DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seki (US 20200219791 A1).
As to claim 1, Seki discloses: An electronic package (Fig. 3-12), comprising:
a core 11 with a first surface (top) and a second surface (bottom) opposite from the first surface, wherein the core comprises glass (par. 0066);
a channel 41 disposed into the first surface of the core; and
a lid 12 over the channel, wherein the lid seals the channel between a first end and a second end of the channel (lid 12 seals in combination with other sealing materials; Fig. 9A-12; par. 0079-0090), and wherein a first end of the channel (e.g., left) and a second end of the channel (e.g., right) are both hermetically sealed with seals (ends of the channel are sealed by side surfaces 31 and elements 14, 211, 212; see Fig. 3-12), the seals extending from a bottom of the channel to a top of the channel (31, 14, 211, 212 at the right and left sides; all internal surfaces of the channel form a seal for the internal coolant 32).
As to claim 2, Seki discloses: wherein the channel has vertical sidewalls (see sidewalls of cavity 31 in Fig. 3).
As to claim 3, Seki discloses: wherein the channel has sloped sidewalls (90 degree vertical slope sidewalls of cavity 31 in Fig. 3).
As to claim 7, Seki discloses: wherein the seals (31, 14, 211, 212) comprise a buildup film 14 with a metallic layer (metal sputtering, solder 202, copper pipe 211, and/or top portion of 14 which may be an aluminum film; par. 0073-00744, 0082-0083, Fig. 9A-12) over the buildup film.
As to claim 8, Seki discloses: wherein the buildup film has a sloped surface (vertical edge surface of 14).
As to claim 9, Seki discloses: wherein a cooling fluid 32 (par. 0077) is hermetically sealed within the channel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seki (US 20200219791 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Camarda (US 5527588 A).
As to claim 4, Seki does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the channel is triangular shaped.
However, Camarda discloses:
wherein the channel 30 (Fig. 3) is triangular shaped;
in order to provide a micro heat pipe channel with a desired cross-section (col. 1, lines 56-64; col. 3, lines 25-54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Seki as suggested by Camarda, e.g., providing:
wherein the channel is triangular shaped;
in order to provide a micro heat pipe channel with a desired cross-section;
and/or since there is no evidence that the change in shape is significant.
A change in shape, absent persuasive evidence that the change in shape is significant, is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner has addressed the new limitation regarding the seals in claim 1 in the rejection above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB R CRUM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841