DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 06/23/2026, amended claims 1-6, 8, 12-13, 15-16, 18, 20-24, and 26, and cancelled claim 7.
Claims 1-6 and 8-26 are pending and examined on the merits herein.
Priority
This application claims the following priority:
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 17/885,163, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. For example, ‘163 does not teach amino acids or preservatives. As such, the instant claims are afforded the effective filing date of the instant application, 12/23/2022.
REJECTIONS WITHDRAWN
The status for each rejection and/or objection in the previous Office Action is set out below.
Claim Objections
Applicant’s amendments to the claims 2 and 4 that deletes the term “dipepetide,” is sufficient to overcome these objections.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 5 is sufficient to overcome this objection.
Applicant’s cancellation of claim 7 is sufficient to overcome this objection.
Applicant’s amendments to claim 3 and 4 are sufficient to overcome the objection over “airless bottle.”
35 U.S.C. § 112(a)-New Matter
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1-2, 4, 16, 22, and 20, that delete the new matter recitations, are sufficient to overcome these rejections.
35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 is sufficient to overcome this rejection.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 5 is sufficient to overcome this rejection.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 6 is sufficient to overcome this rejection.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 20 that deletes dipeptide is sufficient to overcome this rejection.
REJECTIONS-MAINTAINED, NEW, & MODIFIED
The below prior art rejections have been modified. The same primary reference continues to be relied upon.
35 U.S.C. 112(f)--Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) are: “configure for” and “configured to” in claims 1-3, 8-11, 18, 21, 23-24.
In the instant case, the recitations “topical application” and “adhesive bandage pod,” imply sufficient structure for performing the claimed function. As discussed on pgs. 2 and 8 of the Specification, topical application is a composition form that is applied directly to a skin of the body. As discussed on pg. 3 of the Specification, an adhesive bandage pod is an adhesive bandage that holds a liquid or semiliquid that can be applied to the skin without soiling clothes or the skin of the user.
Because these claim limitations are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are not being interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Objections
(New) Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
-In claim 12, line 3, prior to “a non-woven,” the term “and” should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
(New & Modified based on amendment) Claims 1-6 and 8-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-In claims 1-4, the phrase “a naturally occurring plant derivative selected from eucalyptus, clove, arnica, montana, bosellia carterii, canlendula officinalis and vamellia dinensis,” renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear if “a naturally occurring plant derivative” is an extract of eucalyptus, clove, arnica, montana, bosellia carterii, canlendula officinalis or vamellia dinensis, if it is any one compound or mixture of compounds found in eucalyptus, clove, arnica, montana, bosellia carterii, canlendula officinalis or vamellia dinensis plants, or if it is a derivative of a compound or mixture of compounds found in eucalyptus, clove, arnica, montana, bosellia carterii, canlendula officinalis or vamellia dinensis plants, i.e., a chemically modified natural ingredient. While the instant specification defines “derivative” on pg. 9, this definition is only applicable to compounds and not to naturally occurring plants.
-In claims 1-4, in the “at least one active ingredient” section, it is not clear if “and (v) combinations thereof” mean that the active ingredient can be a combination of a single compound recited in any one of (i), (ii), (iii), and (iv), or if “and (v) combinations thereof” means that it can be, for example, a combination of one or more compounds from group (i) or a combination of two compounds from group (ii) and three compounds from group (iv). The metes and bounds of the phase “and (v) combinations thereof” is unclear.
-In claims 1, 8-13, 18-19, 21-24 and 26, the term “adhesive bandage pod” renders the claim indefinite, as it is not clear if the “adhesive bandage pod” is a generic type of transdermal bandage or if it is the “Appod” product referenced on pg. 3 of the specification. Based on pg. 3 of the specification, it appears that “adhesive bandage pod” is synonymous to APPOD, “The present invention also relates to a device or adhesive bandage pod or application bod, (referred to as AppodTM).” However, claims 8-13, 18-19, 21-24 and 26 further limit “adhesive bandage pod” reciting characteristics of AppodTM. As such, the metes and bound of “adhesive bandage pod” are unclear.
-Claim 5 recites the limitation "the emulsion has a viscosity of 2000cP or less" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, since neither claim 1 nor claim 5 recite “an emulsion.”
As such the phrase "the emulsion has a viscosity of 2000cP or less" is interpreted as not further limiting the solution as recited in line 2 of claim 5.
-In claim 6, it is not clear if the “about 1% to 90% weight” is referencing only the water or if “about 1% to 90% weight” is referencing both the water and the skin permeation enhancer.
-In claims 10-13, 23-24, and 26, it is not clear if the “topical products” (claims 10-13, 23-34, and 26) and “product” (claim 26) are synonymous to the “topical workout muscle recovery composition” or if “topical products” and “product” is referencing an additional component or composition that is not recited in claim 1, from which the claims ultimately depend.
-In claim 16, the phrase “about 0.1% to about 200% of daily volume” renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear what daily volume is being referenced, i.e., it is not clear if there is a baseline daily volume or inorganic salt that is being referenced or if some other baseline is being applied to arrive at the percentages. Moreover, the phrase is further confusing since the amount is referenced as a percent weight followed by the phrase “of daily volume.”
-In claim 18, it is not clear if the “topical dosage products” is synonymous to the “topical workout muscle recovery composition” or if “topical dosage product” is referencing an additional component or composition that is not recited in claim 1, from which claims 10 and 11 ultimately depend.
-In claim 18, line 5, the “topical dosage product” is recited as a “topical powder,” which is a solid. However, claim 1, from which claim 18 ultimately depends, recites the composition in the form of a liquid to semisolid, as does line 7 of claim 18. As such, it is not clear how the “topical dosage product” is in a solid form, unless the “topical dosage product” is distinct from the “topical workout recovery composition.”
-Claim 24 recites the limitation "said adhesive bandage pod release liner" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since neither claim 6 nor claim 1, from which claim 24 depends, recite “adhesive bandage pod release liner.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
(New) Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 8 recites “for local or systemic applications” in lines 3-4. However, claim 8 depends from claim 6, which depends from claim 1, wherein claim 1 recites, “A topical workout muscle recovery composition configured for localized topical application.” Since claim 1 recites “localized topical application,” claim 8’s recitation of systemic application broadens the scope of the application recited in claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)-Written Description
Claims 1-6 and 8-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. See MPEP 2163.
Independent claims 1-4 recite topical workout muscle recovery compositions configured for localized topical application to muscle tissue at an application site comprising:
Claim 1
Claim 2
Claim 3
Claim 4
pain reliever (~0.05-50%wt)
pain reliever (~0.05-50%wt)
pain reliever (~0.05-50%wt)
pain reliever (~0.05-50%wt)
Water
Water
Preservative
Preservative
Preservative
Thus, the four claimed compositions only share two components, 1) a pain reliever and 2) at least one active ingredient, wherein at least (i), (ii), (iii), and (iii) of the “at least one active ingredient” are pain relievers.
The instant specification (pgs. 24-28) only exemplifies six composition wherein:
-two of these compositions comprise zero pain relievers, and an additional composition can comprise 0mg of methyl salicylate (Tables 2-4)
-the pain relievers are either methyl salicylate or lidocaine;
-the active ingredients is either a combination of menthol and camphor, or menthol alone;
-the inorganic salt is always a combination of Sodium Chloride, Strontium Nitrate and Magnesium chloride.
-the amino acid is 0-60mg L-alanine and/or 0-10mg L-Glutamine, or L-theanine;
-the natural supplement is a combination of Vitamin D, Vitamin B6, Niacinamide (Vitamin B complex), and Caffeine, or a combination of Vitamin D, caffeine, and niacinamide, or a combination of 0-50 mg Vitamin D, Vitamin B6 and caffeine, or a combination of 0-50mg Vitamin D, melatonin, 0-200mg caffeine, and 0-60mg niacinamide, or a combination of niacinamide and melatonin.
None of the compositions comprise a preservative.
Thus, the only component required by all six of the exemplified compositions appears to be menthol and a form of vitamin B.
The art teaches products comprising specific topical pain relievers to treat muscle recovery.
Howard (Topical Analgesic Therapies for Acute, Sports-Associated Soft Tissue Injuries, published 2026, PTO-892) teaches that topical NSAIDs are known in the art to treat soft tissue injuries, such as muscle strains and over-exertion (title, abstract, pg. 1).
Howard teaches a diclofenac patch, a menthol gel, a ketoprofen cream, an ibuprofen plaster, and an etofenamate plaster as products useful for such treatment (pgs. 4-7, Table 2).
Howard teaches these products as not providing statistically significant analgesic benefit compared with placebo (pg. 10, Conclusion).
Nahon (Anti-inflammatories for Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness: Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis, published 2021, PTO-892) teaches the effectiveness of pharmacological interventions in the treatment of muscle soreness (abstract).
Nahon teaches topical ketoprofen and topical diclofenac gels for such treatment (pgs. 649-650, Table 1). Like Howard, Nahon teaches these products as not providing a beneficial effect in treating muscle soreness following exertion (abstract, pg. 652, Conclusions).
Thus, while the art teaches specific topical products comprising single active ingredients, it teaches these products as not aiding in muscle recovery.
In view of the limited examples of the instant specification, and the teachings of the art, it is impossible to determine a structure-function relationship of the composition recited in claims 1-4, that is critical to impart muscle recovery when the composition is topically applied.
As such, claims 1-6 and 8-26 are broader than what the specification supports.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(Modified) Claims 1, 3-4, 6 and 8-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022/11535 to Martinez (published 06/02/2022, IDS of 07/14/2025) in view of Sayers (Treatment of delayed-onset muscle soreness: Is prevention the answer? GSSI, published 2007, PTO-892 of 07/11/2025), MayoClinic (Diclofenac, published 11/24/2021, PTO-892), APG (How do airless pump bottles work? Apackinggroup.com, published 05/17/2022, PTO-892 of 07/11/2025), as evidenced by Drugs.com (Diclofenac, PTO-892 of 07/11/2025) and as evidenced by Pereira (Current Status of Amino Acid-Based Permeation Enhancers in Transdermal Drug Delivery, Membranes, published 2021, PTO-892 of 03/12/2026).
Martinez teaches a method of reducing exercise induced injury and/or enhancing muscle recovery after exercise by administering compositions comprising 2’fucosyllactose (pg. 33, claim 1).
Martinez teaches the composition as further comprising amino acids, such as leucine, valine, and others (pg. 34, claim 14).
Martinez teaches the composition as further comprising vitamin B6 and/or Vitamin C (pg. 34, claim 16).
Martinez teaches the composition as further comprising electrolytes, wherein the electrolytes are sodium, magnesium, potassium, and other salts (pg. 34, claim 17; pg. 15, lines 9-18).
Martinez teaches the composition as topical and as prepared according to conventional methods and techniques known to those skilled in the art (pg. 22, lines 10-21; pg. 28, lines 3-20), wherein emulsions, solutions, suspensions, cream, gels, bandages, and other dosage forms are taught, wherein carriers and excipients include aqueous vehicles, water-miscible vehicles, and others (pg. 28, lines 14-20).
Martinez teaches preservatives as excipients that inhibit the growth of microorganisms in the composition (pg. 28, lines 14-20).
Regarding claims 1 and 3-4, while Martinez teaches aqueous topical compositions comprising electrolyte inorganic salts, amino acids, natural supplements, such as vitamin B6 and C, and preservatives in the form of liquids, creams, and gels, it differs from that of instant claims 1 and 3-4, in that it does not teach a pain reliver, such as diclofenac.
Martinez teaches that its compositions can be used in combination with NSAIDs (pg. 14, lines 1-5).
Sayers teaches that the recreational or trained athlete would benefit from a reliable treatment strategy for delayed onset muscle soreness (DOMS), which is the perception of pain and discomfort in muscles appearing in the days following strenuous, unaccustomed physical activity (pg. 1, “Introduction”). Sayers teaches that diclofenac has demonstrated efficacy in reducing the symptoms of DOMS during both short term as well as long term administration following exercise (pg. 1, 1st full paragraph).
MayoClinic teaches that it is known in the art to topically apply by patch or spray, 3% diclofenac to treat strains (pg. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to add 3% diclofenac to the aqueous composition of Martinez to arrive at the instantly claimed composition. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such an addition, with a reasonable expectation of success because:
-both Martinez and Sayers are directed toward post-exercise treatments,
-Martinez teaches that NSAIDs can be added to its compositions,
-Sayers teaches administering diclofenac, a NSAID, post-exercise to reduce symptoms of muscle soreness, and
-Mayoclinic teaches that it’s known in the art to topically apply 3% diclofenac for strains.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such an addition to predictably arrive at a composition that reduces muscle pain after exercise (title, abstract of Martinez).
As evidenced by Drugs.com, diclofenac treats mild to moderate pain. As such, the teaching of diclofenac in the combined composition of Martinez and Sayers meets the limitations of both the instantly claimed pain reliever and the at least one active ingredient.
Further regarding claims 1 and 3-4, while the combination of Martinez, Sayer, and MayoClinic teaches the instantly claimed compositions of claim 1 and 3-4, it differs from that of instant claims 1 and 3-4, in that it does not teach an airless bottle.
APG teaches that airless bottles are designed to isolate sensitive formulations and restrict exposure to air to prevent oxidation and deterioration, as well as avoid introduction of bacteria (pg. 1). When using airless bottles, the product is drawn from the top of the bottle, and is continually pushed closer towards the dispensing nozzle, minimizing waste and administering exact product doses (pg. 2). APG teaches these bottles as especially helpful for products containing compounds that are oxygen sensitive such as vitamins.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to select an airless bottle to contain and dispense the composition of the combination of Martinez, Sayers, and Mayoclinic to arrive at instant claims 1-4. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Martinez teaches that its compositions can be formulated as sprays (pg. 28, lines 7-13),
-APG teaches airless bottles as preventing oxidation and deterioration, and as avoiding introduction of bacteria, and
-APG teaches airless bottles as minimizing waste and administering exact doses.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a selection to predictably arrive at a product that a) prevents oxidation, deterioration, and introduction of bacteria, b) minimizes waste, and c) administers exact dosages.
In claims 1-6 and 8-24, the following are intended use recitations:
-“topical workout muscle recovery composition” (claims 1-24);
-“for localized topical application to muscle tissue at an application site” (claim 1, line 2);
-“to provide localized muscle recovery at the application site” (claim 1, last two lines);
-“for localized topical application” (claim 2, lines 1-2);
-“for topical application to the skin” (claim 3, second to last line);
-“is applied using the topical hands-free applicator drug delivery system (THADS) (claim 6, lines 4-5);
-“applied to the skin of human or animals. . .to prevent soiling of cloths and provide hands-free application” (claim 7);
-“to be applied to the skin” (claim 8);
-“prevent any reduction or loss from any external contact of a treatment via rubbing of a hand or absorption of clothing” (claim 9);
-“for multimodal treatment” (claim 11);
-“such that the composition is positioned adjacent to a user’s skin when the adhesive bandage is applied” (claim 22);
-“to the skin of a user” (claim 26).
Note: this is not an exhaustive list of the recited intended uses.
Since the product of the combination of Martinez, Sayer, and APG is capable of performing these intended uses, it meets the intended use limitations recited in the instant claims; the intended use of the composition is being considered to the extent that it limits the structure of the composition, but it is not treated as a process of using claim.
It is further noted that the term “topical workout muscle recovery” occurs in the preamble of the claims. As discussed in MPEP 2111.02, if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. In the instant case, the body of the claim fully sets forth the limitations of the claimed compositions, and the preamble is not considered a limitation.
Regarding claim 6, as evidenced by Pereira, leucine is a skin permeation enhancer (abstract; pgs. 11, Table 2; pg. 12, last paragraph; pg. 16, last paragraph).
Further regarding claim 6, while the combination of Martinez, Sayer, MayoClinic, and APG teaches the instantly claimed composition, it differs from that of instant claim 6 in that it does not teach the % weight of the combination of water and skin permeation enhancer.
Martinez further teaches that ingredients can be added in any suitable amount (pg. 15, lines 18-29).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claim invention to modify the amount of water and leucine in the combined composition of Martinez, Sayer, MayoClinic and APG, to arrive at a composition comprising 1-90% weight water and leucine. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success because:
-Martinez teaches that ingredients can be added in any suitable amount, and that topical dosage forms can be prepared according to conventional methods and techniques known to those skilled in the art ( (pg. 22, lines 10-21), and
- "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation," MPEP 2144.05(II).
As such, an artisan having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to predictably arrive at a composition that optimized for topical absorption to enhance muscle recovery.
Regarding claims 8-13, 18-19, and 21-26, these claims depend from claim 6 and ultimately claim 1, and further limit “an adhesive bandage pod.” Claim 1 recites “is contained within an airless container or an adhesive bandage pod.” Neither claims 1 nor 6 limit the composition as contained in “an adhesive bandage pod.” As such, claims 8-13, 18-19, and 21-26 are interpreted as if the composition is contained within an adhesive bandage pod, then the limitations of claims 8-13, 18-19, and 21-26 apply. Since the combined composition of Martinez, Sayers, MayoClinic and APG teach an airless bottle, the limitations of claims 8-13, 18-19, and 21-26 are met.
Regarding claim 14, Martinez teaches L-glutamine as an exemplary nutritional supplement for use in its compositions (pg. 14, lines 10-17). However, Martinez does not teach glutamine in an amount of about 0.01% to about 20% weight.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claim invention to add about 0.01% to about 20% weight glutamine to the combined composition of Martinez, Sayer, MayoClinic and APG, to arrive at instant claim 14. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such an addition, with a reasonable expectation of success because:
- Martinez teaches that ingredients can be added in any suitable amount, and that topical dosage forms can be prepared according to conventional methods and techniques known to those skilled in the art ( (pg. 22, lines 10-21),
-Martinez teaches amino acids in its compositions, and teaches glutamine as an additional agent that can be added to its composition, and
- "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation," MPEP 2144.05(II).
As such, an artisan having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such an addition to predictably arrive at a composition that optimizes the amount of glutamine and amino acid effect, to enhance muscle recovery.
Regarding claim 15, Martinez teaches methyl and propyl paraben, and sorbic acid as preservatives (pg. 25). However, Martinez does not teach an amount of water corresponding to about 0.05 mL-5mL per pound of treated muscle tissue or the preservative in an amount of about 0.015% to about 2% weight.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claim invention to modify the amount of water and add about 0.015% to about 2% weight methylparaben, propylparaben, or sorbic acid, in the combined composition of Martinez, Sayer, MayoClinic and APG, to arrive at instant claim 15. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification and addition, with a reasonable expectation of success because:
- Martinez teaches that ingredients can be added in any suitable amount, and that topical dosage forms can be prepared according to conventional methods and techniques known to those skilled in the art ( (pg. 22, lines 10-21),
-Martinez teaches preservatives in its composition to limit the growth of bacteria, and
- "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation," MPEP 2144.05(II).
As such, an artisan having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification and addition to predictably arrive at a composition that is optimized to enhance muscle recovery and minimize the growth of microorganisms.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Martinez, Sayer, and APG does not teach the inorganic salt in an amount of about 0.1% to about 200% of daily applied volume of the composition administered to a user.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claim invention to modify the amount of inorganic salt in the combined composition of Martinez, Sayer, MayoClinic and APG, to arrive at instant claim 16. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success because:
- Martinez teaches that ingredients can be added in any suitable amount, and that topical dosage forms can be prepared according to conventional methods and techniques known to those skilled in the art ( (pg. 22, lines 10-21), and
- "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation," MPEP 2144.05(II).
As such, an artisan having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to predictably arrive at a composition that is optimized for fluidity to enhance muscle recovery.
Regarding claim 17, Martinez teaches caffeine as an exemplary nutritional supplement that can be added to its compositions (pg. 14, lines 10-18). However, Martinez does not teach the caffeine in an amount of about 0.01% to about 40% weight of the composition.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claim invention to add about 0.1% to about 40% weight caffeine to the combined composition of Martinez, Sayer, MayoClinic and APG, to arrive at instant claim 17. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such an addition, with a reasonable expectation of success because:
- Martinez teaches that ingredients can be added in any suitable amount, and that topical dosage forms can be prepared according to conventional methods and techniques known to those skilled in the art ( (pg. 22, lines 10-21),
-Martinez teaches that caffeine can be added to its compositions, and
- "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation," MPEP 2144.05(II).
As such, an artisan having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to predictably arrive at a composition that is optimized to enhance muscle recovery and provides a caffeine benefit for muscle recovery.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Martinez, Sayer, MayoClinic and APG does not teach about 0.1-18 weight % of glutamine, creatine, leucine, isoleucine, or valine.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claim invention to modify the amount of glutamine, leucine, or valine in the combined composition of Martinez, Sayer, MayoClinic and APG, to arrive at instant claim 20. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification, with a reasonable expectation of success because:
- Martinez teaches that ingredients can be added in any suitable amount, and that topical dosage forms can be prepared according to conventional methods and techniques known to those skilled in the art ( (pg. 22, lines 10-21), and
- "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation," MPEP 2144.05(II).
As such, an artisan having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to predictably arrive at a composition that is optimized in amino acid amount, to enhance muscle recovery.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022/11535 to Martinez (published 06/02/2022, IDS of 07/14/2025) in view of Sayers (Treatment of delayed-onset muscle soreness: Is prevention the answer? GSSI, published 2007, PTO-892 of 07/11/2025), and MayoClinic (Diclofenac, published 11/24/2021, PTO-892), as evidenced by Drugs.com (Diclofenac, PTO-892 of 07/11/2025).
Martinez is applied as discussed above and incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 2, while Martinez teaches topical aqueous compositions comprising amino acids, natural supplements, such as vitamin B6 and C, and preservatives, in the form of liquids, creams, and gels, it differs from that of instant claims 2, in that it does not teach 0.05-50% wt. pain reliver/active ingredient, such as diclofenac.
Martinez teaches that its compositions can be used in combination with NSAIDs (pg. 14, lines 1-5).
Sayers teaches that the recreational or trained athlete would benefit from a reliable treatment strategy for delayed onset muscle soreness (DOMS), which is the perception of pain and discomfort in muscles appearing in the days following strenuous, unaccustomed physical activity (pg. 1, “Introduction”). Sayers teaches that diclofenac has demonstrated efficacy in reducing the symptoms of DOMS during both short term as well as long term administration following exercise (pg. 1, 1st full paragraph).
MayoClinic teaches that it is known in the art to topically apply by patch or spray, 3% diclofenac to treat strains (pg. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to add 3% diclofenac to the composition of Martinez to arrive at a topical liquid to semisolid aqueous composition comprising amino acids, natural supplements such as vitamins B6 and C, preservative, and NSAID/pain reliever. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such an addition, with a reasonable expectation of success because:
-both Martinez and Sayers are directed toward post-exercise treatments,
-Martinez teaches that NSAIDs can be added to its compositions,
-Sayers teaches administering diclofenac, a NSAID, post-exercise to reduce the symptoms of muscle soreness, and
-MayoClinic teaches that it’s known in the art to topically apply 3% diclofenac for muscle strains.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such an addition to predictably arrive at a composition that reduces muscle pain due to strain after exercise (title, abstract of Martinez).
As evidenced by Drugs.com, diclofenac treats mild to moderate pain. As such, the teaching of diclofenac in the combined composition of Martinez and Sayers meets the limitations of both the instantly claimed pain reliever and the NSAID/active ingredient.
In claims 2, the following are intended use recitations:
-“topical workout muscle recovery”;
-“is dispensed from an airless container.”
Since the product of the combination of Martinez, Sayer, and MayoClinic is capable of performing these intended uses, it meets the intended use limitations recited in the instant claims; the intended use of the composition is being considered to the extent that it limits the structure of the composition, but it is not treated as a process of using claim.
It is further noted that the term “topical workout muscle recovery” occurs in the preamble of the claims. As discussed in MPEP 2111.02, if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. In the instant case, the body of the claim fully sets forth the limitations of the claimed compositions, and the preamble is not considered a limitation.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez (published 06/02/2022, IDS of 07/14/2025), Sayers (Treatment of delayed-onset muscle soreness: Is prevention the answer? GSSI, published 2007, PTO-892 of 07/11/2025), MayoClinic (Diclofenac, published 11/24/2021, PTO-892), and APG (How do airless pump bottles work? Apackinggroup.com, published 05/17/2022, PTO-892 of 07/11/2025), as evidenced by Drugs.com (Diclofenac, PTO-892 of 07/11/2025) and as evidenced by Pereira (Current Status of Amino Acid-Based Permeation Enhancers in Transdermal Drug Delivery, Membranes, published 2021, PTO-892 of 03/12/2026), as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 6 and 8-26 above, and further in view of Prowting (Effects of Collagen Peptides on Recovery Following Eccentric Exercise in Resistance-Trained Males-A Pilot Study, International Jn of Sport Nutrition and Exercise Metabolism, published 2020, PTO-892 of 03/12/2026).
Martinez, Sayer, MayoClinic and APG are applied as discussed above, and incorporated herein.
Martinez further teaches its compositions in the form of solutions (pg. 28, lines 3-7).
While the combination of Martinez, Sayer, MayoClinic and APG teaches aqueous topical compositions comprising electrolyte inorganic salts, amino acids, such as leucine which is a skin permeation enhancer, natural supplements, such as vitamin B6 and C, and diclofenac, in the form of solutions contained in an airless bottle, it differs from that of instant claim 5 in that it does not teach collagen.
Prowting teaches that collagen supplementation attenuates performance decline 24 hours following muscle damage from exercise, and that collagen peptides provide a performance benefit the day following a bout of damaging exercise.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to add collagen to the combined composition of Martinez, Sayer, MayoClinic and APG, to arrive at instant claim 5. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such an addition, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-both the combination of Martinez, Sayer, MayoClinic and APG, and Prowting, are directed toward treating muscle recovery following exercise, and
-Prowting teaches collagen as attenuating muscle damage from exercise.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such an addition, to predictably arrive at a composition that further effectively attenuates muscle damage from exercise.
Response to Arguments
On pg. 12, Remarks, Applicant argues that the cited references do not teach or suggest the particular combination of pain relievers, amino acids, inorganic salts, natural supplements, preservatives, and delivery systems recited in claims 1-4, and argues that the Office Action merely identifies various individual ingredients and formulation components within separate references.
This argument has been fully considered, but is not found persuasive.
It is first respectfully pointed out that claims 1-4 are not directed toward compositions comprising species, i.e., specific compounds, but are directed toward generic categories of components, some further reciting Markush limitations and others not, in any combination. Next, it is respectfully pointed out that the Office Action does not rely upon a multitude of references to teach the majority of the components recited in the instantly claimed composition.
As discussed in detail in the above rejections, Martinez claims compositions comprising 2-fucosyllactose, the instantly claimed amino acids, the instantly claimed natural supplements, and the instantly claimed inorganic salts (i.e., electrolytes) in claims 1, 14, and 16-17. Martinez teaches its compositions as further comprising preservatives (pgs. 15, 25, 27-28). Martinez teaches its compositions as aqueous liquid and semisolid dosage forms (pgs. 26-28). Martinez teaches its compositions as further comprising NSAIDS as an additional therapeutic and parabens as preservatives (pg. 14). Finally, Martinez teaches its compositions in the form of sprays, bandages and dermal patches (pg. 28). Thus, the instant rejection does not extract isolated teachings from multiple unrelated references, as argued on pg. 12, Remarks.
On pg. 13, Remarks, Applicant argues that Martinez principally is directed toward composition containing fucosyllactose for exercise recovery.
This argument has been fully considered, but is not found persuasive. The instant claims are directed toward “A topical workout muscle recovery composition. . .comprising,” wherein “comprising” is an open-ended transitional phrase that does not exclude additional ingredients, such as fucosyllactose.
On pg. 13, Remarks, Applicant argues that the instant rejection is arrived at by impermissible hindsight reasoning.
This argument has been fully considered, but is not found persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In the instant case, the rejection relies on the knowledge within the level of an ordinary skilled artisan.
On pg. 14, Remarks, Applicant argues that Sayers is concerned with delayed onset muscle soreness while “Applicant’s invention is directed to a localized recovery composition that may be administered before, during, and after exercise to support hydration, replenishment of fluids and electrolytes, recovery and pain relief at specific groups.”
This argument has been fully considered, but is not found persuasive. It is respectfully pointed out that Applicant is arguing the intended uses of the instantly claimed composition. However, the instant claims are directed toward a product and not a method of using as a product. As such, arguments directed toward the intended use are not persuasive to overcome the instant rejection; although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
On pg. 15, Remarks, Applicant argues that the Office Action relies on Pereira for the alleged teaching of a skin permeation enhancer and that it would have been obvious to incorporate such an enhancer into the composition of Martinez.
This argument has been fully considered, but is not found persuasive. It is respectfully pointed out that Pereira is used as an evidentiary reference to demonstrate that the leucine taught by Martinez is a skin permeation enhancer. Applicant is respectfully reminded that Martinez need not teach the leucine specifically as a permeation enhancer to meet the limitations of claim 6. Martinez’s teaching of leucine in its compositions is sufficient to meet the limitation of “permeation enhancer” since leucine is an amino acid and permeation enhancer; it is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant, MPEP 2144 (IV).
On pgs. 15-18, Remarks, Applicant argues that the Office Action does not identify where the features of the adhesive bandage pod delivery system are taught.
This argument has been fully considered, but is not found persuasive. As discussed in the previous Office Action and in the above rejection, regarding claims 8-13, 18-19, and 21-26, these claims depend from claim 6 and ultimately claim 1, and further limit “an adhesive bandage pod.” Claim 1 recites “is contained within an airless container or an adhesive bandage pod.” Neither claims 1 nor 6 limit the composition as contained in “an adhesive bandage pod.” As such, claims 8-13, 18-19, and 21-26 are interpreted as if the composition is contained within an adhesive bandage pod, then the limitations of claims 7-13, 18-19, and 21-26 apply. Since the combined composition of Martinez, Sayers, MayoClinic and APG teach an airless bottle, the limitations of claims 8-13, 18-19, and 21-26 are met.
On pg. 16, Remarks, Applicant argues, regarding claim 14-17, that the Office Action has not identified any teaching within the cited references that would have led a skilled artisan to select Applicant’s particular claimed concentrations and ingredient groups from the numerous possibilities disclosed in the prior art.
This argument has been fully considered, but is not found persuasive. It is first respectfully pointed out that claims 14 and 16-17 recite percent weights and not concentrations. Moreover, as discussed above:
- Martinez teaches that ingredients can be added in any suitable amount, and that topical dosage forms can be prepared according to conventional methods and techniques known to those skilled in the art ( (pg. 22, lines 10-21),
-Martinez teaches amino acids, preservatives, inorganic salts (electrolytes) and caffeine, in its compositions, and
- "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation," MPEP 2144.05(II).
As such, an artisan having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such an addition to predictably arrive at a composition that optimizes the amount of glutamine and amino acid effect, to enhance muscle recovery.
As such, an artisan having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification and addition to predictably arrive at a composition that is optimized to enhance muscle recovery and minimize the growth of microorganisms.
As such, an artisan having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to predictably arrive at a composition that is optimized for fluidity to enhance muscle recovery.
As such, an artisan having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification to predictably arrive at a composition that is optimized to enhance muscle recovery and provides a caffeine benefit for muscle recovery.
The optimization of known amounts for known active agents is considered well within the competence level of an artisan of ordinary skill in the pharmaceutical sciences; it has been held that the selection of optimal parameters, such as amounts of active agents, to achieve a beneficial effect, is within the skill in the art of an ordinary artisan. See In re Boesch, 205 USPT 215 (CCPA 1980) and MPEP 2144.05.
On pg. 20, Remarks, Applicant argues that the Office Action does not identify any teaching or suggesting in Prowting that collagen should be incorporated into such as composition, not does it explain why a person of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected that adding collagen to the already modified Martinez formulation would produce the claimed composition. Applicant argues that improper hindsight reasoning has been applied.
These arguments have been fully considered, but are not found persuasive.
Prowting teaches that collagen supplementation attenuates performance decline 24 hours following muscle damage from exercise, and that collagen peptides provide a performance benefit the day following a bout of damaging exercise. Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to add collagen to the combined composition of Martinez, Sayer, MayoClinic and APG, to arrive at instant claim 5. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such an addition, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-both the combination of Martinez, Sayer, MayoClinic and APG, and Prowting, are directed toward treating muscle recovery following exercise, and
-Prowting teaches collagen as attenuating muscle damage from exercise.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such an addition, to predictably arrive at a composition that further effectively attenuates muscle damage from exercise.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In the instant case, the rejection relies on the knowledge within the level of an ordinary skilled artisan.
Double Patenting
(Maintained) Claims 1-6, 8-14 and 16-26 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of copending Application No. 19/224,255 (claim set dated 05/30/2025, reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
‘255 claims a topical formulation, in solution or liquid form with adhesive application pod, a pod-based delivery system, for muscle recovery, comprising 5-95% water, 0.05-10% mineral salts, such as sodium, magnesium, potassium, and calcium (instant inorganic salt), 0.1-10% amino acids, topical pain relievers such as diclofenac (instant pain reliever and active ingredient), collagen (instant claim 5), vitamins or other materials (natural supplement), penetration enhancers and more (claims 11-18, 25).
Regarding claims 8-13, 18-19, and 21-26, ‘255 teaches the Appod adhesive bandage pod as described in claims 2-4, 6-10, 20, 23-24, and 26 of ‘255.
‘255 claims the compositions as comprising preservatives (claim 1).
‘255 claims that the composition can have caffeine, melatonin, and other ingredients (claims 13, 19).
‘255 claims L-alanyl-L-glutamine as an amino acid (claim 25).
‘255 claims its formulations in airless containers (claims 4, 23).
Regarding the different amounts, the optimization of known percent amounts for known active agents is considered well within the competence level of an artisan of ordinary skill in the pharmaceutical sciences; it has been held that the selection of optimal parameters, such as amounts of active agents, to achieve a beneficial effect, is within the skill in the art of an ordinary artisan. See In re Boesch, 205 USPT 215 (CCPA 1980) and MPEP 2144.05.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
On pg. 21, Remarks, Applicant argues that the Office Action does not provide a limitation-by-limitation analysis and that the Office Action identifies broad categories of ingredients and delivery components.
These arguments have been fully considered, but are not found persuasive.
It is respectfully pointed out that a limitation-by-limitation analysis is not an MPEP requirement.
Moreover, the Office Action specifically points to the claims recited in ‘255 that teach the limitations of the instantly claimed composition. Regarding the broad category of ingredients and delivery components, it is respectfully pointed out that the instant claims recite the same broad categories of ingredients and delivery components.
For ease of reference, provided below are the two most pertinent claims of ‘255 referenced in the rejection:
.
As can be seen from just two of the referenced claims of ‘255, the rejection does not rely “upon a generalized comparison of overlapping subject matter,” but a teaching of the same composition, contained in the same airless container or adhesive bandage pod.
It is not clear to the examiner what instant limitations are not taught by the ‘255 claims referenced in the Double Patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/LAUREN WELLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1622