DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s amendment filed on 12/22/2025 was received. Claims 1, 11, 15 were amended. Claim 10 is cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
Regarding to claims 1, 11, 15: the hierarchy level of “engine high voltage (EVH)”, “quad high voltage (QHV)”, and “plant high voltage (PHV)” is unclear. In addition, the term of “high” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For purposes of examination, Examiner interprets:
First hierarchy level: an engine high voltage (EVH) is the output voltage of one fuel cell system;
Second hierarchy level: a quad high voltage (QVH) is the output voltage of a power unit; wherein the power unit comprises the two or more fuel cell systems;
Third hierarchy level: a plant high voltage (PHV) is the output voltage of a fuel cell power plant fuel cell system; wherein the fuel cell power plant fuel cell system comprises the two or more power units.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 20 objected to because of the following informalities:
a gateway control circuitry controlling the engine high voltage (EHV) associated with the corresponding fuel cell system. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 11, 13, 15, 17 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pmsvvsv et al. (US 20210359623 A1).
Regarding to Claim 1: Pmsvvsv et al. disclose a microgrid system includes first and second DC power sources and first and second bi-directional AC/DC inverters (abstract). The fuel cell microgrid system (equivalent to a fuel cell power plant system) (par. 45, fig. 3), comprising:
two or more power module clusters (300) (equivalent to first and second power units) (par. 44, fig. 3), wherein each power module cluster (300) includes two or more power modules (12) (par. 31, fig. 3), which comprise fuel cell power modules (equivalent to fuel cell systems) (par. 31);
DC electrical power buses (308) (equivalent to first and second voltage channels) (see fig. power unit below for equivalent parts), wherein DC electrical buses (308) independently receive a DC electrical power from the corresponding power module clusters (300), wherein the first DC electrical power bus (308) is connected to a first portion of the two or more power module clusters (300) (fig. power unit below) and outputs a DC electrical power to a first uninterruptable power module (304) (equivalent to a first grid inverter) (par. 34), wherein the uninterruptable power module (304) is configured as a DC/AC inverter (par. 34), wherein the second DC electrical power bus (308) is connected to a second portion of the two or more power module clusters (300) (fig. power unit below) and outputs a DC electrical power to a second uninterruptable power module (304) (equivalent to a second grid inverter), wherein the uninterruptable power module (304) is configured as a DC/AC inverter (par. 34), wherein a output end of the uninterruptable power modules (304) is electrically connected to a AC load (312) via a load electrical power bus (310) (par. 34, fig. 3) (An output voltage of the fuel cell power module (equivalent to the fuel cell system) is equivalent to an engine high voltage (EHV). An output voltage of the power module cluster (300), comprising two or more the power modules (12), is equivalent to a quad high voltage (QHV). An output voltage of the fuel cell microgrid system, comprising two or more power module clusters (300), is equivalent to a plant high voltage (PHV)); and
a control devices (314) configured to receive data signals from and send control signals to any number and combination of the components of the microgrid system via any number “R” of wired and/or wireless connections A1-AR (par. 31, fig. 5).
Regarding to Claim 3: Pmsvvsv et al. disclose a modular fuel cell system enclosure (10) contains one or more fuel processing modules (16) (par. 24, fig. 1). The fuel processing modules (16) may process hydrogen (par. 24).
Regarding to Claim 11: Pmsvvsv et al. disclose a microgrid system includes first and second DC power sources and first and second bi-directional AC/DC inverters (abstract). The fuel cell microgrid system (equivalent to a fuel cell power plant system) (par. 45, fig. 3), comprising:
two or more power module clusters (300) (equivalent to first and second power units) (par. 44, fig. 3), connected via DC electrical power buses (308) and an AC electrical power bus (306) (equivalent to the first and second power units are electrically connected) (fig. 3), wherein each power module cluster (300) includes two or more power modules (12) (par. 31, fig. 3), which comprise fuel cell power modules (equivalent to fuel cell systems) (par. 31);
DC electrical power buses (308) (equivalent to first and second voltage channels) (see fig. power unit 2 below for equivalent parts), wherein DC electrical buses (308) independently receive a DC electrical power from the corresponding power module clusters (300), wherein the first DC electrical power bus (308) is connected to a first power module cluster (300) (fig. power unit 2 below) and outputs a DC electrical power to a first uninterruptable power module (304) (equivalent to a first grid inverter) (par. 34), wherein the uninterruptable power module (304) is configured as a DC/AC inverter (par. 34), wherein the second DC electrical power bus (308) is connected to a second power module cluster (300) (fig. power unit 2 below) and outputs a DC electrical power to a second uninterruptable power module (304) (equivalent to a second grid inverter) (par. 34), wherein the uninterruptable power module (304) is configured as a DC/AC inverter (par. 34), wherein a output end of the uninterruptable power modules (304) is electrically connected to a AC load (312) via a load electrical power bus (310) (par. 34, fig. 3); and
a control device (314) configured to receive data signals from and send control signals to any number and combination of the components of the microgrid system via any number “R” of wired and/or wireless connections A1-AR (par. 31, fig. 5) (An output voltage of the fuel cell power module (equivalent to the fuel cell system) is equivalent to an engine high voltage (EHV). An output voltage of the power module cluster (300), comprising two or more the power modules (12), is equivalent to a quad high voltage (QHV). An output voltage of the fuel cell microgrid system, comprising two or more power module clusters (300), is equivalent to a plant high voltage (PHV). The AC load receives the output voltage of the fuel cell microgrid system via the uninterruptable power modules (304), and the uninterruptable power modules (304) are controlled by the control device (314) to supply a designated amount of electrical power to the AC load (par. 31-34). Thus, the control device (314) is associated with the output voltage of the fuel cell microgrid system).
Regarding to Claim 13: Pmsvvsv et al. disclose a modular fuel cell system enclosure (10) contains one or more fuel processing modules (16) (par. 24, fig. 1). The fuel processing modules (16) may process hydrogen (par. 24).
Regarding to Claim 15: Pmsvvsv et al. disclose a microgrid system includes first and second DC power sources and first and second bi-directional AC/DC inverters (abstract). The fuel cell microgrid system (equivalent to a fuel cell power plant system) (par. 45, fig. 3), comprising:
two or more power module clusters (300) (equivalent to first and second power units) (par. 44, fig. 3), wherein each power module cluster (300) includes any number of power modules (12) (par. 31, fig. 3), which comprise fuel cell power modules (equivalent to fuel cell systems) (par. 31, 32);
DC electrical power buses (308) (equivalent to first and second voltage channels) (see fig. power unit above for equivalent parts), wherein DC electrical buses (308) independently receive a DC electrical power from the corresponding power module clusters (300), wherein the first DC electrical power bus (308) is connected to a first portion of the two or more power module clusters (300) (fig. power unit above) and outputs a DC electrical power to a first uninterruptable power module (304) (equivalent to a first grid inverter) (par. 34), wherein the uninterruptable power module (304) is configured as a DC/AC inverter (par. 34), wherein the second DC electrical power bus (308) is connected to a second portion of the two or more power module clusters (300) (fig. power unit above) and outputs a DC electrical power to a second uninterruptable power module (304) (equivalent to a second grid inverter) (par. 34), wherein the uninterruptable power module (304) is configured as a DC/AC inverter (par. 34), wherein a output end of the uninterruptable power modules (304) is electrically connected to a AC load (312) via a load electrical power bus (310) (par. 34, fig. 3); and
a control device (314) configured to receive data signals from and send control signals to any number and combination of the components of the microgrid system via any number “R” of wired and/or wireless connections A1-AR (par. 31, fig. 5) (An output voltage of the fuel cell power module (equivalent to the fuel cell system) is equivalent to an engine high voltage (EHV). An output voltage of the power module cluster (300), comprising two or more the power modules (12), is equivalent to a quad high voltage (QHV). An output voltage of the fuel cell microgrid system, comprising two or more power module clusters (300), is equivalent to a plant high voltage (PHV). The AC load receives the output voltage of the fuel cell microgrid system via the uninterruptable power modules (304), and the uninterruptable power modules (304) are controlled by the control device (314) to supply a designated amount of electrical power to the AC load (par. 31-34). Thus, the control device (314) is associated with the output voltage of the fuel cell microgrid system).
Regarding to Claim 17: Pmsvvsv et al. disclose a modular fuel cell system enclosure (10) contains one or more fuel processing modules (16) (par. 24, fig. 1). The fuel processing modules (16) may process hydrogen (par. 24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pmsvvsv et al. (US 20210359623 A1) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of McArthur et al. (US 20040110044 A1)
Regarding to Claim 2: Pmsvvsv et al. disclose a microgrid system includes first and second DC power sources and first and second bi-directional AC/DC inverters (abstract) as described in paragraph 4 above. Pmsvvsv et al. fail to explicitly disclose one or more of the fuel cell systems are repurposed from vehicle fuel cells. However, McArthur et al. disclose a network communication system for fuel cell powered vehicles and/or stationary fuel cells (par. 2). In the system, fuel cell powered vehicle and/or stationary fuel cells are used to deliver power to a grid (par. 30). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the fuel cell power modules of Pmsvvsv et al. with the fuel cell powered vehicles of McArthur et al. because it is merely the selection of functionally equivalent fuel cell systems to generate power. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Claims 4, 6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pmsvvsv et al. (US 20210359623 A1) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Kitamoto et al. (US 20190143839 A1).
Regarding to Claim 4: Pmsvvsv et al. disclose the power modules (12) are configured to house one or more hot boxes (13). Each hot box contains one or more stacks or columns of fuel cells (par. 12). Pmsvvsv et al. fail to explicitly disclose the fuel cell systems include a battery, an air pump, a DC-DC converter, and a fuel cell voltage converter unit (FCVCU). However, Kitamoto et al. disclose a control apparatus for a fuel cell device (abstract). The control apparatus (1) controls a fuel cell device (10) as the vehicle plant (par. 33, fig. 1). In a vehicle (3), the fuel cell device (10), a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a VCU (30), are installed. The fuel cell device includes a fuel cell stack, a hydrogen tank, a hydrogen pump, an air pump, and a first ECU (11). The VCU (30) includes DC/DC converter (par. 33, 34, 37, 43, fig. 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include all relevant parts (an air pump, a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a VCU (30)) of Kitamoto et al. into the fuel cell power modules of Pmsvvsv et al. because Kitamoto et al. teach that the control apparatus is capable of reducing computational load and a storage capacity for a power plant (par. 6).
Regarding to Claim 6: Pmsvvsv et al. disclose a microgrid system includes first and second DC power sources and first and second bi-directional AC/DC inverters (abstract) as described in paragraph 4 above. Pmsvvsv et al. fail to explicitly disclose a gateway control circuitry controlling the engine high voltage (EHV) associated with the corresponding fuel cell system. However, Kitamoto et al. disclose a control apparatus for a fuel cell device (abstract). The control apparatus (1) controls a fuel cell device (10) as the vehicle plant (par. 33, fig. 1). In a vehicle (3), the fuel cell device (10), a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a VCU (30), are installed (par. 37-39, fig. 1). The FC-VCU (20) comprises a second ECU (21) and a converter (22) (par. 39, fig. 2). The second ECU (21) (equivalent to a gateway control circuitry) is implemented by a microcomputer and controls the electric power (equivalent to the engine high voltage (EHV)) generated by the fuel cell device (10) (equivalent to the corresponding fuel cell system) by driving the converter (22) (par. 39, 40). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the second ECU (21) of Kitamoto et al. into the fuel cell power modules of Pmsvvsv et al. because Kitamoto et al. teach that the control apparatus is capable of reducing computational load and a storage capacity for a power plant (par. 6).
Regarding to Claim 8: Pmsvvsv et al. disclose a microgrid system includes first and second DC power sources and first and second bi-directional AC/DC inverters (abstract) as described in paragraph 4 above. Pmsvvsv et al. fail to explicitly disclose each of the two or more fuel cell systems includes a management electronic control unit (ECU) issuing a command to the corresponding fuel cell system. However, Kitamoto et al. disclose a control apparatus for a fuel cell device (abstract). The control apparatus (1) controls a fuel cell device (10) as the vehicle plant (par. 33, fig. 1). The fuel cell device (10) includes a fuel cell stack, a hydrogen tank, a hydrogen pump, an air pump, and a first ECU (11) (par. 34, fig. 2). The first ECU (11) controls the hydrogen pump and the air pump (equivalent to issuing a command to the corresponding fuel cell system) (par. 35). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the first ECU (11) of Kitamoto et al. into the fuel cell power modules of Pmsvvsv et al. because Kitamoto et al. teach that the control apparatus is capable of reducing computational load and a storage capacity for a power plant (par. 6).
Claim 5 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pmsvvsv et al. (US 20210359623 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 20230010307 A1).
Regarding to Claim 5: Pmsvvsv et al. disclose the fuel cell microgrid system (equivalent to the fuel cell power plant system) (par. 45, fig. 3), comprising:
two or more platforms for the two or more power module clusters (300) (see fig. PF below for equivalent parts), wherein the AC electrical power bus (306) and a load electrical power bus (310) (equivalent to one or more electrical connections) connect each platforms.
Pmsvvsv et al. fail to explicitly disclose one or more cooling lines and one or more fuel lines extend through the two or more platforms and supply cooling and fuel to the two or more power units. However, Zhou et al. disclose a fuel cell power station process system including a distributed cell stack module, a modular fuel supply system, a modular oxidant supply system, a modular cooling system, a power transmission and inverter system, and a power station master system (abstract). The distributed cell stack module (equivalent to the power unit) is formed by connecting a first cell stack module, a second cell stack module... and an Nth cell stack module, and each of the cell stack modules is formed by connecting N single cell stacks (equivalent to the fuel cell systems) (par. 6, fig. 1). In the cooling system, a water delivery main pipe (PL406) of the coolant water container (V481) is connected with an inlet branch pipe (PL401) of the first cell stack module and an inlet branch pipe (PL403) of the second cell stack module. A water return main pipe (PL405) (PL405 is not labeled in fig. 3. Examiner annotates it in fig. PL405 below) of the coolant water container (V481) is connected with an outlet branch pipe (PL402) of the first cell stack module and an outlet branch pipe (PL404) of the second cell stack module (par. 36, fig.3). In the fuel supply system, a fuel supply main pipe (PL270) is connected with main fuel inlets of the first cell stack module and the second cell stack module through a first branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL273) and a second branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL275) (par. 32, fig. 2 ). As the cell stack modules of Zhou et al. can be duplicated to N times, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cooling system and the fuel supply system including all water and fuel pipes of Zhou et al. to connect all fuel cell power modules of Pmsvvsv et al. because Zhou et al. teach a technical scheme of a large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system (par. 4)
Claim 7 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pmsvvsv et al. (US 20210359623 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Crossley et al. (US 20240266865 A1).
Regarding to Claim 7: Pmsvvsv et al. disclose an uninterruptable power module (304) (equivalent to a major gateway control circuitry) may be electrically connected to a respective power module cluster (300) via a respective DC electrical power bus (308) (par. 34, fig. 3). Pmsvvsv et al. fail to explicitly disclose features of monitoring a water temperature, a fuel leak sensor, or a smoke sensor associated with the corresponding power unit. However, Crossley et al. disclose a fuel cell power generation system (abstract). In the system, a controller can receive one or more sensed-fuel-cell-parameters (318), including the temperature of coolant (par. 307, 312, 313), and alarm-trigger-signals, provided by a smoke sensor (par. 439, 440, 441). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the capability of monitoring the fuel-cell-parameters (the temperature of coolant) and the alarm-trigger-signals (the smoke sensor) of Crossley et al. in the uninterruptable power module (304) of Pmsvvsv et al. because Crossley et al. teach that the fuel-cell-parameters (a water temperature) and the alarm-trigger-signals (a smoke sensor) are used to control the fuel cell power generation system (par. 7 and 152) and the fuel cell power generation system can provide short term power requirements and on-site power generation (par. 286).
Claim 9 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pmsvvsv et al. (US 20210359623 A1) and Kitamoto et al. (US 20190143839 A1) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Berels (US 20180345924 A1) and Kaschner (US 8469135 B2).
Regarding to Claim 9: Pmsvvsv et al. in view of Kitamoto et al. disclose the microgrid system including the first ECU as described in paragraph 6 above. Pmsvvsv et al. and Kitamoto et al. fail to explicitly disclose the command issued by ECU is a vehicle stability management (VSM) override operation. However, Berels discloses a method and an apparatus for a traction and stability control system (equivalent to a vehicle stability management) in a vehicle. The vehicle can be a standard gasoline powered vehicle, a hybrid vehicle, an electric vehicle, or a fuel cell vehicle (abstract, par. 13). The traction control system comprises a traction control module (equivalent to ECU) which could disable the traction control system when the vehicle is stuck (par. 4, 13, fig. 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a function of disabling the traction control system of Berels into the ECU of et al. Kitamoto et al. which is already incorporated into the microgrid system of Pmsvvsv et al. when the fuel cell power modules of Pmsvvsv et al. are substituted with the fuel cell powered vehicles, because Berels. teaches that the traction control system limits the torque to the wheels to prevent them from spinning, and this results in the problem of hindering the ability to get the vehicle unstuck (par. 2).
Pmsvvsv et al., Kitamoto et al., and Berels fail to explicitly disclose the command issued by ECU is an immobilizer override operation. However, Skelton discloses systems and methods for safe operation of a vehicle. The vehicle can include a combustion engine, electric engine, fuel cell, or other engine (abstract, par. 54). In the system of Skelton, the vehicle comprises a processor (equivalent to ECU) to receive an input from a mobile device. The processor prevents operation of the vehicle when the mobile device is not coupled to the circuit, and allows operation of the vehicle when the mobile device is coupled to the circuit (equivalent to immobilizer function) (par. 4, 70). In certain instances, when the vehicle must be moved or started without an authorized mobile device, the override system may permit operation of the vehicle without coupling the mobile device to the vehicle (par. 63). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the function of overriding the mobile device-vehicle coupling system of Skelton into the ECU of et al. Kitamoto et al. which is already incorporated in the microgrid system of Pmsvvsv et al. when the fuel cell power modules of Pmsvvsv et al. are substituted with the fuel cell powered vehicles, because Skelton teaches that this feature is desired to access the vehicle due to safety and other reasons (par. 63).
Claims 12 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pmsvvsv et al. (US 20210359623 A1) as applied in claim 11 above, and further in view of McArthur et al. (US 20040110044 A1)
Regarding to Claim 12: Pmsvvsv et al. disclose a microgrid system includes first and second DC power sources and first and second bi-directional AC/DC inverters (abstract) as described in paragraph 3 above. Pmsvvsv et al. fail to explicitly disclose one or more of the fuel cell systems are repurposed from vehicle fuel cells. However, McArthur et al. disclose a network communication system for fuel cell powered vehicles and/or stationary fuel cells (par. 2). In the system, fuel cell powered vehicle and/or stationary fuel cells are used to deliver power to a grid (par. 30). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute fuel cell power modules of Pmsvvsv et al. with the fuel cell powered vehicles of McArthur et al. because it is merely the selection of functionally equivalent fuel cell systems to generate power. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Claim 14 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pmsvvsv et al. (US 20210359623 A1) as applied in claim 11 above, and further in view of Kitamoto et al. (US 20190143839 A1).
Regarding to Claim 14: Pmsvvsv et al. disclose the power modules (12) (equivalent to fuel cell systems) are configured to house one or more hot boxes (13). Each hot box contains one or more stacks or columns of fuel cells (par. 12). Pmsvvsv et al. fail to explicitly disclose the fuel cell systems include a battery, an air pump, a DC-DC converter, and a fuel cell voltage converter unit (FCVCU). However, Kitamoto et al. disclose a control apparatus for a fuel cell device (abstract). The control apparatus (1) controls a fuel cell device (10) as the vehicle plant (par. 33, fig. 1). In a vehicle (3), the fuel cell device (10), a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a VCU (30), are installed. The fuel cell device includes a fuel cell stack, a hydrogen tank, a hydrogen pump, an air pump, and a first ECU (11). The VCU (30) includes DC/DC converter (par. 33, 34, 37, 43, fig. 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include all relevant parts (an air pump, a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a VCU (30)) of Kitamoto et al. into the fuel cell power modules of Pmsvvsv et al. because Kitamoto et al. teach that the control apparatus is capable of reducing computational load and a storage capacity for a power plant (par. 6).
Claims 16 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pmsvvsv et al. (US 20210359623 A1) as applied in claim 15 above, and further in view of McArthur et al. (US 20040110044 A1)
Regarding to Claim 16: Pmsvvsv et al. disclose a microgrid system includes first and second DC power sources and first and second bi-directional AC/DC inverters (abstract) as described in paragraph 3 above. Pmsvvsv et al. fail to explicitly disclose one or more of the fuel cell systems are repurposed from vehicle fuel cells. However, McArthur et al. disclose a network communication system for fuel cell powered vehicles and/or stationary fuel cells (par. 2). In the system, fuel cell powered vehicle and/or stationary fuel cells are used to deliver power to a grid (par. 30). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the fuel cell power modules of Pmsvvsv et al. with the fuel cell powered vehicles of McArthur et al. because it is merely the selection of functionally equivalent fuel cell systems to generate power. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Claims 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pmsvvsv et al. (US 20210359623 A1) as applied in claim 15 above, and further in view of Kitamoto et al. (US 20190143839 A1).
Regarding to Claim 18: Pmsvvsv et al. disclose the power modules (12) (equivalent to fuel cell systems) are configured to house one or more hot boxes (13). Each hot box contains one or more stacks or columns of fuel cells (par. 12). Pmsvvsv et al. fail to explicitly disclose the fuel cell systems include a battery, an air pump, a DC-DC converter, and a fuel cell voltage converter unit (FCVCU). However, Kitamoto et al. disclose a control apparatus for a fuel cell device (abstract). The control apparatus (1) controls a fuel cell device (10) as the vehicle plant (par. 33, fig. 1). In a vehicle (3), the fuel cell device (10), a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a VCU (30), are installed. The fuel cell device includes a fuel cell stack, a hydrogen tank, a hydrogen pump, an air pump, and a first ECU (11). The VCU (30) includes DC/DC converter (par. 33, 34, 37, 43, fig. 1). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include all relevant parts (an air pump, a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a VCU (30)) of Kitamoto et al. into the fuel cell power modules of Pmsvvsv et al. because Kitamoto et al. teach that the control apparatus is capable of reducing computational load and a storage capacity for a power plant (par. 6).
Regarding to Claim 20: Pmsvvsv et al. disclose a microgrid system includes first and second DC power sources and first and second bi-directional AC/DC inverters (abstract) as described in paragraph 4 above. Pmsvvsv et al. fail to explicitly disclose a gateway control circuitry controlling the engine high voltage (EHV) associated with the corresponding fuel cell system. However, Kitamoto et al. disclose a control apparatus for a fuel cell device (abstract). The control apparatus (1) controls a fuel cell device (10) as the vehicle plant (par. 33, fig. 1). In a vehicle (3), the fuel cell device (10), a battery (31), an FC-VCU (20), and a VCU (30), are installed (par. 37-39, fig. 1). The FC-VCU (20) comprises a second ECU (21) and a converter (22) (par. 39, fig. 2). The second ECU (21) (equivalent to a gateway control circuitry) is implemented by a microcomputer and controls the electric power (equivalent to the engine high voltage (EHV)) generated by the fuel cell device (10) (equivalent to the corresponding fuel cell system) by driving the converter (22) (par. 39, 40). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the second ECU (21) of Kitamoto et al. into the fuel cell power modules of Pmsvvsv et al. because Kitamoto et al. teach that the control apparatus is capable of reducing computational load and a storage capacity for a power plant (par. 6).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pmsvvsv et al. (US 20210359623 A1) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 20230010307 A1).
Regarding to Claim 19: Pmsvvsv et al. disclose the fuel cell microgrid system (equivalent to the fuel cell power plant system) (par. 45, fig. 3), comprising:
two or more platforms for the two or more power module clusters (300) (see fig. PF above for equivalent parts), wherein the AC electrical power bus (306) and a load electrical power bus (310) (equivalent to one or more electrical connections) connect each platforms.
Pmsvvsv et al. fail to explicitly disclose one or more cooling lines and one or more fuel lines extend through the two or more platforms and supply cooling and fuel to the two or more power units. However, Zhou et al. disclose a fuel cell power station process system including a distributed cell stack module, a modular fuel supply system, a modular oxidant supply system, a modular cooling system, a power transmission and inverter system, and a power station master system (abstract). The distributed cell stack module (equivalent to the power unit) is formed by connecting a first cell stack module, a second cell stack module... and an Nth cell stack module, and each of the cell stack modules is formed by connecting N single cell stacks (equivalent to the fuel cell systems) (par. 6, fig. 1). In the cooling system, a water delivery main pipe (PL406) of the coolant water container (V481) is connected with an inlet branch pipe (PL401) of the first cell stack module and an inlet branch pipe (PL403) of the second cell stack module. A water return main pipe (PL405) (PL405 is not labeled in fig. 3. Examiner annotates it in fig. PL405 above) of the coolant water container (V481) is connected with an outlet branch pipe (PL402) of the first cell stack module and an outlet branch pipe (PL404) of the second cell stack module (par. 36, fig.3). In the fuel supply system, a fuel supply main pipe (PL270) is connected with main fuel inlets of the first cell stack module and the second cell stack module through a first branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL273) and a second branch fuel supply branch pipe (PL275) (par. 32, fig. 2 ). As the cell stack modules of Zhou et al. can be duplicated to N times, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cooling system and the fuel supply system including all water and fuel pipes of Zhou et al. to connect all fuel cell power modules of Pmsvvsv et al. because Zhou et al. teach a technical scheme of a large-scale proton exchange membrane fuel cell power station process system (par. 4)
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant primarily argues Pmsvvsv, McArthur, Kitamoto, Zhou, Crossley, and Berels, fail to disclose three distinct hierarchies of EHVs, QHVs, and PHVs.
In response:
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because the Pmsvvsv reference teaches DC electrical power flow from each of the power modules (12) to DC electrical power bus (308), the uninterruptable power module (304), and the load (312) (par. 34-38). The voltage generated by one power module (12) is equivalent to EHV (the first hierarchy), the voltage generated by two or more power modules (two or more power modules are equivalent to one power module cluster) on the DC electrical power bus (308) before the uninterruptable power module (304) is equivalent to QHV (the second hierarchy), and the voltage generated by two or more power module clusters (two or more power module clusters are equivalent to one fuel cell microgrid system) on the load electrical power bus (310) before the AC load (312) is equivalent to PHV (the third hierarchy).
Conclusion
/PIN JAN WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717