DETAILED ACTION
Claims 3, 5-8, 10, and 12-18 have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The rejection of claims 12 and 17 under 35 U.S.C 112 is withdrawn in light of the applicant’s amendments to the claims.
The objection to claim 17 is withdrawn in light of the applicant’s amendments to the claim.
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As per the applicant’s arguments that the prior art does not teach the limitation: “a measurement element to measure the quantum circuit to obtain a set of keys according to a probability distribution” in claim 12 and “measuring the quantum circuit to obtain a set of keys according to a probability distribution” in claim 17, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Wang teaches: page 2: 3 VQAA for symmetric cryptography: paragraph 1: The parameterized quantum circuit gives a linear combination of all possible keys. Paragraph 2: Secondly, the key space is encoded into an adjustable quantum state by a parameterized quantum circuit which is also known as ansatz. Next, the output of the parameterized quantum circuit is used as a key to encrypt the known plaintext based on the S-DES. Page 7: paragraph 2: When the process is convergent, the occupation probability of the target state is the highest. Figure 9 presents the probability distribution of the eigenstates (keys) under the Y-Cz(A) ansatz, when the cost function value is lower than the threshold −9. The x-axis represents the eigenstates, which are ordered from the ground state to the highest eigenstate. They-axis represents the corresponding probability. The probability of ground states in Figure 9 is 0.82 and 0.41, respectively. It is inherent that a measurement element is measure the output (keys) of the ansatz in order to determine the probability distribution of the keys.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 3, 5-8, 12-14, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by prior art of record Variational quantum attacks threaten advanced encryption standard based symmetric cryptography by Wang et al (hereinafter Wang).
As per claim 12, Wang teaches:
A system for determining an encryption key in a key space for encrypting a plain text to a corresponding encrypted ciphertext, wherein the system is adapted to encode the key space into a quantum circuit (Wang: page 2: 3 VQAA for symmetric cryptography: paragraph 2: Secondly, the key space is encoded into an adjustable quantum state by a parameterized quantum circuit which is also known as ansatz), the system comprising:
- at least one input/out device for inputting a plain text (Wang: page 2: 3 VQAA for symmetric cryptography: paragraph 2: The plaintext and ciphertext are represented by 8-bit quantum states. Page 3, Fig. 2 shows inputting of the plaintext. It was well known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that an input device is required to input the plaintext);
- a measurement element to measure the quantum circuit to obtain a set of keys according to a probability distribution (Wang: page 2: 3 VQAA for symmetric cryptography: paragraph 1: The parameterized quantum circuit gives a linear combination of all possible keys. Paragraph 2: Secondly, the key space is encoded into an adjustable quantum state by a parameterized quantum circuit which is also known as ansatz. Next, the output of the parameterized quantum circuit is used as a key to encrypt the known plaintext based on the S-DES. Page 7: paragraph 2: When the process is convergent, the occupation probability of the target state is the highest. Figure 9 presents the probability distribution of the eigenstates (keys) under the Y-Cz(A) ansatz, when the cost function value is lower than the threshold −9. The x-axis represents the eigenstates, which are ordered from the ground state to the highest eigenstate. They-axis represents the corresponding probability. The probability of ground states in Figure 9 is 0.82 and 0.41, respectively. It is inherent that a measurement element is measure the output (keys) of the ansatz in order to determine the probability distribution of the keys);
- at least one encryption element using a classical encryption mechanism for encrypting the plain text using the set of keys to obtain a set of encrypted messages (Wang: Fig. 2, page 2: 3 VQAA for symmetric cryptography: paragraph 1: After the symmetric cryptography operations, we have a linear combination of all the ciphertext corresponding to the known plaintext, associated with all possible keys. Paragraph 2: Next, the output of the parameterized quantum circuit is used as a key to encrypt the known plaintext based on the S-DES, and then the superposition of ciphertexts is obtained);
wherein the system is adapted to determine an overlap between the set of encrypted messages and the encrypted ciphertext (Wang: page 2: 3 VQAA for symmetric cryptography: paragraph 2: Finally, we measure the superposition of ciphertexts and forward the result to the classical optimization algorithm. Page 6: 3.3 Classical optimization algorithms: When the expectation of Hamiltonian is less than −9, the superposition cipher state has a large overlap with the known ciphertext (the ground state));
- at least one optimization element for adjusting the parameters of the quantum circuit if a pre-determined overlap value is not reached (Wang: page 2: 3 VQAA for symmetric cryptography: paragraph 2: Finally, we measure the superposition of ciphertexts and forward the result to the classical optimization algorithm. By using the optimization algorithm, we adjust the input parameters of the parameterized quantum circuit to arrange for the superposition ciphertext state to have a considerable overlap with the known ciphertext. Page 3, Fig. 2 shows an optimization element implemented using a classical computer. Page 6: 3.3 Classical optimization algorithms: We use two methods to optimize the parameters, namely the gradient descent method and the Nelder-Mead (N-M) method. The cut-off condition is set as −9, which is the first excited energy),
wherein the system is adapted to, on reaching a pre-determined overlap value, collapse the key space to determine the encryption key (Wang: pages 2 and 3: 3 VQAA for symmetric cryptography: paragraph 2: By using the optimization algorithm, we adjust the input parameters of the parameterized quantum circuit to arrange for the superposition ciphertext state to have a considerable overlap with the known ciphertext. When the result of measurement is the known ciphertext, the key space also collapses to the required key state).
As per claim 13, Wang teaches:
The system of claim 12, wherein the quantum circuit is implemented as one of a quantum annealer or a quantum gate computer (Wang: page 5: Figures 4-6: Fig. 4: The only difference is that (a) contains a CNOT gate from the last qubit to the first qubit. Fig. 5: Gate Y represents a Pauli-Y gate. Fig. 6: Gate Z represents a Pauli-Z gate).
As per claim 14, Wang teaches:
The system of claim 12, wherein the encryption element is implemented in a quantum computer or a classical computer (Wang: page 3: Fig. 2 shows the symmetric cryptography elements implemented on a quantum computer).
As per claim 17, Wang teaches:
A method for determining an encryption key in a key space for encrypting a plain text to a corresponding encrypted ciphertext, the method comprising:
- constructing a Hamiltonian based on the encrypted ciphertext (Wang: page 2: 3 VQAA for symmetric cryptography: paragraphs 1 and 2: Based on a pair of known ciphertext and plaintext, the associated Hamiltonian is designed, whose ground state is the ciphertext. Firstly, we construct the Hamiltonian whose ground state corresponds to the ciphertext);
- encoding the key space into a quantum circuit (Wang: page 2: 3 VQAA for symmetric cryptography: paragraph 2: Secondly, the key space is encoded into an adjustable quantum state by a parameterized quantum circuit which is also known as ansatz);
- measuring the quantum circuit to obtain a set of keys according to a probability distribution (Wang: page 2: 3 VQAA for symmetric cryptography: paragraph 1: The parameterized quantum circuit gives a linear combination of all possible keys. Paragraph 2: Secondly, the key space is encoded into an adjustable quantum state by a parameterized quantum circuit which is also known as ansatz. Next, the output of the parameterized quantum circuit is used as a key to encrypt the known plaintext based on the S-DES. Page 7: paragraph 2: When the process is convergent, the occupation probability of the target state is the highest. Figure 9 presents the probability distribution of the eigenstates (keys) under the Y-Cz(A) ansatz, when the cost function value is lower than the threshold −9. The x-axis represents the eigenstates, which are ordered from the ground state to the highest eigenstate. They-axis represents the corresponding probability. The probability of ground states in Figure 9 is 0.82 and 0.41, respectively. It is inherent that the output of the ansatz is measured to obtain the keys in order to determine their probability distribution);
- encrypting the plain text using the set of keys in a classical encryption mechanism to obtain a set of encrypted messages (Wang: Fig. 2, page 2: 3 VQAA for symmetric cryptography: paragraph 1: After the symmetric cryptography operations, we have a linear combination of all the ciphertext corresponding to the known plaintext, associated with all possible keys. Paragraph 2: Next, the output of the parameterized quantum circuit is used as a key to encrypt the known plaintext based on the S-DES, and then the superposition of ciphertexts is obtained);
- determining an overlap between the set of encrypted messages and the encrypted ciphertext (Wang: page 2: 3 VQAA for symmetric cryptography: paragraph 2: Finally, we measure the superposition of ciphertexts and forward the result to the classical optimization algorithm. By using the optimization algorithm, we adjust the input parameters of the parameterized quantum circuit to arrange for the superposition ciphertext state to have a considerable overlap with the known ciphertext);
- on reaching a pre-determined overlap value, collapsing the key space to determine the encryption key, otherwise adjusting parameters of the quantum circuit (Wang: pages 2 and 3: 3 VQAA for symmetric cryptography: paragraph 2: By using the optimization algorithm, we adjust the input parameters of the parameterized quantum circuit to arrange for the superposition ciphertext state to have a considerable overlap with the known ciphertext. When the result of measurement is the known ciphertext, the key space also collapses to the required key state).
As per claim 18, Wang teaches:
The method of claim 17, wherein the step of adjusting the parameters of the circuit comprises using a classical optimization algorithm (Wang: page 2: 3 VQAA for symmetric cryptography: paragraph 2: Finally, we measure the superposition of ciphertexts and forward the result to the classical optimization algorithm. By using the optimization algorithm, we adjust the input parameters of the parameterized quantum circuit).
As per claim 3, Wang teaches:
The method of claim 18, wherein the classical optimization algorithm is a gradient descent method (Wang: page 6: 3.3 Classical optimization algorithms: We use two methods to optimize the parameters, namely the gradient descent method and the Nelder-Mead (N-M) method).
As per claim 5, Wang teaches:
The method of claim 17, wherein the constructing of the Hamiltonian comprises creating a graph with a plurality of nodes representing the bits of the encrypted ciphertext (Wang: page 3: 3.1 The construction of cost function: In order to encode the known ciphertext into a Hamiltonian ground state, we use each bit as a node to construct regular graphs. For an 8-node network, we can construct an n-regular (n = 1, 2, . . . , 7) graph. The value of the i-th node is denoted by V(i), which is the value of the i-th bit).
As per claim 6, Wang teaches:
The method of claim 5, wherein the graph is a 3-regular graph (Wang: page 4: Paragraphs between equation (4) and (5): The optimization works best when n = 3. The 3-regular graph we use is shown in Figure 3).
As per claim 7, Wang teaches:
The method of claim 17, wherein the encrypting is carried out using a quantum processor (Wang: Fig. 2, page 2: 3 VQAA for symmetric cryptography: paragraph 2: Next, the output of the parameterized quantum circuit is used as a key to encrypt the known plaintext based on the S-DES. Fig. 2 shows the symmetric cryptography being performed on a quantum computer, i.e., the encrypting is performed using a quantum processor).
As per claim 8, Wang teaches:
The method of claim 17, wherein the encrypting is carried out using a classical processor (Wang: page 2: 3 VQAA for symmetric cryptography: paragraphs 1 and 2: The main idea of our VQAA is shown in Figure 2. Next, the output of the parameterized quantum circuit is used as a key to encrypt the known plaintext based on the S-DES. Performing symmetric key encryption using the S-DES algorithm on a classical processor was well known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Research on Quantum Annealing Integer Factorization Based on Different Columns by Wang et al (hereinafter WangB).
As per claim 10, Wang does not teach the limitations of claim 10. However, WangB teaches:
wherein the encrypting is performed using a public key and the collapsing determines a private key (WangB: Abstract: This paper verifies the feasibility of deciphering RSA public key cryptography based on D-Wave. Page 3, left column last paragraph and right column: The integer factorization problem is converted into a combinatorial optimization problem that can be processed by the quantum annealing algorithm, and the minimum energy value is output through the quantum annealing algorithm. The minimum value is then the successful solution of integer factorization. As the core algorithm of the D-Wave quantum computer, quantum annealing shows the potential to approach or even reach the global optimum in the exponential solution space, corresponding to the quantum evolution of the ground state of the Hamiltonian of the problem. Page 4: left column: After sufficient slow adiabatic evolution, the final Hamiltonian of the system will be the ground state of the Ising model, namely, the factors produced by integer factorization. Page 9, right column: D-Wave can be mixed and enhanced with classics, and it has the potential to achieve the modular distributed decryption of large numbers. It was well known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention is that once the factors of the RSA algorithm are known, the private key can derived using the factors and that to perform the decryption, input has to be first encrypted with the public key).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of WangB in the invention of Wang to include the above limitations. The motivation to do so would be to verify the feasibility of D-Wave in factoring large numbers and the potential of its deciphering RSA (page 2: right column).
As per claim 15, Wang does not teach the limitations of claim 15. However, WangB teaches:
further comprising a further encryption element for encrypting an incoming message using a public key (WangB: page 4, left column: The simulation steps for D-Wave to decipher RSA public key cryptography based on quantum annealing are as follows. Page 9, right column: D-Wave can be mixed and enhanced with classics, and it has the potential to achieve the modular distributed decryption of large numbers. It was well known to one of ordinary skill in the art that in order to perform the decryption, input has to be first encrypted with the public key).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of WangB in the invention of Wang to include the above limitations. The motivation to do so would be to verify the feasibility of D-Wave in factoring large numbers and the potential of its deciphering RSA (page 2: right column).
As per claim 16, Wang does not teach the limitations of claim 16. However, WangB teaches:
wherein the at least one encryption element is replaced by a decryption element (WangB: page 4, left column: The simulation steps for D-Wave to decipher RSA public key cryptography based on quantum annealing are as follows. Page 9, right column: D-Wave can be mixed and enhanced with classics, and it has the potential to achieve the modular distributed decryption of large numbers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of WangB in the invention of Wang to include the above limitations. The motivation to do so would be to verify the feasibility of D-Wave in factoring large numbers and the potential of its deciphering RSA (page 2: right column).
Conclusion
MADHURI R. HERZOG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2438
/MADHURI R HERZOG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2438