DETAILED ACTION
*Examiner Note: Claim language is bolded. Cited References are italicized. Examiner interpretations are preceded with an asterisk *.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot because the amendments made have presented a combination of elements directed towards newly added elements that have necessitated new grounds of rejection.
Response to Amendment
Regarding the previous rejections, the amendments made to the claims fail to overcome the prior art and have necessitated new grounds of rejection as outlined below. While the new ground of rejection may rely on some of the previous references applied in the prior rejection of record, new additional references have been added to the combination and introduced for Applicant’s consideration given the amended independent claims. The new grounds of rejection are outlined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scaringe (US 2019/0016231 A1) in view of Lee (KR102264429B1) and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2011/0095603A1).
Regarding claim 1, Scaringe discloses A battery assembly (see at least para. [0004] of
Scaringe which discloses “ an auxiliary battery system for an electric automotive vehicle to increase the range of the electric vehicle, and in particular, an auxiliary battery system that can be carried by the electric vehicle, e.g., in a cargo area of the electric vehicle, and that can be efficiently cooled”) for an electric vehicle (Fig. 5A, 500 and see at least para. [0037] of Scaringe which discloses “an exemplary electric vehicle 500 like electric vehicle 100 previously described. As shown in the side view of FIG. 5A and bottom view of FIG. 5B, the electric vehicle 500 includes may support an auxiliary battery module 502 such as either auxiliary battery modules 102 or 202”), the battery assembly comprising: a first battery unit (Fig. 5A, 552 and see at least para. [0037] of Scaringe which discloses “a primary high-voltage battery 552 (which may also be referred to as a primary battery pack) for providing electrical power to the electric motor(s) 550 for propelling the electric vehicle 500”); a DC/DC converter (Fig. 5A, 568 and see at least para. [0041] of Scaringe which discloses “a DC/DC converter 568 can be connected between the auxiliary battery module 502 and the primary battery 552 to manage any voltage differences”) electrically connected to the first battery unit (see at least para. [0041] of Scaringe which discloses “a DC/DC converter 568 can be connected between the auxiliary battery module 502 and the primary battery 552 to manage any voltage differences between the primary battery 552 and the auxiliary battery module 502”, *This corresponds to the DC/DC converter 568 being directly connected to the primary battery 552); a battery receptacle (Fig. 1A, 112; Fig. 1B, 123 and see at least para. [0022] of Scaringe which discloses “The auxiliary battery module 102 can be configured to be positioned in the cargo area 112 of the electric vehicle 100 while supplying electric power to the motor(s) that propel the electric vehicle, and can be configured to be removable from and reattachable to the electric vehicle 100. In this regard, as shown in FIGS. 1A-1C, protruding support portions 121 (support members) that protrude laterally at a top side of the auxiliary battery module 102 may be placed on corresponding recessed portions 123 of the vehicle side members 116 to support the auxiliary battery module 102” and also see at least para. [0027] of Scaringe which discloses “receptacles 128 recessed into a forward sidewall of the cargo area 112, having a tapered opening portion 128 a and a cylindrical opening portion 128 b, can mate with protruding alignment members 130 at a forward sidewall of the battery housing 103 of the auxiliary battery module 102”, *This corresponds to an aligning structure within the receiving structure) for selectively receiving a second battery unit (Fig. 5A, 502 and see at least para. [0037] of Scaringe which discloses “the electric vehicle 500 includes may support an auxiliary battery module 502 such as either auxiliary battery modules 102 or 202 previously described …The primary battery 552 and auxiliary battery module 502 may be monitored by a controller 554”, *Examiner interprets the auxiliary battery module 502 as the received battery unit), and a first electric connection interface (Fig. 1A, 122 and see at least para. [0021] of Scaringe which discloses “a second electrical connector 122 mounted to a forward sidewall of the cargo area 112, wherein the second electrical connector 122 mates with the first electrical connector 120 such that the auxiliary battery module 102 can provide electrical power to the electric motor(s) that propel the electric vehicle”) positioned in the battery receptacle electrically connecting to the second battery unit when the second battery unit is received in the battery receptacle (see at least para. [0021] of Scaringe which discloses “the exemplary auxiliary battery module 102 includes a battery housing 103 and a first electrical connector 120 mounted to the housing 103, and the electric vehicle 100 includes a second electrical connector 122 mounted to a forward sidewall of the cargo area 112, wherein the second electrical connector 122 mates with the first electrical connector 120 such that the auxiliary battery module 102 can provide electrical power to the electric motor(s) that propel the electric vehicle 102”, *The connector 122 is on the vehicle side and positioned at the cargo area/receptable (112/123) and it mates with connector 120 on the removable auxiliary (secondary) battery module when installed) and selectively electrically connecting to the DC/DC converter (Fig. 5A, 566 and 568 and see at least para. [0040] of Scaringe which discloses “a switch 566 can be provided to electrically isolate the primary battery 552 from the auxiliary battery module 502 until proper electrical connection of the auxiliary battery module 502 is obtained, e.g., which can be verified through voltage detection circuitry that communicates with controller 554” and see at least para. [0041] of Scaringe which discloses “a DC/DC converter 568 can be connected between the auxiliary battery module 502 and the primary battery 552”, *Examiner interprets the switch 566 isolate/verify then connect function to be selectively under the broadest reasonable interpretation); and
Scaringe does describe a high operational voltage (see at least para. [0007] of Scaringe
which discloses “attaching comprising electrically connecting the auxiliary battery module in parallel with a primary battery of the electric vehicle” and see at least para. [0021] of Scaringe which discloses “the electrical connectors 120 and 122 include high- voltage connections 120 a, 120 b and 122 a, 122 b, respectively, that permit the auxiliary battery module 102 to be electrically connected in parallel with the vehicle's primary battery and may include one or more low- voltage connections”, *Examiner interprets directly paralleling two battery packs without an intervening converter corresponds as having a matched (same) nominal voltage, under the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Scaringe may not explicitly disclose the second battery unit having a same high nominal
operational voltage as the first battery unit.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee (KR102264429B1) discloses explicitly discloses a
replacement battery pack to have the same high nominal operational voltage as an existing battery pack (see at least page 2 of the translation of Lee which discloses “a recombinant lithium-ion battery pack having the same nominal voltage (201.6V) as the nickel-hydrogen battery pack”, *Accordingly, Lee explicitly teaches configuring a replacement battery pack to have the same nominal voltage as an existing battery pack. Therefore, Lee teaches that matching the nominal voltage between battery packs is a known and desirable design consideration for maintaining compatibility with vehicle electrical systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to configure the second battery unit of Scaringe, to have the same high nominal operational voltage as the first battery unit, as taught in Lee with a reasonable expectation of success in order maintain compatibility with the converter and electrical systems since voltage matching is a routine design choice that would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Scaringe, as modified by Lee (KR102264429B1), may not explicitly disclose a second electric
connection interface selectively electrically connecting the first electric connection interface and the second battery unit to an inverter unit while bypassing the first battery unit and the DC/DC converter.
However, Lee et al. disclose a second electric connection interface selectively electrically
connecting the first electric connection interface and the second battery unit (see at least para. [0057] of Lee et al. which discloses “the configuration for suitably maintaining the power flow between the battery 10 and the inverters 31 and 32 … a bypass circuit 22 is suitably connected between the battery 10 and the inverters 31 and 23 so as to form a power flow path between the battery and the inverters, and a switching element 23 capable of suitably selectively opening and closing the bypass circuit 22”, *The bypass circuit 22, together with the auxiliary switching element 23 corresponds to a second and structurally distinct path which is connected between the battery 10 and inverters 31 and 32 which is equivalent to a second electrical connection. When the bypass circuit and switching element of Lee et al. are incorporated into Scaringe’s auxiliary battery module 502, the resulting connection would tie the auxiliary battery directly to the inverter’s DC link terminals – a node separate from and bypassing primary battery 552, thereby also bypassing the first battery unit) to an inverter unit (see at least Fig. 1, 31/32 and see at least para. [0016] of Lee et al. which disclose “The DC-DC converter 20 is suitably connected between the battery 10 and the inverters 31 and 32”) while bypassing the first battery unit and the DC/DC converter (see at least para. [0029] of Lee et al. which disclose “the bypass circuit may be provided to suitably connect an input terminal of an inductor and DC link terminals of the inverters”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the battery assembly of Scaringe, as modified by Lee, to include a second electric connection interface selectively electrically connecting the first electric connection interface and the second battery unit to an inverter unit while bypassing the first battery unit and the DC/DC converter, as taught in Lee et al with a reasonable expectation of success in order to maintain an uninterrupted power flow path between the auxiliary battery and the inverters and avoid dependence on proper operation of the DC/DC converter, as motivated by Lee et al.’s own stated purpose of preventing discontinuation of vehicle operation.
Regarding claim 3, Scaringe, as modified by Lee and Lee et al. disclose further comprising a
control unit (see at least para. [0021] of Scaringe which discloses “electrical circuitry for monitoring and control associated with operation of the auxiliary battery module 102 when attached to the electric vehicle“ and see at least para. [0038] of Scaringe which discloses “the controller 554 via suitable electrical connections and interfaces” and see at least the translation of Lee which discloses “a battery electronic control unit”) communicatively connected to the first electric connection interface (Fig. 1A, 122 and see at least para. [0021] of Scaringe which discloses “a second electrical connector 122 mounted to a forward sidewall of the cargo area 112, wherein the second electrical connector 122 mates with the first electrical connector 120 such that the auxiliary battery module 102 can provide electrical power to the electric motor(s) that propel the electric vehicle … and electrical circuitry for monitoring and control associated with operation of the auxiliary battery module 102 when attached to the electric vehicle ”), the control unit selectively enabling and selectively disabling the electric connection between the first electric connection interface and the DC/DC converter and the electric connection between the first electric connection interface and the second electric connection interface (see at least para. [0050] of Scaringe which discloses “With regard to disconnection and reconnection of the auxiliary battery module 602, it will be observed that no isolation valves are necessary to close off the auxiliary battery module cooling loop, because disconnection of the first fluid connector (including 664 and 666) and second fluid connector (including 668 and 670) isolates the coolant in the loop”).
Regarding claim 4, Scaringe, as modified by Lee and Lee et al. disclose further comprising a
third electric connection interface for electrically connecting the battery assembly to the inverter unit, the third electric connection interface electrically connected to the first battery unit (see at least para. [0021] of Scaringe which discloses “the electrical connectors 120 and 122 include high- voltage connections 120 a, 120 b and 122 a, 122 b, respectively, that permit the auxiliary battery module 102 to be electrically connected in parallel with the vehicle's primary battery and may include one or more low- voltage connections 120 c and 122 c, respectively, to provide electrical connection to sensors and electrical circuitry for monitoring and control associated with operation of the auxiliary battery module 102 when attached to the electric vehicle 100”).
Regarding claim 5, Scaringe, as modified by Lee and Lee et al. disclose wherein the second
electric connection interface and the third electric connection interface are formed in part by a common electric connection interface (see at least para. [0039] of Scaringe which discloses “The electric vehicle 500 also includes a steering system 528, to provide, e.g., electrical steering, hydraulic steering, or combination thereof, which may also be monitored and controlled by the controller 554 via suitable connections and interfaces. The vehicle 500 also includes suspension components 562, e.g., air-actuated, vehicle-leveling shock absorbers for adjusting ride height and ride dampening, which may also be controlled by the controller 554 via suitable connections and interfaces. The vehicle 500 also includes one or more instrument panels 564, e.g., in the form of flat panel, e.g., liquid crystal, electroluminescent, etc., displays, which may be monitored and controlled by the controller 554 via suitable connections and interfaces”).
Regarding claim 6, Scaringe, as modified by Lee and Lee et al. disclose further comprising
the second battery unit, the second battery unit being located in the battery receptacle (Fig. 1A, 112; Fig. 1B, 123 and see at least para. [0022] of Scaringe which discloses “The auxiliary battery module 102 can be configured to be positioned in the cargo area 112 of the electric vehicle 100 while supplying electric power to the motor(s) that propel the electric vehicle, and can be configured to be removable from and reattachable to the electric vehicle 100. In this regard, as shown in FIGS. 1A-1C, protruding support portions 121 (support members) that protrude laterally at a top side of the auxiliary battery module 102 may be placed on corresponding recessed portions 123 of the vehicle side members 116 to support the auxiliary battery module 102” and also see at least para. [0027] of Scaringe which discloses “receptacles 128 recessed into a forward sidewall of the cargo area 112, having a tapered opening portion 128 a and a cylindrical opening portion 128 b, can mate with protruding alignment members 130 at a forward sidewall of the battery housing 103 of the auxiliary battery module 102”, *This corresponds to an aligning structure within the receiving structure) and being electrically connected to the first electric connection interface (Fig. 1A, 122 and see at least para. [0021] of Scaringe which discloses “a second electrical connector 122 mounted to a forward sidewall of the cargo area 112, wherein the second electrical connector 122 mates with the first electrical connector 120 such that the auxiliary battery module 102 can provide electrical power to the electric motor(s) that propel the electric vehicle”).
Regarding claim 7, Scaringe, as modified by Lee and Lee et al. disclose further comprising a
cooling system (see at least para. [0023] of Scaringe which discloses “an integrated cooling system for cooling the auxiliary battery module 102 during operation of the vehicle, wherein the integrated cooling system comprises a first conduit portion 140 within the auxiliary battery 102 for circulating coolant within the auxiliary battery module 102”) having at least one cooling channel (Fig. 1C, 140 and see at least para. [0023] of Scaringe which discloses “a first conduit portion 140 within the auxiliary battery 102 for circulating coolant within the auxiliary battery module 102”) and a cooling interface being fluidically connected to the cooling channel, the cooling interface being arranged in the battery receptacle (see at least para. [0023] of Scaringe which discloses “The first conduit portion 140 may wind between and among the multiple individual battery cells (not shown) of the auxiliary battery module 102, and in this regard, the first conduit portion 140 may configured as tubing (e.g., tubing of copper alloy, aluminum alloy, steel alloy, etc.) that winds among the multiple battery cells, e.g., with windings at multiple heights. Thermal contact between the first conduit portion 140 and the battery cells may be enhanced to facilitate transfer of heat between the conduit 140 and the battery cells, e.g., by disposing any suitable thermal contact material”).
Regarding claim 8, Scaringe, as modified by Lee and Lee et al. disclose the inverter unit (see
at least Fig. 1, 31/32 and see at least para. [0016] of Lee et al. which disclose “The DC-DC converter 20 is suitably connected between the battery 10 and the inverters 31 and 32”) and an electric traction machine (Fig. 5B, 550 and see at least para. [0037] of Scaringe which discloses “one or more electric motors 550 of a powertrain system, and a primary high-voltage battery 552 (which may also be referred to as a primary battery pack) for providing electrical power to the electric motor(s) 550 for propelling the electric vehicle 500”, *Examiner interprets the electric motors 550 to be the electric traction machine since it is well known in the art that an electric traction machine is an electric motor), the battery assembly (see at least para. [0004] of Scaringe which discloses “an auxiliary battery system for an electric automotive vehicle to increase the range of the electric vehicle, and in particular, an auxiliary battery system that can be carried by the electric vehicle, e.g., in a cargo area of the electric vehicle, and that can be efficiently cooled”) being electrically connected to the inverter unit (see at least Fig. 1, 31/32 and see at least para. [0016] of Lee et al. which disclose “The DC-DC converter 20 is suitably connected between the battery 10 and the inverters 31 and 32”) and the inverter unit being electrically connected to the electric traction machine such that the electric traction machine is powered by the battery assembly (see at least para. [0005] of Scaringe which discloses “primary battery for providing electrical power to the electric motor for propelling the electric vehicle. The electric vehicle system also includes an auxiliary battery module that is attachable to the electric vehicle for providing electrical power to the electric motor via a first electrical connector at the auxiliary battery module and a second electrical connector at the electric vehicle that mates with the first electrical connector. The auxiliary battery module is configured to be positioned in the cargo area while supplying power to the electric motor”).
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scaringe (US 2019/0016231 A1) in view of Slosarczyk (US 2015/0217641 A1) in view of Shinohara (US 2021/0162883 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2011/0095603 A1) and further in view of Lee (KR102264429B1).
Regarding claim 9, Scaringe discloses A method for operating an electric vehicle (Fig. 5A,
500 and see at least para. [0037] of Scaringe which discloses “an exemplary electric vehicle 500 like electric vehicle 100 previously described. As shown in the side view of FIG. 5A and bottom view of FIG. 5B, the electric vehicle 500 includes may support an auxiliary battery module 502 such as either auxiliary battery modules 102 or 202”) having a battery assembly (see at least para. [0004] of Scaringe which discloses “ an auxiliary battery system for an electric automotive vehicle to increase the range of the electric vehicle, and in particular, an auxiliary battery system that can be carried by the electric vehicle, e.g., in a cargo area of the electric vehicle, and that can be efficiently cooled”) comprising a first battery unit (Fig. 5A, 552 and see at least para. [0037] of Scaringe which discloses “a primary high-voltage battery 552 (which may also be referred to as a primary battery pack) for providing electrical power to the electric motor(s) 550 for propelling the electric vehicle 500”) and a second battery unit (Fig. 5A, 502 and see at least para. [0037] of Scaringe which discloses “the electric vehicle 500 includes may support an auxiliary battery module 502 such as either auxiliary battery modules 102 or 202 previously described …The primary battery 552 and auxiliary battery module 502 may be monitored by a controller 554”, *Examiner interprets the auxiliary battery module 502 as the received battery unit), the battery assembly being electrically connected to an electric traction machine (Fig. 5B, 550 and see at least para. [0037] of Scaringe which discloses “one or more electric motors 550 of a powertrain system, and a primary high-voltage battery 552 (which may also be referred to as a primary battery pack) for providing electrical power to the electric motor(s) 550 for propelling the electric vehicle 500”, *Examiner interprets the electric motors 550 to be the electric traction machine since it is well known in the art that an electric traction machine is an electric motor), a DC/DC converter (Fig. 5A, 568 and see at least para. [0041] of Scaringe which discloses “a DC/DC converter 568 can be connected between the auxiliary battery module 502 and the primary battery 552 to manage any voltage differences between the primary battery 552 and the auxiliary battery module 502”).
Scaringe discloses the first battery unit (primary battery 552) “for providing electrical power
to the electric motor(s) 550 for propelling the electric vehicle 500” corresponding to the electric traction machine, and a DC/DC converter (568) connected between the first battery unit and the second battery unit (auxiliary battery module 502).
Scaringe may not explicitly disclose a first operational mode (M1) and a second operational
mode (M2), electrically connecting components.
However, Slosarczyk discloses a method for operating an electric vehicle with a first
operational mode (M 1) (see at least para. [0012] of Slosarczyk which discloses “a first operational mode, the first operational mode comprising at least a first arrangement of switches”) and a second operational mode (M2) (see at least para. [0012] of Slosarczyk which discloses “a second operational mode, the second operational mode comprising at least a second arrangement of switches” and see at least para. [0035] of Slosarczyk which discloses “operational modes are selected from the group comprising: said main battery being connected to said electrical load and said auxiliary battery being isolated therefrom, being a normal-driving operational mode“), electrically connecting components (see at least para. [0034] of Slosarczyk which discloses “first and second switches connected to the main and auxiliary batteries respectively to selectively connect the main and auxiliary batteries to the electrical load”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to organize Scaringe’s disclosed connection between the first battery unit and the electric traction machine according to Slosarczyk’ s mode based switching architecture as a first arrangement of switches defining a first operational mode (M1) and a second arrangement of switches defining a second operational mode (M2) with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a structured, switch defined control scheme for managing which battery is connected to which load at a given time. See para. [0012] and [0034]-[0035] of Slosarczyk for motivation.
Scaringe, as modified by Slosarczyk, may not explicitly disclose electrically connecting the
second battery unit to the first battery unit through a DC/DC converter such that electric power flows from the second battery unit to the first battery unit.
However, Shinohara discloses electrically connecting the second battery unit to the first
battery unit through a DC/DC converter such that electric power flows from the second battery unit to the first battery unit (see at least para. [0038] of Shinohara which discloses “The hybrid vehicle 20 of the embodiment thus configured switches between an electric drive mode (EV mode) and a hybrid drive mode (HV mode) during traveling. The EV mode is a mode in which the hybrid vehicle 20 travels with the engine 22 stopped”, *This corresponds to the claimed specific power-flow direction. See at least para. [0054] of Shinohara which discloses “The HV ECU 70 charges the high voltage battery 50 in step S190 during traveling in the EV mode by controlling the DC-to-DC converter 62 so that the DC-to-DC converter 62 boosts electric power on the low voltage power line 64 to a predetermined high voltage and predetermined power Psoc2ref minus auxiliary electric power Ph is supplied from the low voltage power line 64 to the high voltage power line 54” and see at least para. [0053] which discloses “When the state of charge SOC1 of the high voltage battery 50 is equal to or lower than the threshold S3 in step S170 and the state of charge SOC2 of the low voltage battery 60 is equal to or higher than the threshold S4 in step S180, the HV ECU 70 determines that the high voltage battery 50 should be charged and the amount of charge remaining in the low voltage battery 60 is large enough to charge the high voltage battery 50. The HV ECU 70 then charges the high voltage battery 50 with electric power from the low voltage battery 60 within such a range that the state of charge SOC2 of the low voltage battery 60 does not become lower than the threshold S4 (lower limit threshold S2min) (step S190)”). The power is drawn from the high voltage battery 50 via the high voltage power line 54. Shinohara further discloses that, within this same EV mode, a second battery unit (low voltage battery 60) charges the first battery unit (high voltage battery 50) through a DC/DC converter (DC/DC converter 62 is discussed above with reference to Shinohara).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify Scaringe’s battery assembly, as organized into discrete operational modes as taught in Slosarczyk, such that the switch arrangement defining the first operational mode (M1) further includes electrically connecting the second battery unit to the first battery unit through the DC/DC converter such that electric power flows from the second battery unit to the first battery unit, as taught in Shinohara in order to provide a predictable state of charge balancing function within the mode, consistent with Shinohara’s own disclosed rationale of maintaining the high voltage battery’s state of charge using power from a second onboard battery, with a reasonable expectation of success since Shinohara’s teaching describes a known DC/DC converter control technique applied to a two battery vehicle architecture. This is directed narrowly to Shinohara’s power flow direction control technique and not to the specific voltage levels of Shinohara’s own high/low voltage batteries.
Scaringe, as modified by Slosarczyk and Shinohara, may not explicitly disclose electrically
connecting the second battery unit to the electric traction machine while bypassing the first battery unit and the DC/DC converter.
However, Lee et al. (US 2011/0095603A1) disclose while bypassing the first battery unit
and the DC/DC converter (see at least para. [0029] of Lee et al. which disclose “the bypass circuit may be provided to suitably connect an input terminal of an inductor and DC link terminals of the inverters” and (see at least para. [0057] of Lee et al. which discloses “the configuration for suitably maintaining the power flow between the battery 10 and the inverters 31 and 32 … a bypass circuit 22 is suitably connected between the battery 10 and the inverters 31 and 23 so as to form a power flow path between the battery and the inverters, and a switching element 23 capable of suitably selectively opening and closing the bypass circuit 22”, *The bypass circuit 22, together with the auxiliary switching element 23 corresponds to a second and structurally distinct path which is connected between the battery 10 and inverters 31 and 32 which is equivalent to a second electrical connection. When the bypass circuit and switching element of Lee et al. are incorporated into Scaringe’s auxiliary battery module 502, the resulting connection would tie the auxiliary battery directly to the inverter’s DC link terminals – a node separate from and bypassing primary battery 552, thereby also bypassing the first battery unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the battery assembly of Scaringe, as modified by Slosarczyk and Shinohara to include a separate operational mode (M2) in which the second battery unit connects to the electric traction machine while bypassing the first battery unit and the DC/DC converter, as taught by Lee et al, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to maintain an uninterrupted power flow path between the auxiliary battery and the inverters and avoid dependence on proper operation of the DC/DC converter, as motivated by Lee et al.’s own stated purpose of preventing discontinuation of vehicle operation.
Scaringe does describe a high operational voltage (see at least para. [0007] of Scaringe
which discloses “attaching comprising electrically connecting the auxiliary battery module in parallel with a primary battery of the electric vehicle” and see at least para. [0021] of Scaringe which discloses “the electrical connectors 120 and 122 include high- voltage connections 120 a, 120 b and 122 a, 122 b, respectively, that permit the auxiliary battery module 102 to be electrically connected in parallel with the vehicle's primary battery and may include one or more low- voltage connections”, *Examiner interprets directly paralleling two battery packs without an intervening converter corresponds as having a matched (same) nominal voltage, under the broadest reasonable interpretation).
Scaringe, as modified by Slosarczyk, Shinohara and Lee et al. may not explicitly disclose the
second battery unit having a same high nominal operational voltage as the first battery unit.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee (KR102264429B1) discloses explicitly discloses a
replacement battery pack to have the same high nominal operational voltage as an existing battery pack (see at least page 2 of the translation of Lee which discloses “a recombinant lithium-ion battery pack having the same nominal voltage (201.6V) as the nickel-hydrogen battery pack”, *Accordingly, Lee explicitly teaches configuring a replacement battery pack to have the same nominal voltage as an existing battery pack. Therefore, Lee teaches that matching the nominal voltage between battery packs is a known and desirable design consideration for maintaining compatibility with vehicle electrical systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to configure the second battery unit of Scaringe, to have the same high nominal operational voltage as the first battery unit, as taught in Lee with a reasonable expectation of success in order to maintain compatibility with the DC/DC converter and the vehicle’s electrical systems.
Regarding claim 10, Scaringe, as modified by Slosarczyk, Shinohara, Lee et al. and Lee
discloses wherein the second operational mode (M2) comprises electrically disconnecting the first battery unit from the electric traction machine (see at least para. [0050] of Scaringe which discloses “With regard to disconnection and reconnection of the auxiliary battery module 602, it will be observed that no isolation valves are necessary to close off the auxiliary battery module cooling loop, because disconnection of the first fluid connector (including 664 and 666) and second fluid connector (including 668 and 670) isolates the coolant in the loop”) and electrically disconnecting the first battery unit from the second battery unit (see at least para. [0035] of Slosarczyk which discloses “a sequence of connections, in which: first, said main battery is connected to said electrical load and the auxiliary battery is disconnected therefrom, a first current drain on the first battery being measured, and second, said main battery and the auxiliary battery is connected to said electrical load, a second current drain on the first battery being measured, whereby the charge of the auxiliary battery may be estimated”).
Regarding claim 11, Scaringe, as modified by Slosarczyk, Shinohara, Lee et al. and Lee
discloses wherein the second operational mode (M2) comprises electrically connecting the first battery unit to the electric traction machine such that electric power flows from the first battery unit to the electric traction machine (see at least para. [0006] of Shinohara which discloses “the first battery being configured to supply and receive electric power to and from a traction motor via a first power line”, *Examiner interprets this as electrically connecting first battery unit to the electric traction machine so that power flows from first battery unit to the traction machine).
Regarding claim 12, Scaringe, as modified by Slosarczyk, Shinohara, Lee et al. and Lee
discloses wherein the second operational mode (M2) (see at least para. [0012] of Slosarczyk which discloses “a second operational mode, the second operational mode comprising at least a second arrangement of switches” and see at least para. [0035] of Slosarczyk which discloses “operational modes are selected from the group comprising: said main battery being connected to said electrical load and said auxiliary battery being isolated therefrom, being a normal-driving operational mode“) comprises electrically connecting the first battery unit to the second battery unit such that electric power flows from the first battery unit to the second battery unit (see at least para. [0035] of Slosarczyk which discloses “a sequence of connections, in which: first, said main battery is connected to said electrical load and the auxiliary battery is disconnected therefrom, a first current drain on the first battery being measured, and second, said main battery and the auxiliary battery is connected to said electrical load, a second current drain on the first battery being measured, whereby the charge of the auxiliary battery may be estimated”) through the DC/DC converter (see at least para. [0033] of Shinohara which discloses “The DC-to-DC converter 62 converts electric power on the high voltage power line 54 to a low voltage to supply the low voltage to the low voltage power line 64, and converts electric power on the low voltage power line 64 to a high voltage to supply the high voltage to the high voltage power line 54”)
Regarding claim 13, Scaringe, as modified by Slosarczyk, Shinohara, Lee et al. and Lee
discloses further comprising assessing a desired energy capacity of the second battery unit based on a planned drive cycle (see at least para. [0041] of Shinohara which discloses “a planned travel route and the hybrid vehicle 20 is traveling a predetermined distance (e.g., several kilometers) before the restricted area. An example of when the operation of the engine 22 is restricted during traveling of the hybrid vehicle 20 is when the hybrid vehicle 20 is currently located in the restricted area. When a restriction on the operation of the engine 22 is predicted and when the operation of the engine 22 is restricted during traveling of the hybrid vehicle 20, the operation of the engine 22 is restricted, and therefore regenerative driving of the motor MG1 is restricted and supply of electric power generated by the motor MG1 to the high voltage power line 54 is also restricted” and see at least para. [0042] of Shinohara which discloses “When the HV ECU 70 executes this routine, the HV ECU 70 receives the state of charge SOC1 of the high voltage battery 50 and the state of charge SOC2 of the low voltage battery 60“).
Regarding claim 14, Scaringe, as modified by Slosarczyk, Shinohara, Lee et al. and Lee
discloses wherein assessing a desired energy capacity comprises selecting one out of a number of predefined energy capacities (see at least para. [0063] of Shinohara which discloses “the threshold S1 may be set to a value slightly lower than the upper limit threshold S1max, or may be set to a value corresponding to the full charge capacity of the high voltage battery 50 or a value slightly lower than the value corresponding to the full charge capacity of the high voltage battery 50” and see at least para. [0064] of Shinohara which discloses “the threshold S2 may be set to a value slightly lower than the upper limit threshold S2max, or may be set to a value corresponding to the full charge capacity of the low voltage battery 60 or a value slightly lower than the value corresponding to the full charge capacity of the low voltage battery 60”, *Examiner interprets the ability to set a value corresponding to a charge capacity to be selecting a predefined energy capacity).
Regarding claim 15, Scaringe, as modified by Slosarczyk, Shinohara, Lee et al. and Lee
discloses inserting the second battery unit (Fig. 5A, 502 and see at least para. [0037] of Scaringe which discloses “the electric vehicle 500 includes may support an auxiliary battery module 502 such as either auxiliary battery modules 102 or 202 previously described …The primary battery 552 and auxiliary battery module 502 may be monitored by a controller 554”, *Examiner interprets the auxiliary battery module 502 as the received battery unit) into the battery assembly (see at least para. [0028] of Scaringe which discloses “The insert 170 may be made from metal alloy (e.g., aluminum alloy), plastic materials, or composite materials, for example. As shown in FIG. 3B, the insert 170 can be removed, and an auxiliary battery module 102 can be lowered onto the electric vehicle several inches rearward of the intended final secured position of the auxiliary battery module 102. As shown in FIG. 3C, the auxiliary battery module can then be pushed forward to its final intended position and secured to the electric vehicle 100 as described above. Finally, the second (rear) insert member 174 can be inserted into the remaining gap of the recessed portion 123 so as to eliminate the gap and provide a smooth, continuous surface across the tops of the side member 116, second insert member 174, and protruding support portions”).
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure. Jiang (US 10,106,038B2) discloses an energy storage system for a vehicle includes an energy storage unit having a plurality of energy storage modules connected in series, a plurality of sensing units for sensing state of charges of the plurality of energy storage modules, a pair of primary voltage terminals, wherein the series connected plurality of energy storage modules is connectable across the pair of primary voltage terminals to supply energy storage power at a first voltage level to support primary electrical functions of the vehicle, a pair of secondary voltage terminals, and an energy storage management system and a controller. Kelty (US2012/0041626 A1) discloses a method of optimizing the operation of the power source of an electric vehicle, the power source comprised of a first battery pack (e.g., a non-metal-air battery pack) and a second battery pack (e.g., a metal-air battery pack). The power source is optimized to minimize use of the least efficient battery pack (e.g., the second battery pack) while ensuring that the electric vehicle has sufficient power to traverse the expected travel distance before the next battery charging cycle. Further optimization may be achieved by setting at least one acceleration limit and/or at least one maximum speed limit based on vehicle efficiency and the state-of-charge (SOC) of the first and second battery packs.
Conclusion
/DANA D IVEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/D.D.I/September 8, 2026
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662