DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 35 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 35 recites the limitation "the at least one fluid inlet" in line 1 and “the central lumen” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
It appears to the examiner that claim 35 should depend on claim 34 where the fluid inlet and central lumen is introduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-10 and 30-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Coleman et al. (2010/0114128) in view of Kohm et al. (2008/0071376) and further in view of Facundus et al. (8,211,128).
Coleman discloses a surgical assembly, comprising: a delivery tool (200) (Fig. 16 and [0086]) including an elongate shaft (224’, 225’) (Fig. 26-30 and [0095]) extending from a distal end thereof (Fig. 26-30 and [0095]), the delivery tool including a first central lumen (lumen of 224’ that holds 225’ as seen in Fig. 27, lumen of 225’ as seen in Fig. 27 that holds suture 131’) therethrough (Fig. 26-30 and [0095]); and a deployable coupler (10, 310, 410) (Fig. 1-30) coupled to a distal end of the elongate shaft (Fig. 26-30 and [0095]) and having a second central lumen (lumen seen in Fig. 1-3 and 5 that holds part 229’ as seen in Fig. 27-29) in communication with the first central lumen of the delivery tool (Fig. 27-29 and [0095]), the deployable coupler having a distal wing (16b) (Fig. 1-5 and [0078-79]) defined by first proximal and distal cuts (see figure below) on a distal region thereof (12b) (Fig. 1) and a proximal wing (16a) (Fig. 1-5 and [0078-79]) defined by second proximal and distal cuts (see figure below) on a proximal region (12a) thereof (Fig. 1), the deployable coupler having a middle region (13) (Fig. 1) between the proximal region and the distal region (Fig. 1); wherein the delivery tool is configured to transform the deployable coupler between a delivery configuration (Fig. 1, 6, and 16-18) in which the elongate shaft is substantially parallel to the distal and proximal wing (Fig. 1, 6, and 16-18) and a deployed configuration (Fig. 4, 5, and 10) in which the elongate shaft is substantially skew to the distal and proximal wing (Fig. 1, 6, and 16-18 and [0079]); wherein the length ratio of the first proximal and distal cuts is substantially equal to 1 (see figure below); wherein the length ratio of the second proximal and distal cuts is substantially greater than 1 (see figure below); wherein the delivery tool and the deployable coupler are configured to move over a guidewire extending through the first and second central lumens (Fig. 27-29 where the device is capable of receiving a guidewire).
It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Coleman discloses all the limitations discussed above including that that the slits define the angle of the wings ([0079]), however Coleman does not specify that the angle is based on the ratio of the distal and proximal cuts.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a length ratio to define the desired angle, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Furthermore, the determination of optimum or workable ranges of the slits to achieve desired angle and flexibility of the wings would have been characterize by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 IIB
Coleman discloses all the limitations discussed above, however Coleman is silent with regards to the deployable coupler having a middle portion between the proximal region and the distal region that has a diameter greater than a diameter of the proximal region and a diameter of the distal region.
Kohm discloses a surgical assembly having an actuator assembly (1500) (Fig. 11 and [0130]) including an elongate shaft (1520) (Fig. 11 and [0130]); and a deployable coupler (200) (Fig. 7) coupled to a distal end of the elongate shaft (Fig. 15-16 and [0131]), the deployable coupler including a proximal region (220) (Fig. 7 and [0118]) having a plurality of proximal slits (221) (Fig. 7) therein configured to form a proximal wing (225, 227, 229) (Fig. 7-9 and [0122-123]) and a distal region (210) (Fig. 7 and [0118]) having a plurality of distal slits (211) (Fig. 7) therein configured to form a distal wing (215, 217, 219) (Fig. 7-9 and [0121]), the deployable coupler including a middle portion (250) (Fig. 7 and [0118-119]) between the proximal region and the distal region that has a diameter greater than a diameter of the proximal region and a diameter of the distal region (Fig. 7 and [0119]).
Kohm further discloses that the middle portion (150) can have a diameter smaller than the diameter of the distal and proximal regions (Fig. 5) or the middle portion (250) can have a diameter larger than the diameter of the distal and proximal regions (Fig. 7 and [0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the middle portion of Coleman to have a larger diameter than the distal and proximal regions, as taught by Kohm, since it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element for another will yield predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82, USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Coleman in view of Kohm teaches all the claimed limitations discussed above however, Coleman in view of Kohm does not disclose the at least one fluid inlet on the sidewall of the delivery tool on proximal the distal end and in communication with the central lumen as claimed.
Facunda discloses a delivery tool (10) for gastric bypass with fluid inlets (24) connected to the central lumen on a sidewall and proximal to the distal end as seen in Fig. 1 and Col. 2 Lines 48-60.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Coleman in view of Kohm with the delivery tool with inlets in view of the teachings of Facunda, in order so that the stomach contents may be removed with a minimal amount of manipulation of tube 10 to prevent applied suction drawing the tube against the stomach lining (Col. 2 Lines 53-56).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 32 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 22-26, 27, 33, and 34 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the art of record when considered alone or in combination neither renders obvious nor anticipates a surgical assembly having an actuator assembly including an elongate shaft; and a deployable coupler having a first tubular portion having a proximal cut and a distal cut having a length ratio of approximately 1:1; a second tubular portion having a proximal cut and a distal cut having a length ratio substantially less than 1:1; a connector portion with a larger diameter than the distal and proximal portions and being a press ring, in conjunction with the rest of the claimed limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 8/12/26 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection which teaches the fluid inlet not taught by Coleman as stated in the arguments filed on 8/12/26.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIANNE DORNBUSCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771