumption).
Regarding claim 21, Kiuchi, and Zauli teaches all of the features with respect to claim 15 as outlined above.
Kiuchi further teaches further comprising displaying a predicted total solar production for a period of time (Fig. 9, Paragraph [0115] “The graph illustrated in FIG. 9 shows, as examples of the various information associated with the power consumption, a transition of predicated solar power generation (PV prediction) by the solar power generation system 50, a transition of charge/discharge of the storage unit 60, and a transition of a purchasing price of the power purchased from the commercial power supply”, wherein examiner interpreted displaying of predicted solar power generation as displaying a predicted total solar production for a period of time).
Regarding claim 23, Kiuchi teaches a system, comprising: one or more processors (Paragraph [0073] “The display terminal 10 may be constituted by using a specially designed terminal, or a variety of terminals such as a personal computer (PC), a laptop computer, and a tablet PC having application software installed therein”) configured to:
receive, via a user interface (Paragraph [0074] “display unit”), a user selection of a future time (Paragraph [0095-0096], and Paragraph [0097] “As illustrated in FIG. 6, in particular, when a transition of the power controlling state of the energy management apparatus 20 is displayed in a chronological order, a default display may include a time axis (horizontal axis) with a scale representing, for example, a day (24 hours), a month (30 days, for example), or a year (12 months). For example, when it is 12th of March today, a transition during one month including today, i.e., from 1st of March to 31st of March may be displayed in the chronological order. When the display includes, for example, the first day and the last day of a month as a unit as described above, upon detection of the input operation by the user to touch and sweep the graph, the display preferably shows a previous month or a next month in response to such a sweeping input operation”, wherein examiner interpreted user touching and sweeping graph as selection of a future time);
based at least in part on a forecasted energy production curve (Paragraph [0115] “The graph illustrated in FIG. 9 shows, as examples of the various information associated with the power consumption, a transition of predicated solar power generation (PV prediction) by the solar power generation system 50, a transition of charge/discharge of the storage unit 60, and a transition of a purchasing price of the power purchased from the commercial power supply. Here, as the transition of the PV prediction, when prediction information associated with the solar power generation may be retrieved from an external server such as the system EMS 200 or the like illustrated in FIG. 1, for example, prediction of power which the solar power generation system 50 may generate is displayed, preferably based on the prediction information”, wherein examiner interpreted predicted solar power generation displayed on display unit as shown in Fig. 9 as forecasted energy production curve) and a forecasted energy consumption curve (Paragraph [0097], Paragraph [0017], Paragraph [0142], and Paragraph [0143] “Here, the "Display of Planned Operation" is used to display operation plans of the solar power generation system 50 and the storage unit 60, for example. When proceeding to a panel of the "Display of Planned Operation", a predicted future operation plan based on operation history or a preset future operation plan may be displayed, for example. Also, the "Loading Pattern" is used to display loading patterns of the loading apparatuses 80-1 to 80-N, for example. When proceeding to a panel of the "Loading Pattern", a predicted future loading pattern and the like based on loading pattern history and the like may be displayed, for example”, wherein examiner interpreted displaying power consumption for future time as shown in Fig. 6, and displaying the predicted loading pattern as forecasted energy consumption), determine a future state of an energy system at the selected future time (Paragraph [0096] “Preferably, a graph showing the history information illustrated in FIG. 6, upon detection of an input operation by the user to sweep the graph or the like, shifts each axis of the graph so as to, for example, display older history information. Also preferably, in the graph showing the history information illustrated in FIG. 6, upon detection of an input operation by the user to touch the graph with two fingers and move touch positions by bringing the fingers close to each other or away from each other (by pinching-in or pinching-out), a scale of each axis is changed”, Paragraphs [0098-0103], and Paragraph [0114-0117], wherein examiner interpreted displaying of the graphs as shown in Figs. 6-10 based on user inputting the date and time, or touching and sweeping the graph in the future time as determining of the future state of an energy system at the selected future time);
present a visual representation of the future state of the energy system (Paragraph [0062] “The display terminal 10 displays a power controlling state of the energy management apparatus 20 on a display unit such that an ordinary user may easily understand the power controlling state”, and Figs. 6-10, and Paragraphs [0094-0119], and Fig. 5, wherein examiner interpreted the graphs being displayed as presenting a visual representation of the future state of the energy system); and
wherein the energy storage device control plan is generated based at least in part on an evaluation of residential-side and grid-side criteria (Paragraph [0059] “The power control system according to the present embodiment preferably includes, in addition to power supplied from a power system (a commercial power supply), at least one of a power supply system using, for example, a solar power generation and a storage battery system capable of charging/discharging the power. Note that the power supply system is not limited to a solar power generation system but may be a variety of types of power generation systems including, for example, a fuel cell system including a fuel cell such as SOFC. The present embodiment described hereafter uses an example that includes the solar power generation system as the power generation system and, further, a power storage unit as a power storage system”, and Paragraph [0061] “The power control system illustrated in FIG. 1 may supply, in addition to power supplied from a commercial power supply 100, power generated by the solar power generation system 50 and discharged power out of charged power in the power storage unit 60. In FIG. 1, although a loading apparatus 80-1, a loading apparatus 80-2, a loading apparatus 80-3, and a loading apparatus 80-N are connected to the power control system, any number of loading apparatuses may be connected”, Paragraph [0063] “ The energy management apparatus 20 may be constituted by using, for example, HEMS and controls and manages the power in the power control system illustrated in FIG. 1. In particular, for example, the energy management apparatus 20 is connected to the loading apparatuses 80-1 to 80-N in the wired or wireless manner and controls power consumption thereof”, Paragraph [0070] “The power storage unit 60 includes a storage battery and may supply power by discharging the power stored in the storage battery. Also, the power storage unit 60 may store the power supplied from the commercial power supply 100 and the power supplied from the solar power generation system 50. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the power discharged from the power storage unit 60 may also be supplied to each of the loading apparatuses 80”, and Paragraph [0108], wherein examiner interpreted power control system for power system that includes a commercial power supply and the home power system to control and manage power in the power control system as energy storage device control plan being generated at least in part on an evaluation of residential-side and grid-side criteria); and
a memory coupled to the one or more processors and configured to provide the one or more processors with instructions (Paragraph [0073] “The display terminal 10 may be constituted by using a specially designed terminal, or a variety of terminals such as a personal computer (PC), a laptop computer, and a tablet PC having application software installed therein”, wherein personal computer (PC) or a laptop computer is known to have memory coupled to the processor and configured to provide the processor with instructions).
Kiuchi does not explicitly teach display a predicted time at which an energy storage device is expected to be fully charged, wherein the predicted time is based at least in part on the forecasted energy production curve, the forecasted energy consumption curve, and an energy storage device control plan that controls charging or discharging of the energy storage device.
However, Zauli teaches display a predicted time at which an energy storage device is expected to be fully charged, wherein the predicted time is based at least in part on the forecasted energy production curve, the forecasted energy consumption curve, and an energy storage device control plan that controls charging or discharging of the energy storage device (Col. 44, Line 32-49 “The charge start time-determining module can be configured to determine the amount of energy required to bring the state of charge of an energy storage device from the current state of charge to a target state of charge such as the usable energy capacity (e.g. defined by a cumulative charge-to-full parameter), and determine a charge window indicating how long it will take for the energy source, or sources, to produce the determined amount of energy, based on a predicted power production (i.e. a power prediction) of the energy source, or sources, and set the charge start time as the beginning of the determined charge window. The charge window can be a window ending at a ‘charge-complete time’ and beginning at the charge start time. The charge-complete time can be set as the time of need, such as the time of a scheduled arrival event (e.g. a user-inputted time or determined time, corresponding to a time a user arrives home or a time the energy storage device is needed to provide energy to a load)”, Col. 49, Line 39-51 “Optionally, the user interface module is configured to create a graphical display of forecast data or power prediction, e.g. received from the forecast retrieving unit or determined by the power-predicting module. Optionally, the graphical display comprises a graph of power or energy over a time window. Optionally, the time window is a future time window. Optionally, the time window starts at the current time and ends at a future time. Optionally, the time window starts at the current time and ends at a scheduled arrival event. Optionally, the user interface module updates the graphical display based on updated forecast data or power prediction data one or more times (e.g. periodically or responsive to a user requesting the graphical display)”, wherein examiner interpreted determining a time window of setting charge start time and charge-complete time that displays the window in a user interface module that can be a future time window as displaying a predicted time at which an energy storage device is expected to be fully charged, wherein examiner interpreted the time window being based on energy production and need for providing energy to a load as the predicted time being based on at least in part on the forecasted energy production curve, the forecasted energy consumption curve, and an energy storage device control plan that controls charging or discharging of the energy storage device, wherein examiner interpreted the charging and providing energy to energy storage device and from energy storage device as being the energy storage device control plan that controls charging or discharge of energy storage device).
Kiuchi, and Zauli are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They relate to power systems.
Therefore, before the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method of presenting a visual representation of the future energy system, as taught by Kiuchi, and incorporating displaying a predicted time at which an energy storage device is expected to be fully charged, as taught by Zauli.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated improve Col. 49, Line 39-55 “displaying charge start time and/or forecast of energy generated over time”, as suggested by Zauli.
Regarding claim 24, Kiuchi, and Zauli teaches all of the features with respect to claim 23 as outlined above.
Kiuchi further teaches wherein the user selection of the future time is based at least in part on user manipulation of a scrollable user interface element (Paragraph [0081] “When the operation illustrated in FIG. 3 starts, the control unit 16 controls such that the input detection unit 14 may detect an input to touch the icon depicting the object or a displayed graph, an input to touch and sweep (drag) the displayed graph, and an input to touch and flick the displayed graph (step S11)”, and Paragraph [0096] “Preferably, a graph showing the history information illustrated in FIG. 6, upon detection of an input operation by the user to sweep the graph or the like, shifts each axis of the graph so as to, for example, display older history information”, Paragraph [0097], and Paragraph [0100], wherein examiner interpreted sweeping or dragging the graph that shifts each axis of graph as the manipulation of a scrollable user interface element, wherein examiner interpreted user input of touch and sweep of graph and icons as the scrollable user interface element).
Regarding claim 25, Kiuchi, and Zauli teaches all of the features with respect to claim 24 as outlined above.
Kiuchi further teaches wherein responsive to the user manipulation of the scrollable user interface element, representations of energy flows among an energy consumer, a local generation system, the energy storage device, and a utility grid are updated (Fig. 5 describes each icon relation to energy flows among the energy consumer, a local generation system, an energy storage device, and a utility grid, and the following Figs. 6-10, and Paragraph [0094-0119] describes the graphs associated with each icons of the power system, and describes sweeping the graph to view information shown in Figs. 6-10, therefore examiner interpreted the sweeping of graphs to display information as user manipulation of the scrollable user interface element, where representations of energy flows among an energy consumer, local generation system, the energy storage device, and a utility grid are updated).
Regarding claim 26, Kiuchi, and Zauli teaches all of the features with respect to claim 23 as outlined above.
Kiuchi further teaches wherein presenting the visual representation of the future state of the energy system comprises displaying an indication of projected consumption, at the selected future time, of energy provided by at least one of a local generation system array or the energy storage device (Fig. 9, Paragraph [0115] “The graph illustrated in FIG. 9 shows, as examples of the various information associated with the power consumption, a transition of predicated solar power generation (PV prediction) by the solar power generation system 50, a transition of charge/discharge of the storage unit 60, and a transition of a purchasing price of the power purchased from the commercial power supply”, wherein examiner interpreted power consumption associated with the solar power generation and charge/discharge of storge unit as displaying indication of projected consumption, at the selected future time, of energy provided by at least one of a local generation system or an energy storage device, and see Fig. 5, Paragraphs [0092-0094] which describes and shows power moving from solar power generation system and storage battery to electric appliances).
Regarding claim 27, Kiuchi, and Zauli teaches all of the features with respect to claim 23 as outlined above.
Kiuchi further teaches wherein presenting the visual representation of the future state of the energy system comprises displaying an indication of projected consumption, at the selected future time, of energy from a utility grid (Fig. 9, Paragraph [0115] “The graph illustrated in FIG. 9 shows, as examples of the various information associated with the power consumption, a transition of predicated solar power generation (PV prediction) by the solar power generation system 50, a transition of charge/discharge of the storage unit 60, and a transition of a purchasing price of the power purchased from the commercial power supply”, wherein examiner interpreted power consumption associated with the solar power generation and charge/discharge of storge unit as displaying indication of projected consumption, at the selected future time, of energy provided by at least one of a local generation system or an energy storage device, and see Fig. 5, Paragraphs [0092-0094] which describes power provided by commercial power supply to electric appliances).
Regarding claim 28, Kiuchi, and Zauli teaches all of the features with respect to claim 23 as outlined above.
Kiuchi further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to display a projected period of self-consumption (Paragraph [0143] “Here, the "Display of Planned Operation" is used to display operation plans of the solar power generation system 50 and the storage unit 60, for example. When proceeding to a panel of the "Display of Planned Operation", a predicted future operation plan based on operation history or a preset future operation plan may be displayed, for example”, wherein examiner interpreted predicted future operation plan related to solar power generation system and storage unit as displaying projected period of self-consumption).
Regarding claim 29, Kiuchi, and Zauli teaches all of the features with respect to claim 23 as outlined above.
Kiuchi further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to display a predicted total solar production for a period of time (Fig. 9, Paragraph [0115] “The graph illustrated in FIG. 9 shows, as examples of the various information associated with the power consumption, a transition of predicated solar power generation (PV prediction) by the solar power generation system 50, a transition of charge/discharge of the storage unit 60, and a transition of a purchasing price of the power purchased from the commercial power supply”, wherein examiner interpreted displaying of predicted solar power generation as displaying a predicted total solar production for a period of time).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and on the attached PTO Form 892 but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Thirumurthy et al. [USPGPUB 2023/0305587] teaches a whole building or campus entity, energy management and energy control optimization, data presentation and visualization dashboard system.
Køber et al. [USPGPUB 2019/0392524] teaches display signal includes a first component relating to at least one physical stack from the set of physical stacks, and a second component relating to the marginal cost profile.
Bain et al. [USPGPUB 2019/0372345] teaches a platform and components for an automated consumer retail utility marketplace.
ENDO et al. [JP 2020/154429 A] teaches predict electric energy to be used at a station where a battery for vehicle is replaced.
Cueto et al. [USPGPUB 2015/0177933] teaches a thumbnail scrubber mode in electronic devices.
Johansson et al. [USP 9442548] teaches a computing device that monitors the energy level of a rechargeable battery, from which the device draws operating power.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119