DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Amendment filed on 6/1/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claim 1, 3-20 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3, 5-7, 10-12, 14, 16, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (US 20140306866 A1, hereinafter Miller) in view of Jiang et al. (US 20170076499 A1, hereinafter Jiang), further in view of Fein (US 20140267409 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Miller teaches a single user portable display device (Miller, Fig. 2 a user device Paragraph [0079], “a user 210 may interface one or more digital worlds through a smart phone 220”) for automatically recognizing two or three dimensional real world objects (Miller, Paragraph [0159], “the system is configured to recognize a 3D object in the real world” ). and augmenting or enhancing display of such real world objects with an additional [[ offering ]] presentation superimposed thereon (Miller, Paragraph [0111], “a user wearing a 3D head-mounted display looking up in the sky and seeing a virtual plane <read on additional presentations> flying overhead, superimposed on the real world”), the single user portable display device (Miller, Fig. 2 a user device) comprising: a portable housing configured to be carried by a single user (Miller, Paragraph [0079], “FIG. 2, a user 210 may interface one or more digital worlds through a smart phone 220”; it is noted smart phone is carried by a single user), the portable housing having a surface, a touch screen display disposed on the portable housing surface and configured to be viewed and operated by the single user (Miller, Fig. 2 Paragraph [0005], “a user display device comprising a housing frame mountable on a head of a user” [0081], “if the user device is a smart phone, the user interaction may be implemented by a user contacting a touch screen” [0045], “an example of objects viewed by a user when the mobile, wearable user device”; [0079], “a user 210 may interface one or more digital worlds through a smart phone 220” [0129], “use smartphones and/or tablets to display augmented and virtual viewpoints (visual accommodation via magnifying optics, mirrors, contact lenses, or light structuring elements)”; it is noted since smartphone and/or tablets necessarily have a housing (casing) with surfaces, within which cameras, processors, memory and wireless interfaces are disposed; they are also plainly portable and carried by a single user, therefore it is portable housing), a push button disposed on the housing (Miller, [0178], “a real button on such device may be configured to open a virtual panel which is configured to interact with the actual device and/or other devices, people, or objects”), a camera disposed within the housing (Miller, Paragraph [0005], “a user display device comprising a housing frame mountable on a head of a user, a first pair of cameras coupled to the housing frame”), a memory disposed within the housing (Miller, Paragraph [0086], “local user devices 120…may include software, firmware, memory), a wireless communications device disposed within the housing (Miller, Paragraph [0072], “the gateway has its own wired and/or wireless connection to data networks for communicating with the servers”), and a processor disposed within the housing and operatively coupled to the touch screen display, the memory, the camera, the push button and the wireless communications device, the processor configured to perform, in response to executing instructions stored in the memory, operations comprising (Miller, Paragraph [0089], “user device will include a processor for executing program code stored in memory on the device, coupled with a display, and a communications interface”; it is noted the touch screen has push button): (a) display, on the touch screen display, an image of a real world object acquired by the camera as the camera is aimed at the real world object (Miller, Paragraph [0016], “a set of points in the captured field-of-view image, and creating a fiducial for at least one physical object in the captured field-of-view image”); (b) recognize the real world object based on at least a portion of the acquired image (Miller, Paragraph [0035], “extracting a set of points in the captured field-of-view image, associating the extracted set of points to a particular object, and recognizing a different object based on the associated set of points of the particular object”) [[ without requiring in order to recognize the real world object a bar code or AR marker or other special marking ]] that is not intended to be recognized by humans but instead is designed or intended to be automatically recognized electronically by a machine (Miller, Paragraph [0099], Processor 308 to recognize various features and/or shape patterns (captured by the sensors 312) to identify the physical object 402 as a stool); and (c) in response to recognizing the real world object based on the at least a portion of the acquired image, anchoring an offering presentation to the displayed image of the real world object currently being acquired by the camera (Miller, Paragraph [0023], “The additional virtual world data may be associated with a physical object sensed by the head-mounted user display device. The additional virtual world data may be associated with the display object having a predetermined relationship with the sensed physical object”) such that if the housing is moved to change position and/or orientation of the housing relative to the real world object (Miller, Paragraph [0130], with a system such as that depicted in FIGS. 3 and 14, 3-D points may be captured from the environment, and the pose (i.e., vector and/or origin position information relative to the world) of the cameras that capture those images create a virtual copy of the real world), the [[ offering ]] presentation moves with apparent movement of the image of the real world object on the touch screen display (Miller, Paragraph [0008], “The user display device may further comprise a sensor assembly comprising at least one sensor to sense at least one of a movement of the user” [0013], “a method comprises tracking a movement of a user's eyes, estimating a depth of focus of the user's eyes based on the tracked eye movement, modifying a light beam associated with a display object based on the estimated depth of focus such that the display object appears in focus”), [[ wherein the offering presentation provides offering details for offering the real world object ]]
But Miller does not explicitly disclose [[ recognize at least a portion of the acquired image ]] without requiring a bar code or AR marker or other special marking.
However, Jiang teaches a touch screen display disposed on the portable housing
surface and configured to be viewed and operated by the single user (Jiang, Paragraph [0006], "a mobile device includes a processor and a display coupled to
the processor"; Paragraph [0054], "a user interface is used to let user choose
(e.g., via a touch" see also Fig. 15 showing an input camera device with a
processor and display) ... recognize the real world object based on at least a portion of the acquired image without requiring in order to recognize the real world object, a bar code or AR marker or other special marking (Jiang, Paragraph [0026],
"some AR systems require the use of markers to which to map the visual objects
... The embodiments disclosed herein avoid the need to include markers in the
real word scene. The embodiments disclose various applications and methods
for recognition of real-world images without markers."; see also Jiang, Paragraph
[0005), "Markers are not used to insert the virtual objects.");
Jiang and Miller are analogous since both of them are dealing with augmented
reality image processing on portable user devices. Miller provided a way of superimposing a presentation on a view of a real world object and anchoring the
presentation such that it moves with apparent movement of the view when the device
moves. Jiang provided a way of providing a mobile augmented reality experience in
which the system recognizes real-world images without using markers (e.g., "avoid the
need to include markers" and "Markers are not used"). Therefore, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention was made to incorporate the markerless recognition taught by Jiang into the
modified invention of Miller such that, during the augmented reality process, the system
recognizes at least a portion of the acquired image without requiring a bar code, AR
marker, or other special machine-readable marking, thereby avoiding marker placement
and improving usability.
The combination of Miller and Jiang does not explicitly disclose but Fein teaches augmenting or enhancing display of such real world objects with an additional offering presentation superimposed thereon (Fein, Paragraph [0072], "imagine a user is viewing an augmented reality scene in a retail store. She will see the real objects in the store (such as books, microwave ovens, and housewares) as well as virtual objects in the augmented reality display (such as product annotations <read on offering presentation> and a shopping cart that follows her wherever she goes)"),
anchoring an offering presentation to the displayed image of the real world object currently being acquired by the camera such that … the offering presentation moves with apparent movement of the image of the real world object (Fein, Paragraph [0072], "product annotations and a shopping cart that follows her wherever she goes"; [0060], "if a user is wearing AR glasses in a bookstore, there may be an AR shopping cart displayed on the glasses, viewable to the user. The user may then find a real book on a book shelf at the book store, point to the real book, peel off or otherwise pull an augmented reality representation of the book into the AR shopping cart"), wherein the offering presentation provides offering details for offering the real world object (Fein, Paragraph [0060], "When the user arrives at a checkout stand or register to buy the book, the user may grab the AR book from the shopping cart, drag it onto the real cash register at which point payment may be initiated by the bookstore, and the transaction completed. The user may also select options for delivery of a physical book to herself or as a gift to someone else, and/or delivery of an electronic book to a device."; [0072], "product annotations <read on offering details> . . . within the augmented reality interface she may “pick up” a representation of all twelve volumes of the real Oxford English Dictionary <read on offering the real world object recognized> with a hand gesture, drag, and then drop the augmented reality representation of them into her virtual shopping cart for check-out, at which point she may decide, for example, to purchase either a real or an electronic copy of the book, or both"),
Fein and Miller are analogous since both deal with superimposing virtual content on real-world scenes viewed through a portable AR device with a camera. Miller (as modified by Jiang) provides recognition of a real world object and anchoring of a presentation to that object, but Miller identifies its object only as a bare label ("stool") without any offering/transactional content. Fein provides the missing "offering" layer i.e. recognizing real-world commercial objects and overlaying product annotations and a virtual shopping cart usable to consummate a purchase of that real object. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Fein's offering presentation (product annotations plus virtual shopping cart tied to a recognized real-world product) into the modified invention of Miller/Jiang system such that, when the system recognizes the real world object based on at least a portion of the acquired image, it anchors an offering presentation to the displayed image of the object and the offering presentation provides offering details for offering the real world object recognized. The motivation is to enable in-store commerce and transactional interactions with recognized real-world merchandise through the AR interface, thereby broadening the practical utility of the AR device beyond bare object labeling, as discussed by Fein in Paragraph [0060], [0072].
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Miller, Jiang and Fein teaches the invention in Claim 1.
Miller further teaches further including at least one sensor disposed in the housing, the sensor configured to sense posture, orientation and/or position of the single user portable display device (Miller, Paragraph [0081], “User devices may include additional components that enable user interaction such as sensors, wherein the objects and information (including gestures) detected by the sensors”; [0006], “The user display device <read on single user portable display device > may further comprise a second pair of cameras mountable on the housing frame to capture a field-of-view image of an eye corresponding to each of the second pair of cameras”), wherein the at least one sensor comprises an inertial sensor such as an accelerometer and/or a gyrosensor (Miller, Paragraph [0175], “one or more GPS or localizing sensors (206); and/or one or more accelerometers, inertial measurement units, and/or gyros (208)” ), and wherein the processor is configured to display, on the touch screen display, different portions of the [[ offering ]] presentation based on such sensed posture, orientation and/or position (Miller, Paragraph [0176], “Movements to different orientations and locations may be tracked utilizing coarse localization and orientation tools”).
Miller does not explicitly disclose but Fein teaches offering presentation (Fein, Paragraph [0072], "imagine a user is viewing an augmented reality scene in a retail store. She will see the real objects in the store (such as books, microwave ovens, and housewares) as well as virtual objects in the augmented reality display (such as product annotations <read on offering presentation> and a shopping cart that follows her wherever she goes)").
As explained in rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of offering presentation of Fein into Miller is provided above.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Miller, Jiang and Fein teaches the invention in Claim 1.
Miller further teaches wherein the displayed [[ offering ]] presentation comprises a mixed reality (MR) image that mixes virtual and real scenes (Miller, Paragraph [0056], [0104], “a user display configuration suitable for virtual and/or augmented reality” “the user interface presents a virtual world 600 comprised of fully virtual objects 610, and rendered physical objects 620 (renderings of objects otherwise physically present in the scene)”).
Miller does not explicitly disclose but Fein teaches offering presentation (Fein, Paragraph [0072], "imagine a user is viewing an augmented reality scene in a retail store. She will see the real objects in the store (such as books, microwave ovens, and housewares) as well as virtual objects in the augmented reality display (such as product annotations <read on offering presentation> and a shopping cart that follows her wherever she goes)").
As explained in rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of offering presentation of Fein into Miller is provided above.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Miller, Jiang and Fein teaches the invention in Claim 1.
Miller further teaches wherein the displayed [[ offering ]] presentation comprises an augmented reality (AR) image that augments real scenes with virtual objects (Miller, Paragraph [0104], “the user interface presents a virtual world 600 comprised of fully virtual objects 610, and rendered physical objects 620 (renderings of objects otherwise physically present in the scene)” [0138], “the system may be configured to share basic elements (walls, windows, desk geometry, etc.) with any user who walks into the room in virtual or augmented reality, and in one embodiment that person's system will be configured to take images from his particular perspective”).
Miller does not explicitly disclose but Fein teaches offering presentation (Fein, Paragraph [0072], "imagine a user is viewing an augmented reality scene in a retail store. She will see the real objects in the store (such as books, microwave ovens, and housewares) as well as virtual objects in the augmented reality display (such as product annotations <read on offering presentation> and a shopping cart that follows her wherever she goes)").
As explained in rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of offering presentation of Fein into Miller is provided above.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Miller, Jiang and Fein teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches offering presentation (Fein, Paragraph [0072], "imagine a user is viewing an augmented reality scene in a retail store. She will see the real objects in the store (such as books, microwave ovens, and housewares) as well as virtual objects in the augmented reality display (such as product annotations <read on offering presentation> and a shopping cart that follows her wherever she goes)").
As explained in rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of offering presentation of Fein into Miller is provided above.
The combination does not explicitly disclose but Fein teaches wherein the displayed [[ offering ]] presentation is animated (Fein, Paragraph [0101], modifications or replacements reduce the difficulty of interaction regarding the presentations of interest; (i) restoring ( e.g with animation or other transitions)).
Fein and Miller are analogous since both of them are dealing with augmented reality image process. Miller provided a way of superimposing the virtual object on the real world image and align the virtual object along with real world object hen moving around the device in the augmented reality environment. Fein provided a way of superimposing the virtual object on the real world image in the augmented reality environment using animated process. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate animated process taught by Fein into modified invention of Miller such that during the process of image in the augmented reality environment, system will be able to use animated process when superimposing the virtual object onto the real scene which allow user to see the changing gradually in real time which provide more user friendly immersive experience when using the augmented reality environment system.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Miller, Jiang and Fein teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches offering presentation (Fein, Paragraph [0072], "imagine a user is viewing an augmented reality scene in a retail store. She will see the real objects in the store (such as books, microwave ovens, and housewares) as well as virtual objects in the augmented reality display (such as product annotations <read on offering presentation> and a shopping cart that follows her wherever she goes)").
As explained in rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of offering presentation of Fein into Miller is provided above.
The combination does not explicitly disclose but Fein teaches wherein the [[ offering ]] presentation comprises a superimposed virtual shopping cart to provide a virtual or mixed reality composite image (Fein, Paragraph [0072], imagine a user is viewing an augmented reality scene in a retail store. She will see the real objects in the store (such as books, microwave ovens, and housewares) as well as virtual objects in the augmented reality display (such as product annotations and a shopping cart that follows her wherever she goes) and the processor is further configured to wireless transmit an acceptance of the offering in response to touch screen manipulation of the superimposed virtual shopping cart (Fein, Paragraph [0073], [0108], [0152], Augmented reality system 322 running on or through augmented reality device 1502 may communicate over a network 1504, wirelessly or by hardwired connection… a virtual interface object in an augmented reality display is selected (by a first gesture, voice command, touch, or some other pre-determined method) …a transmission type medium such as a digital and/or an analog communication medium (e.g., a fiber optic cable, a waveguide, a wired communications link, a wireless communication link (e.g., transmitter, receiver, transmission logic, reception logic, etc.), etc.)..
Fein and Miller are analogous since both of them are dealing with augmented reality image process. Miller provided a way of superimposing the virtual object on the real world image and align the virtual object along with real world object hen moving around the device in the augmented reality environment. Fein provided a way of wireless superimposing the virtual object including shopping cart on the real world image in the augmented reality environment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate wireless transmission taught by Fein into modified invention of Miller such that during the process of image in the augmented reality environment, system will be able to use wireless transmission during the superimposing the virtual object onto the real scene which provide easily communication in between systems and to provide more flexibility of the system and better user experience.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Miller, Jiang and Fein teaches the invention in Claim 1.
Miller further teaches wherein the displayed [[ offering ]] presentation is anchored to the displayed image of the real world object as if it were glued or otherwise adhered or attached to the real world object (Miller, Paragraph [0159], “the system is configured to recognize a 3D object in the real world, and then augment it. "Recognition" in this context may mean identifying the 3D object with high enough precision to anchor imagery to the 3D object”; [0023], “The additional virtual world data may be associated with a physical object sensed by the head-mounted user display device. The additional virtual world data may be associated with the display object having a predetermined relationship with the sensed physical object”).
Miller does not explicitly disclose but Fein teaches offering presentation (Fein, Paragraph [0072], "imagine a user is viewing an augmented reality scene in a retail store. She will see the real objects in the store (such as books, microwave ovens, and housewares) as well as virtual objects in the augmented reality display (such as product annotations <read on offering presentation> and a shopping cart that follows her wherever she goes)").
As explained in rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of offering presentation of Fein into Miller is provided above.
Regarding Claim 12, Miller teaches a single user portable display device for automatically recognizing two or three dimensional real world objects (Miller, Fig. 2 a user device Paragraph [0079], “a user 210 may interface one or more digital worlds through a smart phone 220” [0159], “the system is configured to recognize a 3D object in the real world”) and augmenting or enhancing views of such real world objects with an additional presentation superimposed thereon (Miller, Paragraph [0111], “a user wearing a 3D head-mounted display looking up in the sky and seeing a virtual plane <read on additional presentations> flying overhead, superimposed on the real world”), the single user portable display device comprising: a display (Miller, Fig. 2 a user device; Paragraph [0079], “a user 210 may interface one or more digital worlds through a smart phone 220”; it is noted smart phone has display screen), a push button (Miller, [0178], “a real button on such device may be configured to open a virtual panel which is configured to interact with the actual device and/or other devices, people, or objects”), a camera (Miller, Paragraph [0005], “a user display device comprising a housing frame mountable on a head of a user, a first pair of cameras coupled to the housing frame”), a memory (Miller, Paragraph [0086], “local user devices 120…may include software, firmware, memory), a wireless communications device (Miller, Paragraph [0072], “the gateway has its own wired and/or wireless connection to data networks for communicating with the servers”), and a processor operatively coupled to the display, the memory, the camera, the push button and the wireless communications device, the processor configured to perform, in response to executing instructions stored in the memory, operations comprising (Miller, Paragraph [0089], “user device will include a processor for executing program code stored in memory on the device, coupled with a display, and a communications interface”; it is noted the touch screen has push button): (a) acquire an image of a real world object with the camera (Miller, Paragraph [0130], “the cameras that capture those images create a virtual copy of the real world” [0159], “the system is configured to recognize a 3D object in the real world”); (b) recognize the real world object based on only a portion of the acquired image of the real world object (Miller, Paragraph [0035], “extracting a set of points in the captured field-of-view image, associating the extracted set of points to a particular object, and recognizing a different object based on the associated set of points of the particular object”) [[ without requiring a bar code or AR marker or other special machine-readable marking ]]; and
(c) in response to recognizing the real world object based on only of the real world object (Miller, Paragraph [0035], “extracting a set of points in the captured field-of-view image, associating the extracted set of points to a particular object, and recognizing a different object based on the associated set of points of the particular object”), anchoring a display of an [[ offering ]] presentation to a view of the real world object (Miller, Paragraph [0023], “The additional virtual world data may be associated with a physical object sensed by the head-mounted user display device. The additional virtual world data may be associated with the display object having a predetermined relationship with the sensed physical object” ) such that if the single user portable display device is moved to change position and/or orientation of the real world object relative to the display device (Miller, Paragraph [0130], with a system such as that depicted in FIGS. 3 and 14, 3-D points may be captured from the environment, and the pose (i.e., vector and/or origin position information relative to the world) of the cameras that capture those images create a virtual copy of the real world),
the [[ offering ]] presentation moves on the display with change of perspective of the view of the real world object (Miller, Paragraph [0008], “The user display device may further comprise a sensor assembly comprising at least one sensor to sense at least one of a movement of the user” [0013], “a method comprises tracking a movement of a user's eyes, estimating a depth of focus of the user's eyes based on the tracked eye movement, modifying a light beam associated with a display object based on the estimated depth of focus such that the display object appears in focus”), wherein the displayed [[ offering ]] presentation provides offering details offering the real world object (Miller, Paragraph [0099], “recognize various features and/or shape patterns <read on details> (captured by the sensors 312) to identify the physical object <read on image portion> 402 as a stool”).
Miller does not explicitly disclose [[ recognize at least a portion of the acquired image ]] without requiring a bar code or AR marker or other special machine-readable marking;
However, Jiang teaches recognize the real world object based on only a portion of the acquired image of the real world object without requiring in order to recognize the real world object, a bar code or AR marker or other special machine-readable marking (Jiang, Paragraph [0026], "some AR systems require the use of markers ... The
embodiments disclosed herein avoid the need to include markers in the real word
scene. The embodiments disclose various applications and methods for
recognition of real-world images without markers."; see also Jiang, Paragraph
(0005], "Markers are not used to insert the virtual objects.")
Jiang and Miller are analogous since both of them are dealing with augmented
reality image processing on portable user devices. Miller provided a way of superimposing a presentation on a view of a real world object and anchoring the
presentation such that it moves with apparent movement of the view when the device
moves. Jiang provided a way of providing a mobile augmented reality experience in
which the system recognizes real-world images without using markers (e.g., "avoid the
need to include markers" and "Markers are not used"). Therefore, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention was made to incorporate the markerless recognition taught by Jiang into the
modified invention of Miller such that, during the augmented reality process, the system
recognizes at least a portion of the acquired image without requiring a bar code, AR
marker, or other special machine-readable marking, thereby avoiding marker placement
and improving usability.
The combination of Miller and Jiang does not explicitly disclose but Fein teaches anchoring a display of an offering presentation to a view of the real world object … wherein the displayed offering presentation provides offering details offering the real world object (Fein, Paragraph [0072], "imagine a user is viewing an augmented reality scene in a retail store. She will see the real objects in the store (such as books, microwave ovens, and housewares) as well as virtual objects in the augmented reality display (such as product annotations and a shopping cart that follows her wherever she goes)"; [0060], "if a user is wearing AR glasses in a bookstore, there may be an AR shopping cart displayed on the glasses, viewable to the user. The user may then find a real book on a book shelf at the book store, point to the real book . . . When the user arrives at a checkout stand or register to buy the book, the user may grab the AR book from the shopping cart, drag it onto the real cash register at which point payment may be initiated by the bookstore, and the transaction completed"; [0065], "the AR device may recognize types of stores or collections of items such as books or DVD's").
Fein and Miller are analogous as both are directed to superimposing virtual content on views of real-world objects via a portable AR device with a camera. Miller/Jiang recognize a real-world object but present only a bare label. Fein provides the "offering" layer — an anchored virtual shopping cart and product annotations tied to a recognized real-world commercial item, which enables a purchase transaction for that recognized real object. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Fein's offering presentation (product annotations plus virtual shopping cart tied to a recognized real-world product) into the Miller/Jiang system such that the anchored display of the presentation is an offering presentation and the displayed offering presentation provides offering details offering the recognized real world object. The motivation is to enable transactional AR interactions with recognized real-world merchandise (browsing, annotating, and purchasing), as discussed by Fein in Paragraph [0060], [0072].
Regarding Claim 14, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 3 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 16, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 5 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 17, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 6 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 18, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 7 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 2, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (US 20140306866 A1, hereinafter Miller) in view of Jiang et al. (US 20170076499 A1, hereinafter Jiang), further in view of Fein (US 20140267409 A1) as applied to Claim 1 above and in view of Spivack et al. (US 20190266404 A1, hereinafter Spivack).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Miller, Jiang and Fein teaches the invention in Claim 1.
Miller further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to change position, orientation and/or perspective of the anchored presentation as the real world object changes position, orientation and/or viewing angle relative to the housing (Miller, Paragraph [0055], The user-designed code can be detected and tracked, for example, with a mobile device with a camera. Position and orientation within a camera image can be determined automatically, so the user-designed code can be used for tracking an object, such as within an augmented reality application. [0098], A key frame may also include information relating to the pose, e.g., the relative position and orientation of the camera in the environment when the image of the key frame was captured).
But, Miller does not explicitly disclose in order to provide a photorealistic image in which the anchored presentation appears to be part of the real world object.
However, Spivack teaches wherein the processor is further configured to change position, orientation and/or perspective of the anchored presentation as the real world object changes position, orientation and/or viewing angle relative to the housing (Miller, Paragraph [0027], [0031], [0141],gyroscope and accelerometer to determine a device's geographic location, altitude, orientation, and position relative to any nearby beacons…when the user moves or they move their device thus causing both non-moving and moving objects in the environment to appear to change position in the camera frame as a result of movement of the user's device. For example, when the user shifts perspective or camera angle and/or distance, the objects in the frame may not actually change position in physical space…utilizing computer vision methods to detect the distance between the virtual object and horizontal/vertical surfaces and/or a distance between the virtual object and various anchor points (e.g., visual anchor points) and/or landmarks in the real world environment) in order to provide a photorealistic image in which the anchored presentation appears to be part of the real world object (Spivack, Paragraph [0027], with virtual objects (e.g., 2D or 3D computer-generated objects) layered on top, in such a way that the virtual objects appear to be part of the real-world scene [0036], save in compressed form to be able to generate a photorealistic 3D version of the real-world scene).
Spivack and Miller are analogous since both of them are dealing with augmented reality image process. Miller provided a way of superimposing the virtual object on the real world image and align the virtual object along with real world object hen moving around the device in the augmented reality environment. Spivack provided a way of superimposing the virtual object on the real world image in the augmented reality environment and to provide photorealistic 3D version of the scene in combine with real scene. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate photorealistic image generation taught by Spivack into modified invention of Miller such that during the process of image in the augmented reality environment, system will be able to provide more accurate and precise data merging in between virtual object and real object which increase the realistic and better user experience when using the system.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Miller, Jiang and Fein teaches the invention in Claim 12.
Miller further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to change position, orientation and/or perspective of the anchored display of the displayed [[ offering ]] presentation as the real world object changes position, orientation and/or viewing angle relative to the display device (Miller, Paragraph [0055], The user-designed code can be detected and tracked, for example, with a mobile device with a camera. Position and orientation within a camera image can be determined automatically, so the user-designed code can be used for tracking an object, such as within an augmented reality application. [0098], A key frame may also include information relating to the pose, e.g., the relative position and orientation of the camera in the environment when the image of the key frame was captured).
Miller does not explicitly disclose but Fein teaches offering presentation (Fein, Paragraph [0072], "imagine a user is viewing an augmented reality scene in a retail store. She will see the real objects in the store (such as books, microwave ovens, and housewares) as well as virtual objects in the augmented reality display (such as product annotations <read on offering presentation> and a shopping cart that follows her wherever she goes)").
As explained in rejection of claim 11, the obviousness for combining of offering presentation of Fein into Miller is provided above.
But, Miller does not explicitly disclose in order to in order to provide a view of the real world object in which the anchored display of the offering presentation appears to be part of the real world object.
However, Spivack teaches wherein the processor is further configured to change position, orientation and/or perspective of the anchored presentation as the real world object changes position, orientation and/or viewing angle relative to the device (Miller, Paragraph [0027], [0031], [0141],gyroscope and accelerometer to determine a device's geographic location, altitude, orientation, and position relative to any nearby beacons…when the user moves or they move their device thus causing both non-moving and moving objects in the environment to appear to change position in the camera frame as a result of movement of the user's device. For example, when the user shifts perspective or camera angle and/or distance, the objects in the frame may not actually change position in physical space…utilizing computer vision methods to detect the distance between the virtual object and horizontal/vertical surfaces and/or a distance between the virtual object and various anchor points (e.g., visual anchor points) and/or landmarks in the real world environment)
in order to provide a view of the real world object in which the anchored display of the offering presentation appears to be part of the real world object. (Spivack, Paragraph [0027], with virtual objects (e.g., 2D or 3D computer-generated objects) layered on top, in such a way that the virtual objects appear to be part of the real-world scene [0036], save in compressed form to be able to generate a photorealistic 3D version of the real-world scene).
Spivack and Miller are analogous since both of them are dealing with augmented reality image process. Miller provided a way of superimposing the virtual object on the real world image and align the virtual object along with real world object hen moving around the device in the augmented reality environment. Spivack provided a way of superimposing the virtual object on the real world image in the augmented reality environment and to provide photorealistic 3D version of the scene in combine with real scene. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate photorealistic image generation taught by Spivack into modified invention of Miller such that during the process of image in the augmented reality environment, system will be able to provide more accurate and precise data merging in between virtual object and real object which increase the realistic and better user experience when using the system.
Claim(s) 4, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (US 20140306866 A1, hereinafter Miller) in view of Jiang et al. (US 20170076499 A1, hereinafter Jiang) , further in view of Fein (US 20140267409 A1) as applied to Claim 1 above and in view of Miller (US 11205304 B2, hereinafter Miller304).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Miller, Jiang and Fein teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches offering presentation (Fein, Paragraph [0072], "imagine a user is viewing an augmented reality scene in a retail store. She will see the real objects in the store (such as books, microwave ovens, and housewares) as well as virtual objects in the augmented reality display (such as product annotations <read on offering presentation> and a shopping cart that follows her wherever she goes)").
As explained in rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of offering presentation of Fein into Miller is provided above.
The combination does not explicitly disclose but Miller304 teaches comprising an optical flow sensor disposed within the housing, the optical flow sensor providing an optical flow image analysis (Miller304, Column 89, Line 46-50, The AR system may, in at least some implementations, advantageously perform optical flow analysis in hardware by finding features) and wherein the processor is configured to display, on the touch screen display, different portions of the [[ offering ]] presentation based on such optical flow image analysis (Miller304, Column 33, Line 15-18, Column 90, Line 5-10, Component(s) may provide a tactile sensation of pressure and/or texture when touching virtual content…In executing optical flow algorithms and imaging, the AR system identifies an object in a frame and then determines where that object appears in at least one subsequent frame).
Miller304 and Miller are analogous since both of them are dealing with augmented reality image process. Miller provided a way of superimposing the virtual object on the real world image and align the virtual object along with real world object hen moving around the device in the augmented reality environment. Miller304 provided a way of superimposing the virtual object on the real world image in the augmented reality environment using optical flow image analysis. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate optical flow analysis taught by Miller304 into modified invention of Miller such that during the process of image in the augmented reality environment, system will be able to use optical flow analysis to enhance the accuracy, realism and interactivity to adjust the media in the augmented reality environment which will provide more immersive and engaging user experience.
Regarding Claim 15, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 4 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (US 20140306866 A1, hereinafter Miller) in view of Jiang et al. (US 20170076499 A1, hereinafter Jiang), further in view of Fein (US 20140267409 A1) as applied to Claim 1 above and in view of Hunt (US 20120139847 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Miller, Jiang and Fein teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches offering presentation (Fein, Paragraph [0072], "imagine a user is viewing an augmented reality scene in a retail store. She will see the real objects in the store (such as books, microwave ovens, and housewares) as well as virtual objects in the augmented reality display (such as product annotations <read on offering presentation> and a shopping cart that follows her wherever she goes)").
As explained in rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of offering presentation of Fein into Miller is provided above.
The combination does not explicitly disclose but Hunt teaches wherein the displayed [[ offering ]] presentation is displayed with controls such as play/stop, fast-forward, rewind and mute that can be pressed on the touch screen display to control the presentation (Hunt, Fig. 5, Element 520 Virtual control on Touchpad; Paragraph [0042], [0050], Specific zones on the touchpad 105 may serve as dedicated buttons, shown as virtual controls 520… the context-specific user interface 405 may include graphical elements for transport controls, e.g., Play, Stop, Pause, FF (fast forward), RW (rewind), commonly used buttons such as Volume Up/Down and Mute are included).
Hunt and Miller are analogous since both of them are dealing with user interface media data process. Miller provided a way of superimposing the virtual object on the real world image and align the virtual object along with real world object hen moving around the device in the augmented reality environment. Hunt provided a way of providing overlay virtual control buttons on the screen when dealing with media data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate multi-function virtual buttons taught by Hunt into modified invention of Miller such that during the process of image in the augmented reality environment, system will be able to superimpose multi function media control virtual button onto the screen in order for user to easily control the media when using the system which increase the flexibility of the system at the same time provide more user friendly and better immersive experience for user.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Miller, Jiang and Fein teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches offering presentation (Fein, Paragraph [0072], "imagine a user is viewing an augmented reality scene in a retail store. She will see the real objects in the store (such as books, microwave ovens, and housewares) as well as virtual objects in the augmented reality display (such as product annotations <read on offering presentation> and a shopping cart that follows her wherever she goes)").
As explained in rejection of claim 1, the obviousness for combining of offering presentation of Fein into Miller is provided above.
The combination does not explicitly disclose but Hunt teaches wherein the displayed [[ offering ]] presentation comprises a superimposed control bar displayed on the touch screen display that controls playing of the presentation (Hunt, Fig. 4D, Fig. 5, Element Control bar, Paragraph [0045], in the context specific user interface 445 is to include graphical elements for a timeline bar 440 on the display device 120, with a "now" icon 455 representing the current display point. A user may directly drag (via the cursor 420) the now icon 455 along the timeline bar 440 to move to a different position along the timeline bar 440. A gesture such as a double-tap anywhere in the context-specific user interface 455 may activate the play function and a triple-tap may activate the fast-forward function).
Hunt and Miller are analogous since both of them are dealing with user interface media data process. Miller provided a way of superimposing the virtual object on the real world image and align the virtual object along with real world object hen moving around the device in the augmented reality environment. Hunt provided a way of providing overlay virtual control bar button on the screen when dealing with media data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate virtual control bar taught by Hunt into modified invention of Miller such that during the process of image in the augmented reality environment, system will be able to superimpose virtual control bar onto the screen in order for user to easily control the media when using the system which increase the flexibility of the system at the same time provide more user friendly and better immersive experience for user.
Regarding Claim 19, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 8 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Miller, Jiang and Fein teaches the invention in Claim 1.
The combination further teaches offering presentation (Fein, Paragraph [0072], "imagine a user is viewing an augmented reality scene in a retail store. She will see the real objects in the store (such as books, microwave ovens, and housewares) as well as virtual objects in the augmented reality display (such as product annotations <read on offering presentation> and a shopping cart that follows her wherever she goes)").
As explained in rejection of claim 12, the obviousness for combining of offering presentation of Fein into Miller is provided above.
The combination does not explicitly disclose but Hunt teaches wherein the [[ offering ]] presentation comprises a superimposed control bar that controls playing of audio (Hunt, Fig. 5, Element 520 Virtual control on Touchpad; Paragraph [0042], [0048], [0050], Specific zones on the touchpad 105 may serve as dedicated buttons, shown as virtual controls 520… the context-specific user interface 405 may include graphical elements for transport controls, e.g., Play, Stop, Pause, FF (fast forward), RW (rewind), commonly used buttons such as Volume Up/Down and Mute are included; select an alternative scene angle and control the CE device 110 to output the alternative scene angle of the digital video and audio content for display on the display device).
Hunt and Miller are analogous since both of them are dealing with user interface media data process. Miller provided a way of superimposing the virtual object on the real world image and align the virtual object along with real world object hen moving around the device in the augmented reality environment. Hunt provided a way of providing overlay virtual control bar button on the screen to control the audio when dealing with media data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate virtual control bar taught by Hunt into modified invention of Miller such that during the process of image in the augmented reality environment, system will be able to superimpose virtual control bar onto the screen in order for user to easily control the media when using the system which increase the flexibility of the system at the same time provide more user friendly and better immersive experience for user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1, 11, filed on 6/1/2015, with respect to rejection under 35 USC § 103 that prior art combination does not teaches the limitation “wherein the offering presentation provides offering details for offering the real world object“ have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. It has now been taught by the combination of prior arts Miller, Jiang and Fein.
In regard to Claims 2-11, 13-20, they directly/indirectly depends on independent Claim 1, 12 respectively. Applicant does not argue anything other than the independent claim 1, 12. The limitations in those claims in conjunction with combination previously established as explained.
Regarding Claim 1, 11, In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness in Claim 1 filed on 3/2/2015, with respect to rejection under 35 USC § 103 is based upon improper hindsight reasoning. As a matter of fact, Jiang expressly identifies marker-based AR as a problem and states its embodiments are designed to "avoid the need to include markers in the real world scene" (Jiang, Paragraph [0026], [0005]). Additionally, Miller and Jiang both address AR image processing on portable user devices displaying virtual content anchored to real-world scenes. A skilled artisan reading Miller's object-recognition disclosure ([0035], [0099]) would naturally consult Jiang's markerless recognition approach because Jiang solves a known usability limitation of marker-based AR systems that Miller's portable device embodiments would encounter. By modify Miller's object-recognition process with Jiang's markerless recognition technique because (i) Jiang expressly teaches that markerless recognition eliminates the need to prepare and place fiducial markers in real-world scenes ([0026]), and (ii) doing so predictably extends Miller's smartphone/tablet AR use-cases ([0079], [0129]) to arbitrary, unprepared environments. It must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230410436 A1 Augmented reality enabled dynamic product presentation
US 10726571 B2 Augmented reality digital content search and sizing techniques
US 20180158134 A1 Shopping System Using Augmented Reality
US 20170132841 A1 AUGMENTED REALITY E-COMMERCE FOR HOME IMPROVEMENT
US 9449343 B2 Augmented-reality shopping using a networked mobile device
US 9430752 B2 Virtual planogram management, systems, and methods
US 9412121 B2 Backend support for augmented reality window shopping
US 9202229 B2 Systems and/or methods for managing “show-rooming” practices
US 20150324881 A1 Commerce System and Method of Providing Intelligent Personal Agents for Identifying Intent to Buy
US 20150221133 A1 DETERMINING SPACE TO DISPLAY CONTENT IN AUGMENTED REALITY
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YuJang Tswei/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614