DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The rejections from the Office Action of 9/16/2025 are hereby withdrawn. New grounds for rejection are presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimadzu, Multi-analyte Quantitation Software LabSolutions Insight, 2015 [hereinafter “Shimadzu”] and JDH, Is there a way to delete everything except what is selected in Excel, superuser.com, 12.20.2012 [hereinafter “JDH”](available at: https://superuser.com/questions/521843/is-there-a-way-to-delete-everything-except-what-is-selected-in-excel).
Regarding Claims 1 and 6, Shimadzu discloses a chromatographic analyzer (and corresponding software inherently stored in memory) configured to perform a measurement on a plurality of compounds for each of a plurality of samples [Page 2 – “With LabSolutions Insight software, quantitative results for a complete series of data files can be displayed side-by-side for comparison and QC review. All of the chromatograms for a selected target compound can be displayed simultaneously, making it easy to review the detected peaks and confirm the quantitative results.”], comprising:
a data-analysis processor [System depicted on Page 4] configured to calculate, for each sample, a plurality of pieces of numerical information which are results of data analysis on the plurality of compounds, based on data obtained by a measurement [See the data table depicted at the top of Page 2.Page 2 – “When used in conjunction with one of Shimadzu’s application-specific GC/MS Databases and LC/MS/MS Method Packages, LabSolutions Insight allows users to process data files, and perform QA/QC data review for all samples in one easy, seamless workflow.”];
a table creator configured to create a two-dimensional table [See the data table depicted at the top of Page 2.] by arranging a plurality of sample identifiers which identify the plurality of samples in one of horizontal and vertical directions of the table [Page 2, sample numbers:
…
] and a plurality of compound identifiers which identify the plurality of compounds in the other direction [Page 2, chemicals:
], as well as assigning one of the plurality of pieces of numerical information obtained for a combination of one sample and one compound to a cell of the table corresponding to the combination [Page 2:
]; and
a cell selection receiver configured to display the table on a screen of a display section and receive an operation on the displayed table, the operation being performed by a user for selecting cells [Page 3 – “The example below illustrates how an orange flag was set to identify moldy odor compound concentrations that exceeded a defined cautionary limit of 1.0 ppt (part-per-trillion), and a red flag was used as a warning to identify those which had exceeded 10 ppt. In the figure below, quantitative results are tabulated at the top of the screen, while the bottom of the screen simultaneously displays peak identification and integration. Both views include the color-coded flags.”].
Shimadzu fails to disclose a selected information outputter configured to output or display a plurality of pieces of the numerical information in the cells selected by the operation received by the cell selection receiver, in a format of a table which contains, only in cells corresponding to the cells selected by the operation received by the cell selection receiver, the plurality of pieces of the numerical information in the cells selected by the operation received by the cell selection receiver along with the sample identifiers and the compound identifiers corresponding to the cells selected by the operation received by the cell selection receiver, and which has no numerical information in other cells.
However, JDH discloses that copying cells of interest and pasting them into a new (blanked) document is an effective manner for highlighting cells of interest [Page 1 – “Is there a way to delete everything except what is selected in Excel?”Page 1 – “Is there a sneaky way to select that tab, or part of the contents of that tab and then delete all except selected?”Page 1 – “Answer: It seems that the fastest way would be to copy/paste the selected section in a new blank sheet.”]. It would have been obvious to automate the performance of such steps in order to allow for a simple manner of presenting data of interest. It would have been obvious to retain column and row identifiers while doing so in order to present the selected cell data in a manner which could be more readily understood.
Regarding Claims 3 and 8, Shimadzu discloses a report creator configured to create a report in a predetermined format, wherein the selected information outputter is configured to output (for receipt and use) the plurality of pieces of the numerical information of the selected cells as well as the corresponding sample identifiers and compound identifiers to the report creator, and the report creator creates a report including the plurality of pieces of the numerical information of the cells as well as the corresponding sample identifiers and compound identifiers [Page 3:
Sample number and compound are displayed alongside the results.].
Regarding Claims 4 and 9, Shimadzu discloses that the report creator is configured to create a report including peak waveforms of chromatograms corresponding to the plurality of pieces of information of the numerical information [Page 2 – “All of the chromatograms for a selected target compound can be displayed simultaneously, making it easy to review the detected peaks and confirm the quantitative results. Color-coded QA/QC flags quickly identify any outliers that require further examination. Results can be displayed in a variety of ways, allowing users to select the view that is best suited for their workflow, and when necessary, peaks can be re-integrated and re-quantified directly from LabSolutions Insight.”].
Regarding Claims 5 and 10, Shimadzu discloses an output format setter configured to receive a selection of a mode by a user from a plurality of modes including a mode for outputting the numerical information corresponding to a selected cell, a mode for outputting the numerical information corresponding to a selected sample, and a mode for outputting the numerical information corresponding to a selected compound [Page 2 – “Results can be displayed in a variety of ways, allowing users to select the view that is best suited for their workflow”], wherein the selected information outputter outputs information including the numerical information according to the selected mode [Page 3:
Sample number and compound are displayed alongside the numerical information.].
Claim(s) 2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimadzu, Multi-analyte Quantitation Software LabSolutions Insight, 2015 [hereinafter “Shimadzu”]; JDH, Is there a way to delete everything except what is selected in Excel, superuser.com, 12.20.2012 [hereinafter “JDH”](available at: https://superuser.com/questions/521843/is-there-a-way-to-delete-everything-except-what-is-selected-in-excel); and Lin et al. (US 20070101273 A1)[hereinafter “Lin”].
Regarding Claims 2 and 7, Shimadzu fails to disclose an operation section configured to allow a user to indicate any position on the screen of the display section by a clicking operation by a user at positions corresponding to the cells, wherein the cell selection receiver is configured to receive the clicking operation using the operation section on the displayed table for the selecting of the cells. However, Lin discloses the use of a clicking operation to allow a user to display corresponding chromatography information [See Figs. 3 and 4 and Paragraph [0059] – “The expanded plate view selection GUI 41 includes a plate view summary section 45 that includes a number of sample data boxes 47, each representing a different plate (or sample) that was processed by the LC/MS system, and each providing a summary of information about the plate or sample. By clicking on each of the sample data boxes 47 a user can then open a separate display screen for viewing the specific data for the plate or sample represented by the corresponding sample data box 47.”]. It would have been obvious to allow a user to click on sample/compound data for corresponding display because doing so would have been an effective manner of allowing a user to view the data processing results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
The corresponding objections are hereby withdrawn.
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Shimadzu discloses an operation (setting of thresholds for producing cell flags) that was inherently performed by a “user” [Page 3 – “The example below illustrates how an orange flag was set to identify moldy odor compound concentrations that exceeded a defined cautionary limit of 1.0 ppt (part-per-trillion), and a red flag was used as a warning to identify those which had exceeded 10 ppt.”].
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
JDH is not relied on regarding the selection of the cells.
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Shimadzu discloses the table containing the selected cells [Page 2:
]. The table has the basic form of a typical Microsoft Excel spreadsheet. JDH teaches copying/pasting selected sections of a Microsoft Excel spreadsheet into a new blank sheet [Page 1 – “Is there a way to delete everything except what is selected in Excel?”Page 1 – “Is there a sneaky way to select that tab, or part of the contents of that tab and then delete all except selected?”Page 1 – “Answer: It seems that the fastest way would be to copy/paste the selected section in a new blank sheet.”]. Doing so with the selected cells from Shimadzu would result in the cells having the same positional relationship (not that this is recited by Claim 1) that they had relative to each other prior to the copy/paste and with all other cells blanked.
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. See the explanation per the grounds for rejection above.
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. JDH discloses selecting the cells of interest and that all other cells become blanked [Page 1 – “Is there a way to delete everything except what is selected in Excel?”Page 1 – “Is there a sneaky way to select that tab, or part of the contents of that tab and then delete all except selected?”Page 1 – “Answer: It seems that the fastest way would be to copy/paste the selected section in a new blank sheet.”]. It would have been obvious to automate the performance of such steps in order to allow for a simple manner of presenting data of interest (per Shimadzu).
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Lin discloses the use of a clicking operation to allow a user to display corresponding chromatography information [See Figs. 3 and 4 and Paragraph [0059] – “The expanded plate view selection GUI 41 includes a plate view summary section 45 that includes a number of sample data boxes 47, each representing a different plate (or sample) that was processed by the LC/MS system, and each providing a summary of information about the plate or sample. By clicking on each of the sample data boxes 47 a user can then open a separate display screen for viewing the specific data for the plate or sample represented by the corresponding sample data box 47.”]. It would have been obvious to allow a user to click on sample/compound data for corresponding display because doing so would have been an effective manner of allowing a user to view the data processing results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20090008542 A1 – Chromatograph Mass Spectrometer
/KYLE R QUIGLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857