This office action is in response to the reply filed on 7/28/2026, wherein claims 8-10 were amended. Claims 1-7 and 15-20 remain withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2011-178450.
Regarding claim 8, JP 2011-178450 discloses a corner piece (at 2) capable of being used with a module, comprising: a protrusion (at 56, near the top of 2 in Fig. 7) that extends in a first direction (direction from left to right in Fig. 7 – See also Fig. 4 labeled below) that is perpendicular to a surface from which it extends and in a second direction (See Fig. 4 labeled below) for an entire length of the surface from which it extends and that is configured to engage a groove of a first neighboring corner piece; and a groove (at 57, near the bottom of 2) coupled to the protrusion and configured to engage a protrusion of a second neighboring corner piece that extends in the first direction that is perpendicular to a surface from which it extends, the groove extending in a third direction (direction from right to left in Fig. 7) opposite to the first direction, wherein the protrusion and the groove are capable of preventing separation of neighboring corner pieces in a direction perpendicular to the groove while permitting sliding movement of the neighboring corner pieces relative to one another along the groove such that a module attached to the corner piece is removable from a package by sliding in a direction of the groove.
Regarding claim 9, JP 2011-178450 discloses the protrusion is capable of freely sliding along the groove of the first neighboring corner piece in the second direction.
Regarding claim 10, JP 2011-178450 discloses the groove is capable of constraining movement of the second neighboring corner piece in all direction except along the direction of the groove.
Regarding claim 11, JP 2011-178450 discloses an L-shaped region (cavity between 51/6 in Fig. 5) that accommodates the corner of a frame of the module.
Regarding claim 12, JP 2011-178450 discloses sidewalls (at 51 in Fig. 5) that is capable of restricting movement of the frame.
Regarding claim 13, JP 2011-178450 discloses a ridge (at 6 in Fig. 5) that is capable of restricting movement of the frame.
Regarding claim 14, the device of JP 2011-178450 is capable of accommodating a solar panel module.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, the search has been updated, and new prior art has been identified and applied. Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN A. REYNOLDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735