DETAILED ACTION
Introductory Notes
Any paragraph citation of the instant is in reference to the U.S. published patent application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitations “wherein a number of the first current collecting members corresponds to a number of the plurality of wound electrode bodies, wherein the first current collecting member comprises a first current collecting portion, and second current collecting portions which are connected to the first current collecting portion, a number of the second current collecting portions corresponds to a number of the plurality of wound electrode bodies” (emphasis added). Unlike similar claim 1, claim 10 states the number of members corresponds to the number of bodies, the members comprises second current collecting portions, and the number of second current collecting portions also corresponds to the number of bodies. There is no support in the specification for the number of second current collecting portions to be B*B where B is the number of bodies (e.g. nine second portions per electrode for a three-body battery). Notably Figs. 2 and 3 as well as [0032] establish that each electrode has a single member with a single first portion (L-shaped portion) and plural second portions where it is the second portions that correspond to the number of bodies (three second portions for a three-body battery as shown in Figs. 2 and 3). Cancelling claim 10 and relying on claim 1 would overcome the rejection.
The remaining claims are rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitations ““wherein a number of the first current collecting members corresponds to a number of the plurality of wound electrode bodies, wherein the first current collecting member comprises a first current collecting portion, and second current collecting portions which are connected to the first current collecting portion, a number of the second current collecting portions corresponds to a number of the plurality of wound electrode bodies” (emphasis added). It is unclear if the number of second current collecting portions is B or B*B where B is the number of bodies. Unlike very similar claim 1, claim 10 states the number of members corresponds to the number of bodies, the members comprises second current collecting portions, and the number of second current collecting portions also corresponds to the number of bodies. This leads a multiplicity of portions. Cancelling claim 10 and relying on claim 1 would overcome the rejection.
The remaining claims are rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 10-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK (US 20140302365 A1) in view of SHINODA (US 20160336576 A1) in view of HOSOKAWA (US 20230006315 A1).
Figure 4 of PARK and Figure 9 of SHINODA are below with examiner’s remarks. Fig. 4 of PARK has notably been flipped vertically for the sake of clarity in relation to the claims and ease of comparison to SHINODA Fig. 9 and instant Fig. 6.
Regarding claim 1, PARK discloses a secondary battery, comprising: a wound electrode body which is flat and in which a first electrode and a second electrode different from the first electrode are laminated and wound with a separator interposed therebetween (“a secondary battery in which first and second electrode plates are sequentially stacked, a first separator is interposed between the first and second electrode plates, and the first and second electrode plates and the first separator are wound” [0011]);
and a first current collecting member connected to the first electrode (as shown by the bundling of tabs in all figures),
wherein the wound electrode body comprises a plurality of first electrode tabs connected to the first electrode at a first end portion in a winding axis direction (first electrode tabs 110 as depicted in Fig. 4),
the plurality of first electrode tabs are stacked (first electrode tabs 110 as depicted in Fig. 4),
in a thickness direction of the wound electrode body, a ratio (N1A/N1B) of the number N1A of stacked layers of the first electrode tabs and the number N1B of stacked layers of the first electrode satisfies 0.3 to 0.7 (the ratio of tabs to layers in Fig. 4 is 0.5),
the wound electrode body has a first flat outer surface and a second flat outer surface at both ends in the thickness direction of the wound electrode body (as shown in Fig. 4),
the wound electrode body comprises a plurality of second electrode tabs connected to the second electrode at a second end portion different from the first end portion in the winding axis direction, and the plurality of second electrode tabs are stacked (as shown in Fig. 4 the second tabs are at a different end portion than the first tabs and stacked),
a plane, passing through a winding axis of the wound electrode body and perpendicular to the thickness direction of the wound electrode body, is defined as a first plane (as shown in Fig. 4 with remarks above),
in the wound electrode body, a region on a side of the first flat outer surface with respect to the first plane is defined as a first region, and a region on a side of the second flat outer surface with respect to the first plane is defined as a second region (as shown in Fig. 4 with remarks above),
in the first region, a ratio A of the number of stacked layers of the first electrode tabs to the number of stacked layers of the first electrode is 0.8 or more (the ratio of first electrode tabs to layers in Fig. 4 in the first region is 1:1 or 1), and a ratio B of the number of stacked layers of the second electrode tabs to the number of stacked layers of the second electrode is 0.2 or less (the ratio of second electrode tabs to layers in Fig. 4 in the first region is 0 due to lack of second electrode tabs in that region),
in the second region, a ratio C of the number of stacked layers of the first electrode tabs to the number of stacked layers of the first electrode is 0.2 or less (the ratio of first electrode tabs to layers in Fig. 4 in the second region is 0 due to lack of first electrode tabs in that region) and, a ratio D of the number of stacked layers of the second electrode tabs to the number of stacked layers of the second electrode is 0.8 or more (the ratio of second electrode tabs to layers in Fig. 4 in the second region is 1:1 or 1).
Regarding the limitation “ten or more first electrode tabs are provided”, PARK does not expressly teach ten or more first electrode tabs and Fig. 4 shows five such tabs. However, PARK states in paragraph [0079] equations 11 and 12 pertain to the location of tabs shown in Fig. 4. Equations 11 and 12 (detailed in paragraph [0066]) note that n,m are the number of windings and the equation can be solved by PHOSITA to arrive at ten or more first electrode tabs by setting the number of windings to twenty or more. Given the figures showing five electrode tabs and equations needed to increase the electrode tabs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to both envision and produce ten or more electrode tabs. Furthermore, per MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B), “mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced” and it is the examiner’s position that increasing the first electrode tabs from the disclosed five to ten is duplication.
PARK is directed at the grouping of tabs as it relates to winding. PARK does not expressly teach details regarding the regions in which tabs are bundled or how they are bent.
SHINODA is directed to an electrode group which is a cathode and an anode wound with a separator being interposed therebetween and associated tabs, like PARK.
SHINODA discloses Fig. 9 as well as the description “the cathode current collecting tab 12 and the anode current collecting tab 13 are bent in the same direction” [0058].
SHINODA teaches that with such arrangement it “possible to secure a maximum cross section of conductive paths and a maximum space for the electrode group” [0058].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to bend the tabs of PARK in the same direction as taught by SHINODA to secure maximum space for conductive paths and components.
Therefore, modified PARK discloses the plurality of first electrode tabs are bundled on the side of the first flat outer surface to form a first bundled portion (as taught by SHINODA and shown in Fig. 9, the bundle of first electrode tabs go below the plane and on the first flat outer surface side),
the plurality of first electrode tabs are bent and connected to the first current collecting member (as taught by SHINODA and shown in Fig. 9, the tabs are bent and connected to a current collecting member),
the plurality of second electrode tabs are bundled on the side of the first flat outer surface to form a second bundled portion (as taught by SHINODA and shown in Fig. 9, the bundle of second electrode tabs go below the plane and on the first flat outer surface side),
the plurality of first electrode tabs are bent such that a distal end side of the first bundled portion faces the second flat outer surface (as taught by SHINODA and shown in Fig. 9, the tabs are bent such that the distal ends face the second flat outer surface),
and the plurality of second electrode tabs are bent such that a distal end side of the second bundled portion faces the second flat outer surface (as taught by SHINODA and shown in Fig. 9, the tabs are bent such that the distal ends face the second flat outer surface).
Regarding the secondary battery comprising “a plurality of wound electrode bodies” (emphasis added), modified PARK discloses a single assembly, however the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378, 380 (CCPA 1960). Further, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Furthermore, HOSOKAWA discloses two bodies in at least Figs. 2 and 3 as shown with examiner’s remarks above as well as that “in a case where the number of electrode bodies 3 housed in the battery case 100 is greater than two, a secondary battery with a high reliability can be stably manufactured without forming the positive electrode current collector 6 in a complicated shape” per [0102].
Regarding “the first current collecting member comprises a first current collecting portion, and second current collecting portions which are connected to the first current collecting portion, a number of the second current collecting portions corresponds to a number of the plurality of wound electrode bodies”, the limitation is being interpreted such that there is a single first current collect portion to which the plurality of second collecting portions connect where support for this interpretation can be found in instant Fig. 2 and 3. PARK is silent as to plural bodies and therefore does not expressly teach the limitation. HOSOKAWA is directed to a secondary battery including a flat electrode body like PARK. HOSOKAWA discloses Figs. 2 and 3 with first positive electrode current collector 61 connected to plural second positive electrode current collectors 62 (see [0036]) as well as corresponding collectors 71 and 72 on the negative side (see [0038]) where each second current collectors corresponds to an electrode body.
HOSOKAWA teaches the benefit of having a single first current collector and plural second current collectors per electrode as such: “positive electrode current collector 6 is configured to include the first positive electrode current collector 61 and the second positive electrode current collector 62. Thus, when the positive electrode tab group 40 is bent, the positive electrode tab group 40 can be bent without bending the positive electrode current collector 6, and a secondary battery with a higher volume energy density can be more stably provided by a simpler method” (emphasis added.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the single first current collecting portion and the plurality of second current collecting portions of HOSOKAWA in the battery of modified PARK in order to limit bending of the current collector such that higher volume was dedicated to energy density and to simplify the manufacturing method.
Therefore, modified PARK discloses the first current collecting member comprises a first current collecting portion, and second current collecting portions which are connected to the first current collecting portion, a number of the second current collecting portions corresponds to a number of the plurality of wound electrode bodies (as taught by HOSOKAWA).
Note: For subsequent dependent claims, the singular ‘body’ will be used consistent with previous office actions and for clarity when discussing PARK and SHINODA, however the rejections of the dependents are to the plurality of bodies per duplication of parts and as taught by HOSOKAWA.
Regarding claim 2, modified PARK discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and SHINODA further discloses the first plane and the first current collecting member intersect (as shown in Fig. 9 the plane intersects the current collecting members).
Regarding claim 3, modified PARK discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and SHINODA further discloses a battery case that accommodates the wound electrode body therein, wherein the battery case comprises; an exterior body having a bottom portion, an opening, a pair of first side walls, and a pair of second side walls, and a sealing plate that seals the opening (in Figs. 1 and 2 SHINODA shows a common battery design with cap 18 that seals the outer can 19).
Regarding claim 8, modified PARK discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and SHINODA further discloses at least a part of a region in which the second electrode tabs are bundled is arranged on the side of the first flat outer surface with respect to the first plane (as shown in Fig. 9, the bundle of second electrode tabs go below the plane and into the first flat outer surface side),
and tips of the second electrode tabs are arranged on the side of the second flat outer surface with respect to the first plane (as shown in Fig. 9, the tabs are bent such that the tips are one the side of the plane corresponding to the second flat outer surface).
Regarding claim 10 and in reference to the above 112(b) rejection, the claim is being interpreted the same as claim 1 where the number of members is one per electrode and the number of second portions is equal to the number of bodies. Therefore, the rejection below makes use of claim 1 wording when discussing the new series of limitations toward these portions.
PARK discloses a secondary battery, comprising: a wound electrode body which is flat and in which a first electrode and a second electrode different from the first electrode are laminated and wound with a separator interposed therebetween (“a secondary battery in which first and second electrode plates are sequentially stacked, a first separator is interposed between the first and second electrode plates, and the first and second electrode plates and the first separator are wound” [0011]);
and a first current collecting member connected to the first electrode (as shown by the bundling of tabs in all figures),
wherein the wound electrode body comprises a plurality of first electrode tabs connected to the first electrode at a first end portion in a winding axis direction (first electrode tabs 110 as depicted in Fig. 4),
the plurality of first electrode tabs are stacked (first electrode tabs 110 as depicted in Fig. 4),
in a thickness direction of the wound electrode body, a ratio (N1A/N1B) of the number N1A of stacked layers of the first electrode tabs and the number N1B of stacked layers of the first electrode satisfies 0.3 to 0.7 (the ratio of tabs to layers in Fig. 4 is 0.5),
the wound electrode body has a first flat outer surface and a second flat outer surface at both ends in the thickness direction of the wound electrode body (as shown in Fig. 4),
the wound electrode body comprises a plurality of second electrode tabs connected to the second electrode at a second end portion different from the first end portion in the winding axis direction, and the plurality of second electrode tabs are stacked (as shown in Fig. 4 the second tabs are at a different end portion than the first tabs and stacked),
a plane, passing through a winding axis of the wound electrode body and perpendicular to the thickness direction of the wound electrode body, is defined as a first plane (as shown in Fig. 4 with remarks above),
in the wound electrode body, a region on a side of the first flat outer surface with respect to the first plane is defined as a first region, and a region on a side of the second flat outer surface with respect to the first plane is defined as a second region (as shown in Fig. 4 with remarks above),
in the first region, a ratio A of the number of stacked layers of the first electrode tabs to the number of stacked layers of the first electrode is 0.8 or more (the ratio of first electrode tabs to layers in Fig. 4 in the first region is 1:1 or 1), and a ratio B of the number of stacked layers of the second electrode tabs to the number of stacked layers of the second electrode is 0.2 or less (the ratio of second electrode tabs to layers in Fig. 4 in the first region is 0 due to lack of second electrode tabs in that region),
in the second region, a ratio C of the number of stacked layers of the first electrode tabs to the number of stacked layers of the first electrode is 0.2 or less (the ratio of first electrode tabs to layers in Fig. 4 in the second region is 0 due to lack of first electrode tabs in that region) and, a ratio D of the number of stacked layers of the second electrode tabs to the number of stacked layers of the second electrode is 0.8 or more (the ratio of second electrode tabs to layers in Fig. 4 in the second region is 1:1 or 1).
Regarding the limitation “ten or more first electrode tabs are provided”, PARK does not expressly teach ten or more first electrode tabs and Fig. 4 shows five such tabs. However, PARK states in paragraph [0079] equations 11 and 12 pertain to the location of tabs shown in Fig. 4. Equations 11 and 12 (detailed in paragraph [0066]) note that n,m are the number of windings and the equation can be solved by PHOSITA to arrive at ten or more first electrode tabs by setting the number of windings to twenty or more. Given the figures showing five electrode tabs and equations needed to increase the electrode tabs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to both envision and produce ten or more electrode tabs. Furthermore, per MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B), “mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced” and it is the examiner’s position that increasing the first electrode tabs from the disclosed five to ten is duplication.
PARK is directed at the grouping of tabs as it relates to winding. PARK does not expressly teach details regarding the regions in which tabs are bundled or how they are bent.
SHINODA is directed to an electrode group which is a cathode and an anode wound with a separator being interposed therebetween and associated tabs, like PARK.
SHINODA discloses Fig. 9 as well as the description “the cathode current collecting tab 12 and the anode current collecting tab 13 are bent in the same direction” [0058].
SHINODA teaches that with such arrangement it “possible to secure a maximum cross section of conductive paths and a maximum space for the electrode group” [0058].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to bend the tabs of PARK in the same direction as taught by SHINODA to secure maximum space for conductive paths and components.
Therefore, modified PARK discloses the plurality of first electrode tabs are bundled on the side of the first flat outer surface to form a first bundled portion (as taught by SHINODA and shown in Fig. 9, the bundle of first electrode tabs go below the plane and on the first flat outer surface side),
the plurality of first electrode tabs are bent and connected to the first current collecting member (as taught by SHINODA and shown in Fig. 9, the tabs are bent and connected to a current collecting member),
the plurality of second electrode tabs are bundled on the side of the first flat outer surface to form a second bundled portion (as taught by SHINODA and shown in Fig. 9, the bundle of second electrode tabs go below the plane and on the first flat outer surface side),
at least a part of a region in which the second electrode tabs are bundled is arranged on the side of the first flat outer surface with respect to the first plane (as taught by SHINODA and shown in Fig. 9, the bundle of second electrode tabs go below the plane and into the first flat outer surface side),
and tips of the second electrode tabs are arranged on the side of the second flat outer surface with respect to the first plane (as taught by SHINODA and shown in Fig. 9, the tabs are bent such that the tips are one the side of the plane corresponding to the second flat outer surface.
Regarding the secondary battery comprising “a plurality of wound electrode bodies” (emphasis added), modified PARK discloses a single assembly, however the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378, 380 (CCPA 1960). Further, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Furthermore, HOSOKAWA discloses two bodies in at least Figs. 2 and 3 as shown with examiner’s remarks above as well as that “in a case where the number of electrode bodies 3 housed in the battery case 100 is greater than two, a secondary battery with a high reliability can be stably manufactured without forming the positive electrode current collector 6 in a complicated shape” per [0102].
Regarding “the first current collecting member comprises a first current collecting portion, and second current collecting portions which are connected to the first current collecting portion, a number of the second current collecting portions corresponds to a number of the plurality of wound electrode bodies”, the limitation is being interpreted such that there is a single first current collect portion to which the plurality of second collecting portions connect where support for this interpretation can be found in instant Fig. 2 and 3. PARK is silent as to plural bodies and therefore does not expressly teach the limitation. HOSOKAWA is directed to a secondary battery including a flat electrode body like PARK. HOSOKAWA discloses Figs. 2 and 3 with first positive electrode current collector 61 connected to plural second positive electrode current collectors 62 (see [0036]) as well as corresponding collectors 71 and 72 on the negative side (see [0038]) where each second current collectors corresponds to an electrode body.
HOSOKAWA teaches the benefit of having a single first current collector and plural second current collectors per electrode as such: “positive electrode current collector 6 is configured to include the first positive electrode current collector 61 and the second positive electrode current collector 62. Thus, when the positive electrode tab group 40 is bent, the positive electrode tab group 40 can be bent without bending the positive electrode current collector 6, and a secondary battery with a higher volume energy density can be more stably provided by a simpler method” (emphasis added.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the single first current collecting portion and the plurality of second current collecting portions of HOSOKAWA in the battery of modified PARK in order to limit bending of the current collector such that higher volume was dedicated to energy density and to simplify the manufacturing method.
Therefore, modified PARK discloses the first current collecting member comprises a first current collecting portion, and second current collecting portions which are connected to the first current collecting portion, a number of the second current collecting portions corresponds to a number of the plurality of wound electrode bodies (as taught by HOSOKAWA).
Note: For subsequent dependent claims, the singular ‘body’ will be used consistent with previous office actions and for clarity when discussing PARK and SHINODA, however the rejections of the dependents are to the plurality of bodies per duplication of parts and as taught by HOSOKAWA.
Regarding claim 11, modified PARK discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and SHINODA further discloses the first plane and the first current collecting member intersect (as shown in Fig. 9 the plane intersects the current collecting members).
Regarding claim 12, modified PARK discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and SHINODA further discloses a battery case that accommodates the wound electrode body therein, wherein the battery case comprises: an exterior body having a bottom portion, an opening, a pair of first side walls, and a pair of second side walls, and a sealing plate that seals the opening (in Figs. 1 and 2 SHINODA shows a common battery design with cap 18 that seals the outer can 19).
Regarding claim 13, modified PARK discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and PARK further discloses the plurality of first electrode tabs are bent such that a distal end side of the first bundled portion faces the second flat outer surface (as taught by SHINODA and shown in Fig. 9, the tabs are bent such that the distal ends face the second flat outer surface),
and the plurality of second electrode tabs are bent such that a distal end side of the second bundled portion faces the second flat outer surface (as taught by SHINODA and shown in Fig. 9, the tabs are bent such that the distal ends face the second flat outer surface).
Regarding claim 15, modified PARK discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and PARK further discloses the wound electrode body comprises the plurality of second electrode tabs at the second end portion (as shown in Fig. 4 the second tabs are at a different end portion than the first tabs).
Claims 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK in view of SHINODA in view of CHOI (KR 20190024707 A, English translation used for citations).
Regarding claims 9 and 14, modified PARK does not expressly teach differing distances between end portions and tabs.
CHOI is directed to a second battery that is laminated and wound (per [0016]), like PARK and SHINODA.
CHOI discloses “the negative tab (260) may be longer than the positive tab (240)” [0061]. CHOI teaches that with the larger area “it is advantageous to quickly release heat from the negative tab (260), which generates heat better than the positive tab (240)” [0061].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to increase the length of one set of tabs in modified PARK based on the teachings of CHOI because in doing so one set of tabs could then have the benefit of more heat dissipation.
Therefore, modified PARK discloses a shortest distance H1 between the first end portion of the wound electrode body and the first current collecting member in the winding axis direction is shorter than a shortest distance H2 between the second end portion and a second current collecting member connected to the second electrode (wherein the shorter versus longer tabs taught by CHOI would lead to corresponding a difference between minimal H1 and minimal H2).
Regarding claim 14 alone, it is noted the amended limitation “each of the plurality of wound electrode bodies comprises the plurality of second electrode tabs at the second end portion” is a restatement of a limitation already present in amended claim 10.
Response to Arguments
Regarding art-based rejections, applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any interpretation applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Newly cited:
Tsushima and Hosokawa (US 20230091100 A1) teaching members and portions like HOSOKAWA (‘315) referenced above.
Hosokawa and Yamada (US 20230238564 A1) teaching members and portions like HOSOKAWA (‘315) referenced above.
Previously cited:
WU (US 20230116145 A1) directed to a wound battery wherein Figs. 4 and 5 show electrode tab groups satisfying the ratios of claim 1.
KWAK (US 20240363892 A1) directed to aspects of connecting to tabs and internal spacers wherein the different connection styles depicted in Fig. 6 for the positive and negative tabs reads on dependent claims 9 and 14.
/T.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/KOURTNEY R S CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721