DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Tamura does not disclose "sending, by the terminal device, registration information to a data analysis and management function, wherein the registration information comprises the first data analysis identifier" and "wherein the data analysis and management function comprises at least one of: the NWDAF, an Application Function (AF), a Policy Control Function (PCF), or a Network Repository Function (NRF)" recited in amended claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Tamura clearly discloses in Fig. 2 that the NWDAF sends a message which includes the UE analytics report AF, the analytics information to be collected and the reporting method information elements. The message is delivered to the UE. In response the UE collects the data as per the message created and sent by the NWDAF and sends a “UE analytics report” which is received by the NWDAF. Therefore, Tamura clearly discloses "sending, by the terminal device, registration information to a data analysis and management function, wherein the registration information comprises the first data analysis identifier" (0071). With respect to the argued limitation of "wherein the data analysis and management function comprises at least one of: the NWDAF, an Application Function (AF), a Policy Control Function (PCF), or a Network Repository Function (NRF)", the NWDAF of Tamura collects the UE analytics report sent by the UE and matches the analytics information with an exception and takes actions for solving the exception (0014, 0016). Therefore, all the claimed and argued limitations have been met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12, and 15-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2020066890 A1 herein Tamura.
Claim 1, Tamura discloses a wireless communication method (Title, Figs. 1-3), comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device, a first request message sent by a network data analytics function (NWDAF) (Fig. 2: steps 1-4, where NWDAF sends parameters to be collected by the UE with parameter),
wherein the first request message is used for requesting, from the terminal device, a first data analysis corresponding to a first data analysis identifier (0031, The UE analytics report status parameter may be a bitmap with designated status bit (active/not active) for each type of analytics data collection and delivery ... "); and
sending an analysis result of the first data analysis (Figs. 1 and 2: UE Analytics information, UE analytics report,),
wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by the terminal device, registration information to a data analysis and management function, wherein the registration information comprises the first data analysis identifier (0023, 0029),
wherein the data analysis and management function comprises at least one off the NWDAF, an Application Function (AF), a Policy Control Function (PCF), or a Network Repository Function (NRF) (0023, report by UE received by NWDAF).
Claim 2, Tamura discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first data analysis is a statistical or predictable analysis that is supported by the terminal device (Fig. 1: step 5).
Claim 3, Tamura discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first data analysis comprises at least one of: mobility analysis of the terminal device, communication characteristics analysis of the terminal device, performance analysis of the terminal device, service experience analysis of a target service on the terminal device or wireless quality analysis (0035, link failures).
Claim 4, Claim 4 further limits an alternative of claim 3. Since Tamura discloses link failures, all the limitations of claim 4 have been met.
Claim 6, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1. Tamura discloses a wireless communication method (Title and Figs. 1-3).
Claim 7, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 2.
Claim 8, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 3.
Claim 9, Tamura discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the communication characteristics analysis comprises analysis of at least one of the following information of the terminal device: a communication cycle, communication time, a domain name used for communication, a slice used for communication, a port number used for communication, or data amount (0060).
Claim 10, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1.
Tamura discloses a wireless communication method, comprising (Title and Figs. 1-3): determining, by a data analysis and management function, a first data analysis identifier and information of a terminal device (0097, UE analytics report AF and information to collect).
Claim 11, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 5.
Claim 12, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 9.
Claim 15, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1. Tamura discloses a terminal device, comprising: a processor (Fig. 5: 330), a memory (Fig. 5: 330) and a transceiver (Fig. 5: 320), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program (Fig. 5: 340 containing programs; 0137); and the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory (0137, processor controls the operations of the UE based on the software stored in the memory), so as to execute the method of claim 1 (intended result – a recitation of what necessarily happens as a result of the structure or actions recited in the claim).
Claim 16, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 6. A request device, comprising: a processor (a computing device, hence a processor), a memory (a computing device memory storing instructions) and a transceiver (network functions, thus transceiver; 0143-0144), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program (0143-0144); and the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory (a computing device, hence processor and memory storing instructions), so as to execute the method of claim 6 (intended result – a recitation of what necessarily happens as a result of the structure or actions recited in the claim).
Claim 17, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 10. A management device (Fig. 2: AF/NWDAF), comprising: a processor (0146, processor), a memory (0146, memory) and a transceiver (0146, communications module sends and receives), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program; and the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory (0146-0147, memory storing instructions), so as to execute the method of claim 10 (intended result – a recitation of what necessarily happens as a result of the structure or actions recited in the claim).
Claim 18, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 1.
Claim 19, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 6.
Claim 20, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 10.
Claim 21, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 2.
Claim 22, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 3.
Claim 23, Claim 23 further limits an alternative of claim 22. Since Tamura discloses link failures, all the limitations of claim 23 have been met.
Claim 24, as analyzed with respect to the limitations as discussed in claim 9.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 11438788 B2 - The present disclosure is related to wireless telecommunications networks and in particular to measuring and determining performance of a wireless telecommunications network. The network may be a cellular network, a WiFi network, or a combination of both. The present disclosure is further directed to a method for determining a parameter indicating quality of service for a wireless connection. In the method, changes in latency over a connection are measured using probe packets and if an increase of latency that is over a predetermined relative threshold is observed, the wireless connection is determined to be congested.
US 20200112868 A1 – A method of configuring a telecommunications network comprising the steps of collecting analytics data from a network (NAD) and analytics data (TAD) from at least one User Equipment (UE), analyzing said NAD and TAD and configuring at least one network feature according to the NAD and the TAD.
Conclusion
/Mehmood B. Khan/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468