DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-12 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/03/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 12/23/2022. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2016/0359206 to Eberleh et al.
With respect to claim 1, Eberleh et al. teach an immersion cooling system applied to a battery module 10 including a plurality of battery cells 11, the system comprising: a surface pressure pad 28 interposed between the plurality of the battery cells 11 and including a cooling path 26; and a cooling fluid to flow through the cooling path 26, wherein the cooling path 26 passes through one end and the other end of the surface pressure pad 28.
With respect to claim 2, Eberleh et al. teach the immersion cooling system, wherein the cooling path 26 passes through one end and the other end of the surface pressure pad 28 in a straight line.
With respect to claim 5, Eberleh et al. teach the immersion cooling system, wherein the surface pressure pad 28 includes a center portion (a core region) in contact with a core of the battery cell 11 and two edge regions respectively in contact with two edge portions (upper and lower portions) of the battery cell 11, the center portion (the core region) does not include the cooling path 26, and each of the two edge portions (the two outer regions) includes at least one cooling path 26.
With respect to claim 7, Eberleh et al. teach the immersion cooling system, wherein the cooling path 26 includes a first cooling path 26 and a second cooling path 26, and inlets from which the cooling fluid flows into the first cooling path 26 and the second cooling path 26 are respectively disposed at one end and the other end of the surface pressure pad 28 in a length direction of the surface pressure pad 28 for the cooling fluid to flow in a predetermined first direction in the first cooling path 26 and for the cooling fluid to flow in a second direction opposite to the first direction in the second cooling path 26.
With respect to claim 8, Eberleh et al. do not specifically teach the immersion cooling system, wherein at least a portion 21 of the cooling path includes a pipe 21 covering therein for the cooling fluid to be separated from the surface pressure pad 28 and the battery cell 11 without being in contact therewith.
With respect to claim 9, Eberleh et al. teach the immersion cooling system, further comprising a distribution plate 40 stacked between the surface pressure pad 28 and the battery cell 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2016/0359206 to Eberleh et al.
With respect to claim 3, Eberleh et al. do not specifically teach the immersion cooling system, wherein the cooling path has a curved shape to include at least one curve of the surface pressure pad. Changes in shape of the cooling path have been held to be obvious. See Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984) and In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
With respect to claim 4, Eberleh et al. do not specifically teach the immersion cooling system, wherein the cooling path 26 includes two or more cooling paths, the cooling paths 26 are adjacent to (stacked above) each other at a predetermined interval in a width direction of the surface pressure pad 28, and a sum of inner diameters of the cooling paths is 1% or more and less than 10% of a total width of the surface pressure pad.
However, the size of the cooling paths with respect a total width of the surface pressure pad is result effective variable. It would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have a sum of inner diameters of the cooling paths is 1% or more and less than 10% of a total width of the surface pressure pad, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It has been held that discovering that general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller,105 USPQ 233. Generally, differences in ranges will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such ranges is critical. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969).
With respect to claim 6, Eberleh et al. teach the immersion cooling system, wherein at least one of the two side portions (the two outer regions) includes two or more cooling paths 26, and the closer to a top or bottom of the battery cell, the shorter a separation distance between the cooling paths.
Changes in size of the separation distance between the cooling paths with respect to the distance away from top or bottom of the battery cell have been held to be obvious. See Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984) and In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
With respect to claim 10, Eberleh et al. do not specifically teach the immersion cooling system, wherein the cooling path 26 includes two or more cooling paths 26, the cooling paths 26 are adjacent to (stacked above) each other at a predetermined interval in a width direction of the surface pressure pad 28, and a sum of inner diameters of the cooling paths is 10% or more and less than 30% of a total width of the surface pressure pad.
However, the size of the cooling paths with respect a total width of the surface pressure pad is result effective variable. It would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have the cooling paths 26 are adjacent to (stacked above) each other at a predetermined interval in a width direction of the surface pressure pad 28, and a sum of inner diameters of the cooling paths is 10% or more and less than 30% of a total width of the surface pressure pad, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It has been held that discovering that general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller,105 USPQ 233. Generally, differences in ranges will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such ranges is critical. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969).
Conclusion
/LINGWEN R ZENG/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 6/12/2026