DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s amendment filed on 4/2/2026 was received. Claims 1-5, 7-11, 14-19 were amended. Claims 6, 13, 20 were cancelled. Claims 5, 12, 19 were withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding to claims 1, 8, 15: Applicant alleged the limitation of “an end of the fuel supply line of the fuel cell power plant cooling system (structure) is connected to a fuel supply line of a second fuel cell power plant cooling system (structure)” can be supported in paragraphs [0014] and [0075]. However, it is coolant supply lines (402a, 404a),instead of fuel supply lines, to be connected to coolant supply lines (402b, 404b) of a second fuel cell power plant cooling system (fig. 4B and 4C in the instant application). For purposes of examination, Examiner uses fuel supply lines, instead of coolant supply lines, in the instant limitation as recited in the claims. Examiner interprets “an end of the fuel supply line of the fuel cell power plant cooling system (structure) is connected to a fuel supply line of a second fuel cell power plant cooling system (structure)” as “an end of the fuel supply line of the fuel cell power plant system (structure) is connected to a fuel supply line of a second fuel cell power plant system (structure); wherein each of the fuel power plant systems (structures) has a cooling system”.
Claim Objections
The claim objection on claims 6, 13, 20 are withdrawn because Applicant canceled claims 6, 13, 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (US 20230010307 A1) on claims 6, 13, 20 are withdrawn because Applicant cancelled claims 6, 13, 20.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 9, 14, 15, 16 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (US 20230010307 A1). The rejections are restated below to address the amendment.
Regarding to claim 1: Zhou et al. disclose a large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system (abstract). The large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system comprising:
a fuel supply main pipe (PL270) (par. 32, fig. 2) (equivalent to a fuel supply line) configured to receive fuel;
a first branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL273) and a second branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL275) (par. 32, fig. 2) (equivalent to two or more fuel cell system fuel supply lines) connected to the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) through a first injection valve (S280) and a second injection valve (S281), respectively, and configured to receive fuel from the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) (par. 32, fig. 2); and
a first cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA), a second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB), and an Nth cell stack module (par. 31, fig. 2) (A fist cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA) and a second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB) are equivalent to two power units of a fuel cell power plant system. An Nth cell stack module is equivalent to a power unit of a second fuel cell power plant system.); wherein
the first cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA) and the second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB) are configured to be fueled by the first branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL273) and the second branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL275), respectively (fig. 2).
Zhou et al. further disclose the large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system comprises a cooling system (4) (equivalent to a fuel cell power plant cooling system) that covers each of the cell stack modules (equivalent to each of the fuel power plant systems having a cooling system) (par. 36, fig. 3). When the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) passes the second injection valve (S281) (the intersection of the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) and the second injection valve (S281) is equivalent to an end of the fuel supply line), the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) is continually connected to the Nth cell stack module, which is covered by the cooling systems (4) (The continuous fuel supply main pipe (PL270) is equivalent to a fuel supply line of a second fuel cell power plant system) (see fig. end below).
Regarding to claim 2: Zhou et al. disclose each one of the cell stack modules includes a plurality of cell stacks (par. 31, fig. 2) (each cell stack is equivalent to one fuel cell system).
Regarding to claim 7: Zhou et al. disclose a large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system. The proton exchange membrane fuel cell can use hydrogen as the fuel as evidenced by Osborne et al (US 20100183936 A1) (par. 1-4, 11).
Regarding to claim 8: Zhou et al. disclose a large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system (abstract). The large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system comprising:
a fuel supply main pipe (PL270) (par. 32, fig. 2) (equivalent to a fuel supply line) configured to receive fuel;
a first branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL273) and a second branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL275) (par. 32, fig. 2) (equivalent to two or more fuel cell system fuel supply lines) connected to the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) through a first injection valve (S280) and a second injection valve (S281), respectively, and configured to receive fuel from the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) (par. 32, fig. 2); and
a first cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA), a second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB), and an Nth cell stack module (par. 31, fig. 2) (A fist cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA) and a second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB) are equivalent to two power units of a fuel cell power plant structure. An Nth cell stack module is equivalent to a power unit of a second fuel cell power plant structure.); wherein
the first cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA) and the second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB) are configured to be fueled by the first branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL273) and the second branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL275), respectively (fig. 2).
Zhou et al. further disclose the large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system comprises a cooling system (4) (equivalent to a fuel cell power plant cooling structure) that covers each of the cell stack modules (equivalent to each of the fuel power plant structures having a cooling system) (par. 36, fig. 3). When the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) passes the second injection valve (S281) (the intersection of the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) and the second injection valve (S281) is equivalent to an end of the fuel supply line), the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) is continually connected to the Nth cell stack module, which is covered by the cooling systems (4) (The continuous fuel supply main pipe (PL270) is equivalent to a fuel supply line of a second fuel cell power plant structure) (see fig. end above).
Regarding to claim 9: Zhou et al. disclose each one of the cell stack modules includes a plurality of cell stacks (par. 31, fig. 2) (each cell stack is equivalent to one fuel cell system).
Regarding to claim 14: Zhou et al. disclose a large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system. The proton exchange membrane fuel cell can use hydrogen as the fuel as evidenced by Osborne et al (US 20100183936 A1) (par. 1-4, 11).
Regarding to claim 15: Zhou et al. disclose a large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system (abstract). The large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system comprising:
a fuel supply main pipe (PL270) (par. 32, fig. 2) (equivalent to a fuel supply line) configured to receive fuel;
a first branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL273) (equivalent to a first fuel cell system fuel supply line) connected to the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) through a first injection valve (S280) and configured to receive fuel from the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) (par. 32, fig. 2);
a second branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL275) (equivalent to a second fuel cell system fuel supply line) connected to the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) through a second injection valve (S281) and configured to receive fuel from the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) (par. 32, fig. 2);
a first cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA) (equivalent to a first power unit) configured to be fueled by the first branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL273) (fig. 2); and
a second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB) (equivalent to a second power unit) configured to be fueled by the second branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL275) (fig. 2).
Zhou et al. further disclose the large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system comprises a cooling system (4) (equivalent to a fuel cell power plant cooling system) that covers each of the cell stack modules (equivalent to each of the fuel power plant systems having a cooling system) (par. 36, fig. 3). When the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) passes the second injection valve (S281) (the intersection of the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) and the second injection valve (S281) is equivalent to an end of the fuel supply line), the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) is continually connected to an Nth cell stack module (equivalent to a power unit of a second fuel cell power plant system), which is covered by the cooling systems (4) (The continuous fuel supply main pipe (PL270) is equivalent to a fuel supply line of a second fuel cell power plant system) (see fig. end above).
Regarding to claim 16: Zhou et al. disclose each one of the cell stack modules includes a plurality of cell stacks (par. 31, fig. 2) (each cell stack is equivalent to one fuel cell system).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20230010307 A1) as applied in claim 2 above, and further in view of Osborne et al. (US 20100183936 A1).
Regarding to claim 3: Zhou et al. disclose a large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system as described in paragraph 5 above. Zhou et al. fail to explicitly disclose one or more of the fuel cell systems are repurposed from vehicle fuel cells. However, Osborne et al. disclose a modular fuel cell power system (abstract). The modular fuel cell power system comprises a fuel cell stack (12) (par. 11, fig. 1). The fuel cell stack can be disposed within a vehicle (par. 11) (equivalent to the fuel cell systems are repurposed from vehicle fuel cells). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fuel cell stack in a vehicle of Osborne et al. for the cell stack of Zhou et al. because Osborne et al. teach that fuel cell stack can be either within a vehicle or outside a vehicle (par. 11).
Claim 4 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20230010307 A1) as applied in claim 2 above, and further in view of Kitamoto et al. (US 20190143839 A1).
Regarding to claim 4: Zhou et al. disclose each one of the cell stack modules includes a plurality of cell stacks (par. 31, fig. 2) (each cell stack is equivalent to one fuel cell system). Zhou et al. fail to explicitly disclose one or more of the fuel cell systems include a battery, an air pump, a DC-DC converter, and a fuel cell voltage converter unit (FCVCU). However, Kitamoto et al. disclose a control apparatus for a fuel cell device (abstract). The control apparatus (1) controls a fuel cell device (10) as the vehicle plant (par. 33, fig. 1). In a vehicle (3), the fuel cell device (10), a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a VCU (30), are installed. The fuel cell device includes a fuel cell stack, a hydrogen tank, a hydrogen pump, an air pump, and a first ECU (11). The VCU (30) includes DC/DC converter (par. 33, 34, 37, 43, fig. 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include all relevant parts (an air pump, a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a DC/DC converter) of Kitamoto et al. into the cell stack of Zhou et al. because Kitamoto et al. teach that the control apparatus is capable of reducing computational load and a storage capacity for a power plant (par. 6).
Claim 10 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20230010307 A1) as applied in claim 9 above, and further in view of Osborne et al. (US 20100183936 A1).
Regarding to claim 10: Zhou et al. disclose a large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system as described in paragraph 5 above. Zhou et al. fail to explicitly disclose one or more of the fuel cell systems are repurposed from vehicle fuel cells. However, Osborne et al. disclose a modular fuel cell power system (abstract). The modular fuel cell power system comprises a fuel cell stack (12) (par. 11, fig. 1). The fuel cell stack can be disposed within a vehicle (par. 11) (equivalent to the fuel cell systems are repurposed from vehicle fuel cells). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fuel cell stack in a vehicle of Osborne et al. for the cell stack of Zhou et al. because Osborne et al. teach that fuel cell stack can be either within a vehicle or outside a vehicle (par. 11).
Claim 11 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20230010307 A1) as applied in claim 9 above, and further in view of Kitamoto et al. (US 20190143839 A1).
Regarding to claim 11: Zhou et al. disclose each one of the cell stack modules includes a plurality of cell stacks (par. 31, fig. 2) (each cell stack is equivalent to one fuel cell system). Zhou et al. fail to explicitly disclose one or more of the fuel cell systems include a battery, an air pump, a DC-DC converter, and a fuel cell voltage converter unit (FCVCU). However, Kitamoto et al. disclose a control apparatus for a fuel cell device (abstract). The control apparatus (1) controls a fuel cell device (10) as the vehicle plant (par. 33, fig. 1). In a vehicle (3), the fuel cell device (10), a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a VCU (30), are installed. The fuel cell device includes a fuel cell stack, a hydrogen tank, a hydrogen pump, an air pump, and a first ECU (11). The VCU (30) includes DC/DC converter (par. 33, 34, 37, 43, fig. 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include all relevant parts (an air pump, a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a DC/DC converter) of Kitamoto et al. into the cell stack of Zhou et al. because Kitamoto et al. teach that the control apparatus is capable of reducing computational load and a storage capacity for a power plant (par. 6).
Claim 17 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20230010307 A1) as applied in claim 16 above, and further in view of Osborne et al. (US 20100183936 A1).
Regarding to claim 17: Zhou et al. disclose a large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system as described in paragraph 5 above. Zhou et al. fail to explicitly disclose one or more of the fuel cell systems are repurposed from vehicle fuel cells. However, Osborne et al. disclose a modular fuel cell power system (abstract). The modular fuel cell power system comprises a fuel cell stack (12) (par. 11, fig. 1). The fuel cell stack can be disposed within a vehicle (par. 11) (equivalent to the fuel cell systems are repurposed from vehicle fuel cells). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fuel cell stack in a vehicle of Osborne et al. for the cell stack of Zhou et al. because Osborne et al. teach that fuel cell stack can be either within a vehicle or outside a vehicle (par. 11).
Claim 18 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20230010307 A1) as applied in claim 16 above, and further in view of Kitamoto et al. (US 20190143839 A1).
Regarding to claim 18: Zhou et al. disclose each one of the cell stack modules includes a plurality of cell stacks (par. 31, fig. 2) (each cell stack is equivalent to one fuel cell system). Zhou et al. fail to explicitly disclose one or more of the fuel cell systems include a battery, an air pump, a DC-DC converter, and a fuel cell voltage converter unit (FCVCU). However, Kitamoto et al. disclose a control apparatus for a fuel cell device (abstract). The control apparatus (1) controls a fuel cell device (10) as the vehicle plant (par. 33, fig. 1). In a vehicle (3), the fuel cell device (10), a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a VCU (30), are installed. The fuel cell device includes a fuel cell stack, a hydrogen tank, a hydrogen pump, an air pump, and a first ECU (11). The VCU (30) includes DC/DC converter (par. 33, 34, 37, 43, fig. 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include all relevant parts (an air pump, a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a DC/DC converter) of Kitamoto et al. into the cell stack of Zhou et al. because Kitamoto et al. teach that the control apparatus is capable of reducing computational load and a storage capacity for a power plant (par. 6).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments filed on 04/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant primarily argues:
Zhou discloses a distributed cell stack module connected to a cooling system, rather than a first cooling system connected to a second cooling system, as required by amended claim 1. The other prior arts, Osbourne and Kitamoto, fail to remedy the shortcomings of Zhou.
In response:
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. Zhou discloses a first cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA) and a second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB) (a fist cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA) and a second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB) are equivalent to two power units of a first fuel cell power plant system) are connected to a first cooling water inlet branch pipe (PL401) and a second cooling water inlet branch pipe (PL403), respectively (par. 36, fig. 3) (a combination of a first cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA), a second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB), a first cooling water inlet branch pipe (PL401), and a second cooling water inlet branch pipe is equivalent to a first cooling system). Zhou further discloses a Nth cell stack module (an Nth cell stack module is equivalent to a power unit of a second fuel cell power plant system) is connected to an Nth cooling water inlet branch pipe (par. 36) (a combination of an Nth cell stack module and an Nth cooling water inlet branch pipe is equivalent to a second cooling system). As the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) connected to the first cell stack module (FC101A-FCnA), the second cell stack module (FC101B-FCnB), and the Nth cell stack module, the fuel supply main pipe (PL270) is connected the first cooling system and the second cooling system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PIN JAN WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717