DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the amendments and remarks filed on 23 July 2025. Claims 1-6 and 8-19 are presently pending and are presented for examination. Claims 7 and 20 are cancelled.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant’s amendments dated 23 July 2025, Examiner withdraws the previous objections to the specification; withdraws the previous objections to the drawings; maintains the previous 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections; and maintains the previous prior art rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, filed 23 July 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument, see Remarks, pg. 10-11, that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., Applicant argues that US-20230121260-A1, hereinafter “Kim”, does not disclose determining an object to be partially obstructed from a field of view of a user based on “vehicle structural information because the structural body of the vehicle in Kim is not considered when determining the occupant field of view and if it is obstructed.” And Applicant argues that Kim “does not teach using vehicle structural information to determine the field of view of the occupant.”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The broadest reasonable interpretation of “vehicle structural information” includes the position and/or orientation of a vehicle seat (This interpretation is also supported by the original disclosure of the instant application: para. 0054: “…and (c) vehicle structural information, such as the position of doors, windows, seats, roof, frame, etc.”). Kim’s disclosed vehicle system proactively changes the position and/or orientation of an occupant’s seat in order to maintain an object, external to the vehicle, within the field of view of the occupant (see Kim, para. 0074). Therefore, Kim’s vehicle system is determining that the object is or will be partially obstructed from a field of view of the occupant based on the original position and/or orientation of the seat, which is vehicle structural information. For these reasons, examiner is not persuaded and maintains the corresponding rejections. For a detailed explanation of how Kim discloses the limitations of amended claims 1 and 14, see the Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 section, below.
The remaining arguments are essentially the same as those addressed above and/or below and are unpersuasive for at least the same reasons. Therefore, examiner is unpersuaded and maintains the corresponding rejections.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: “determining that the object is at least partially obstructed from a field of view of the second user based on…” should be “determining that the object is at least partially obstructed from a field of view of [[the]] a second user based on…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 and 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The independent claims 1 and 14 recite subject matter that falls within the following group of abstract ideas: mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claim 1 is directed to a method (i.e., a process) and claim 14 is directed to a system (i.e., a machine). Therefore, claims 1 and 14 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (PEG), the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 14 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection. Claim 14 recites:
A system comprising:
control circuitry configured to:
identify a movement of a first user of a vehicle;
identify an object referenced by the movement of the first user, wherein the object is external to the vehicle;
determine that the object is at least partially obstructed from a field of view of a second user of the vehicle based on (a) a position of the second user inside the vehicle, (b) a field of view of the second user, and (c) vehicle structural information; and
input/output circuitry configured to:
in response to the control circuitry determining that the object is at least partially obstructed from a field of view of a second user of the vehicle,
generate for display on a display within the vehicle that is within the field of view of the second user, a view of the object.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute “mental processes.” Specifically, the first “identify” step encompasses a first person, observing a second person inside a vehicle, and identifying that the second person has moved. The second “identify” step encompasses the first person observing the second person move to better see and/or call attention to an object external to the vehicle and identifying at which object the second person is looking. Furthermore, the “determine”/”determining” step encompasses the first person determining that a third person in the vehicle has an at least partially obstructed view of the object observed by the second person and that determination can be based on the position of the third person inside the vehicle, the field of view of the third person and vehicle structural information, like seat position and/or orientation. Accordingly, claim 14 recites an abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
A system comprising:
control circuitry configured to:
identify a movement of a first user of a vehicle;
identify an object referenced by the movement of the first user, wherein the object is external to the vehicle; and
determine that the object is at least partially obstructed from a field of view of a second user of the vehicle based on (a) a position of the second user inside the vehicle, (b) a field of view of the second user, and (c) vehicle structural information; and
input/output circuitry configured to:
in response to the control circuitry determining that the object is at least partially obstructed from a field of view of a second user of the vehicle,
generate for display on a display within the vehicle that is within the field of view of the second user, a view of the object.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitation(s) of “control circuitry configured to” and “input/output circuitry configured to” the examiner submits that these limitation(s) are an attempt to generally link additional elements to a technological environment. In particular, the “control circuitry” is recited at a high level of generality and merely automates the “identify” steps and the “determine” step, therefore acting as a generic computer to perform the abstract idea. The “control circuitry” is claimed generically and does not use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Regarding the additional limitation of “generate for display on a display…”, the examiner submits that this limitation is an insignificant extra-solution activity that merely uses a computer (“input/output circuitry”) to perform the process. The “generate” step is also recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of displaying a view of the object from the second “identify” step), and amounts to mere post-solution displaying, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The additional limitation(s) is/are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a computer (the “control circuitry” and the “input/output circuitry”) and insignificant extra-solution activities.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an order combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the PEG, representative independent claim 14 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “control circuitry” and “input/output circuitry” amount to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. And as discussed above, the additional limitation of “generate for display on a display…”, the examiner submits that this limitation is an insignificant extra-solution activity.
Further, a conclusion that an additional limitation is an insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if it is more than what is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitation of “generate for display on a display…” is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity because the specification recites that the device doing the displaying is an “AR [augmented reality] device” (para. 0034), which is one or more of conventional sensors and/or components (para. 0033: “…may include cameras, projectors, microphones, speakers, communication interfaces, and/or any other suitable sensors or components as described below.”) and the display surfaces are the vehicle windows (para. 0034). Additionally, the additional limitation of “generate for display on a display…” is a well-understood, routine, conventional activity because the Federal Circuit in Trading Techs. Int’l v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2019), and Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indemnity Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2017), for example, indicated that the mere displaying of data is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function. Hence, claim 14 is not patent subject matter eligible.
Claim 1 recites similar limitations to those discussed above with regards to claim 14 and therefore discussion is omitted for brevity. Hence, independent claims 1 and 14 are not patent subject matter eligible.
Dependent claims 2-6, 8-13, and 15-19 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent subject matter eligible. The additional elements in claims 15-19 are “the input/output circuitry” and “the control circuitry” and the additional elements in claims 2-6 and 8-13 are “receiving a first voice input”, “identifying a movement of the second user”, “receiving a voice signal from the second user”, “displaying the unobstructed view of the object”, “accessing metadata for the object”, “determining that a portion of the metadata matches user profile information”, and “generating for display…the metadata”. Therefore, dependent claims 2-6, 8-13 and 15-19 are not patent subject matter eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of independent claims 1 and 14.
Therefore, claims 1-6 and 8-19 are not patent subject matter eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US-20230121260-A1 (Published: 2023-04-20; Filed: 2022-09-28), hereinafter “Kim” (previously of record).
Regarding claim 14 and analogous claim 1, Kim discloses a system comprising (Kim, claim 1; para. 0002: “The present disclosure relates to a system for recognizing gaze information of a plurality of occupants in a vehicle…”):
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a method comprising (Kim, claim 12; para. 0021: “In another general aspect, a method for controlling a vehicle display based on an occupant's gaze includes…”).
control circuitry configured to (Kim, para. 0395: “Various techniques described herein may be implemented as digital electronic circuitry, or as computer hardware, firmware, software, or combinations thereof.”):
identify a movement of a first user of a vehicle; identify an object referenced by the movement of the first user, wherein the object is external to the vehicle (Kim, para. 0375: “At this time, the display control unit 4302 performs control to confirm the external interest object [i.e., identify an object and the object is external to the vehicle] using voice information, head movement information, and gesture information in addition to occupant gaze information [i.e., movement of a first user of a vehicle], and to display information about the external interest object.”);
determine that the object is at least partially obstructed from a field of view of a second user of the vehicle based on (a) a position of the second user inside the vehicle, (b) a field of view of the second user, and (c) vehicle structural information (Kim, para. 0074: “The system for controlling a vehicle based on an occupant's intent according to the embodiment of the present disclosure includes: an occupant gaze recognition unit 101 configured to recognize a gaze of an occupant in a vehicle; a point of interest determination unit 103 configured to determine a point of interest [i.e., the object], among external objects viewed through a side window of the vehicle in consideration of the gaze of the occupant; and a seat position control unit 105 configured to change a seat position of the occupant to enable a continuous stare at the point of interest as the vehicle moves [i.e., determine that the object is at least partially obstructed from a field of view of a second user of the vehicle based on (a) a position of the second user inside the vehicle, (b) a field of view of the second user, (c) vehicle structural information].”; para. 0078: “The system for controlling a vehicle based on an occupant's intent according to the present disclosure further includes a display control unit 104 configured to control, when it is confirmed that the gazes of the plurality of vehicle occupants stare at the same point of interest [i.e., the object] and then it is determined that a field of view of the second occupant is blocked by the first occupant [i.e., at least partially obstructed from a field of view of a second user of the vehicle based on (a) a position of the second user inside the vehicle, (b) a field of view of the second user], an outer area, viewed through a first side window close to a seating position of the first occupant, to be displayed through a second side window close to a seating position of the second occupant.”; Note: A vehicle system that proactively changes the position and/or orientation of an occupant’s seat in order to maintain an object, external to the vehicle, within the field of view of the occupant is determining that the object is or will be partially obstructed from a field of view of the occupant due to the original position and/or orientation of the seat. A vehicle seat and its original position and/or orientation inside the vehicle fits the broadest reasonable interpretation of “vehicle structural information”.); and
input/output circuitry configured to (Kim, para 0388: “On the other hand, the method according to an embodiment of the present disclosure may be implemented in a computer system or recorded in a recording medium. The computer system may include at least one or more processor, memory, user input device, data communication bus, user output device [i.e., input/output circuitry], and storage.”):
in response to the control circuitry determining that the object is at least partially obstructed from a field of view of a second user of the vehicle, generate for display on a display within the vehicle that is within the field of view of the second user, a view of the object (Kim, para. 0078: “The system for controlling a vehicle based on an occupant's intent according to the present disclosure further includes a display control unit 104 configured to control, when it is confirmed that the gazes of the plurality of vehicle occupants stare at the same point of interest [i.e., the object] and then it is determined that a field of view of the second occupant is blocked by the first occupant [i.e., the control circuitry determining that the object is at least partially obstructed from a field of view of a second user of the vehicle], an outer area, viewed through a first side window close to a seating position of the first occupant, to be displayed through a second side window close to a seating position of the second occupant [i.e., generate for display on a display within the vehicle that is within the field of view of the second user, a view of the object].”).
Regarding claim 15 and analogous claim 2, Kim discloses the system of claim 14,
wherein the input/output circuitry is further configured to receive a first voice input from the first user (Kim, para. 258: “The external interest information confirmation unit 2701 [i.e., the input/output circuitry] uses voice information [i.e., receive a first voice input from the first user] and the gaze information of the first occupant [i.e., first user] to confirm the external interest object.”), and
wherein the control circuitry is further configured to identify the object referenced by the movement of the first user based on (a) the movement of the first user and (b) the first voice input (Kim, para. 258: “The external interest information confirmation unit 2701 [i.e., the control circuitry] uses voice information [i.e., (b) the first voice input] and the gaze information of the first occupant [i.e., (a) the movement of the first user] to confirm the external interest object [i.e., identify the object referenced by the movement of the first user].”).
Regarding claim 16 and analogous claim 3, Kim discloses the system of claim 14,
wherein the control circuitry is further configured to identify the object external to the vehicle by detecting movement of the first user's head toward the object (Kim, para. 0087: “When it is checked that the gaze of the first occupant stays on the interest object and the first occupant turns his/her head in the left backward direction and intends to continuously stare at the interest object [i.e., detecting movement of the first user's head toward the object]…”; para. 0375: “At this time, the display control unit 4302 [i.e., the control circuitry] performs control to confirm the external interest object using voice information, head movement information [i.e., detecting movement of the first user's head toward the object], and gesture information in addition to occupant gaze information, and to display information about the external interest object.”).
Regarding claim 17 and analogous claim 4, Kim discloses the system of claim 14,
wherein the control circuitry is further configured to identify the object external to the vehicle by detecting movement of the first user's hand toward the object (Kim, para. 0075: “The system for controlling a vehicle based on an occupant's intent according to the present disclosure further includes: an occupant gesture recognition unit 102 configured to recognize at least any one of a touch input signal of the occupant and an air gesture of the occupant that is applied to the side window of the vehicle configured as a transparent display; and the point of interest determination unit 103 [i.e., the control circuitry] determines the point of interest [i.e., identify the object external to the vehicle] as at least any one of the touch input signal and the air gesture is recognized [i.e., detecting movement of the first user's hand toward the object].”).
Regarding claim 18 and analogous claim 5, Kim discloses the system of claim 14,
wherein the control circuitry is further configured to identify the object external to the vehicle by determining that the object external to the vehicle is included in a field of view of the first user (Kim, para. 0087: “When it is checked that the gaze of the first occupant stays on the interest object and the first occupant turns his/her head in the left backward direction [i.e., determining that the object external to the vehicle is included in a field of view of the first user] and intends to continuously stare at the interest object, the seat position control unit 105 rotates the left rear seat, on which the first occupant is seated, in a counterclockwise direction, allowing the first occupant to continuously stare at the interest object in a more comfortable position.”).
Regarding claim 19, and analogous claim 6, Kim discloses the system of claim 14 (and the method of claim 5),
wherein the control circuitry is further configured to identify the object referenced by the movement of the first user by: determining a field of view of the first user (Kim, para. 0074: “The system for controlling a vehicle based on an occupant's intent according to the embodiment of the present disclosure includes: an occupant gaze recognition unit 101 configured to recognize a gaze of an occupant in a vehicle [i.e., movement of the first user by determining a field of view of the first user]; a point of interest determination unit 103 [i.e., control circuitry] configured to determine a point of interest [i.e., identify the object], among external objects viewed through a side window of the vehicle in consideration of the gaze of the occupant;”);
determining one or more potential objects within the field of view of the first user (Kim, para. 0074: “The system for controlling a vehicle based on an occupant's intent according to the embodiment of the present disclosure includes: an occupant gaze recognition unit 101 configured to recognize a gaze of an occupant in a vehicle; a point of interest determination unit 103 configured to determine a point of interest, among external objects [i.e., determining one or more potential objects] viewed through a side window of the vehicle in consideration of the gaze of the occupant [i.e., within the field of view of the first user];”); and
selecting the object referenced by the movement of the first user from the one or more potential objects based on a voice input received from the first user (Kim, para. 0258: “The external interest information confirmation unit 2701 uses voice information [i.e., based on a voice input received from the first user] and the gaze information [i.e., movement of the first user] of the first occupant to confirm the external interest object [i.e., selecting the object referenced by…].”).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the determining that the object is at least partially obstructed from the field of view of the second user comprises: identifying a movement of the second user (Kim, para. 0075: “The system for controlling a vehicle based on an occupant's intent according to the present disclosure further includes: an occupant gesture recognition unit 102 configured to recognize at least any one of a touch input signal of the occupant and an air gesture of the occupant [i.e., identifying a movement of the second user] that is applied to the side window of the vehicle configured as a transparent display; and the point of interest determination unit 103 determines the point of interest as at least any one of the touch input signal and the air gesture is recognized.”; para. 0078: “The system for controlling a vehicle based on an occupant's intent according to the present disclosure further includes a display control unit 104 configured to control, when it is confirmed that the gazes of the plurality of vehicle occupants stare at the same point of interest and then it is determined that a field of view of the second occupant is blocked by the first occupant [i.e., determining that the object is at least partially obstructed from the field of view of the second user]…”); and
receiving a voice signal from the second user indicating the second user's view of the object is obstructed (Kim, para. 0274: “In the step S2901, the external interest information is confirmed using at least any one of gaze information, voice information [i.e., receiving a voice signal from the second user indicating the second user's view of the object is obstructed], and gesture information of the first occupant.”).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the method of claim 1,
further comprising: modifying the view of the object to be an unobstructed view of the object; and displaying the unobstructed view of the object on a window of the vehicle closest to the second user (Kim, FIG. 4; para. 0112: “In addition, in consideration of the field of view of the second occupant blocked by the first occupant as the external interest object is relatively moved, the display control unit 104 duplicates and displays the screen of an outer landscape viewed through the transparent display of the left side window through the display of the right side window [i.e., displaying the unobstructed view of the object on a window of the vehicle closest to the second user], and the seat position control unit 105 rotates the right rear seat, on which the second occupant is seated, in the clockwise direction so that the second occupant can more easily and continuously stare at the interest object through the display of the right side window [i.e., modifying the view of the object to be an unobstructed view of the object].”).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the method of claim 1,
further comprising: modifying the view of the object to be an unobstructed view of the object; and displaying the unobstructed view of the object on a window of the vehicle positioned between the second user and the object external to the vehicle (Kim, FIG. 3; para. 0099: ” The display control unit 104 displays a specific information of the interest object through the transparent display of the left side window [i.e., displaying the unobstructed view of the object on a window of the vehicle positioned between the second user and the object external to the vehicle], in the form of text, images, icons, etc.”; para. 0103: “In addition, in consideration of the field of view of the second occupant obscured by the first occupant as the external interest object is relatively moved, the seat position control unit 105 slides the right rear seat, on which the second occupant is seated, backward of the vehicle body and rotates the right rear seat in the counterclockwise direction, so that the second occupant can more easily and continuously stare at the interest object [i.e., modifying the view of the object to be an unobstructed view of the object].”; para. 0172: “The display control unit 1006 performs control to display the external interest information of the passenger B [i.e., the second user] as AR or displayed as a camera video [i.e., modifying the view of the object to be an unobstructed view of the object].”;).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the method of claim 1,
further comprising: accessing metadata for the object (Kim, para. 0084: “The display control unit 104 displays specific information about the interest object [i.e., accessing metadata for the object] through the transparent display of the left side window, in the form of text, images, icons, etc.”);
determining that a portion of the metadata matches user profile information of the second user (Kim, para. 0082: “According to the embodiment of the present disclosure, the gaze of the occupant is recognized and AR information personalized for each occupant [i.e., a portion of the metadata matches user profile information of the second user] based on a gaze information is displayed through the transparent display of the left side window.”); and
generating, for display on the display within the vehicle that is within the field of view of the second user, the portion of the metadata that matches the user profile information of the second user (Kim, para. 0082: “According to the embodiment of the present disclosure, the gaze of the occupant is recognized and AR information personalized for each occupant [i.e., the portion of the metadata that matches the user profile information of the second user] based on a gaze information is displayed through the transparent display of the left side window [i.e., generating, for display on the display within the vehicle that is within the field of view of the second user].”).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the method of claim 11,
further comprising: determining that a second portion of the metadata matches user profile information of the first user (Kim, para. 0082: “According to the embodiment of the present disclosure, the gaze of the occupant is recognized and AR information personalized for each occupant [i.e., a second portion of the metadata matches user profile information of the first user] based on a gaze information is displayed through the transparent display of the left side window.”);
identifying a second display within the vehicle that is within a field of view of the first user (Kim, para. 0112: “In addition, in consideration of the field of view of the second occupant blocked by the first occupant as the external interest object is relatively moved, the display control unit 104 duplicates and displays the screen of an outer landscape viewed through the transparent display of the left side window through the display of the right side window [i.e., identifying a second display within the vehicle that is within a field of view of the first user], and the seat position control unit 105 rotates the right rear seat, on which the second occupant is seated, in the clockwise direction so that the second occupant can more easily and continuously stare at the interest object through the display of the right side window.”); and
generating for display on the second display, the second portion of the metadata that matches the user profile information of the first user (Kim, para. 0082: “According to the embodiment of the present disclosure, the gaze of the occupant is recognized and AR information personalized for each occupant [i.e., second portion of the metadata that matches the user profile information of the first user] based on a gaze information is displayed through the transparent display of the left side window [i.e., generating for display on the second display].”).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein identifying the object further comprises: tracking a plurality of gazes of the first user; detecting movement of the first user within the vehicle (Kim, para. 0087: ” When it is checked that the gaze of the first occupant [i.e., tracking a plurality of gazes of the first user] stays on the interest object [i.e., the object] and the first occupant turns his/her head [i.e., detecting movement of the first user within the vehicle] in the left backward direction and intends to continuously stare at the interest object...”);
determining, in response to detecting the movement of the first user, a shared object that is common to the plurality of gazes; and identifying the object based on the shared object (Kim, para. 0087: ” When it is checked that the gaze of the first occupant stays on the interest object [i.e., a shared object that is common to the plurality of gazes] and the first occupant turns his/her head [i.e., in response to detecting the movement of the first user] in the left backward direction and intends to continuously stare at the interest object [i.e., identifying the object based on the shared object]...”).
Additional Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20240155078-A1 (Pub. 2024-05-09, Filed: 2022-11-07)| Vehicle driver blind spot considerations include vehicle structures, like pillars, trailers, truck sleeper cabs, etc. “Systems and methods for determining a position of a vehicle driver and adjusting one or more digital mirrors based on the determined position. According to examples, the position of the driver's eyes and/or head are sensed by one or more driver position sensors and determined by a driver position processor. An external camera captures images external to the vehicle, and a video processor crops, zooms, pans, and/or otherwise adjusts the images to be displayed based on the position of the driver's eyes and/or head.” Relevant to amended claims 1 and 14.
US-20050195383-A1 (2005-09-08)| In-vehicle display displays contents of vehicle-external blind spots. “Method for obtaining information about objects in an environment around a vehicle in which infrared light is emitted into a portion of the environment and received and the distance between the vehicle and objects from which the infrared light is reflected is measured. An identification of each object from which light is reflected is determined and a three-dimensional representation of the portion of the environment is created based on the measured distance and the determined identification of the object. Icons representative of the objects and their position relative to the vehicle are displayed on a display visible to the driver based on the three-dimensional representation. Additionally or alternatively to the display of icons, a vehicular system can be controlled or adjusted based on the relative position and optionally velocity of the vehicle and objects in the environment around the vehicle to avoid collisions.” Relevant to amended claims 1 and 14.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.N.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/TIFFANY P YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666