Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sueoka et al. (US 9,409,702).
Regarding claim 8, Sueoka discloses a corner piece (at 100 in Fig. 5) for a module, comprising: a protrusion (protrusion extending upward from surface 82 in Fig. 5 – See Fig. 5 labeled below) that extends in a first direction (upward direction in Fig. 5 - See Fig. 5 labeled below) that is perpendicular to a surface (surface at 82 in Fig. 5) from which it extends and in a second direction (See Fig. 5 labeled below) for an entire length of the surface from which it extends and that is configured to engage a groove of a first neighboring corner piece (as shown in Fig. 8); and a groove (groove at 80/90 in Fig. 5 - See Fig. 5 labeled below) coupled to the protrusion (the protrusion and groove are considered coupled since they are parts of a single unit 100) and configured to engage a protrusion of a second neighboring corner piece (as shown in Fig. 8) that extends in the first direction that is perpendicular to a surface from which it extends, the groove extending in a third direction (direction extending from top to bottom in Fig. 5) opposite to the first direction.
Regarding claim 9, Sueoka discloses the protrusion is capable of moving along the groove of the first neighboring corner piece in the second direction.
Regarding claim 10, Sueoka discloses the groove is capable of constraining movement of the second neighboring corner piece to the direction of the groove.
Regarding claim 11, Sueoka discloses an L-shaped region (cavity between 12 and 14 in Fig. 5) that accommodates the corner of a frame of the module.
Regarding claim 12, Sueoka discloses sidewalls (at 20 and 18 in Fig. 5) that is capable of restricting movement of the frame.
Regarding claim 13, Sueoka discloses a ridge (at 41 in Fig. 5) that is capable of restricting movement of the frame.
Regarding claim 14, the device of Sueoka is capable of accommodating a solar panel module.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, the search has been updated, and new prior art has been identified and applied. Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/STEVEN A. REYNOLDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735