DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-16 are currently pending. Claims 1-16 are currently rejected. Claims 1 and 13 are currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 03/04/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gagnieux et al (US 20020156426 A1).
Applicant has argued on page 5 of the response that “the claimed structure ‘release element’ has a reasonably well understood meaning in the art”. Examiner notes that while some may well interpret a “release element” to be a spring as disclosed in Applicant’s specification, others may interpret a “release element” to be a trigger, button, plunger, or the like. Additionally, Applicant fails to present a sufficient showing that the claim limitations recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed function. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Therefore, the claim interpretation of these terms under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Jansen et al (US 20020120239 A1; hereafter Jansen) in view of Gagnieux et al (US 20020156426 A1; hereafter Gagnieux).
Regarding claim 1, Jansen discloses a safety device (shield system 14, [0034] The shield system 14 according to the invention includes a holder 26, a shield 28 coupled to the holder, and a spring 30. It also preferably includes a holder end fitting 32 which engages one end of the spring.; see fig. 1) for mounting onto a medical container (syringe 12, fig. 1, [0032]) provided with a flange (flange 24, fig. 1, [0033]) and an injection needle (needle 18, fig. 1, [0033]), the safety device comprising:
a tubular body (holder 26, fig. 1, [0035] holder comprises a cylindrical body 34, see fig. 1) extending along a longitudinal axis (see fig. 1), the tubular body (26) being configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to receive the medical container (12) ([0036] syringe 12 is arranged in holder 26),
a needle cover (shield 28, fig. 1, [0045]) movable relative to said body between a retracted position (see fig. 3), and an extended position (see fig. 4) in which the needle cover (28) distally extends from the retracted position in order to shield the injection needle (18) after activation of the safety device (see fig. 4 which shows shield 28 shielding needle 18; see [0049] Once the stop members 48, 58 are disengaged… needle 18 is entirely and permanently covered by the shield, as shown in FIGS. 4 and 8),
a release element (spring 30, fig. 1, [0045]) (see 112f interpretation above) configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to move the needle cover (28) from the retracted to the extended position after activation of the safety device ([0049] Once the stop members 48, 58 are disengaged, the spring 30 expands rapidly, causing the shield to slide axially with respect to the holder and syringe barrel.),
a retainer (end fitting 32, fig. 1, [0034]), the retainer being configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to transmit a user's activation force to the needle cover (28) once an injection operation is completed ([0048] Following removal of the needle 18 from the patient, the user applies a greater force to the plunger rod than that applied during injection. Such force causes axial displacement of the end fitting, the spring and the shield with respect to the holder.),
wherein the needle cover (28) comprises a distal abutment surface (distal surface of stop member 58, fig. 3, [0041]), said distal abutment surface abutting against a proximal abutment surface (proximal face of stop member 48, fig. 3, [0041]) of a bump (stop member 48) protruding from the body (holder 26) in the retracted position of the needle cover (see fig. 3 which shows engagement of distal and proximal abutment surfaces), and
wherein at least one of the proximal abutment surface (proximal face of stop member 48, fig. 3, [0041]) and the distal abutment surface (distal surface of stop member 58, fig. 3, [0041]) comprises a chamfer (“inclined surface” noted in [0041]) configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to ease passage of the needle cover (28, fig. 1) over the bump (48, fig. 1) when the needle cover moves distally to the extended position ([0041] describes both stop members 48/58 having inclined surfaces/chamfers which engage with each other; [0048] “inclined surfaces of the stop members slide past each other” when the needle shield moves to cover the needle as described in [0049]).
Jansen is silent to the distal abutment surface located on a distal portion of the needle cover and a locking ring proximally located with respect to the distal abutment surface of the needle cover, and the bump protruding from a distal portion of the body.
Gagnieux, directed to a similar device, teaches a safety device (shield system 14, [0026] The shield system 14 according to the invention includes a tubular holder 26, a tubular shield 28 coupled to the holder, a coil spring 30 and an end fitting 32 which engages one end of the spring.; see fig. 1 and fig. 4) for mounting onto a medical container (syringe 12, fig. 1, [0025]) provided with a flange (flange 24, fig. 1, [0025]) and an injection needle (needle 18, fig. 1, [0025]), the safety device including:
wherein a needle cover (shield 28, fig. 1, [0031]) comprises a distal abutment surface (distal surface of stop member 58, fig. 2, [0031]) located on a distal portion of the needle cover (see fig. 2, [0031] stop member 58 is formed near the distal end of the shield 28) and a locking ring (collar 59, fig. 2, [0031] collar or rib 59 is formed integrally on the shield body 56 towards the proximal end, and defines another stop member 59) proximally located with respect to the distal abutment surface (distal surface of stop member 58) of the needle cover (see fig. 2), said distal abutment surface abutting against a proximal abutment surface (proximal face of stop member 48, fig. 2, [0037]) of a bump (stop member 48) protruding from the body (holder 26, fig. 1, [0027] The holder 26 is preferably comprised of an elongate, generally cylindrical tubular body 34) in the retracted position of the needle cover (see fig. 3 which shows engagement of distal and proximal abutment surfaces) ([0037] first stop member or collar 58 is received in the radial groove or stop member 48 in the holder).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jansen to add a locking ring instead of the second detents, and rearrange the bump and distal abutment surface to have the locations taught by Gagnieux, since Jansen and Gagnieux are directed to very similar mechanisms. One would have been motivated to make the modification because having the distal abutment surface on the distal end of the needle shield results in the stop member 58 being outside of the body 26 after actuation of the device (see Gagnieux fig. 4 and 7), thus providing another resistance point to resetting the device, better protecting against reuse. In this arrangement, the locking ring 59 must be present on the proximal end of the needle shield to maintain the needle shield’s connection with the body.
Regarding claim 2, Jansen modified by Gagineux discloses the safety device of claim 1, as described above. Jansen further discloses wherein the chamfer of the distal abutment surface and/or the chamfer of the bump has a frustoconical shape (see bump 48 in fig. 5 which shows that the chamfer of the bump 48 has a frustoconical shape).
Regarding claim 3, Jansen modified by Gagineux discloses the safety device of claim 1, as described above. Jansen further discloses wherein the proximal abutment surface (proximal face of stop member 48, fig. 5, [0041]) of the bump (stop member 48, fig. 5) and the distal abutment surface distal abutment surface (distal surface of stop member 58, fig. 5, [0041]) of the needle cover (28, fig. 1) both comprise a chamfer ([0041] stop member 58 has an inclined surface which is engageable with the inclined surface of the stop member 48 on the holder), and the chamfer of the distal abutment surface and the chamfer of the bump are complementarily shaped (see fig. 5 which shows complementary abutment of the chamfers where the stop members 48 and 58 interface).
Regarding claim 4, Jansen modified by Gagineux discloses the safety device of claim 3, as described above. Jansen further discloses wherein the chamfer of the distal abutment surface (distal face of stop member 58, fig. 5, [0041]) and the chamfer of the bump (48, fig. 5) are inclined with regard to the longitudinal axis (see fig. 5, note [0041] stop member 58 has an inclined surface which is engageable with the inclined surface of the stop member 48 on the holder).
Jansen modified by Gagineux is silent to the chamfer being specifically inclined 45° with regard to the longitudinal axis. This limitation represents only a change in shape (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)). Altering the engagement angle of the two chamfers would not adversely affect the functionality of Jansen. So long as the chamfers have engageable inclined surfaces, the device would still function appropriately. Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to specify the angle of the chamfers to be 45°, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 II. A). One would have been motivated to make the modification because having the inclined surfaces both be 45° evenly distributes the load of the engagement force along the longitudinal and axial direction of each of the stop members 48/58.
In addition, it is observed that the inclined angle of the chamfer is a result effective variable because the angle of the chamfer affects how much force applied to the stop members 48/58 is orthogonal to the chamfer, thus affecting the amount of friction which maintains the stop members 48/58 in engagement prior to the additional force being applied to disengage the stop members. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the inclined surfaces both be 45°, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
Regarding claim 5, Jansen modified by Gagineux discloses the safety device of claim 1, as described above. Jansen further discloses wherein the distal abutment surface (distal surface of stop member 58, fig. 3, [0041]) is located on a reduced thickness portion (portion of needle cover 28 excluding the thickened portion formed by axially extending ribs 62, see fig. 4 and [0041]) of the needle cover (28, fig. 4, see Jansen Modified Fig-4 below).
Regarding claim 6, Jansen modified by Gagineux discloses the safety device of claim 1, as described above. Jansen further discloses wherein the distal abutment surface (distal surface of stop member 58, fig. 3, [0041]) of the needle cover (28, fig. 1) is located on a radial protrusion (stop member 58, fig. 1, [0041] stop member 58 in the form of a radially outwardly extending collar is formed on the body 56 of the shield 28) of the needle cover (28), and the radial protrusion (58) has reinforcing means (see 112f interpretation above) (see [0041], radial protrusion/stop member 58 comprises an inclined surface and therefore reasonably comprises a ‘bulge’ as interpreted under 112f above) configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to reinforce a proximal side of this radial protrusion (58, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Jansen modified by Gagineux discloses the safety device of claim 1, as described above. Jansen further discloses wherein the bump (48, fig. 5) has a cantilevered portion (see Jansen Modified Fig-5 below, portion of bump farthest from the inner wall of the body is cantilevered).
Regarding claim 8, Jansen modified by Gagineux discloses the safety device of claim 1, as described above. Jansen further discloses wherein the body (holder 26, fig. 1) has a first axial slot (opening 46A, fig. 3) and a second axial slot opening 46B, fig. 3) ([0037] One or more openings, such as openings 46A, 46B, are formed in the holder body), the first axial slot (46A) and the second axial slot (46B) extending on both sides of the bump (48, fig. 1) ([0038] “stop member 48… is interrupted by the openings 46A, 46B”).
Regarding claim 9, Jansen modified by Gagineux discloses the safety device of claim 1, as described above. Jansen further discloses wherein the body (holder 26, fig. 1) has a first axial slot (opening 46A, fig. 3, [0037]) extending from a proximal end of the body (see Jansen Modified Fig-1.2 below), and the bump is circumferentially distant ([0038] bump 48 ‘interrupted’ by slot 46A and see FIG-1—bump does not extend into slots 46A/B and therefore the slots must be ‘circumferentially distant’ or separated by a circumference) from said first axial slot (opening 46A, fig. 3).
Jansen modified by Gagineux teaches all limitations of the claim except for wherein the first axial slot extends from a distal end of the body instead of from a proximal end of the body. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange the first axial slot so that it extended from a distal end of the body instead of from the proximal end of the body, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C). The modified slots could still perform the function of supplying the tubular body with flexibility as noted in Jansen [0037].
Regarding claim 10, Jansen modified by Gagineux discloses the safety device of claim 1, as described above. Jansen further discloses wherein the bump (48) extends in a circumferential direction (see circumferential extension of bumps 48 noted by the black arc and the light grey arc in Jansen Modified Fig-1 below) according to a central angle (see Jansen Modified Fig-1 below, central angle is formed between the two arrows; ALTERNATIVELY see Jansen Modified Fig-1.1 below, which notes a different interpretation of the central angle).
In either the interpretation of Jansen Modified Fig-1 or Fig-1.1, Jansen is silent to the central angle being “between 22.5° - 45°”.
However, Jansen [0038] notes that “stop member 48… is interrupted by the openings 46A, 46B”, and [0037] notes that “sizes of the openings” (46A, 46B) “are selected based upon the amount of flexibility desired in the holder body”. Modifying the sizes of the openings, such as the width of the openings, would alter the circumferential length of the bump/step member 48. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would consider the circumferential length of the bump comprising a central angle to be a result effective variable that is optimized through routine experimentation of changing/modifying the size of the first and second axial slot to obtain the circumferential length of the bump such that it comprises a central angle “between 22.5°- 45°”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the central angle forming the circumferential length of the bump disclosed in Jansen by modifying the size (such as the width) of each axial slot to obtain a central angle “between 22.5°- 45°” associated with a desired flexibility of the device defined by the slot size (see col 4 lines 45-56) as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (See MPEP § 2144.05(II).)
Regarding claim 11, Jansen modified by Gagineux discloses the safety device of claim 1, as described above. Jansen further discloses wherein the bump (48, fig. 1) of the body (holder 26, fig. 1) has a first end (end of bump 48 which faces radially inward toward the longitudinal axis) provided with a chamfer (“inclined surface of the stop member 48”, noted in [0041]) extending in a circumferential direction (see fig. 1, bump 48 extends circumferentially and therefore the chamfer extends in a circumferential direction along structure of bump 48).
Regarding claim 12, Jansen modified by Gagineux discloses the safety device of claim 1, as described above. Jansen further discloses wherein the bump (48, fig. 1) of the body (26, fig. 1) has a first end (right end of the bump 48 indicated in Jansen Modified Fig-5.1 below), an opposite second end (left end of the bump 48 indicated in Jansen Modified Fig-5.1 below), and a decreasing height (portion of bump outlined in grey in magnified portion of modified fig. 5 below) from said second end to said first end (see Jansen Modified Fig-5.1 below, height decreases in the noted portion of the bump moving from the second end to the first end).
Regarding claim 13, Jansen modified by Gagineux discloses the safety device of claim 1, as described above. Jansen further discloses wherein the bump includes only two bumps (“upper” bump 48 outlined in black and “lower” bump 48 outlined in light grey, both seen in Jansen Modified Fig-1 or Fig-1.1 above).
Regarding claim 14, Jansen modified by Gagineux discloses the safety device of claim 1, as described above. Jansen further discloses wherein the bump (48, fig. 1) has a first end (right hand end of bump 48 in fig. 5) and an opposite second end (left hand end of bump 48 in fig. 5), and the proximal abutment surface (proximal face of stop member 48, fig. 3, [0041]) of said bump (48) has a ramp portion (see indicated ramp portion in Jansen Modified Fig-5.2 below), said ramp portion having a decreasing slope towards the first end of said bump (see modified fig. below, surface inclined in direction toward proximal/ first end and therefore has a ‘decreasing’/ negative slope due to a negative change in ‘height’ of the inclined surface).
Regarding claim 15, Jansen modified by Gagineux discloses the safety device of claim 1, as described above. Jansen further discloses wherein the body (holder 26, fig. 1) has a first axial slot (opening 46A, fig. 3, [0037]) extending from a proximal end of the body (see Jansen Modified Fig-1.2 above).
Jansen modified by Gagineux teaches all limitations of the claim except for wherein the first axial slot extends from a distal end of the body instead of from a proximal end of the body, and the first axial slot having a predetermined length comprised between 1mm - 6 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to arrange the first axial slot so that it extended from a distal end of the body instead of from the proximal end of the body, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI-C). The modified slots could still perform the function of supplying the tubular body with flexibility as noted in Jansen [0037].
Jansen [0037] notes that “sizes of the openings” (46A, 46B) “are selected based upon the amount of flexibility desired in the holder body”. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would consider the size (such as the length) of the openings to be a result effective variable that is optimized through routine experimentation of changing/modifying the size of the first and second axial slot to obtain a “predetermined length comprised between 1mm - 6 mm”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the size (such as the width) of each axial slot to obtain a “predetermined length comprised between 1mm - 6 mm” associated with a desired flexibility of the device defined by the slot size (see col 4 lines 45-56) as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (See MPEP § 2144.05(II).)
Regarding claim 16, Jansen modified by Gagineux, as applied to claim 1 above, discloses an injection device (Jansen: medical device 10, fig. 1, [0032]) comprising a medical container (Jansen: syringe 12, fig. 1, [0032]) having an injection needle (Jansen: needle 18, fig. 1, [0033]) and the safety device (Jansen: shield system 14, [0032]) of claim 1 (see 103 rejection of claim 1 above), said safety device being mounted onto said medical container (Jansen: see fig. 1 and fig. 2 which show mounting, note [0032] “The device comprises a prefillable syringe 12 and a shield system 14 coupled to the syringe.”, [0034] describes components of shield system seen in fig. 1).
Claim(s) 7 and 12 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Jansen modified by Gagineux in view of Brunel (US 6186980 B1; hereafter Brunel).
Alternatively, regarding claim 7, Jansen modified by Gagineux discloses the safety device of claim 1, as described above.
Jansen modified by Gagineux is silent to wherein the bump has a cantilevered portion.
Brunel, in the art of single-use devices for injection, teaches wherein a bump (tabs 21 and transverse hook 22, see figs. 3 and 4, see col. 6 ln. 11-15) has a cantilevered portion (see col. 6 ln. 16-20, transverse hook 22 projects inside read body 9 and includes oblique front surface 22b which forms a ramp, note that the tabs 21 are deformable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bump of Jansen to have a cantilevered portion as taught by Brunel since both references deal with syringes for drug delivery. One would have been motivated to make the modification because, as described by Brunel col. 6 ln. 16-20, the anti-return rear surface 22a opposite the ramp 22b on the cantilevered portion allows passage of the bump 21/22 only in one direction (see col. 8 ln. 51-57, after passing the ramp 22b, the ribs 28 are locked on the other side of ribs 22). This thus helps to better prevent syringe re-use.
Alternatively, regarding claim 12, Jansen modified by Gagineux discloses the safety device of claim 1, as described above. Jansen further discloses wherein the bump (48, fig. 1) of the body (26, fig. 1) has a first end (right end of the bump 48 indicated in Jansen Modified Fig-5.1 above), an opposite second end (left end of the bump 48 indicated in Jansen Modified Fig-5.1 above).
Jansen modified by Gagineux is silent to a decreasing height from said second end to said first end.
Brunel, in the art of single-use devices for injection, teaches a decreasing height from said second end to said first end (see Brunel Modified Fig-3 below which shows a decreasing height from the second end to the first end of bump 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bump of Jansen to have a decreasing height as taught by Brunel since both references deal with syringes for drug delivery. One would have been motivated to make the modification because, as described by Brunel col. 6 ln. 16-20, the anti-return rear surface 22a opposite the ramp 22b on the bump 22 allows passage of the bump 22 only in one direction (see col. 8 ln. 51-57, after passing the ramp 22b, the ribs 28 are locked on the other side of ribs 22). This thus helps to better prevent syringe re-use.
Claim(s) 9 and 15 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Jansen modified by Gagineux in view of Brunel2 (US 5855839 A; hereafter Brunel2).
Alternatively, regarding claim 9, Jansen modified by Gagineux discloses the safety device of claim 1, as described above. Jansen further discloses wherein the body (holder 26, fig. 1) has a first axial slot (opening 46A, fig. 3, [0037]) extending from a proximal end of the body (see Jansen Modified Fig-1.2 below), and the bump is circumferentially distant ([0038] bump 48 ‘interrupted’ by slot 46A and see FIG-1—bump does not extend into slots 46A/B and therefore the slots must be ‘circumferentially distant’ or separated by a circumference) from said first axial slot (opening 46A, fig. 3).
Jansen modified by Gagineux teaches all limitations of the claim except for wherein the first axial slot extends from a distal end of the body instead of from a proximal end of the body.
Brunel2, in the art of disposable injection devices, teaches a safety device with a body (syringe body 101, see fig. 10, col. 10 ln. 10-13) comprising a first axial slot (one of the longitudinal slots 102, fig. 3, see col. 8 lines 56-59) extending from a distal end (see slot extending all the way through distal end/upward direction in fig. 10) of the body (101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to place the first axial slot on the body disclosed in Jansen at the distal end of the body as taught by Brunel2 for the purpose of providing the distal end of the device with a desired radial flexibility (see Brunel2 figs. 9-11 which show insertion of body and flexibility provided by slots 102, col. 9 ln. 64-col. 10 ln. 27). One would have been motivated to make the modification because radial flexibility at the distal end of the body would aid in the assembly of the device and resiliency of the body.
Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it is a simple substitution of one known element (a slot provided at a proximal end of a safety device as disclosed in Jansen) for another known element (a slot provided at a distal end of a safety device taught by Brunel) in the art to obtain the predictable result of providing a degree of flexibility to a chosen end of a safety device (see MPEP § 2143.I.B).
Alternatively, regarding claim 15, Jansen modified by Gagineux discloses the safety device of claim 1, as described above. Jansen further discloses wherein the body (holder 26, fig. 1) has a first axial slot (opening 46A, fig. 3, [0037]) extending from a proximal end of the body (see Jansen Modified Fig-1.2 above).
Jansen modified by Gagineux is silent to wherein the first axial slot extends from a distal end of said body (instead of a proximal end of the body), and the first axial slot having a predetermined length comprised between 1mm - 6 mm.
Jansen [0037] notes that “sizes of the openings” (46A, 46B) “are selected based upon the amount of flexibility desired in the holder body”. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would consider the size (such as the length) of the openings to be a result effective variable that is optimized through routine experimentation of changing/modifying the size of the first and second axial slot to obtain a “predetermined length comprised between 1mm - 6 mm”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the size (such as the width) of each axial slot to obtain a “predetermined length comprised between 1mm - 6 mm” associated with a desired flexibility of the device defined by the slot size (see col 4 lines 45-56) as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (See MPEP § 2144.05(II).)
Jansen modified by Gagineux teaches all limitations of the claim except for wherein the first axial slot extends from a distal end of the body instead of from a proximal end of the body.
Brunel2, in the art of disposable injection devices, teaches a safety device with a body (syringe body 101, see fig. 10, col. 10 ln. 10-13) comprising a first axial slot (one of the longitudinal slots 102, fig. 3, see col. 8 lines 56-59) extending from a distal end (see slot extending all the way through distal end/upward direction in fig. 10) of the body (101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to place the first axial slot on the body disclosed in Jansen at the distal end of the body as taught by Brunel2 for the purpose of providing the distal end of the device with a desired radial flexibility (see Brunel2 figs. 9-11 which show insertion of body and flexibility provided by slots 102, col. 9 ln. 64-col. 10 ln. 27). One would have been motivated to make the modification because radial flexibility at the distal end of the body would aid in the assembly of the device and resiliency of the body.
Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it is a simple substitution of one known element (a slot provided at a proximal end of a safety device as disclosed in Jansen) for another known element (a slot provided at a distal end of a safety device taught by Brunel2) in the art to obtain the predictable result of providing a degree of flexibility to a chosen end of a safety device (see MPEP § 2143.I.B).
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 10 is provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 5 of copending Application No. 18/088077. This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of copending Application No. 18/088077.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each noted claim contains all information of the independent claim and includes additional limitations, so the independent claim of the instant application is essentially a genus claim which is anticipated by each noted copending claim which is essentially a species claim.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 2-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending application 18/088077, in view of Jansen.
18/088077 includes dependent claims which include all the limitations of claims 5-16 except for “wherein at least one of the proximal abutment surface and the distal abutment surface comprises a chamfer configured to ease passage of the needle cover over the bump when the needle cover moves distally to the extended position.” .
Jansen, in the field of safety devices for syringes, teaches wherein at least one of the proximal abutment surface (proximal face of stop member 48, fig. 3, [0041]) and the distal abutment surface (distal surface of stop member 58, fig. 3, [0041]) comprises a chamfer (“inclined surface” noted in [0041]) configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to ease passage of the needle cover (28, fig. 1) over the bump (48, fig. 1) when the needle cover moves distally to the extended position ([0041] describes both stop members 48/58 having inclined surfaces/chamfers which engage with each other; [0048] “inclined surfaces of the stop members slide past each other” when the needle shield moves to cover the needle as described in [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to include the inclined surfaces/chamfers taught by Jansen since all references applications and Jansen deal with a safety device for a syringe. One would have been motivated to make the modification because including the chamfer facilitates a solid connection between the two abutment surfaces which may help provide stability prior to overcoming the abutment with additional force after the conclusion of the injection.
Including the chamfer of Jansen would further make obvious the limitations of claims 2-3, as outlined in the 103 rejections of claims 1-3 over Jansen above. Additionally, similar reasoning as applied to claim 4 above would render claim 4 obvious in view of Jansen. As such, claims 2-4 are also rejected for double patenting over any/all of the noted 11 copending applications in view of Jansen.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/I.S.N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/JASON E FLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 03/24/2026