DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s amendment filed on 7/31/2026 was received. Claims 1, 8, 15 were amended. Claims 6, 13, 20 were cancelled. Claims 5, 12, 19 were withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 1, 8, 15: To distinguish “a fuel cell power plant cooling system/structure” from “a second fuel cell power plant cooling system/structure”, Examiner interprets “a fuel cell power plant cooling system/structure” as “a first fuel cell power plant cooling system/structure”
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, 15 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1, 8, 15: wherein each of the two or more power units is [[are]] connected to one or more separate fuel cell power plant cooling systems/structures.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 9, 14, 15, 16 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (US 20230010307 A1). The rejections are restated below to address the amendment.
Regarding claim 1: Zhou et al. disclose a large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system (abstract). The large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system comprising:
a fuel supply main pipe (PL270) (par. 32, fig. 2) (equivalent to a fuel supply line) configured to receive fuel;
a first branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL273) and a second branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL275) (par. 32, fig. 2) (equivalent to two or more fuel cell system fuel supply lines) connected to the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) through a first injection valve (S280) and a second injection valve (S281), respectively, and configured to receive fuel from the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) (par. 32, fig. 2); and
a first cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA), a second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB)….., and a Nth cell stack module (par. 31, fig. 2) (a fist cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA) and a second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB) are equivalent to two power units of a first fuel cell power plant cooling system; a third cell stack module, a fourth cell stack module…, and a Nth cell stack module are equivalent to two or more power units of a second fuel cell power plant cooling system); wherein
the first cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA) and the second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB) are configured to be fueled by the first branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL273) and the second branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL275), respectively (fig. 2).
Zhou et al. further disclose the large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system comprises a cooling system (4) that covers each of the cell stack modules (par. 36, fig. 3) (the portion of the cooling system (4) covers the first cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA) and the second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB) is equivalent to the first fuel cell power plant cooling system; the portion of the cooling system (4) covers the third cell stack module, the fourth cell stack module…, and the Nth cell stack module is equivalent to the second fuel cell power plant cooling system). When the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) passes the second injection valve (S281) (the intersection of the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) and the second injection valve (S281) is equivalent to an end of the fuel supply line), the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) is continually connected to the third cell stack module, the fourth cell stack module…, and the Nth cell stack module. (The continuous fuel supply main pipe (PL270) is equivalent to a fuel supply line of a second fuel cell power plant cooling system) (see fig. below). Each of the first cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA) and the second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB) is connected to separate fuel cell power plant cooling systems via the main pipe (PL270) (see fig. below).
Regarding claim 2: Zhou et al. disclose each one of the cell stack modules includes a plurality of cell stacks (par. 31, fig. 2) (each cell stack is equivalent to one fuel cell system).
Regarding claim 7: Zhou et al. disclose a large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system. The proton exchange membrane fuel cell can use hydrogen as the fuel as evidenced by Osborne et al (US 20100183936 A1) (par. 1-4, 11).
Regarding claim 8: Zhou et al. disclose a large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system (abstract). The large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system comprising:
a fuel supply main pipe (PL270) (par. 32, fig. 2) (equivalent to a fuel supply line) configured to receive fuel;
a first branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL273) and a second branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL275) (par. 32, fig. 2) (equivalent to two or more fuel cell system fuel supply lines) connected to the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) through a first injection valve (S280) and a second injection valve (S281), respectively, and configured to receive fuel from the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) (par. 32, fig. 2); and
a first cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA), a second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB)….., and a Nth cell stack module (par. 31, fig. 2) (a fist cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA) and a second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB) are equivalent to two power units of a first fuel cell power plant cooling structure; a third cell stack module, a fourth cell stack module…, and a Nth cell stack module are equivalent to two or more power units of a second fuel cell power plant cooling structure); wherein
the first cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA) and the second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB) are configured to be fueled by the first branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL273) and the second branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL275), respectively (fig. 2).
Zhou et al. further disclose the large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system comprises a cooling system (4) that covers each of the cell stack modules (par. 36, fig. 3) (the portion of the cooling system (4) covers the first cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA) and the second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB) is equivalent to the first fuel cell power plant cooling structure; the portion of the cooling system (4) covers the third cell stack module, the fourth cell stack module…, and the Nth cell stack module is equivalent to the second fuel cell power plant cooling structure). When the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) passes the second injection valve (S281) (the intersection of the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) and the second injection valve (S281) is equivalent to an end of the fuel supply line), the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) is continually connected to the third cell stack module, the fourth cell stack module…, and the Nth cell stack module. (The continuous fuel supply main pipe (PL270) is equivalent to a fuel supply line of a second fuel cell power plant cooling structure) (see fig. above). Each of the first cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA) and the second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB) is connected to separate fuel cell power plant cooling structures via the main pipe (PL270) (see fig. above).
Regarding claim 9: Zhou et al. disclose each one of the cell stack modules includes a plurality of cell stacks (par. 31, fig. 2) (each cell stack is equivalent to one fuel cell system).
Regarding claim 14: Zhou et al. disclose a large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system. The proton exchange membrane fuel cell can use hydrogen as the fuel as evidenced by Osborne et al (US 20100183936 A1) (par. 1-4, 11).
Regarding claim 15: Zhou et al. disclose a large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system (abstract). The large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system comprising:
a fuel supply main pipe (PL270) (par. 32, fig. 2) (equivalent to a fuel supply line) configured to receive fuel;
a first branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL273) (equivalent to a first fuel cell system fuel supply line) connected to the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) through a first injection valve (S280) and configured to receive fuel from the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) (par. 32, fig. 2);
a second branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL275) (equivalent to a second fuel cell system fuel supply line) connected to the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) through a second injection valve (S281) and configured to receive fuel from the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) (par. 32, fig. 2);
a first cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA) (equivalent to a first power unit) configured to be fueled by the first branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL273) (fig. 2);
a second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB) (equivalent to a second power unit) configured to be fueled by the second branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL275) (fig. 2); and
a third cell stack module, a fourth cell stack module…, and a Nth cell stack module (par. 31, fig. 2) (a fist cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA) and a second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB) are equivalent to two power units of a first fuel cell power plant cooling system; a third cell stack module, a fourth cell stack module…, and a Nth cell stack module are equivalent to two or more power units of a second fuel cell power plant cooling system).
Zhou et al. further disclose the large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system comprises a cooling system (4) that covers each of the cell stack modules (par. 36, fig. 3) (the portion of the cooling system (4) covers the first cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA) and the second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB) is equivalent to the first fuel cell power plant cooling system; the portion of the cooling system (4) covers the third cell stack module, the fourth cell stack module…, and the Nth cell stack module is equivalent to the second fuel cell power plant cooling system). When the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) passes the second injection valve (S281) (the intersection of the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) and the second injection valve (S281) is equivalent to an end of the fuel supply line), the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) is continually connected to the third cell stack module, the fourth cell stack module…, and the Nth cell stack module. (The continuous fuel supply main pipe (PL270) is equivalent to a fuel supply line of a second fuel cell power plant cooling system) (see fig. above). Each of the first cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA) and the second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB) is connected to separate fuel cell power plant cooling systems via the main pipe (PL270) (see fig. above).
Regarding claim 16: Zhou et al. disclose each one of the cell stack modules includes a plurality of cell stacks (par. 31, fig. 2) (each cell stack is equivalent to one fuel cell system).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20230010307 A1) as applied in claim 2 above, and further in view of Osborne et al. (US 20100183936 A1).
Regarding claim 3: Zhou et al. disclose a large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system as described in paragraph 5 above. Zhou et al. fail to explicitly disclose one or more of the fuel cell systems are repurposed from vehicle fuel cells. However, Osborne et al. disclose a modular fuel cell power system (abstract). The modular fuel cell power system comprises a fuel cell stack (12) (par. 11, fig. 1). The fuel cell stack can be disposed within a vehicle (par. 11) (equivalent to the fuel cell systems are repurposed from vehicle fuel cells). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fuel cell stack in a vehicle of Osborne et al. for the cell stack of Zhou et al. because Osborne et al. teach that fuel cell stack can be either within a vehicle or outside a vehicle (par. 11).
Claim 4 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20230010307 A1) as applied in claim 2 above, and further in view of Kitamoto et al. (US 20190143839 A1).
Regarding claim 4: Zhou et al. disclose a large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system as described in paragraph 5 above. Zhou et al. further disclose each one of the cell stack modules includes a plurality of cell stacks (par. 31, fig. 2) (each cell stack is equivalent to one fuel cell system). Zhou et al. fail to explicitly disclose one or more of the fuel cell systems include a battery, an air pump, a DC-DC converter, and a fuel cell voltage converter unit (FCVCU). However, Kitamoto et al. disclose a control apparatus for a fuel cell device (abstract). The control apparatus (1) controls a fuel cell device (10) as the vehicle plant (par. 33, fig. 1). In a vehicle (3), the fuel cell device (10), a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a VCU (30), are installed. The fuel cell device includes a fuel cell stack, a hydrogen tank, a hydrogen pump, an air pump, and a first ECU (11). The VCU (30) includes DC/DC converter (par. 33, 34, 37, 43, fig. 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include all relevant parts (an air pump, a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a DC/DC converter) of Kitamoto et al. into the cell stack of Zhou et al. because Kitamoto et al. teach that the control apparatus is capable of reducing computational load and a storage capacity for a power plant (par. 6).
Claim 10 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20230010307 A1) as applied in claim 9 above, and further in view of Osborne et al. (US 20100183936 A1).
Regarding claim 10: Zhou et al. disclose a large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system as described in paragraph 5 above. Zhou et al. fail to explicitly disclose one or more of the fuel cell systems are repurposed from vehicle fuel cells. However, Osborne et al. disclose a modular fuel cell power system (abstract). The modular fuel cell power system comprises a fuel cell stack (12) (par. 11, fig. 1). The fuel cell stack can be disposed within a vehicle (par. 11) (equivalent to the fuel cell systems are repurposed from vehicle fuel cells). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fuel cell stack in a vehicle of Osborne et al. for the cell stack of Zhou et al. because Osborne et al. teach that fuel cell stack can be either within a vehicle or outside a vehicle (par. 11).
Claim 11 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20230010307 A1) as applied in claim 9 above, and further in view of Kitamoto et al. (US 20190143839 A1).
Regarding claim 11: Zhou et al. disclose a large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system as described in paragraph 5 above. Zhou et al. further disclose each one of the cell stack modules includes a plurality of cell stacks (par. 31, fig. 2) (each cell stack is equivalent to one fuel cell system). Zhou et al. fail to explicitly disclose one or more of the fuel cell systems include a battery, an air pump, a DC-DC converter, and a fuel cell voltage converter unit (FCVCU). However, Kitamoto et al. disclose a control apparatus for a fuel cell device (abstract). The control apparatus (1) controls a fuel cell device (10) as the vehicle plant (par. 33, fig. 1). In a vehicle (3), the fuel cell device (10), a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a VCU (30), are installed. The fuel cell device includes a fuel cell stack, a hydrogen tank, a hydrogen pump, an air pump, and a first ECU (11). The VCU (30) includes DC/DC converter (par. 33, 34, 37, 43, fig. 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include all relevant parts (an air pump, a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a DC/DC converter) of Kitamoto et al. into the cell stack of Zhou et al. because Kitamoto et al. teach that the control apparatus is capable of reducing computational load and a storage capacity for a power plant (par. 6).
Claim 17 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20230010307 A1) as applied in claim 16 above, and further in view of Osborne et al. (US 20100183936 A1).
Regarding claim 17: Zhou et al. disclose a large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system as described in paragraph 5 above. Zhou et al. fail to explicitly disclose one or more of the fuel cell systems are repurposed from vehicle fuel cells. However, Osborne et al. disclose a modular fuel cell power system (abstract). The modular fuel cell power system comprises a fuel cell stack (12) (par. 11, fig. 1). The fuel cell stack can be disposed within a vehicle (par. 11) (equivalent to the fuel cell systems are repurposed from vehicle fuel cells). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fuel cell stack in a vehicle of Osborne et al. for the cell stack of Zhou et al. because Osborne et al. teach that fuel cell stack can be either within a vehicle or outside a vehicle (par. 11).
Claim 18 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20230010307 A1) as applied in claim 16 above, and further in view of Kitamoto et al. (US 20190143839 A1).
Regarding claim 18: Zhou et al. disclose a large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system as described in paragraph 5 above. Zhou et al. further disclose each one of the cell stack modules includes a plurality of cell stacks (par. 31, fig. 2) (each cell stack is equivalent to one fuel cell system). Zhou et al. fail to explicitly disclose one or more of the fuel cell systems include a battery, an air pump, a DC-DC converter, and a fuel cell voltage converter unit (FCVCU). However, Kitamoto et al. disclose a control apparatus for a fuel cell device (abstract). The control apparatus (1) controls a fuel cell device (10) as the vehicle plant (par. 33, fig. 1). In a vehicle (3), the fuel cell device (10), a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a VCU (30), are installed. The fuel cell device includes a fuel cell stack, a hydrogen tank, a hydrogen pump, an air pump, and a first ECU (11). The VCU (30) includes DC/DC converter (par. 33, 34, 37, 43, fig. 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include all relevant parts (an air pump, a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a DC/DC converter) of Kitamoto et al. into the cell stack of Zhou et al. because Kitamoto et al. teach that the control apparatus is capable of reducing computational load and a storage capacity for a power plant (par. 6).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant primarily argues:
Zhou does not teach or suggest each of the two or more power units are connected to one or more separate fuel cell power plant cooling systems.
In response:
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The connections of the coolant supply and return lines between the first cooling system and the second cooling system are not defined in the instant claims. In addition, Zhou discloses a first cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA) and a second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB) (a fist cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA) and a second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB) are equivalent to two power units of a first fuel cell power plant cooling system) are connected to a first cooling water inlet branch pipe (PL401) and a second cooling water inlet branch pipe (PL403), respectively (par. 36, fig. 3) (a combination of the first cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA), the second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB), the first cooling water inlet branch pipe (PL401), and the second cooling water inlet branch pipe is equivalent to a first cooling system). Zhou further discloses a Nth cell stack module (an Nth cell stack module is equivalent to a power unit of a second fuel cell power plant system) is connected to an Nth cooling water inlet branch pipe (par. 36) (a combination of an Nth cell stack module and an Nth cooling water inlet branch pipe is equivalent to a second cooling system). As the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) and the water delivery main pipe (PL406) are connected to the first cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA), the second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB), and the Nth cell stack module, the first cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA) and the second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB) are connected to the second cooling system via the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) and the water delivery main pipe (PL406).
Conclusion
/PIN JAN WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717