DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that paragraph 0071 of Tamura corresponds to step 1 of FIG. 2, in which the NWDAF sends Nnef_EventExposure_Subscribe to the NEF, so that no information is sent to the NWDAF by the terminal device at all, and further that the UE analytics report which the NWDAF does receive occurs at steps 9, 10 and 11 of FIG. 2, which are after steps 1 through 4, making the chronology of Tamura the opposite of the order now recited.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. This argument is not persuasive because it is directed to a mapping that is not relied upon for the registration information. The registration information is not the UE analytics report of steps 9 through 11. It is the UE analytics report capability that the terminal device sends during the registration procedure. Step 0 of FIG. 2 states that the registration procedure has already been successfully performed among the UE, the AMF and the UDM/UDR, and that this procedure is made based on the registration procedure of 3GPP TS 23.502 with the additional functionality described in step 1 to step 4 of Solution 1 (0070). Step 1 of Solution 1 is the message in which the terminal device sends the UE analytics report capability (0023). Step 0 therefore precedes both step 1 and step 4 of FIG. 2. Tamura confirms the sequence expressly: the analytics parameter status delivered to the terminal device is built up by the AMF based on the UE analytics report capability that was previously received in the Registration Request message shown in step 1 of FIG. 1 (0078; 0108). Therefore, the order in Tamura is accordingly the order recited in amended claim 1, not its opposite.
Applicant further argues that the Registration Request message of paragraph 0023 is sent to the AMF, that the UE analytics report capability travels from the UE to the AMF and further to the UDM, and that neither the AMF nor the UDM is among the NWDAF, the AF, the PCF or the NRF recited as the data analysis and management function.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. This argument is not persuasive because it treats paragraph 0023 as limited to the AMF when the paragraph is not so limited. Paragraph 0023 states that the UE analytics report capability can be relayed to the AMF by first relaying it to the (R)AN node in any of the AS/RRC signaling messages and then relaying it further to the AMF or any other network node, and it names the PCF and the NWDAF among those nodes. The PCF and the NWDAF are expressly identified as recipients of the UE analytics report capability sent by the terminal device, and both are expressly recited in claim 1 as species of the data analysis and management function. Where a reference discloses a limited number of clearly delineated alternatives, each of those alternatives is disclosed for purposes of anticipation. Tamura therefore discloses sending, by the terminal device, registration information to a data analysis and management function, and the AMF and UDM paths that applicant identifies are further alternatives the reference also permits rather than the only ones it provides.
Applicant's remaining position, that the same limitations are absent from claims 6 and 10, is not persuasive for the same reasons. As to the separate assertion that Tamura fails to disclose sending, by a Network Data Analytics Function (NWDAF), a first request message to a terminal device, claim 6 does not require that the first request message reach the terminal device without passing through an intermediate network function. The NWDAF originates the request by including the analytics information to be collected and the reporting method information elements in the Nnef_EventExposure_Subscribe message (0071), and those same information elements are delivered to the terminal device in the NAS message that instructs it what to collect and when to report (0077; 0081). Tamura further states that any NAS message may be transmitted between the UE and the AMF via the NG-(R)AN node (0169), confirming that relayed delivery is the manner of transmission contemplated throughout the disclosure.
Previous Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Tamura does not disclose "sending, by the terminal device, registration information to a data analysis and management function, wherein the registration information comprises the first data analysis identifier" and "wherein the data analysis and management function comprises at least one of: the NWDAF, an Application Function (AF), a Policy Control Function (PCF), or a Network Repository Function (NRF)" recited in amended claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Tamura clearly discloses in Fig. 2 that the NWDAF sends a message which includes the UE analytics report AF, the analytics information to be collected and the reporting method information elements. The message is delivered to the UE. In response the UE collects the data as per the message created and sent by the NWDAF and sends a “UE analytics report” which is received by the NWDAF. Therefore, Tamura clearly discloses "sending, by the terminal device, registration information to a data analysis and management function, wherein the registration information comprises the first data analysis identifier" (0071). With respect to the argued limitation of "wherein the data analysis and management function comprises at least one of: the NWDAF, an Application Function (AF), a Policy Control Function (PCF), or a Network Repository Function (NRF)", the NWDAF of Tamura collects the UE analytics report sent by the UE and matches the analytics information with an exception and takes actions for solving the exception (0014, 0016). Therefore, all the claimed and argued limitations have been met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 12, and 15-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2020066890 A1 herein Tamura.
Claim 1, Tamura discloses a wireless communication method (Title, Method), comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device, a first request message sent by a Network Data Analytics Function (NWDAF), wherein the first request message is used for requesting, from the terminal device, a first data analysis corresponding to a first data analysis identifier (0071; FIG. 2, the NWDAF originates the request by including the analytics information to be collected and the reporting method information elements in the Nnef_EventExposure_Subscribe message; 0077; 0081, those same elements are delivered to the UE in a NAS message telling the UE what statistics to collect and when to report them; 0072, the analytics information to be collected identifies the analytics for which the UE measures statistics); and
sending an analysis result of the first data analysis (0087; FIG. 2, the UE sends the UE Analytics information message carrying the UE analytics report with the collected analytics information; 0089; 0090, the report is passed to the NEF and then to the NWDAF);
wherein the method further comprises: before receiving, by the terminal device, the first request message sent by the NWDAF (0070; FIG. 2, step 0 places the registration procedure, performed with the additional functionality of step 1 to step 4 of Solution 1, ahead of both step 1 and step 4; 0078; 0108, the analytics parameter status carried in the NAS message to the UE is built by the AMF from the UE analytics report capability previously received in the Registration Request);
sending, by the terminal device, registration information to a data analysis and management function, wherein the registration information comprises the first data analysis identifier (0023; FIG. 1, the UE sends its UE analytics report capability, which may take the form of a bitmap defining what kind of analytics the UE is capable of collecting and reporting, and which may be relayed on to any other network node including the PCF and the NWDAF);
wherein the data analysis and management function comprises at least one of: the NWDAF, an Application Function (AF), a Policy Control Function (PCF), or a Network Repository Function (NRF) (0023, the network nodes expressly named as recipients of the relayed UE analytics report capability include the PCF and the NWDAF).
Claim 2, Tamura discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the first data analysis is a statistical or predictable analysis that is supported by the terminal device (0035; 0086, the UE monitors, measures and collects statistics data based on the instruction from the network; 0023, the UE analytics report capability indicates the UE's own capability for analytics collection and reporting).
Claim 3, Tamura discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the first data analysis comprises at least one of: mobility analysis of the terminal device, communication characteristics analysis of the terminal device, performance analysis of the terminal device, service experience analysis of a target service on the terminal device or wireless quality analysis (0041; 0044; 0051, the UE monitors and reports the number of cell re-selections, the number of ping-pong re-selections and its entering and leaving of a designated area, each of which is an analysis of the mobility of the UE).
Claim 4, Tamura discloses the method of claim 3, wherein: the mobility analysis comprises at least one of: analysis of a position of the terminal device, or analysis of a path of the terminal device (0043, the UE reports the list of cells it has re-selected and the order of re-selection, and the NWDAF analyses that information to follow the UE movement).
Claim 6, Tamura discloses a wireless communication method (Title, Method), comprising:
sending, by a Network Data Analytics Function (NWDAF), a first request message to a terminal device, wherein the first request message is used for requesting, from the terminal device, a first data analysis corresponding to a first data analysis identifier (0071; FIG. 2, the NWDAF originates the request by including the analytics information to be collected and the reporting method information elements in the Nnef_EventExposure_Subscribe message; 0077; 0081, the same elements are delivered to the UE in a NAS message instructing it what to collect and when to report; 0169, a NAS message is transmitted between the UE and the AMF via the NG-(R)AN node); and
receiving an analysis result of the first data analysis (0090; 0091, the NEF sends the Nnef_EventExposure_Notify message carrying the UE analytics report to the NWDAF, which collects the analytics information from the UE);
wherein the method further comprises: before sending, by the NWDAF, the first request message to the terminal device (0070; 0078, the registration procedur ecarrying the UE analytics report capability is completed before the request, and the parameters later sent to the UE are built from the capability previously received);
receiving, by the NWDAF, registration information sent by the terminal device, wherein the registration information comprises the first data analysis identifier (0023, the UE analytics report capability, in the form of a bitmap defining what kind of analytics the UE can collect and report, is relayed from the UE to any other network node including the NWDAF).
Claim 7, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 2.
Claim 8, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 3.
Claim 9, Tamura discloses the method of claim 8, wherein: the communication characteristics analysis comprises analysis of at least one of the following information of the terminal device: a communication cycle, communication time, a domain name used for communication, a slice used for communication, a port number used for communication, or data amount (0052, the UE in a designated area is required to be served by a specific network slice and by a different network slice when out of that area, so the in/out indication the UE reports is an analysis of the slice used for communication).
Claim 10, Tamura discloses a wireless communication method (Title, Method), comprising:
determining, by a data analysis and management function, a first data analysis identifier and information of a terminal device (0071; FIG. 2, the NWDAF settles the analytics information to be collected and the reporting method and identifies the UE for which the collection is subscribed, the NEF verifying from that message whether that UE is allowed to perform the collection); and
sending a response message to a request device, or sending a first request message to the terminal device based on the information of the terminal device (0077; 0081, the analytics information to be collected and the reporting method originated by the NWDAF are delivered to that UE in a NAS message telling it what to collect and when to report), wherein the response message comprises the first data analysis identifier or the information of the terminal device, and the first request message is used for requesting, from the terminal device, a first data analysis corresponding to the first data analysis identifier (0072, the analytics information to be collected identifies the analytics for which the UE measures statistics);
wherein the method further comprises: before sending the response message to the request device, or before sending the first request message to the terminal device based on the information of the terminal device (0070; 0078, the registration procedure carrying the UE analytics report capability is completed first, and the parameters afterwards sent to the UE are built from the capability previously received);
receiving, by the data analysis and management function, registration information sent by the terminal device, wherein the registration information comprises the first data analysis identifier (0023, the UE analytics report capability, a bitmap defining what kind of analytics the UE can collect and report, is relayed from the UE to any other network node including the PCF and the NWDAF);
wherein the data analysis and management function comprises at least one of: a Network Data Analytics Function (NWDAF), an Application Function (AF), a Policy Control Function (PCF), or a Network Repository Function (NRF) (0023, the network nodes expressly named as recipients of the relayed UE analytics report capability include the PCF and the NWDAF).
Claim 12, Tamura discloses the method of claim 10, wherein: the registration information further comprises information of the terminal device, and the information of the terminal device comprises at least one of routing information or identifier information (0023; 0024, the UE analytics report capability is carried in the UE's Registration Request and the subscription information for that registration is retrieved with the user identity, referred to as UE_ld).
Claim 15, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1. Tamura discloses a terminal device (Title, Apparatus), and comprising: a processor, a memory and a transceiver, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program (0136; FIG. 5, the UE has an antenna, a transceiver circuit and a memory storing an operating system and a communication control module); and the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory, so as to execute the method of claim 1 (0137, a controller realised by a CPU controls the operation of the UE in accordance with the software stored in the memory, including the module that handles the signalling relating to UE analytics reporting).
Claim 16, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 6. Tamura discloses a request device (Title, Apparatus), and comprising: a processor, a memory and a transceiver, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program (0146; FIG. 8, the core network node's memory stores the operating system and the communication control module, and the software may be pre-installed in that memory); and the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory, so as to execute the method of claim 6 (0146, a controller realised by a CPU controls the operation of the node in accordance with that software, the node covering the NWDAF).
Claim 17, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 10. Tamura discloses a management device (Title, Apparatus), and comprising: a processor, a memory and a transceiver, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program (0146; FIG. 8, the core network node's memory stores the operating system and the communication control module, and the software may be pre-installed in that memory); and the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory, so as to execute the method of claim 10 (0146, a controller realized by a CPU controls the operation of the node in accordance with that software, the node covering the NWDAF).
Claim 18, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1. Tamura discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, configured to store computer-executable instructions (0136; FIG. 5, the software is pre-installed in the UE's memory or downloaded from a removable data storage device), wherein the computer-executable instructions cause a computer to execute the method of claim 1 (0191, the software modules are supplied on a recording medium and the functionality they define is performed by the controller).
Claim 19, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 6. Tamura discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, configured to store computer-executable instructions (0146; FIG. 8, the software for the core network node is pre-installed in its memory or downloaded from a removable data storage device), wherein the computer-executable instructions cause a computer to execute the method of claim 6 (0191, the software modules are supplied on a recording medium and the functionality they define is performed by the controller).
Claim 20, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 10. Tamura discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, configured to store computer-executable instructions (0146; FIG. 8, the software for the core network node is pre-installed in its memory or downloaded from a removable data storage device), wherein the computer-executable instructions cause a computer to execute the method of claim 10 (0191, the software modules are supplied on a recording medium and the functionality they define is performed by the controller).
Claim 21, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 2.
Claim 22, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 3.
Claim 23, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 4.
Claim 24, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 9.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 11438788 B2 - The present disclosure is related to wireless telecommunications networks and in particular to measuring and determining performance of a wireless telecommunications network. The network may be a cellular network, a WiFi network, or a combination of both. The present disclosure is further directed to a method for determining a parameter indicating quality of service for a wireless connection. In the method, changes in latency over a connection are measured using probe packets and if an increase of latency that is over a predetermined relative threshold is observed, the wireless connection is determined to be congested.
US 20200112868 A1 – A method of configuring a telecommunications network comprising the steps of collecting analytics data from a network (NAD) and analytics data (TAD) from at least one User Equipment (UE), analyzing said NAD and TAD and configuring at least one network feature according to the NAD and the TAD.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mehmood B. Khan/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468