Claim Objections
2. Claims 2-3, 5, 11-13, 15, 18, and 21-23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“A non-collocated AP MLD" in claim 2 (lines 5-6 and 7) and claim 3 (line 7) should be replaced with - - the non-collocated AP MLD - - to be consistent with the first citation of “a non-collocated AP MLD” in claim 1 (line 3-4).
“A second AP MLD affiliated with the non-collocated AP MLD" in claim 5 (line 2-3) should be replaced with - - the second AP MLD affiliated with the non-collocated AP MLD - - to be consistent with the first citation of “a second AP MLD affiliated with the non-collocated AP MLD” in claim 1 (line 6).
Claim 11 (line 4) recites “AP MLD” and it should be - - access point (AP) multilink device (MLD) - -, for the term to be defined at its first use.
Claim 11 (line 4), claim 15 (line 5), and claim 21 (line 4) recite “the non-collocated AP MLD” and it should be - - a non-collocated AP MLD - -, as “the non-collocated AP MLD” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 11 (line 6), claim 15 (line 7), and claim 21 (line 6) recite “the first AP MLD” and it should be - - a first AP MLD - -, as “the first AP MLD” lacks antecedent basis.
“A non-collocated AP MLD" in claim 12 (lines 5-6 and 7) and claim 13 (line 7) should be replaced with - - the non-collocated AP MLD - - to be consistent with the first citation of “non-collocated AP MLD” in claim 11 (line 4).
Claim 15 (line 3) recites “a non-AP multilink device (MLD)” and it should be - - a non-access point (non-AP) multilink device (MLD) - -, for the term to be defined at its first use.
“A non-AP MLD" in claim 15 (line 4-5) should be replaced with - - the non-AP MLD - - to be consistent with the first citation of “a non-AP multilink device (MLD)” in claim 15 (line 3).
“A non-collocated AP MLD" in claim 18 (line 5-6) should be replaced with - - the non-collocated AP MLD - - to be consistent with the first citation of “non-collocated AP MLD” in claim 15 (line 5).
“The AP MLD" in claim 18 (line 10) should be replaced with - - the first AP MLD - - to be consistent with the first citation of “first AP MLD” in claim 15 (line 7).
Claim 21 (line 3-4) recites “a non-AP MLD” and it should be - - a non-access point (AP) multilink device (MLD) - -, for the term to be defined at its first use.
“A non-collocated AP MLD" in claim 22 (lines 5-6 and 7) and claim 23 (line 7) should be replaced with - - the non-collocated AP MLD - - to be consistent with the first citation of “non-collocated AP MLD” in claim 21 (line 4).
Claim 22 (line 9) recites “the non-AP STA” and it should be - - a non-AP STA - -, as “the non-AP STA” lacks antecedent basis.
“The AP MLD" in claim 23 (line 12) should be replaced with - - the first AP MLD - - to be consistent with the first citation of “first AP MLD” in claim 21 (line 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
4. Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Dependent claim 16 (line 1) and dependent claim 18 (line 1) are directed to “the apparatus of claim 14,” while claim 14 (line 1) is a dependent claim directed to “the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11.” Thus, as claim 16 and claim 18 are directed to different subject matter compared to claim 14, it is unclear which independent claim(s) the dependent claim 16 and dependent claim 18 are intended to be dependent of. For purposes of examination, the examiner’s interpretation of “the apparatus of claim 14” of claim 16 (line 1) and dependent claim 18 (line 1) is “the apparatus of claim 15.” Whether the intent is for the limitation “the apparatus of claim 14” to be “the apparatus of claim 15,” or not, correction is required for claim 16 and claim 18 to be definite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 10-11, 15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘839 (US 2024/0056839, “Kim ‘839”), in view of Chu ‘509 (US 2025/0254509, “Chu ‘509”; Chu ‘509 was filed on April 24, 2025, claiming priority to US provisional application 63/383047 filed on November 9, 2022, and thus Chu ‘509 was effectively filed before the claimed invention; further, the US provisional application 63/383047 fully supports all citations made in the rejection from the Chu ‘509 reference), and further in view of Chu ‘496 (US 2020/0404496, “Chu ‘496”).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Kim ‘839 discloses an apparatus (FIG. 1, para 50-59; first STA 110) comprising:
a memory; and logic circuitry of a first access point (AP) multilink device (MLD) coupled with the memory to (FIGS. 1-2, para 9-17, 50-59, 68-79, and 317; the first STA is an AP MLD that includes a memory that stores instructions and a processor circuit that executes the instructions):
parse a first medium access control (MAC) request frame to add new links (FIGS. 13-14 and 23, para 9-17, 99, 176-192, 252-266; AP MLD receives and decodes a MAC request frame for ML reconfiguration from a non-AP MLD, where the ML reconfiguration is addition of a new link),
the MAC request frame to comprise a recipient field comprising a value to identify the MLD (FIG. 23, para 252-266; a transmitting MLD receives and decodes a ML element for ML reconfiguration of links of a receiving MLD, where the receiving MLD includes a second receiving STA, and where the ML element includes a MAC address of the second receiving STA; thus, as the second receiving STA is part of the receiving MLD, the MAC address of the second receiving STA also identifies the receiving MLD; the receiving MLD reads on the MLD);
a link add field to request addition of one or more new links and to maintain current links associated with STAs of the non-AP MLD unchanged (FIGS. 14 and 17, para 183-189 and 205-217; a non-AP MLD uses a management frame as a request frame for adding a new link after multi-link setup, without requesting changes to the previously set up multi-links; the request includes a Request Type field that indicates that the request is to add a new link); and
one or more per-STA profile elements comprising new links to add (FIG. 17, para 212; per-STA profile subelement in the ML element indicates link information);
generate a first MAC response frame to confirm addition of new links; and cause transmission of the first MAC response frame to the non-AP MLD (para 246; non-AP MLD sends a request frame that indicates the new link to add; AP MLD responds to the request with a response message that includes the new link ID).
However, Kim ‘839 does not specifically disclose a first access point (AP) multilink device (MLD) affiliated with a non-collocated AP MLD, links between a non-AP MLD and a second AP MLD affiliated with the non-collocated AP MLD, and a value to identify the non-collocated AP MLD.
Chu ‘509 teaches a first access point (AP) multilink device (MLD) affiliated with a non-collocated AP MLD (para 3, 20, and 22; a seamless mobile domain (SMD) for seamless roaming of a non-AP MLD, also referred to as a distributed AP MLD, includes multiple AP MLDs positioned in different physical locations; the multiple AP MLDs are affiliated with the SMD/distributed AP MLD; the SMD/distributed AP MLD read on a non-collocated AP MLD):
links between a non-AP MLD and a second AP MLD affiliated with the non-collocated AP MLD (para 3; a non-AP MLD roams within the distributed AP MLD area covered by the multiple AP MLDs affiliated with the SMD/distributed AP MLD; thus, links are established between the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD affiliated with the SMD/distributed AP MLD),
a value to identify the non-collocated AP MLD (para 20; the AP MLDs affiliated with the SMD/distributed AP MLD have a common address to identify the SMD/distributed AP MLD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim ‘839’s apparatus that causes transmission of a MAC response frame to a non-AP MLD, to include Chu ‘509’s multiple AP MLDs affiliated with the SMD/distributed AP MLD. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide for seamless roaming in an area that includes a number of different affiliated AP MLDs (Chu ‘509, para 20).
However, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509 does not specifically disclose the MAC request frame to comprise a first address field, wherein the first address field comprises a receiver address (RA) that identifies the first AP MLD.
Chu ‘496 teaches the MAC request frame to comprise a first address field, wherein the first address field comprises a receiver address (RA) that identifies the first AP MLD (para 24; frame includes a receiver address of the AP MLD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839 and Chu ‘509, to include Chu ‘496’s frame that includes a receiver address of the AP MLD. The motivation for doing so would have been to address a need to more tightly integrate and optimize the technologies of extremely high throughput (EHT) and multi-band devices (Chu ‘496, para 3).
Regarding claim 10, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509 and Chu ‘496 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘839 teaches wherein the first MAC request frame comprises an association request frame or a reassociation request frame (para 177; the request frame is a (re)association request frame).
Regarding claim 15, Kim ‘839 discloses an apparatus (FIG. 1, para 50-59; second STA 120) comprising:
a memory; and logic circuitry of a non-AP multilink device (MLD) coupled with the memory (FIGS. 1-2, para 9-17, 50-59, 68-79, and 317; the second STA is a non-AP MLD that includes a memory that stores instructions and a processor circuit that executes the instructions) to:
generate a first medium access control (MAC) request frame to add new links (FIGS. 13-14 and 23, para 9-17, 99, 176-192, 252-266; non-AP MLD sends to an AP MLD a MAC request frame for ML reconfiguration, where the ML reconfiguration is addition of a new link; thus, the non-AP MLD generates the MAC request frame to add a new link),
the MAC request frame to comprise
a recipient field comprising a value to identify the MLD (FIG. 23, para 252-266; a transmitting MLD receives and decodes a ML element for ML reconfiguration of links of a receiving MLD, where the receiving MLD includes a second receiving STA, and where the ML element includes a MAC address of the second receiving STA; thus, as the second receiving STA is part of the receiving MLD, the MAC address of the second receiving STA also identifies the receiving MLD; the receiving MLD reads on the MLD);
a link add field to request addition of one or more new links and to maintain current links associated with STAs of the non-AP MLD unchanged (FIGS. 14 and 17, para 183-189 and 205-217; a non-AP MLD uses a management frame as a request frame for adding a new link after multi-link setup, without requesting changes to the previously set up multi-links; the request includes a Request Type field that indicates that the request is to add a new link); and
cause transmission of the first MAC request frame to the first AP MLD (FIGS. 13-14 and 23, para 9-17, 99, 176-192, 252-266; non-AP MLD sends to an AP MLD a MAC request frame for ML reconfiguration, where the ML reconfiguration is addition of a new link);
receive a first MAC response frame from the first AP MLD (para 246; non-AP MLD sends a request frame that indicates the new link to add; AP MLD responds to the request with a response message that includes the new link ID).
However, Kim ‘839 does not specifically disclose links between a non-AP MLD and a second AP MLD affiliated with the non-collocated AP MLD, a value to identify the non-collocated AP MLD.
Chu ‘509 teaches links between a non-AP MLD and a second AP MLD affiliated with the non-collocated AP MLD (para 3; a non-AP MLD roams within the distributed AP MLD area covered by the multiple AP MLDs affiliated with the SMD/distributed AP MLD; thus, links are established between the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD affiliated with the SMD/distributed AP MLD),
a value to identify the non-collocated AP MLD (para 20; the AP MLDs affiliated with the SMD/distributed AP MLD have a common address to identify the SMD/distributed AP MLD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim ‘839’s apparatus that causes transmission of a MAC request frame to an AP MLD, to include Chu ‘509’s multiple AP MLDs affiliated with the SMD/distributed AP MLD. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide for seamless roaming in an area that includes a number of different affiliated AP MLDs (Chu ‘509, para 20).
However, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509 does not specifically disclose the MAC request frame to comprise a first address field, wherein the first address field comprises a receiver address (RA) that identifies the first AP MLD.
Chu ‘496 teaches the MAC request frame to comprise a first address field, wherein the first address field comprises a receiver address (RA) that identifies the first AP MLD (para 24; frame includes a receiver address of the AP MLD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839 and Chu ‘509, to include Chu ‘496’s frame that includes a receiver address of the AP MLD. The motivation for doing so would have been to address a need to more tightly integrate and optimize the technologies of extremely high throughput (EHT) and multi-band devices (Chu ‘496, para 3).
Regarding claim 21, Kim ‘839 discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium, comprising instructions, which when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations (FIGS. 1-2, para 9-17, 50-59, 68-79, and 317; a second STA 120 is a non-AP MLD that includes a memory that stores instructions and a processor circuit that executes the instructions) to:
generate a first medium access control (MAC) request frame to add new links (FIGS. 13-14 and 23, para 9-17, 99, 176-192, 252-266; non-AP MLD sends to an AP MLD a MAC request frame for ML reconfiguration, where the ML reconfiguration is addition of a new link; thus, the non-AP MLD generates the MAC request frame to add a new link),
the MAC request frame to comprise
a recipient field comprising a value to identify the MLD (FIG. 23, para 252-266; a transmitting MLD receives and decodes a ML element for ML reconfiguration of links of a receiving MLD, where the receiving MLD includes a second receiving STA, and where the ML element includes a MAC address of the second receiving STA; thus, as the second receiving STA is part of the receiving MLD, the MAC address of the second receiving STA also identifies the receiving MLD; the receiving MLD reads on the MLD);
a link add field to request addition of one or more new links and to maintain current links associated with STAs of the non-AP MLD unchanged (FIGS. 14 and 17, para 183-189 and 205-217; a non-AP MLD uses a management frame as a request frame for adding a new link after multi-link setup, without requesting changes to the previously set up multi-links; the request includes a Request Type field that indicates that the request is to add a new link); and
one or more per-STA profile elements comprising new links to add (FIG. 17, para 212; per-STA profile subelement in the ML element indicates link information);
cause transmission of the first MAC request frame to the first AP MLD (FIGS. 13-14 and 23, para 9-17, 99, 176-192, 252-266; non-AP MLD sends to an AP MLD a MAC request frame for ML reconfiguration, where the ML reconfiguration is addition of a new link); and
receive a first MAC response frame from the first AP MLD (para 246; non-AP MLD sends a request frame that indicates the new link to add; AP MLD responds to the request with a response message that includes the new link ID).
However, Kim ‘839 does not specifically disclose links between a non-AP MLD and a second AP MLD affiliated with the non-collocated AP MLD, a value to identify the non-collocated AP MLD.
Chu ‘509 teaches links between a non-AP MLD and a second AP MLD affiliated with the non-collocated AP MLD (para 3; a non-AP MLD roams within the distributed AP MLD area covered by the multiple AP MLDs affiliated with the SMD/distributed AP MLD; thus, links are established between the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD affiliated with the SMD/distributed AP MLD),
a value to identify the non-collocated AP MLD (para 20; the AP MLDs affiliated with the SMD/distributed AP MLD have a common address to identify the SMD/distributed AP MLD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kim ‘839’s apparatus that causes transmission of a MAC response frame to a non-AP MLD, to include Chu ‘509’s multiple AP MLDs affiliated with the SMD/distributed AP MLD. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide for seamless roaming in an area that includes a number of different affiliated AP MLDs (Chu ‘509, para 20).
However, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509 does not specifically disclose the MAC request frame to comprise a first address field, wherein the first address field comprises a receiver address (RA) that identifies the first AP MLD.
Chu ‘496 teaches the MAC request frame to comprise a first address field, wherein the first address field comprises a receiver address (RA) that identifies the first AP MLD (para 24; frame includes a receiver address of the AP MLD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839 and Chu ‘509, to include Chu ‘496’s frame that includes a receiver address of the AP MLD. The motivation for doing so would have been to address a need to more tightly integrate and optimize the technologies of extremely high throughput (EHT) and multi-band devices (Chu ‘496, para 3).
7. Claims 2-5, 7, 12-14, 16-19, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘839, in view of Chu ‘509, further in view of Chu ‘496, and further in view of Yi ‘985 (US 2014/0347985, “Yi ‘985”).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509 and Chu ‘496 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 11, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘839 teaches the logic circuitry to further:
parse a MAC request frame (FIGS. 13-14 and 23, para 9-17, 99, 176-192, 252-266; AP MLD receives and decodes a MAC request frame for ML reconfiguration from a non-AP MLD, where the ML reconfiguration is addition of a new link) comprising
a second address field, wherein the second address field comprises a MAC address of the non-AP MLD (FIGS. 14 and 17, para 183-189 and 205-217; a field includes a MAC address of a STA of a non-AP MLD);
a recipient ID field comprising a value to identify an AP MLD (FIG. 23, para 252-266; a transmitting MLD receives and decodes a ML element for ML reconfiguration of links of a receiving MLD, where the receiving MLD includes a second receiving STA, and where the ML element includes a MAC address of the second receiving STA; thus, as the second receiving STA is part of the receiving MLD, the MAC address of the second receiving STA also identifies the receiving MLD; the receiving MLD reads on the MLD);
a non-collocated link ID comprising a value to identify a link of a non-collocated AP MLD (FIG. 18, para 218-220; per-STA profile subelement in the ML element includes a link ID of a link with the AP MLD);
wherein the frame body comprises a bitmap of links for one or more traffic identifiers (TIDs), the bitmap of links to identify link IDs associated with the non-AP STA to associate with the one or more TIDs (FIG. 17-18, para 70, 157-158, and 205-220; the ML element includes a bitmap and link ID information; TIDs are mapped to the links, and the links are associated with the non-AP STA); and
cause transmission of a MAC response frame to the non-AP MLD, the MAC response frame to indicate successful enablement of the new links by association of the new links with the one or more TIDs (FIG. 17-18, para 70, 157-158, 205-220, and 246; non-AP MLD sends a request frame that indicates the new link to add; AP MLD responds to the request with a response message that includes the new link ID; TIDs are mapped to the links).
Furthermore, Chu ‘509 teaches a value to identify a non-collocated AP MLD (para 20; the AP MLDs affiliated with the SMD/distributed AP MLD have a common address to identify the SMD/distributed AP MLD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839, Chu ‘509, and Chu ‘496, to further include Chu ‘509’s common address to identify the SMD/distributed AP MLD. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide for seamless roaming in an area that includes a number of different affiliated AP MLDs (Chu ‘509, para 20).
Moreover, Chu ‘496 teaches a MAC request frame comprising a first address field, wherein the first address field comprises a receiver address (RA) that identifies the first AP MLD (para 24; frame includes a receiver address of the AP MLD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839, Chu ‘509, and Chu ‘496, to further include Chu ‘496’s frame that includes a receiver address of the AP MLD. The motivation for doing so would have been to address a need to more tightly integrate and optimize the technologies of extremely high throughput (EHT) and multi-band devices (Chu ‘496, para 3).
However, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509 and Chu ‘496 does not specifically disclose parse a second MAC request frame; transmission of a second MAC response frame.
Yi ‘985 teaches parse a second MAC request frame (para 161 and 167; a plurality of MAC request frames and response frames are transmitted and received);
transmission of a second MAC response frame (para 161 and 167; a plurality of MAC request frames and response frames are transmitted and received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839, Chu ‘509, and Chu ‘496, to include Yi ‘985’s multiple responses to multiple requests. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for minimizing delay of link setup for a plurality of users through a new fast link setup process corrected from the existing link setup process address a need to more tightly integrate and optimize the technologies of extremely high throughput (EHT) and multi-band devices (Yi ‘985, para 6).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509 and Chu ‘496 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 11, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘839 teaches the logic circuitry to further:
parse a MAC request frame (FIGS. 13-14 and 23, para 9-17, 99, 176-192, 252-266; AP MLD receives and decodes a MAC request frame for ML reconfiguration from a non-AP MLD, where the ML reconfiguration is addition of a new link) comprising
a remove links field comprising a flag to indicate that links may be deleted while maintaining other links unchanged (FIGS. 54 and 17, para 183-189 and 205-217; a non-AP MLD uses a management frame as a request frame for deleting a link after multi-link setup, without requesting changes to the previously set up multi-links; the request includes a Request Type field that indicates that the request is to delete a new link);
a second address field, wherein the second address field comprises a MAC address of the non-AP MLD (FIGS. 14 and 17, para 183-189 and 205-217; a field includes a MAC address of a STA of a non-AP MLD);
a recipient ID field comprising a value to identify an AP MLD (FIG. 23, para 252-266; a transmitting MLD receives and decodes a ML element for ML reconfiguration of links of a receiving MLD, where the receiving MLD includes a second receiving STA, and where the ML element includes a MAC address of the second receiving STA; thus, as the second receiving STA is part of the receiving MLD, the MAC address of the second receiving STA also identifies the receiving MLD; the receiving MLD reads on the MLD); and
one or more per-STA profile subelements of a multi-link element of the MAC response frame (FIG. 17, para 212; per-STA profile subelement in the ML element indicates link information),
each of the per-STA profile subelements to comprise a link ID field comprising a link ID for a link between a non-AP STA of the non-AP MLD and an AP STA affiliated with the non-collocated AP MLD (FIGS. 14 and 17-18, para 183-189 and 205-220; per-STA profile subelement in the ML element indicates a link ID; links are between a non-AP STA of the non-AP MLD and an AP STAs of the AP MLD); and
cause transmission of a MAC response frame to the non-AP MLD to indicate successful removal of the old links (FIG. 15, para 193-198 and 246; non-AP MLD sends a request frame that indicates the link is deleted; AP MLD responds to the request from the non-AP MLD),
Furthermore, Chu ‘509 teaches a value to identify a non-collocated AP MLD (para 20; the AP MLDs affiliated with the SMD/distributed AP MLD have a common address to identify the SMD/distributed AP MLD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839, Chu ‘509, and Chu ‘496, to further include Chu ‘509’s common address to identify the SMD/distributed AP MLD. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide for seamless roaming in an area that includes a number of different affiliated AP MLDs (Chu ‘509, para 20).
Moreover, Chu ‘496 teaches comprising a first address field, wherein the first address field comprises a receiver address (RA) that identifies the first AP MLD (para 24; frame includes a receiver address of the AP MLD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839, Chu ‘509, and Chu ‘496, to further include Chu ‘496’s frame includes a receiver address of the AP MLD. The motivation for doing so would have been to address a need to more tightly integrate and optimize the technologies of extremely high throughput (EHT) and multi-band devices (Chu ‘496, para 3).
However, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509 and Chu ‘496 does not specifically disclose parse a third MAC request frame; transmission of a third MAC response frame.
Yi ‘985 teaches parse a third MAC request frame (para 161 and 167; a plurality of MAC request frames and response frames are transmitted and received);
transmission of a third MAC response frame (para 161 and 167; a plurality of MAC request frames and response frames are transmitted and received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839, Chu ‘509, and Chu ‘496, to include Yi ‘985’s multiple responses to multiple requests. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for minimizing delay of link setup for a plurality of users through a new fast link setup process corrected from the existing link setup process address a need to more tightly integrate and optimize the technologies of extremely high throughput (EHT) and multi-band devices (Yi ‘985, para 6).
Regarding claim 4, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509, Chu ‘496, and Yi ‘985 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 3, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘839 teaches the logic circuitry to generate a MAC frame to re-set link IDs of the non-AP MLD (FIG. 19, para 224-225; ML element includes indication corresponding to the link to be reset in the Link ID field of the per-STA profile subelement).
Furthermore, Yi ‘985 teaches generate a fourth MAC frame (para 161 and 167; a plurality of MAC request frames and response frames are transmitted and received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839, Chu ‘509, Chu ‘496, and Yi ‘985, to include Yi ‘985’s multiple responses to multiple requests. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for minimizing delay of link setup for a plurality of users through a new fast link setup process corrected from the existing link setup process address a need to more tightly integrate and optimize the technologies of extremely high throughput (EHT) and multi-band devices (Yi ‘985, para 6).
Regarding claim 5, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509, Chu ‘496, and Yi ‘985 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 3, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘839 teaches the logic circuitry to generate a new link ID for a link added between a non-AP STA of the non-AP MLD and an AP STA of a second AP MLD affiliated with the non-collocated AP MLD (FIGS. 14 and 17-18, para 183-189 and 205-220; per-STA profile subelement in the ML element indicates a link ID; links are between a non-AP STA of the non-AP MLD and an AP STAs of the AP MLD).
Regarding claim 7, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509, Chu ‘496, and Yi ‘985 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 5, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘839 teaches the logic circuitry to include the new link ID in a non-collocation link ID field of a STA control field of a link info field of the multi-link element of the MAC response frame (FIGS. 17-18, para 208-220 and 246; response message includes the ML element that includes the new link ID; the new link ID is identified in a link ID field of a per-STA control field in the per-STA profile).
Regarding claim 14, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509 and Chu ‘496, discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 11, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘839 teaches the operations to generate a MAC frame to re-set link IDs of the non-AP MLD (FIG. 19, para 224-225; ML element includes indication corresponding to the link to be reset in the Link ID field of the per-STA profile subelement).
However, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509 and Chu ‘496 does not specifically disclose generate a fourth MAC frame.
Yi ‘985 teaches generate a fourth MAC frame (para 161 and 167; a plurality of MAC request frames and response frames are transmitted and received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839, Chu ‘509, and Chu ‘496, to include Yi ‘985’s multiple responses to multiple requests. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for minimizing delay of link setup for a plurality of users through a new fast link setup process corrected from the existing link setup process address a need to more tightly integrate and optimize the technologies of extremely high throughput (EHT) and multi-band devices (Yi ‘985, para 6).
Regarding claim 16, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509 and Chu ‘496 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 15, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘839 teaches the logic circuitry to further:
generate a MAC request frame (FIGS. 13-14 and 23, para 9-17, 99, 176-192, 252-266; non-AP MLD sends to an AP MLD a MAC request frame for ML reconfiguration, where the ML reconfiguration is addition of a new link; thus, the non-AP MLD generates the MAC request frame to add a new link) comprising
a remove links field comprising a flag to indicate that links may be deleted while maintaining other links unchanged (FIGS. 54 and 17, para 183-189 and 205-217; a non-AP MLD uses a management frame as a request frame for deleting a link after multi-link setup, without requesting changes to the previously set up multi-links; the request includes a Request Type field that indicates that the request is to delete a new link);
a second address field, wherein the second address field comprises a MAC address of the non-AP MLD (FIGS. 14 and 17, para 183-189 and 205-217; a field includes a MAC address of a STA of a non-AP MLD);
a recipient ID field comprising a value to identify an AP MLD (FIG. 23, para 252-266; a transmitting MLD receives and decodes a ML element for ML reconfiguration of links of a receiving MLD, where the receiving MLD includes a second receiving STA, and where the ML element includes a MAC address of the second receiving STA; thus, as the second receiving STA is part of the receiving MLD, the MAC address of the second receiving STA also identifies the receiving MLD; the receiving MLD reads on the MLD);
a non-collocated link ID comprising a value to identify a link of a non-collocated AP MLD (FIG. 18, para 218-220; per-STA profile subelement in the ML element includes a link ID of a link with the AP MLD);
wherein the frame body comprises a bitmap of links for one or more traffic identifiers (TIDs), the bitmap of links to identify link IDs associated with the non-AP STA to associate with the one or more TIDs (FIG. 17-18, para 70, 157-158, and 205-220; the ML element includes a bitmap and link ID information; TIDs are mapped to the links, and the links are associated with the non-AP STA); and
cause transmission of the MAC request frame to the first AP MLD (FIGS. 13-14 and 23, para 9-17, 99, 176-192, 252-266; non-AP MLD sends to an AP MLD a MAC request frame for ML reconfiguration, where the ML reconfiguration is addition of a new link); and
receive a MAC response frame from the first AP MLD, the MAC response frame to indicate successful enablement of the new links by association of the new links with the one or more TIDs (FIG. 17-18, para 70, 157-158, 205-220, and 246; non-AP MLD sends a request frame that indicates the new link to add; AP MLD responds to the request with a response message that includes the new link ID; TIDs are mapped to the links),
Furthermore, Chu ‘509 teaches a value to identify a non-collocated AP MLD (para 20; the AP MLDs affiliated with the SMD/distributed AP MLD have a common address to identify the SMD/distributed AP MLD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839, Chu ‘509, and Chu ‘496, to further include Chu ‘509’s. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide for seamless roaming in an area that includes a number of different affiliated AP MLDs (Chu ‘509, para 20).
Moreover, Chu ‘496 teaches a MAC request frame comprising a first address field, wherein the first address field comprises a receiver address (RA) that identifies the first AP MLD (para 24; frame includes a receiver address of the AP MLD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839, Chu ‘509, and Chu ‘496, to further include Chu ‘496’s frame includes a receiver address of the AP MLD. The motivation for doing so would have been to address a need to more tightly integrate and optimize the technologies of extremely high throughput (EHT) and multi-band devices (Chu ‘496, para 3).
However, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509 and Chu ‘496 does not specifically disclose generate a second MAC request frame; transmission of the second MAC response frame; receive a second MAC response frame, the second MAC response frame.
Yi ‘985 teaches generate a second MAC request frame (para 161 and 167; a plurality of MAC request frames and response frames are transmitted and received);
transmission of the second MAC response frame (para 161 and 167; a plurality of MAC request frames and response frames are transmitted and received);
receive a second MAC response frame, the second MAC response frame (para 161 and 167; a plurality of MAC request frames and response frames are transmitted and received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839, Chu ‘509, and Chu ‘496, to include Yi ‘985’s multiple responses to multiple requests. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for minimizing delay of link setup for a plurality of users through a new fast link setup process corrected from the existing link setup process address a need to more tightly integrate and optimize the technologies of extremely high throughput (EHT) and multi-band devices (Yi ‘985, para 6).
Regarding claim 17, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509, Chu ‘496, and Yi ‘985 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 16, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘839 teaches the second MAC request frame comprises a TID-to-Link mapping request frame (FIG. 17-18, para 70, 157-158, and 205-220; the ML element includes a bitmap and link ID information; TIDs are mapped to the links, and the links are associated with the non-AP STA).
Regarding claim 18, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509 and Chu ‘496 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 15, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘839 teaches the logic circuitry to further:
generate a MAC request frame (FIGS. 13-14 and 23, para 9-17, 99, 176-192, 252-266; non-AP MLD sends to an AP MLD a MAC request frame for ML reconfiguration, where the ML reconfiguration is addition of a new link; thus, the non-AP MLD generates the MAC request frame to add a new link) comprising
a second address field, wherein the second address field comprises a MAC address of the non-AP MLD (FIGS. 14 and 17, para 183-189 and 205-217; a field includes a MAC address of a STA of a non-AP MLD);
a recipient ID field comprising a value to identify an AP MLD (FIG. 23, para 252-266; a transmitting MLD receives and decodes a ML element for ML reconfiguration of links of a receiving MLD, where the receiving MLD includes a second receiving STA, and where the ML element includes a MAC address of the second receiving STA; thus, as the second receiving STA is part of the receiving MLD, the MAC address of the second receiving STA also identifies the receiving MLD; the receiving MLD reads on the MLD); and
one or more per-STA profile subelements of a multi-link element of the MAC response frame (FIG. 17, para 212; per-STA profile subelement in the ML element indicates link information),
each of the per-STA profile subelements to comprise a link ID field comprising a link ID for a link between a non-AP STA of the non-AP MLD and an AP STA affiliated with the non-collocated AP MLD (FIGS. 14 and 17-18, para 183-189 and 205-220; per-STA profile subelement in the ML element indicates a link ID; links are between a non-AP STA of the non-AP MLD and an AP STAs of the AP MLD);
cause transmission of a MAC request frame to the AP MLD (FIGS. 13-14 and 23, para 9-17, 99, 176-192, 252-266; non-AP MLD sends to an AP MLD a MAC request frame for ML reconfiguration, where the ML reconfiguration is addition of a new link); and
receive a MAC response frame from the first AP MLD to indicate successful removal of the old links (FIG. 15, para 193-198 and 246; non-AP MLD sends a request frame that indicates the link is deleted; AP MLD responds to the request from the non-AP MLD).
Furthermore, Chu ‘509 teaches a value to identify a non-collocated AP MLD (para 20; the AP MLDs affiliated with the SMD/distributed AP MLD have a common address to identify the SMD/distributed AP MLD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839, Chu ‘509, and Chu ‘496, to further include Chu ‘509’s common address to identify the SMD/distributed AP MLD. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide for seamless roaming in an area that includes a number of different affiliated AP MLDs (Chu ‘509, para 20).
Moreover, Chu ‘496 teaches a MAC request frame comprising a first address field, wherein the first address field comprises a receiver address (RA) that identifies the first AP MLD (para 24; frame includes a receiver address of the AP MLD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839, Chu ‘509, and Chu ‘496, to further include Chu ‘496’s. The motivation for doing so would have been to address a need to more tightly integrate and optimize the technologies of extremely high throughput (EHT) and multi-band devices (Chu ‘496, para 3).
However, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509 and Chu ‘496 does not specifically disclose generate a third MAC request frame; transmission of a third MAC response frame; receive a third MAC response frame.
Yi ‘985 teaches generate a third MAC request frame (para 161 and 167; a plurality of MAC request frames and response frames are transmitted and received);
transmission of a third MAC response frame (para 161 and 167; a plurality of MAC request frames and response frames are transmitted and received);
receive a third MAC response frame (para 161 and 167; a plurality of MAC request frames and response frames are transmitted and received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839, Chu ‘509, and Chu ‘496, to include Yi ‘985’s multiple responses to multiple requests. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for minimizing delay of link setup for a plurality of users through a new fast link setup process corrected from the existing link setup process address a need to more tightly integrate and optimize the technologies of extremely high throughput (EHT) and multi-band devices (Yi ‘985, para 6).
Regarding claim 19, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509, Chu ‘496, and Yi ‘985 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 18, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘839 teaches the logic circuitry to receive a MAC frame to re-set link IDs of the non-AP MLD (FIG. 19, para 224-225; ML element includes indication corresponding to the link to be reset in the Link ID field of the per-STA profile subelement).
Furthermore, Yi ‘985 teaches receive a fourth MAC frame (para 161 and 167; a plurality of MAC request frames and response frames are transmitted and received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839, Chu ‘509, Chu ‘496, and Yi ‘985, to include Yi ‘985’s multiple responses to multiple requests. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for minimizing delay of link setup for a plurality of users through a new fast link setup process corrected from the existing link setup process address a need to more tightly integrate and optimize the technologies of extremely high throughput (EHT) and multi-band devices (Yi ‘985, para 6).
Regarding claim 22, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509 and Chu ‘496 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 21, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘839 teaches the operations to further:
generate a MAC request frame (FIGS. 13-14 and 23, para 9-17, 99, 176-192, 252-266; non-AP MLD sends to an AP MLD a MAC request frame for ML reconfiguration, where the ML reconfiguration is addition of a new link; thus, the non-AP MLD generates the MAC request frame to add a new link) comprising
a second address field, wherein the second address field comprises a MAC address of the non-AP MLD (FIGS. 14 and 17, para 183-189 and 205-217; a field includes a MAC address of a STA of a non-AP MLD);
a recipient ID field comprising a value to identify an AP MLD (FIG. 23, para 252-266; a transmitting MLD receives and decodes a ML element for ML reconfiguration of links of a receiving MLD, where the receiving MLD includes a second receiving STA, and where the ML element includes a MAC address of the second receiving STA; thus, as the second receiving STA is part of the receiving MLD, the MAC address of the second receiving STA also identifies the receiving MLD; the receiving MLD reads on the MLD);
a non-collocated link ID comprising a value to identify a link of a non-collocated AP MLD (FIG. 18, para 218-220; per-STA profile subelement in the ML element includes a link ID of a link with the AP MLD);
wherein the frame body comprises a bitmap of links for one or more traffic identifiers (TIDs), the bitmap of links to identify link IDs associated with the non-AP STA to associate with the one or more TIDs (FIG. 17-18, para 70, 157-158, and 205-220; the ML element includes a bitmap and link ID information; TIDs are mapped to the links, and the links are associated with the non-AP STA); and
cause transmission of the MAC request frame to the first AP MLD (FIGS. 13-14 and 23, para 9-17, 99, 176-192, 252-266; non-AP MLD sends to an AP MLD a MAC request frame for ML reconfiguration, where the ML reconfiguration is addition of a new link); and
receive a MAC response frame from the first AP MLD, the MAC response frame to indicate successful enablement of the new links by association of the new links with the one or more TIDs (FIG. 17-18, para 70, 157-158, 205-220, and 246; non-AP MLD sends a request frame that indicates the new link to add; AP MLD responds to the request with a response message that includes the new link ID; TIDs are mapped to the links).
Furthermore, Chu ‘509 teaches a value to identify a non-collocated AP MLD (para 20; the AP MLDs affiliated with the SMD/distributed AP MLD have a common address to identify the SMD/distributed AP MLD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839, Chu ‘509, and Chu ‘496, to further include Chu ‘509’s common address to identify the SMD/distributed AP MLD. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide for seamless roaming in an area that includes a number of different affiliated AP MLDs (Chu ‘509, para 20).
Moreover, Chu ‘496 teaches a MAC request frame comprising a first address field, wherein the first address field comprises a receiver address (RA) that identifies the first AP MLD (para 24; frame includes a receiver address of the AP MLD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839, Chu ‘509, and Chu ‘496, to further include Chu ‘496’s. The motivation for doing so would have been to address a need to more tightly integrate and optimize the technologies of extremely high throughput (EHT) and multi-band devices (Chu ‘496, para 3).
However, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509 and Chu ‘496 does not specifically disclose generate a second MAC request frame; transmission of the second MAC response frame; receive a second MAC response frame, the second MAC response frame.
Yi ‘985 teaches generate a second MAC request frame (para 161 and 167; a plurality of MAC request frames and response frames are transmitted and received);
transmission of the second MAC response frame (para 161 and 167; a plurality of MAC request frames and response frames are transmitted and received);
receive a second MAC response frame, the second MAC response frame (para 161 and 167; a plurality of MAC request frames and response frames are transmitted and received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839, Chu ‘509, and Chu ‘496, to include Yi ‘985’s multiple responses to multiple requests. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for minimizing delay of link setup for a plurality of users through a new fast link setup process corrected from the existing link setup process address a need to more tightly integrate and optimize the technologies of extremely high throughput (EHT) and multi-band devices (Yi ‘985, para 6).
Regarding claim 23, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509 and Chu ‘496 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 21, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘839 teaches the operations to further:
generate a MAC request frame (FIGS. 13-14 and 23, para 9-17, 99, 176-192, 252-266; non-AP MLD sends to an AP MLD a MAC request frame for ML reconfiguration, where the ML reconfiguration is addition of a new link; thus, the non-AP MLD generates the MAC request frame to add a new link) comprising
a remove links field comprising a flag to indicate that links may be deleted while maintaining other links unchanged (FIGS. 54 and 17, para 183-189 and 205-217; a non-AP MLD uses a management frame as a request frame for deleting a link after multi-link setup, without requesting changes to the previously set up multi-links; the request includes a Request Type field that indicates that the request is to delete a new link);
a second address field, wherein the second address field comprises a MAC address of the non-AP MLD (FIGS. 14 and 17, para 183-189 and 205-217; a field includes a MAC address of a STA of a non-AP MLD);
a recipient ID field comprising a value to identify an AP MLD (FIG. 23, para 252-266; a transmitting MLD receives and decodes a ML element for ML reconfiguration of links of a receiving MLD, where the receiving MLD includes a second receiving STA, and where the ML element includes a MAC address of the second receiving STA; thus, as the second receiving STA is part of the receiving MLD, the MAC address of the second receiving STA also identifies the receiving MLD; the receiving MLD reads on the MLD); and
one or more per-STA profile subelements of a multi-link element of the MAC response frame (FIG. 17, para 212; per-STA profile subelement in the ML element indicates link information),
each of the per-STA profile subelements to comprise a link ID field comprising a link ID for a link between a non-AP STA of the non-AP MLD and an AP STA affiliated with the non-collocated AP MLD (FIGS. 14 and 17-18, para 183-189 and 205-220; per-STA profile subelement in the ML element indicates a link ID; links are between a non-AP STA of the non-AP MLD and an AP STAs of the AP MLD);
cause transmission of a MAC request frame to the AP MLD (FIGS. 13-14 and 23, para 9-17, 99, 176-192, 252-266; non-AP MLD sends to an AP MLD a MAC request frame for ML reconfiguration, where the ML reconfiguration is addition of a new link); and
receive a MAC response frame from the first AP MLD to indicate successful removal of the old links (FIG. 15, para 193-198 and 246; non-AP MLD sends a request frame that indicates the link is deleted; AP MLD responds to the request from the non-AP MLD).
Furthermore, Chu ‘509 teaches a value to identify a non-collocated AP MLD (para 20; the AP MLDs affiliated with the SMD/distributed AP MLD have a common address to identify the SMD/distributed AP MLD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839, Chu ‘509, and Chu ‘496, to further include Chu ‘509’s. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide for seamless roaming in an area that includes a number of different affiliated AP MLDs (Chu ‘509, para 20).
Moreover, Chu ‘496 teaches a MAC request frame comprising a first address field, wherein the first address field comprises a receiver address (RA) that identifies the first AP MLD (para 24; frame includes a receiver address of the AP MLD).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839, Chu ‘509, and Chu ‘496, to further include Chu ‘496’s. The motivation for doing so would have been to address a need to more tightly integrate and optimize the technologies of extremely high throughput (EHT) and multi-band devices (Chu ‘496, para 3).
However, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509 and Chu ‘496 does not specifically disclose generate a third MAC request frame; transmission of a third MAC response frame; receive a third MAC response frame.
Yi ‘985 teaches generate a third MAC request frame (para 161 and 167; a plurality of MAC request frames and response frames are transmitted and received);
transmission of a third MAC response frame (para 161 and 167; a plurality of MAC request frames and response frames are transmitted and received);
receive a third MAC response frame (para 161 and 167; a plurality of MAC request frames and response frames are transmitted and received)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839, Chu ‘509, and Chu ‘496, to include Yi ‘985’s multiple responses to multiple requests. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for minimizing delay of link setup for a plurality of users through a new fast link setup process corrected from the existing link setup process address a need to more tightly integrate and optimize the technologies of extremely high throughput (EHT) and multi-band devices (Yi ‘985, para 6).
Regarding claim 24, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509, Chu ‘496, and Yi ‘985 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 23, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘839 teaches the third MAC request frame comprises an association request frame, a reassociation request frame (para 177; the request frame is a (re)association request frame; examiner notes the use of alternative language; for rejection purposes, only one of the alternative limitations must be disclosed by prior art), a new MAC frame, or a disassociation frame.
Regarding claim 25, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509 and Chu ‘496 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 21, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘839 teaches the operations to receive a MAC frame to re-set link IDs of the non-AP MLD (FIG. 19, para 224-225; ML element includes indication corresponding to the link to be reset in the Link ID field of the per-STA profile subelement).
However, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509 and Chu ‘496 does not specifically disclose receive a fourth MAC frame.
Yi ‘985 teaches receive a fourth MAC frame (para 161 and 167; a plurality of MAC request frames and response frames are transmitted and received).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839, Chu ‘509, and Chu ‘496, to include Yi ‘985’s multiple responses to multiple requests. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for minimizing delay of link setup for a plurality of users through a new fast link setup process corrected from the existing link setup process address a need to more tightly integrate and optimize the technologies of extremely high throughput (EHT) and multi-band devices (Yi ‘985, para 6).
8. Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘839, in view of Chu ‘509, further in view of Chu ‘496, and further in view of Shafin ‘404 (US 2023/0088404, “Shafin ‘404”).
Regarding claim 9, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509 and Chu ‘496 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘839 teaches a radio coupled with the processing circuitry (FIGS. 1-2, para 50-59, claim 13; a transceiver is coupled with the processor circuit).
However, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509 and Chu ‘496 does not specifically disclose the logic circuitry comprising baseband processing circuitry and further comprising a radio coupled with the baseband processing circuitry, and one or more antennas coupled with the radio to receive the first MAC request frame.
Shafin ‘404 teaches the logic circuitry comprising baseband processing circuitry and further comprising a radio coupled with the baseband processing circuitry, and one or more antennas coupled with the radio to receive the first MAC request frame (FIG. 2B, para 53-56; RF transceiver receives a RF signal from an antenna; the RF transceiver is coupled with a processor that processes a baseband signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839, Chu ‘509, and Chu ‘496, to include Shafin ‘404’s RF transceiver coupled with a processor that processes a baseband signal. The motivation for doing so would have been to enhance channel quality measurements on links of an MLD in a WLAN (Shafin ‘404, para 8).
Regarding claim 20, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509 and Chu ‘496 discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 15, as outlined above.
Further, Kim ‘839 teaches a radio coupled with the processing circuitry (FIGS. 1-2, para 50-59, claim 13; a transceiver is coupled with the processor circuit).
However, Kim ‘839 in combination with Chu ‘509 and Chu ‘496 does not specifically disclose wherein the logic circuitry comprises baseband processing circuitry and further comprising a radio coupled with the baseband processing circuitry, and one or more antennas coupled with the radio to transmit the first MAC request frame.
Shafin ‘404 teaches wherein the logic circuitry comprises baseband processing circuitry and further comprising a radio coupled with the baseband processing circuitry, and one or more antennas coupled with the radio to transmit the first MAC request frame (FIG. 2A, para 45-49; RF transceiver transmits a RF signal to an antenna; the RF transceiver is coupled with a processor that processes a baseband signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined apparatus of Kim ‘839, Chu ‘509, and Chu ‘496, to include Shafin ‘404’s RF transceiver is coupled with a processor that processes a baseband signal. The motivation for doing so would have been to enhance channel quality measurements on links of an MLD in a WLAN (Shafin ‘404, para 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if amended to overcome the above claim objections related to informalities, and rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Internet Communication
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only. (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/NEVENA ZECEVIC SANDHU/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474