DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, Species 2, claims 1-4 and 6-9, in the reply filed on 4/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5 and 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the seal". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether “the seal” refers to the overall hermetic seal or at least one or both of the seals in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seki (US 20200219791 A1).
As to claim 1, Seki discloses: An electronic package (Fig. 3-12), comprising:
a core 11 with a first surface (top) and a second surface (bottom) opposite from the first surface, wherein the core comprises glass (par. 0066);
a channel 41 disposed into the first surface of the core; and
a lid 12 over the channel, wherein the lid seals the channel between a first end and a second end of the channel (lid 12 seals in combination with other sealing materials; Fig. 9A-12; par. 0079-0090).
As to claim 2, Seki discloses: wherein the channel has vertical sidewalls (see sidewalls of cavity 31 in Fig. 3).
As to claim 3, Seki discloses: wherein the channel has sloped sidewalls (90 degree vertical slope sidewalls of cavity 31 in Fig. 3).
As to claim 6, Seki discloses: wherein a first end of the channel (e.g., 61 in Fig. 4) and a second end of the channel (e.g., 62 in Fig. 4) are both hermetically sealed with seals (via 14 and 12, and via 202, 211, 212; see Fig. 9A-12; par. 0079-0090).
As to claim 7 (as best understood), Seki discloses: wherein the seal comprises a buildup film 14 with a metallic layer (metal sputtering, solder 202, copper pipe 211, and/or top portion of 14 which may be an aluminum film; par. 0073-00744, 0082-0083, Fig. 9A-12) over the buildup film.
As to claim 8 (as best understood), Seki discloses: wherein the buildup film has a sloped surface (vertical edge surface of 14).
As to claim 9 (as best understood), Seki discloses: wherein a cooling fluid 32 (par. 0077) is hermetically sealed within the channel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seki (US 20200219791 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Camarda (US 5527588 A).
As to claim 4, Seki does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the channel is triangular shaped.
However, Camarda discloses:
wherein the channel 30 (Fig. 3) is triangular shaped;
in order to provide a micro heat pipe channel with a desired cross-section (col. 1, lines 56-64; col. 3, lines 25-54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Seki as suggested by Camarda, e.g., providing:
wherein the channel is triangular shaped;
in order to provide a micro heat pipe channel with a desired cross-section;
and/or since there is no evidence that the change in shape is significant.
A change in shape, absent persuasive evidence that the change in shape is significant, is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kurtz (US 7987899 B2), Kohama (US 20200402873 A1), Mori (US 20130039010 A1), and Tonosaki (US 20050047090 A1) disclose related prior art in-board heat pipe configurations.
/JACOB R CRUM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835