DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 01/08/26 has been entered. Claims 1 and 10-16 have been amended. Claims 2-9 are in the original/ previously presented form. Thus, claims 1-16 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 10/23/25.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 7, lines 2-3 recite “the radial protrusion has reinforcing means configured to reinforce a proximal side of this radial protrusion”. Therefore, claim 7 is interpreted under 112(f) according to the 3-prong test:
Prong 1: means is recited
Prong 2: functional language—configured to reinforce a proximal side of the radial protrusion
Prong 3: not modified by other structural language in the claims—no structure is recited for how the means configured to reinforce a proximal side of the radial protrusion reinforces the radial protrusion. Only the desired outcome of “reinforce” is recited.
According to Applicant’s disclosure under 112(f), the “means” configured to reinforce a proximal side of the radial protrusion is interpreted as a “bulge” or equivalent (bulge 410, see FIG. 4A and [0073]: the reinforcing means include a bulge).
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1 line 8: “a release element configured to move the needle cover”. Therefore, claim 1 is interpreted under 112(f) according to the 3-prong test.
Prong 1: means or generic placeholder is recited—“a release element” is considered a generic placeholder for “means” because “a release element” has no specific structural meaning
Prong 2: functional language—configured to move the needle cover
Prong 3: not modified by other structural language in the claims—no structure is recited for how the release element moves the needle cover. Only the desired outcome of “move” is recited.
According to Applicant’s disclosure under 112(f), the “a release element” configured to move the needle cover is interpreted as a spring or equivalent (spring 6, see FIG. 16A and [0064]: a release element 6 such as a spring).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, 12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jansen et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,319,233), hereinafter Jansen.
Regarding claim 1, Jansen discloses a safety device (14, see FIG-1 and col. 3 lines 60-63: a medical device 10 comprising a syringe 12==medical container and shield system 14.) for mounting onto a medical container (syringe 12, see mounted position of safety device onto the medical container in FIG-2) provided with a flange (24) and an injection needle (18, see col. 3 line 64- col. 4 line 14: syringe includes flange 24 and needle 18), the safety device (14, see ‘Modified FIG-1 below’ and col 4 lines 14-20: shield system 14 includes holder 26== a tubular body, shield 28==a needle cover, and a fitting 32== a retainer engaging a spring 30 ==a release element)
comprising:
a tubular body (26) extending along a longitudinal axis (see longitudinal axis extending horizontally through center of needle 18 in FIG-2), the tubular body (26) being configured to receive (as seen in FIG-2 and see col. 3 line 60-col.4 line 13 & col. 6 lines 23-31: system is designed to receive a syringe) the medical container (12);
a needle cover (28) movable relative to (see col. 6 lines 3-6: needle cover 28 slidably mounted==movable within holder 26) the body (30) between a retracted position (see FIG. 3), and an extended position (see FIG-4) in which the needle cover (28) distally extends from (see distal position of needle cover 28 in FIG-4 compared to Fig-3) the retracted position (as shown in FIG-3) in order to shield the injection needle (18) after activation of the safety device (see col. 6 lines 40-65: needle cover 28 slides axially to position as shown in at least FIG. 4 after a user applies distal force to fitting that displaces the end fitting==after activation of the safety device, aligning with Applicant disclosure of device activation as in at least [0007]);
a release element (30) configured to move the needle cover (28, see col. 6 lines 54-65: spring 30 expands causing shield 28 to slide axially) from the retracted (as shown in FIG-3) to the extended position (as shown in FIG.-4) after activation of the safety device (see col. 6 lines 40-65: spring expands after user applies distal force to fitting==after activation of safety device); and
a retainer (32), the retainer (32) being configured to retain the release element (30) inside the safety device (see col. 5 lines 40-53: retainer 32 holds spring 30 at one end and is inserted into device and thus ‘is configured to retain’ the spring in the device. See also col4 lines 14-17) and to transmit a user's activation force to the needle cover (28) once the injection operation is completed (see col. 6 lines 40-65: following removal of needle from patient==once injection operation is completed, a user applies distal force on fitting==retainer 32, which subsequently releases the spring to move the needle cover. Therefore, the retainer 32 is ‘configured to’ transmit a user’s activation force—the distally applied force on fitting 32-- to the needle cover),
wherein the safety device requires the user to exert an actuation force (see col. 6 lines 40-65: user-applied force causes axial displacement of retainer 32 with force enough to move spring and needle cover past stop members to cover needle as in FIG-4) on the retainer (32) in order to cause movement of the needle cover (28) from the retracted position (as in FIG-3 ) to the extended position (as in FIG-4),
wherein the needle cover (28) comprises a distal abutment surface (distal face of 58 marked by black solid line, see ‘Modified FIG-3’ below),
the distal abutment surface (distal face of 58) abutting against a proximal abutment surface (proximal face of 48 marked by solid gray line, see ‘Modified FIG-3’ above, proximal face of 48 marked in ‘Modified FIG-3’ above on ‘lower’ portion of bump 48, but the same proximal face of 48 exists on the ‘upper’ bump where the distal face of 58 is lined in black. Distal abutment surface an proximal abutment surfaces labeled on opposing structures for visual clarity, but the surfaces do both “abut” against one another in each of the lower and upper combinations) of a bump (48) protruding from the body (30) in the retracted position (see ‘Modified FIG-3’ above) of the needle cover (28), and
wherein the bump (48) has a first end (“right” side/ proximal end in ‘Modified FIG-3’ above) and an opposite second end (“left” side/ distal end in ‘Modified FIG-3’ above), and the proximal abutment surface (proximal face of bump 48, see ‘Modified FIG-3’ above) of the bump (48) has a ramp portion (inclined surface outlined in gray in ‘Modified FIG-3’ above and see col. 5 lines 15-19: 48 comprises an inclined surface==a ramp as seen by outline of proximal abutment surface in ‘Modified FIG-3’ above), the ramp portion (inclined surface) having a decreasing slope (surface inclined in direction toward proximal/ first end and therefore has a ‘decreasing’/ negative slope due to a negative change in ‘height’ of the inclined surface) towards the first end (proximal end) of said bump (48), so as to ease passage (see col. 6 lines 49-51: inclined surfaces of 48/58 slide past each other and therefore are ‘ease passage’ of the needle cover by way of the inclined surfaces and see col. 5 lines 15-19: 48 and 58 comprise inclined surfaces) of the needle cover (28) over the bump (48) when the needle cover (28) moves (see col. 6 lines 40-65) from the retracted position (as in FIG-3) to the extended position (as in FIG-4).
Regarding claim 2, Jansen discloses the safety device of claim 1, and Jansen further discloses wherein the slope (surface inclined in direction toward proximal/ first end and therefore has a ‘decreasing’/ negative slope due to a negative change in ‘height’ of the inclined surface) continuously decreases (the slope does not ever increase in height or plateau and therefore “continuously” decreases) from the second end (“left” side/ distal end in ‘Modified FIG-3’ above) to the first end (“right” side/ proximal end in ‘Modified FIG-3’ above) of the bump (48).
Regarding claim 3, Jansen discloses the safety device of claim 1, and Jansen further discloses wherein the ramp portion (inclined surface outlined in gray in ‘Modified FIG-3’ above and see col. 5 lines 15-19: 48 comprises an inclined surface==a ramp as seen by outline of proximal abutment surface in ‘Modified FIG-3’ above) delimits a twisted contact surface (see col. 5 lines 15-19: bump 48 has inclined surface and therefore delimits a twisted contact surface as much as is disclosed by Applicant disclosure in [0020], [0035], and [0073]: inclined surfaces delimit the contact surface).
Regarding claim 4, Jansen discloses the safety device of claim 1, and Jansen further discloses wherein the second end (“left” side/ distal end in ‘Modified FIG-3’ above) of the bump (48) is adjacent to a first axial slot (46A, see Fig-1 and col 4 lines 57-62: bump 48 interrupted by slot 46A and therefore must be “adjacent”).
Regarding claim 5, Jansen discloses the safety device of claim 1, and Jansen further discloses wherein at least one of the proximal abutment surface (proximal face of bump 48, see ‘Modified FIG-3’ above) and the distal abutment surface (distal face of 58, see ‘Modified FIG-3’ above) comprises a chamfer (see col. 5 lines 15-19: 48 and 58 comprise inclined surfaces==a chamfer which is a slanted edge) configured to ease passage of the needle cover (28, see col. 6 lines 49-51: inclined surfaces of 48/58 slide past each other and therefore are ‘configured to ease passage’ of the needle cover) over the bump (48) when the needle cover (48) moves distally to the extended position (as seen in FIG-4).
Regarding claim 6, Jansen discloses the safety device of claim 1, and Jansen further discloses wherein the distal abutment surface (distal face of 58, see ‘Modified FIG-3’ above) is located on a reduced thickness portion (see reduced thickness portion, marked in gray for visual clarity, in ‘Modified FIG-4i’ below. reduced thickness portion is a smaller thickness than at least the region of the needle cover comprising structure 62) of the needle cover (28).
Regarding claim 7, Jansen discloses the safety device of claim 1, and Jansen further discloses wherein the distal abutment surface (distal face of 58, see ‘Modified FIG-3’ above) of the needle cover (28) is located on a radial protrusion (58, see FIG-1 and see col. 5 lines 15-17: 58 is a radially outwardly extending collar==radial protrusion) of the needle cover (28), and the radial protrusion (58) has reinforcing means configured to reinforce (see col. 5 lines 15-19: 58 comprises an inclined surface and therefore reasonably comprises a ‘bulge’ as interpreted under 112f above) a proximal side (proximal face of 58) of this radial protrusion (58).
Regarding claim 9, Jansen discloses the safety device of claim 1, and Jansen further discloses wherein the body (30) has a first axial slot (46A) and a second axial slot (46B, see col. 4 lines 45-62: openings 46A, B formed in holder body in opposing relation), the first axial slot (46A) and the second axial slot (46B) extending on both sides (46A on a ‘left’ side and 46B on a ‘right’ side of the bump relative to the longitudinal axis, see ‘Modified FIG-1’ below. Therefore, the slots extend on “both” sides. Further see col. 4 lines 57-62: 46A/B “interrupt” the bump) of the bump (48).
Regarding claim 12, Jansen discloses the safety device of claim 1, and Jansen further discloses wherein the first end (see proximal abutment surface/ first end as shown in ‘Modified FIG-3’ above) of the bump (48, see FIG-1) of the body (26) is provided with a chamfer (see col. 5 lines 15-19: 48 and 58 comprise inclined surfaces==a chamfer which is a slanted edge) extending in a circumferential direction (48 extends circumferentially and therefore the chamfer extends in a circumferential direction along structure of bump 48).
Regarding claim 14, Jansen discloses the safety device of claim 1, and Jansen further discloses wherein the bump (48, see Fig-1) of the device includes only two bumps (see ‘upper bump’==first bump traced in black and ‘lower bump’==second bump traced in gray of ‘Modified Fig-1v’ above).
Regarding claim 16, Jansen discloses an injection device (10, see FIG-1) comprising a medical container (12) having an injection needle (18) and the safety device (14) of claim 1, wherein the safety device (14) is mounted onto the medical container (12, as seen in Fig-2 and described in at least see col. 3 line 60-col.4 line 13 and col. 6 lines 23-31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jansen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Srinivasan et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,649,452), hereinafter Srinivasan.
Regarding claim 8, Jansen discloses the safety device of claim 1, but Jansen is silent to “wherein the bump has a cantilevered portion.”
However, Srinivasan teaches a safety device (see FIG. 14 and col 2 lines 50-67) comprising a tubular body (18) and a needle cover (14), wherein the body (18) has a bump (40) and the needle cover (14) has a distal abutment surface (46, see col. 3 lines 1-10: ramped surface 46 on needle carrier 14 and is in sliding engagement with 40. Structure 46 seen in FIG. 8) abutting the bump (40) and wherein the bump (40) has a cantilevered portion (44, see col 2 lines 61-62: cantilevered arm 44).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bump of the body disclosed in Jansen to include a cantilevered portion as taught by Srinivasan for the purpose of creating a snap-engagement (see col. 2 lines 56-59) that allows the bump to by-pass the abutting surface in a preferred direction while inhibiting movement in the other (see col. 3 lines 1-10), thus achieving “wherein the bump has a cantilevered portion.”
Regarding claim 13, Jansen discloses the safety device of claim 1, and Jansen further discloses wherein the bump (48, see ‘Modified FIG-3’ provided again for reference below)
of the body (26) the first end (portion of bump extending in a ‘rightward’/ proximal direction of Fig-3) and the second end (portion of bump extending in a ‘leftward’/ distal direction of Fig-3).
Jansen is silent to “a decreasing height from the second end to the first end.”
However, Srinivasan teaches a safety device (see FIG. 14 and col 2 lines 50-67) comprising a tubular body (18) and a needle cover (14), wherein the body (18) has a bump (40), wherein the bump (40) of the body (18) has a first end (see ‘Modified FIG. 11’ below and see assembly of FIG. 13 showing ‘first end’ of bump as shown in ‘Modified FIG. 11’ below as a proximal end side of the bump, similar to the structure as cited for Jansen above),
an opposite second end (see ‘Modified FIG. 11 above), and a decreasing height from said second end to said first end (see ‘second end height’ greater than ‘first end height’ in ‘Modified FIG.11’ above. Therefore, there is a ‘decreasing height’ from second to first end).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bump disclosed in Jansen to include a decreasing height from the second to first end as taught by Srinivasan for the purpose of forming the bump with a cantilevered arm structure for creating a snap-engagement (see col. 2 lines 56-59) that allows the bump to by-pass the abutting surface in a preferred direction while inhibiting movement in the other (see col. 3 lines 1-10), thus achieving “a decreasing height from the second end to the first end.”
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jansen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brunel (U.S. Patent No. 5,855,839).
Regarding claim 10, Jansen discloses the safety device of claim 1, and Jansen further discloses wherein the body (26, see FIG-1) has a first axial slot (46A) extending from an end (end formed by finger flange 38) of the body (26), and the bump (48) is circumferentially distant (see col 4 lines 57-62: bump 48 ‘interrupted’ by slot 46A and see FIG-1—bump does not extend into slots 46A/B and therefore the slots must be ‘circumferentially distant’ or separated by a circumference) from the first axial slot (46A).
Jansen is silent to the first axial slot extending from a “distal” end of the body
However, Brunel teaches a safety device with a body (101, see Fig. 10) comprising a first axial slot (102, see col. 8 lines 56-59) extending from a distal end (see slot extending all the way through distal end/ upward direction in FIG. 10) of the body (101).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the first axial slot on the body disclosed in Jansen at the distal end of the body as taught by Brunel for the purpose of providing the distal end of the device with a desired radial flexibility (see Brunel Figs 10-11, col. 9 lines 64-col. 10 line 27), which would be advantageous to Jansen because radial flexibility at the distal end of the body would aid in the assembly of the device when the syringe is inserted from a proximal end of the tubular body (see col 6 lines 23-24: safety system receives syringe at second end and see col. 4 lines 21-29: second open end of the holder has the flange and thus the second open end==proximal end), thus achieving the first axial slot extending from a “distal” end of the body.
Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it is a simple substitution of one known element (a slot provided at a proximal end of a safety device as disclosed in Jansen) for another known element (a slot provided at a distal end of a safety device taught by Brunel) in the art to obtain the predictable result of providing a degree of flexibility to a chosen end of a safety device (see MPEP § 2143.I.B).
Regarding claim 15, Jansen discloses the safety device of claim 1, and Jansen further discloses wherein the body (26, see FIG-1) has a first axial slot (46A) extending from an end (end formed by finger flange 38) of the body (26), the first axial slot (46A) having a predetermined length (see col. 4 lines 51-52: size of slot selected==has a predetermined length for amount of desired flexibility).
Jansen, in the embodiment of FIG.1, is silent to the first axial slot extending from a “distal” end of the body and the first axial slot having a predetermined length “comprised between 1 mm and 6 mm.”
However, Jansen teaches that the size of the axial slots will change the amount of flexibility of the tubular body (see col.4 lines 45-56: “The sizes of the openings are selected based upon the amount of flexibility desired in the holder body”). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would consider the flexibility of the tubular body to be a result effect variable that is optimized through routine experimentation of changing/modifying the size of the slot, such as the length, to obtain a desired flexibility of the tubular body.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the first axial slot disclosed in Jansen FIG.1 by selecting the predetermined length of the slot to be between 1 and 6mm to obtain a desired flexibility of the tubular body as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), thus achieving wherein the first axial slot has a predetermined length “comprised between 1 mm and 6 mm.”
Jansen remains silent to the first axial slot extending from a “distal” end of said body.
However, Brunel teaches a safety device with a body (101, see Fig. 10) comprising a first axial slot (102, see col. 8 lines 56-59) extending from a distal end (see slot extending all the way through distal end/ upward direction in FIG. 10) of the body (101).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the first axial slot on the body disclosed in Jansen at the distal end of the body as taught by Brunel for the purpose of providing the distal end of the device with a desired radial flexibility (see Brunel Figs 10-11, col. 9 lines 64-col. 10 line 27), which would be advantageous to Jansen because radial flexibility at the distal end of the body would aid in the assembly of the device when the syringe is inserted from a proximal end of the tubular body (see col 6 lines 23-24: safety system receives syringe at second end and see col. 4 lines 21-29: second open end of the holder has the flange and thus the second open end==proximal end), thus achieving the first axial slot extending from a “distal” end of the body.
Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it is a simple substitution of one known element (a slot provided at a proximal end of a safety device as disclosed in Jansen) for another known element (a slot provided at a distal end of a safety device taught by Brunel) in the art to obtain the predictable result of providing a degree of flexibility to a chosen end of a safety device (see MPEP § 2143.I.B).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jansen (U.S. Patent No. 6,319,233).
Regarding claim 11, Jansen discloses the safety device of claim 1, and Jansen further discloses wherein the bump (48, see FIG. 1) extends in a circumferential direction (as outlined for each portion of the bump shown below in ‘Modified FIG. 1vi’)
according to a central angle (see ‘Modified FIG. 1vi’ above), but in the embodiment of FIG.1, Jansen is silent to the central angle “comprised between 22.5°and 45°”.
However, Jansen teaches that the bump is interrupted by the axial slots and therefore the slot size will modify a circumferential length of the bump (see col. 4 lines 56-62). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would consider the circumferential length of the bump comprising a central angle to be a result effect variable that is optimized through routine experimentation of changing/modifying the size of the first and second axial slot to obtain the circumferential length of the bump such that it comprises a central angle “between 22.5° and 45°”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the central angle forming the circumferential length of the bump disclosed in Jansen by modifying the size (such as the width) of each axial slot to obtain a central angle “between 22.5° and 45°” associated with a desired flexibility of the device defined by the slot size (see col 4 lines 45-56) as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/08/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 6-8, Applicant cites a section of Jansen (see col. 6 lines 4-20) to state that Jansen fails to disclose the user-activated force as currently amended into claim 1. Although this excerpt from Jansen does disclose that the spring and needle cover cannot move past the bumps/ stop members, this excerpt is only in reference to the first assembled version of the device. Thus, the examiner has cited col 6 lines 40-65 relating to the user-activated force. Jansen col. 6 lines 40-65 discloses that a distally applied user force moves the retainer in an axial direction with enough force to push the spring and, subsequently, the needle cover past the bumps into the extended position (see rejection of claim 1 above). Therefore, the examiner maintains that Jansen discloses the limitations of claim 1 and has maintained the 35 U.S.C. § 102 claim rejections under Jansen.
Next, on pages 8-9, Applicant argues that Srinivasan’s structure 14 cannot be called a needle cover. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Jansen already teaches a needle cover and the bump is the main structure relied upon from Srinivasan for the modification. Thus, the examiner was not persuaded by this argument and has maintained the 35 U.S.C. § 103 claim rejections under Jansen in view of Srinivasan.
On pages 9-10, Applicant argues that Brunel fails to cure the deficiencies of Jansen. However, the examiner reiterates that Jansen fully discloses all limitations of claim 1. Therefore, this argument is not persuasive and the examiner maintains the 35 U.S.C. § 103 claim rejections in view of Brunel.
Lastly, on pages 10, Applicant deferred responding to the double patenting rejections for the time being. The examiner has also withdrawn the provisional double patenting rejections in view of the current status of amended claims for both the current application and the reference application 18/088178. However, should the current application be amended to again overlap in subject matter with 18088178 or other similar copending applications, a future provisional double patenting rejection may be applied by the examiner (pending future claim amendments to the claim scopes). Thus, even though the double patenting rejection has been withdrawn, Applicant is encouraged to keep 18088178 and other copending applications in mind when amending future claims to avoid a new double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHLEEN PAIGE FARRELL/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783