DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 9/24/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 103 rejections of claims 1-20 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Zhao et. al (CN 113424323 A) hereafter referred to as Zhao.
Regarding claim 1, Zhao teaches a display module comprising: a substrate including: a mounting surface (1 buffer layer) on which a plurality of inorganic light-emitting devices (pg 4 ¶9) are mounted (pg 4 ¶9) and a thin film transistor (TFT) layer is formed (T4 switching transistor), a rear surface on which a rear wiring layer is formed (41 first planarization layer ), the rear surface being opposite to the mounting surface (Fig 2), and a side surface formed between the mounting surface and the rear surface (side of device where 11 side wiring extends, Fig 2); a side wiring extending along the side surface, the side wiring (11 side wiring) electrically connecting the TFT layer at a first end of the side wiring with the rear wiring layer at a second end of the side wiring (pg 6 ¶11); a front cover (10 substrate) disposed on and bonded with the mounting surface (Fig 4); a metal plate disposed on and bonded with the rear surface (12 passivation layer pg 10 ¶7); a side cover covering the side wiring and the side surface; a waterproof member (14 protective layer) configured to seal the second end of the side wiring from outside and prevent moisture permeation pg 10 ¶4); and a side end member (14 protective layer) disposed on a side end of the side cover (Fig 4) and covering the side cover and the waterproof member (Fig 4), and the side end member being grounded to the metal plate (pg 9 ¶6 Fig 4).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao teaches the display module of claim 1, wherein the waterproof member (14 protective layer) is made of a water repellent material (pg 10 ¶4).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao teaches the display module of claim 1, wherein the waterproof member (14 protective layer) is formed below the side cover (10 substrate Fig 4).
Regarding claim 4, Zhao teaches the display module of claim 1 wherein a waterproof member (14 protective layer) is formed at an inner location than the side end of the side cover (Fig 4).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao teaches the display module of claim 3, wherein the front cover (10 substrate) extends along the mounting surface (Fig 4) beyond an outer area of the mounting surface, wherein the side cover extends from a lower surface of the front cover (Fig 4, cover extends from 10 substrate), corresponding to the outer area from the mounting surface (Fig 4), to at least a portion of the side surface (pg 9 ¶10), and wherein the a waterproof member (14 protective layer) extends in the first direction (Fig 4) and the second direction (Fig 4) to cover the second end of the side wiring from a lower portion of the side cover (11 side wiring, Fig 4)
Regarding claim 6, Zhao teaches the display module of claim 3, wherein the side end member (14 protective layer) is configured to cover at least a portion of the side end of the side cover (Fig 4) in a direction in which the side surface faces waterproof member (14 protective layer), and a side surface of the metal plate (12 passivation layer, pg 10 ¶7), and the side end member including a first end positioned on the side cover (Fig 4, 14 protective layer extends beyond the 10 substrate) and a second end positioned on the side surface of the metal plate (Fig 4, 12 passivation layer).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao teaches the display module of claim 6, further comprising a front waterproof member (14 protective layer) extending from the first end of the side end member (Cover space in between bonding pads 91 and 92 Fig 4) to at least a portion of a side end of the front cover (10 substrate, Fig 4), the front waterproof member being configured to seal a region between the side cover and the front cover from the outside (pg 10 ¶4).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao teaches the display module of claim 7, further comprising a rear waterproof member (14 protective layer) extending from the second end of the side end member (Cover space in between bonding pads 91 and 92, Fig 4) to at least a portion of the metal plate (12 passivation layer partially covered by 14 protective layer, see Fig 4), the rear waterproof member being configured to seal a region between the side end member and the metal plate from the outside. (pg 10 ¶4).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao teaches the display module of claim 6, further comprising a rear waterproof member (14 protective layer) extending from the second end of the side end member to at least a portion of the metal plate (14 covers side in between bonding pads 91 and 92 to the rear of the device and partially covers 12 passivation layer, Fig 4), the rear member being configured to seal a region between the side end member and the metal plate from the outside. (pg 10 ¶4).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao teaches the display module of claim 1, wherein a waterproof member (14 protective layer) is not disposed on a side end of the side cover (14 covers only the exterior side of the device between bonding pads 91 to 92)
Regarding claim 11, Zhao teaches the display module of claim 1, wherein the waterproof member (14 protective layer) is less thick than the side end member (14 protective layer isn’t as thick and the total thickness between bonding pads 92 and 91, Fig 4).
Regarding claim 13, Zhao teaches the display module of claim 1, wherein the side end member (11 side wiring area between bonding pads 91 and 92) is made of metal (pg 5 ¶3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Kim et. al (US 10333033 B2) hereafter referred to as Kim.
Regarding claim 12 Zhao teaches the display module of claim 2.
Zhao fails to teach the waterproof member includes a fluorine resin. However, Kim teaches the waterproof member includes a fluorine resin (171 dampproof layer is defined as a fluororesin based layer). Zhao and Kim are all in the industry of LED display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Zhao to include the fluorine resin in order to have a surface that is resistant to water and oil in order to keep the internal components from being damaged. (Kim col 6 line 69-col 7 line 5, col 7 lines 31-34)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Araki et. al (US 20150301266 A1) hereafter referred to as Araki.
Regarding claim 14, Zhao teaches the display module of claim 1.
Zhao fails to teach the side cover is made of a light absorbing material. However, Araki teaches the side cover (27 panel support frame) is made of a light absorbing material (27 is made partially by 40 light absorbing layer, ¶87). Zhao and Araki are both in the industry of display devices with LEDs therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Zhao to include the light absorbing layer in the side cover in order to minimize light bleed from the side of the device (Araki ¶87)
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Wang (CN 114399963 A)
Regarding claim 15, Zhao teaches a display panel comprising: a plurality of display modules (pg 4 ¶9); and; wherein each of the plurality of display modules comprises: a substrate including: a mounting surface (1 buffer layer) on which a plurality of inorganic light-emitting devices (pg 4 ¶9) are mounted (pg 4 ¶9) and a thin film transistor (TFT) layer is formed (T4 switching transistor), a rear surface on which a rear wiring layer is formed (41 first planarization layer ), the rear surface being opposite to the mounting surface (Fig 2), and a side surface formed between the mounting surface and the rear surface (side of device where 11 side wiring extends, Fig 2); a side wiring extending along the side surface, the side wiring (11 side wiring) electrically connecting the TFT layer at a first end of the side wiring with the rear wiring layer at a second end of the side wiring (pg 6 ¶11); a front cover (10 substrate) disposed on and bonded with the mounting surface (Fig 4); a metal plate disposed on and bonded with the rear surface (12 passivation layer pg 10 ¶7); a side cover covering the side wiring and the side surface; a waterproof member (14 protective layer) configured to seal the second end of the side wiring from outside and prevent moisture permeation pg 10 ¶4); and a side end member (14 protective layer) disposed on a side end of the side cover (Fig 4) and covering the side cover and the waterproof member (Fig 4), and the side end member being grounded to the metal plate (pg 9 ¶6 Fig 4).
Zhao fails to teach a frame configured to arrange the plurality of display modules adjacent to each other. However, Wang teaches a frame configured to arrange the plurality of display modules adjacent to each other (2 box body). Zhao and wang are both in the industry of LED display devices with support structures therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Zhao to include the frame structure of Wang in order to mount the plurality of LED display modules securely (Wang pg 1 ¶1)
Regarding claim 16, Zhao in view of Wang teach the display panel of claim 15 wherein a first direction is defined as a vector orthogonal to the front cover towards the metal plate (see annotated Fig 4 below, first direction), and wherein the waterproof member (14 protective layer) is disposed in the first direction with respect to the side cover (see annotated Fig 4 below).
Regarding claim 17 Zhao in view of Wang teach the display panel of claim 15 wherein a second direction is defined as a vector orthogonal to the side cover towards the substrate (see annotated Fig 4 below), and wherein the waterproof member (14 protective layer) is disposed in the second direction with respect to the side cover (see annotated Fig 4 below).
Regarding claim 18, Zhao in view of Wang teach the display panel of claim 17, wherein the front cover extends along the mounting surface in a third direction beyond an outer area of the mounting surface (z third direction, Fig 4), the third direction being opposite to the second direction (Fig 4), wherein the side cover extends in the a first direction from a lower surface of the front cover beyond the outer area of the mounting surface (Fig 4), and the waterproof member (14 protective layer) extends in the first direction (X first direction) and the second direction (Y second direction) to cover the second end of the side wiring from a lower portion of the side cover (see annotated Fig 4 above).
Regarding claim 19, Zhao in view of Wang teach the display panel of claim 17, wherein the side end member (Cover space in between bonding pads 91 and 92, Fig 4) is configured to cover at least a portion of the side cover in a third direction (z third direction, see Fig 7 below), a waterproof member (14 protective layer), and a side surface of the metal plate (12 passivation layer, Fig 4), the side end member including a first end disposed on the side cover (Portion of 14protective layer that covers space in between bonding pads 91 and 92) and a second end positioned on the side surface of the metal plate (See Fig 4 above), the third direction being defined as a vector orthogonal to the side cover away from the substrate (z third direction, Fig 4).
Regarding claim 20, Zhao in view of Wang teach the display module of claim 19, wherein a front waterproof member (14 protective layer) extending from the first end of the side end member (see annotated Fig 4 below) to at least a portion of a side end of the front cover (see annotated Fig 4 below), the front waterproof member being configured to seal a region between the side cover and the front cover from the outside (pg 10 ¶4); and a rear waterproof member extending from the second end of the side end member to at least a portion of the metal plate (see annotated Fig 4 below), the rear waterproof member being configured to seal a region between the side end member and the metal plate from the outside (see annotated Fig 4 below).
Conclusion
/E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/HUNG S. BUI/Acting Patent Examiner, 2841/2800