DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on May 12th, 2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of Application No. 18/087,458 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 4-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
As summarized in MPEP § 2106, subject matter eligibility is determined based on a Two-Part Analysis for Judicial Exceptions. In Step 1, it must be determined whether the claimed invention is directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter. The instant application includes claims concerning a system or gaming device (i.e., a machine) in claims 1-2, 4-14, 16-18, and a method (i.e., a process) in claims 19-20.
In Prong 1 of Step 2A, it must be determined whether the claimed invention recites an Abstract Idea, Law of Nature or a Natural Phenomenon.
In particular exemplary presented claim 1 includes the following underlined claim elements:
1. A game controller for an Electronic Gaming Machine (EGM) comprising:
a random number generator;
a processor circuit; and
a memory comprising machine-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor circuit, cause the processor circuit to:
generate, based on a first random number generated by the random number generator, a first game result for a wagering game, the first game result comprising a bonus game trigger event;
based on the bonus game trigger event, control a Graphical User Interface (GUI) of the EGM to initiate, at a display device of the EGM a bonus game;
determine whether a plurality of available bonus game features comprises a minimum number of available bonus game features;
based on a determination that the plurality of available bonus game features does not comprise the minimum number of available bonus game features, add a sufficient number of bonus game features to the plurality of available bonus game features such that the plurality of available game features comprises the minimum number of available bonus game features and control the GUI to display the plurality of available bonus game features comprising the sufficient number of bonus game features;
receive, via the GUI, a user selection of a subset of bonus game features from a plurality of available bonus game features;
based on the selection of the subset of bonus game features, control the GUI to apply the subset of bonus game feature to the bonus game; and
generate, based on a second random number generated by the random number generator a bonus game result for the bonus game;
control the GUI to display an indication of the bonus game result; and
based on the bonus game result, cause the EGM to award a bonus game award.
The claim elements underlined above, concern the court enumerated abstract ideas of Mental Processes including observation, evaluation, and judgement because the claims are directed to series of steps for evaluating and resolving the state of a game as well as Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity including managing personal behavior including interactions between people including social activities and following rules or instructions because the claims set forth the game rules/instructions involving one or more parties in the context of a game interface.
As the exemplary claim recites an Abstract Idea, Law of Nature or a Natural Phenomenon it is further considered under Prong 2 of Step 2A to determine if the claim recites additional elements that would integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Wherein the practical applications are set forth by MPEP §2106.05(a-c,e) are broadly directed to: the improvement in technology, use of a particular machine and applying or using the judicial exception in a meaningful way beyond generally linking the use thereof to a technology environment. Limitations that explicitly do not support the integration of the judicial exception in to a practical application are defined by MPEP 2106.05(f-h) and include merely using a computer to implement the abstract idea, insignificant extra solution activity, and generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technology environment or field of use.
With respect to the above the claimed invention is not integrated into a practical application because it does not meet the criteria of MPEP §2106.05(a-c,e) and although it is performed on an Electronic Gaming Machine (EGM), a display device, a processor circuit and a memory it is not directed to a particular machine because the hardware elements are not linked to a specific device/machine and would reasonably include other devices such as generic computers, smart phones, game consoles, and the like. Accordingly, the claims limitations are not indicative of the integration of the identified judicial exception into a practical application, and the consideration of patent eligibility continues to step 2B.
Step 2B requires that if the claim encompasses a judicially recognized exception, it must be determined whether the claimed invention recites additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional element(s) or combination of elements in the claim(s) other than the abstract idea(s) per se including an Electronic Gaming Machine (EGM), a display device, a processor circuit and a memory amount(s) to no more than: (i) mere instructions to implement the idea on a computer, and/or (ii) recitation of generic computer structures that serves to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry per the applicant’s description (Applicant’s specification Paragraphs [0018], [0038], [0040], [0043]-[0044], [0052],[0081], [0083]). Viewed as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Accordingly, as presented the claimed invention when considered, as a whole, amounts to the mere instructions to implement an abstract idea [i.e. software or equivalent process steps] on a generic computer [i.e. controller or processor] without causing the improvement of the generic computer or another technology field.
The Applicant’s specification is further noted as supporting the above rejection wherein neither the abstract idea nor the associated generic computer structure as claimed are disclosed as improving another technological field, improvements to the function of the computer itself, or meaningfully linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment (Applicant’s specification Paragraphs [0018], [0038], [0040], [0043]-[0044], [0052],[0081], [0083]). In particular the Applicant’s specification only contains computing elements which are conventional and generally widely known in the field of the invention described, and accordingly their exact nature or type is not necessary for an understanding and use of the invention by a person skilled in the art per the requirements of 37 CFR 1.71. Were these elements of the Applicant’s invention to be presented in the future as non-conventional and non-generic involvement of a computing structure, such would stand at odds with the disclosure of the applicant's invention as found in their specification as originally filed.
“[I]f a patent’s recitation of a computer amounts to a mere instruction to ‘implemen[t]’ an abstract idea ‘on . . .a computer,’ . . . that addition cannot impart patent eligibility.” Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2358 (quoting Mayo, 132S. Ct. at 1301). In this case, the claims recite a generic computer implementation of the covered abstract idea.
The remaining presented claims 2, 4-14, and 16-20 incorporate substantially similar abstract concepts as noted with respect to the exemplary claim 1, while the additional elements recited by the additional claims including one or more of an Electronic Gaming Machine (EGM), a game controller, a display device, a processor circuit, a memory, a display device, an input device as respectively presented that when considered both individually and as a whole in the respective combinations of the additional claims are not sufficient to support patent eligibility under prong 2 of step 2A or step 2B for the reasons set forth above with respect to the exemplary claim 1 and further present substantially similar abstract concepts as noted with reflection to exemplary claim 1 above and therefore are similarly directed to or otherwise include abstract ideas.
Therefore, the listed claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoffman et al (US 2012/0214580)
Claim 1: Hoffman et al teaches a game controller for an Electronic Gaming Machine
(EGM) comprising:
a random number generator (Hoffman Paragraphs [0035], [0038]);
a processor circuit (Hoffman Figure 2; Element 12); and
a memory (Hoffman Figure 2; Element 14) comprising machine-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor circuit (Hoffman Paragraphs [0035] [0099]), cause the processor circuit to:
generate, based on a first random number generated by the random number generator a first game result for a wagering game, the first game result comprising a bonus game trigger event (Hoffman Paragraph [0038]; Figure 3; Elements 102, 106);
based on the bonus game trigger event, control a Graphical User Interface (GUI) of the EGM to initiate, at a display device of the EGM, a bonus game (Hoffman Figure 3; Elements 102, 108);
determine whether a plurality of available bonus game features comprises a minimum number of available bonus game features (-wherein for each of the plurality of primary game events the player may accumulate bonus game features and based on the accumulation of bonus game features they may selectively participate in a bonus game- Hoffman Paragraph [0038]; Figures 3, 6A; Elements 102, 108, 152, 154);
based on a determination that the plurality of available bonus game features does not comprise the minimum number of available bonus game features, add a sufficient number of bonus game features to the plurality of available bonus game features such that the plurality of available game features comprises the minimum number of available bonus game features and control the GUI to display the plurality of available bonus game features comprising the sufficient number of bonus game features (-when the player does not have any accumulated bonus features ‘zero’ the game cycle allows them to accumulate a minimum number ‘at least one/one’ of bonus game features during play subsequently to which the selectable bonus game features are selectively available to the player- Hoffman Figures 3, 6A-6B; Elements 104, 106, 150, 152, 154, Paragraphs [0101]-[0102], [0150]);
receive, via the GUI, a user selection of a subset of bonus game features from a plurality of available bonus game features (Hoffman Figure 3; Element 112);
based on the selection of the subset of bonus game features, control the GUI to apply the subset of bonus game feature to the bonus game (Hoffman Figures 3, 6C; Element 116); and
generate based on a second random number generated by the random number generator, a bonus game result for the bonus game (Hoffman Paragraph [0038]; Figure 3; Element 118);
control the GUI to display an indication of the bonus game result (Hoffman Figure 6D); and
based on the bonus game result, cause the EGM to award a bonus game award (Hoffman Figure 3; Element 120).
Claim 2: Hoffman et al teaches the game controller of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the processor circuit to, based on application of the subset of bonus game features to the bonus game, remove the subset of bonus game features from the plurality of available bonus games features (Hoffman Figure 3; Element 114).
Claim 4: Hoffman et al teaches the game controller of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the processor circuit to:
generate a second game result for a wagering game, the second game result comprising a bonus game feature trigger event (Hoffman Figure 3; Element 104); and
based on the bonus game feature trigger event, add a bonus game feature to the plurality of available bonus game features (Hoffman Figure 3; Element 106).
Claim 5: Hoffman et al teaches the game controller of claim 1, wherein the user selection of the subset of bonus game features comprises a plurality of user selections of a plurality of individual bonus game features of the plurality of available bonus game features (Hoffman Figures 3, 6B; Elements 110, 112).
Claim 6: Hoffman et al teaches the game controller of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the processor circuit to:
display a plurality of predetermined subsets of bonus game features, wherein the user selection of the subset of bonus game features comprises a user selection of one of the plurality of predetermined subsets of bonus game features (Hoffman Figures 3, 6B; Elements 110, 112).
Claim 7: Hoffman et al teaches the game controller of claim 1, wherein a bonus game feature of the subset of bonus game features comprises a predetermined number of free spins for a slot-style bonus game (Hoffman Figure 6B; Paragraphs [0133]).
Claim 8: Hoffman et al teaches the game controller of claim 1, wherein a bonus game feature of the subset of bonus game features comprises a predetermined multiplier for a bonus game award of the bonus game (Hoffman Figure 6B; Element 166; Paragraphs [0107]).
Claim 9: Hoffman et al teaches the game controller of claim 1, wherein a bonus game feature of the subset of bonus game features comprises a modification of a slot symbol for a slot-style bonus game (Hoffman Figure 6B; Element 156).
Claim 10: Hoffman et al teaches the game controller of claim 9, wherein the modification of the slot symbol comprises a replacement of the slot symbol with a wild symbol (Hoffman Figure 6B; Element 160).
Claim 11: Hoffman et al teaches the game controller of claim 1, wherein a bonus game feature of the subset of bonus game features comprises a modification of a slot reel for a slot-style bonus game (Hoffman Figure 6B; Element 162; Paragraphs [0115], [0127]).
Claim 12: Hoffman et al teaches the game controller of claim 11, wherein the modification of the slot reel comprises a replacement of the slot reel with a wild reel (Hoffman Figure 6B; Element 162; Paragraph [0057], [0115], [0127]).
Claim 13: Hoffman et al teaches an Electronic Gaming Machine (EGM) comprising:
a display device (Hoffman Figure 2; Element 16, 18, 40);
an input device (Hoffman Figure 2; Element 30);
a random number generator (Hoffman Paragraphs [0035], [0038]);
a game controller comprising a processor circuit (Hoffman Figure 2; Element 12); and
a memory (Hoffman Figure 2; Element 14) comprising machine-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor circuit (Hoffman Paragraphs [0035] [0099]), cause the processor circuit to:
based on receipt of a wager at the input device, a first random number generated by the random number generator, generate a first game result for a wagering game, the first game result comprising a bonus game trigger event (Hoffman Figure 3; Elements 102, 106; Paragraphs [0038], [0100]);
based on the bonus game trigger event, control a Graphical User Interface (GUI) of the EGM to initiate, at a display device of the EGM, a bonus game (Hoffman Figure 3; Elements 102, 108);
determine whether a plurality of available bonus game features comprises a minimum number of available bonus game features (-wherein for each of the plurality of primary game events the player may accumulate bonus game features and based on the accumulation of bonus game features they may selectively participate in a bonus game- Hoffman Paragraph [0038]; Figures 3, 6A; Elements 102, 108, 152, 154);
based on a determination that the plurality of available bonus game features does not comprise the minimum number of available bonus game features, add a sufficient number of bonus game features to the plurality of available bonus game features such that the plurality of available game features comprises the minimum number of available bonus game features and control the GUI to display the plurality of available bonus game features comprising the sufficient number of bonus game features (-when the player does not have any accumulated bonus features ‘zero’ the game cycle allows them to accumulate a minimum number ‘at least one/one’ of bonus game features during play subsequently to which the selectable bonus game features are selectively available to the player- Hoffman Figures 3, 6A-6B; Elements 104, 106, 150, 152, 154, Paragraphs [0101]-[0102], [0150]);
cause the display device to display the plurality of available bonus game features (Hoffman Figure 3; Element 110);
receive, from the input device, a user selection in the GUI of a subset of bonus game features from the plurality of available bonus game features (Hoffman Figure 3; Element 112);
based on the selection of the subset of bonus game features, control the GUI to apply the subset of bonus game feature to the bonus game (Hoffman Figure 3; Element 116); and
generate based on a second random number generated by the random number generator, a bonus game result for the bonus game (Hoffman Paragraph [0038]; Figure 3; Element 118);
control the GUI to display an indication of the bonus game result (Hoffman Figure 6D); and
based on the bonus game result, cause the EGM to award a bonus game award (Hoffman Figure 3; Element 120).
Claim 14: Hoffman et al teaches the EGM of claim 13, wherein the instructions further cause the processor circuit to, based on application of the subset of bonus game features to the bonus game, remove the subset of bonus game features from the plurality of available bonus games features (Hoffman Figure 3; Element 114).
Claim 16: Hoffman et al teaches the EGM of claim 13, wherein the instructions further cause the processor circuit to:
generate a second game result for a wagering game, the second game result comprising a bonus game feature trigger event (Hoffman Figure 3; Element 104); and
based on the bonus game feature trigger event, add a bonus game feature to the plurality of available bonus game features (Hoffman Figure 3; Element 106).
Claim 17: Hoffman et al teaches the EGM of claim 13, wherein the user selection of the subset of bonus game features comprises a plurality of user selections of a plurality of individual bonus game features of the plurality of available bonus game features (Hoffman Figures 3, 6B; Elements 110, 112).
Claim 18: Hoffman et al teaches the EGM of claim 13, wherein display a plurality of available bonus game features comprises display of a plurality of predetermined subsets of bonus game features, and
wherein the user selection of the subset of bonus game features comprises a user selection of one of the plurality of predetermined subsets of bonus game features (Hoffman Figures 3, 6B; Elements 110, 112).
Claim 19: Hoffman et al teaches a method comprising:
generating, by a processor circuit of a game controller for an Electronic Gaming Machine (EGM) based on a first random number generated by the random number generator (Hoffman Paragraph [0038]; Figures 1A, 2; Element 12), a first game result for a wagering game, the first game result comprising a bonus game trigger event (Hoffman Figure 3; Elements 102, 106; Paragraph [0100]);
based on the bonus game trigger event, control a Graphical User Interface (GUI) of the EGM to initiate, at a display device of the EGM, a bonus game (Hoffman Figure 3; Elements 102, 108);
determining, by the processor circuit, whether a plurality of available bonus game features comprises a minimum number of available bonus game features (-wherein for each of the plurality of primary game events the player may accumulate bonus game features and based on the accumulation of bonus game features they may selectively participate in a bonus game- Hoffman Paragraph [0038]; Figures 3, 6A; Elements 102, 108, 152, 154);
based on a determination that the plurality of available bonus game features does not comprise the minimum number of available bonus game features, adding, by the processor circuit, a sufficient number of bonus game features to the plurality of available bonus game features such that the plurality of available game features comprises the minimum number of available bonus game features and control the GUI to display the plurality of available bonus game features comprising the sufficient number of bonus game features (-when the player does not have any accumulated bonus features ‘zero’ the game cycle allows them to accumulate a minimum number ‘at least one/one’ of bonus game features during play subsequently to which the selectable bonus game features are selectively available to the player- Hoffman Figures 3, 6A-6B; Elements 104, 106, 150, 152, 154, Paragraphs [0101]-[0102], [0150]);
receiving, by the processor circuit, a user selection of a subset of bonus game features from a plurality of available bonus game features (Hoffman Figure 3; Element 112);
based on the selection of the subset of bonus game features, control the GUI to apply, by the processor circuit, the subset of bonus game feature to the bonus game (Hoffman Figure 3; Element 116);
control the GUI to display an indication of the bonus game result (Hoffman Figure 6D); and
generating, by the processor circuit based on a second random number generated by the random number generator, a bonus game result for the bonus game (Hoffman Paragraph [0038]; Figure 3; Element 118).
Claim 20: Hoffman et al teaches the method of claim 19, further comprising, based on application of the subset of bonus game features to the bonus game, removing the subset of bonus game features from the plurality of available bonus games features (Hoffman Figure 3; Element 114).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 9th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Commencing on pages 8-16 of the Applicant’s remarks, the Applicant presents that the pending claimed invention should be considered as directed to patent eligible subject matter for the following reasons:
i) that the claimed invention is not directed to a mental process or a method of organizing human activity and is instead directed to a specialized game controller of an Electronic Gaming Machine (EGM) that provides an improved Graphical User Interface (GUI) that is proposed as being analogous to an improved interface that was found patent eligible in Core Wireless Licensing v. LG Elecs. Inc. 880 F.3d 1356, 125 U.S.P.Q.2d 1436 (Fed Cir. 2018) (Applicant Remarks Page 10);
ii) that Example 37 claims 1 and 2 of the October Update of the USPTO 2019 Examination guidelines support the patent eligibility of user interfaces incorporating a Graphical User Interface (GUI) under prong 2, step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (Applicant Remarks Page 10); and
iii) that the rejection of claims 1-2, 4-14, and 16-20 is a violation of Administrative Procedures Act (APA) because the claims to specifically recite features that were previously found to be subject matter eligible, under the same regulatory standard (i.e., the 2019 Subject Matter Eligibility Guidelines) when presented in other US Patents owned by Applicant’s direct competitors (Applicant Remarks Pages 10-16).
Responsive to the applicant arguments summarized above, the following is respectfully noted in respective corresponding order:
i.a) The claimed invention as presented and the definition of elements in the Applicant’s specification do not support the characterization of a game controller and an Electronic Gaming Machine (EGM) sufficient to limit the same to a particular machine as defined by MPEP 2106.05(b) because they do not limit the same to a particular structural arrangement and instead describe the underlying components based on the intended use of the same. In Core Wireless Licensing S.A.R.L. v. LG Electronics, Inc., the court identified improvements over conventional user interface to increase the efficiency of using mobile devices can be sufficient to define patent eligible subject matter. The Applicant's arguments, do not identify the proposed corresponding improvement to technology that is reflected in the claimed invention and would mirror the improvements over conventional user interface to increase the efficiency of using mobile devices identified in Core Wireless. The mere inclusion of an interface/GUI and the selective display of information associated therewith is not sufficient to define patent eligible subject matter as proposed and would further stand at odds with additional guidance provided by Apple v. Ameranth 842 F.3d 1229, 120 U.S.P.Q.2d 1844 (Fed. Cir. 2016).
ii.a) Claims 1 and 2 of Example 37 of the October Update of the USPTO 2019 Examination guidelines involve improvements/optimization of user interfaces similar to considerations addressed in Apple v. Ameranth but do not support eligibility based on the inclusion of a Graphical User Interface (GUI) alone and accordingly do not support the eligibility of the claimed invention as proposed.
iii.a) The examination of applications is performed on a case-by-case basis consistent with applicable law and standards as reflected by published office guidance and judicial rulings as applicable. Barring specific circumstances,(e.g. a precedential court decision involving the same), the prosecution history of other non-related applications is not a consideration during the examination of a specific application for at least the reason that the examination of each application reflects the presentation of respectively materially different fact patterns including specification, claims, definitions, and/or evidence. Additionally, consistent with MPEP 1701, office personnel are not to express opinion on validity, patentability, expiration date, or enforceability of patent wherein such refusal should not be considered discourteous or an expression of opinion as to validity, patentability or enforceability. The particular Applicant connected to an application is a consideration utilized in the determinations of prior art applicability and double patenting concerns, but is not a factor in the determination of subject matter eligibility as proposed.
Continuing on pages 16-17 of the Applicant’s remarks, the Applicant presents that the pending claimed invention should be considered as patentable over the applied prior art of Hoffman because:
iv. that the applied Hoffman does not consider a minimum available number of bonus game features because it does not teach determining if the “plurality” of available bonus game features (Applicant Remarks Pages 16-17);
v. that the remaining claims 2, 4-13, 16-19 and 20 either directly recite or incorporate previously argued features through claimed dependency and should be found allowable based thereon(Applicant Remarks Page 17).
Responsive to the applicant presented arguments as summarized above, the following is respectfully noted in respective corresponding order:
iv.a) Hoffman allows the player to accumulate one or more bonus game feature units during normal play and conditions the redemption of the same based on having a minimum number to redeem (Hoffman Figure 3; Paragraph [0021]). The recited requirement of at least one, or equivalently one or more presented by Hoffman encompasses consideration of if two, three, four, … bonus game features have been accrued, and as such properly anticipates the argued range of a minimum plurality (See MPEP 2132.03). Regarding the conditional ability to acquire additional, bonus game feature units, as disclosed by Hoffman if the player does not have at least one (one or more) bonus game feature unit then they are incapable of redeeming the same to participate in a bonus game, and instead is returned to the portion of game play where they may continue to accrue bonus game feature units (Hoffman Figure 3: Element 104) accordingly the invention of Hoffman both considers and restricts bonus game participation based on a minimum available number of bonus game features. If the player has a minimum number one or more bonus game feature units sufficient to participate in a bonus game and they elect to do so, they are determined to not be participating in normal play and are not able to accumulate bonus game feature units (Hoffman Paragraph [0021]) otherwise the player is returned to the portion of game play where they may continue to accrue bonus game feature units (Hoffman Figure 3: Element 104).
v.a As the argued features are respectfully non-persuasive in establishing allowable subject matter for the reasons set forth herein and the rejections above, the incorporation of these features in to additional claims does not support the allowability of those claims as proposed.
In view of the preceding, the rejection of claims is respectfully maintained as presented herein above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ROBERT E. MOSSER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/ROBERT E MOSSER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715