DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 to 6 still pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102, filed on 7/14/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that those skilled in the art can understand that the voltage magnitude in Somani refers to |v(t)| rather than Vm. However, Somani clearly disclose that voltage magnitude refers to a voltage level (see paragraph [0039], lines 30-33) or a voltage amplitude which is constantly compared with percentages of the nominal voltage in the invention to determine several threshold. Therefore, Somani failing to determine amplitude variation in different switching cycles is not persuasive since voltage amplitude or voltage level/magnitude is determined by Somani.
Regarding arguments of rejection under 35 USC 103, examiner points out that arguments are not persuasive since as mention above Somani anticipates claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Somani US 20180109111 (Somani).
[AltContent: textbox (DCon)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (PMod)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect]
Regarding claim 1, a two-way power conversion device ( for example, see paragraph 35 and 40, Somani discloses that power converter are bi-directional and are used in microgrids application to convert power between a power source and a grid) for inputting or outputting a first AC power (i.e., Somani discloses utility grid terminal 150 connected to the power module output or first AC power for inputting or outputting AC power) (for example see PMod, reference added to Fig. 2 for purpose of explanation), comprising: a power conversion module (i.e., PMod) (Fig. 2) setting the first AC power (for example see PMod output) to be input or output according to a control signal (Somani disclose a controller 200 performing a plurality of sequences that provide the control signal depending on each sequence, for example see abstract); and a digital control module (i.e., see reference added DCon for the purpose of explanation) (Fig. 2), comprising: a phase-locked loop circuit (for example, Somani discloses a first controller configured to perform second sequence comprising a phase lock loop for synchronization to the microgrid voltage and a microgrid frequency, see paragraph 9) electrically connected to the power conversion module (i.e., PMod) (Fig. 2), for detecting the first AC power (Somani discloses a first controller configured to detect the microgrid voltage magnitude/level and a microgrid frequency (for example see step 530 and paragraph [0080]) and further comprising an internal phase locked loop synchronization) (for example see paragraph 23 and 66) to be input or output and generating a real-time voltage signal, having an amplitude component (for example voltage level/magnitude) and an angular velocity component ( for example, Somani discloses a first controller configured to perform a plurality of sequences comprising a phase lock loop for synchronization to the microgrid voltage and a microgrid frequency, see paragraph 9, therefore the PLL disclose by Somani inherently generates voltage amplitude component and frequency or angular velocity component for the synchronization procedure); and a control unit (i.e. 200) (Fig. 1), electrically connected to the power conversion module (i.e., PMod) (Fig. 2) and the phase- locked loop circuit (For example, Somani discloses a first controller configured to perform second sequence comprising a phase lock loop for synchronization to the microgrid voltage and a microgrid frequency, see paragraph 9), setting the control signal according to the amplitude components and at least one amplitude variation obtained in different switching cycles (for example, Somani discloses the use of microgrid voltage level and frequency to provide a control signal, wherein if the microgrid voltage level is greater than a first predetermined voltage threshold and less than a second predetermined voltage threshold the first controller is configured to select a second startup sequence, see paragraph 66); wherein the control unit (i.e., 200) (Fig. 1) calculates said at least one amplitude variation according to the amplitude components obtained in different switching cycles (for example, Somani discloses the first controller configured to select a second startup sequence when the microgrid voltage is greater than a first predetermined voltage threshold and less than a second predetermined voltage threshold. Further the first controller implements a first wait time for waiting unit the microgrid voltage level has reached the first predetermined voltage threshold and start gating of the first power converter to output the first predetermined voltage threshold and closing a first switch 160 that is coupled between the first power converter and the point of common coupling. Somani discloses examples of the wait time or periods being 500 microseconds while using a reference frequency between 15HZ or higher, therefore the amplitude components measurement is obtained in different switching cycles) (for example paragraph 66) and the control signal (for example control signal generated by control unit 200) instructs the power conversion module (i.e., PMod) (Fig. 2) to stop inputting or outputting the first AC power when the control unit (i.e., 200) (Fig. 1) determines that the amplitude component (as mentioned above, for example paragraph 9, Somani discloses a first controller that depending on the comparison between the voltage threshold and microgrid voltage stop inputting or outputting by keeping open or closing the switch 160 for coupling the power converter module to the grid) or said at least one amplitude variation is abnormal.
Regarding claim 2, Somani discloses the control unit (i.e., 200) (Fig. 1) which inspects the amplitude variation of consecutive switching cycles of different switching cycles (Somani discloses, a second sequence wherein the first controller selects a second startup sequence when the microgrid voltage is greater than a first predetermined voltage threshold and less than a second predetermined voltage threshold. Therefore, the control unit 200, more particularly the first controller measure in consecutive switching cycles to verify if the voltage is greater than a first predetermined voltage threshold and less than a second predetermined voltage threshold) (see Fig. 4), and the control unit (i.e., 200) (Fig. 1) determines said at least one amplitude variation is abnormal ( for the purpose of evaluation Examiner interprets abnormal as the voltage that is not nominal for closing of the switch 160 in order to connect the power converter and the microgrid) (see Fig. 4) when the amplitude variations of the consecutive switching cycles are greater than a first threshold value (Somani discloses the first controller selecting a second startup sequence when the microgrid voltage is greater than a first predetermined voltage threshold and less than a second predetermined voltage threshold) (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Somani discloses the control unit (i.e., 200) (Fig. 1) determines the amplitude variation of consecutive switching cycles of the difference switching cycles (Somani discloses, a second sequence wherein the first controller selecting a second startup sequence when the microgrid voltage is greater than a first predetermined voltage threshold and less than a second predetermined voltage threshold. Therefore, the control unit 200, more particularly the first controller measure in consecutive switching cycles to verify if the voltage is greater than a first predetermined voltage threshold and less than a second predetermined voltage threshold) (see Fig. 4), and the control unit (i.e., 200) (Fig. 1) determines said at least one amplitude variation is abnormal ( for the purpose of evaluation Examiner interprets abnormal as the voltage that is not nominal for closing the switch 160 in order to connect the power converter and the microgrid) (see Fig. 4) when the amplitude variations of the consecutive switching cycles are not greater than a second threshold value (Somani discloses the first controller selecting a second start up sequence when the microgrid voltage is greater than a first predetermined voltage threshold and less than a second predetermined voltage threshold) (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Somani discloses the power conversion module (i.e., PMod) (Fig. 2) draws the first AC power to a device under test (i.e., Load, Grid or voltage source) (Fig. 1) through an output terminal (for example see PMod output terminal connected to utility terminal 150), or supplies the first AC power to the device under test through the output terminal
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somani US 20180109111 (Somani) in view of Akama US Patent 8411397 (Akama).
Regarding claim 4, Somani , as applied in linking claims, disclose the claimed invention but fails to disclose the control signal indicating a duty ratio of the power conversion module, the control unit sets the control signal to instruct the power conversion module to stop inputting or outputting the first AC power when the control unit determines that the duty ratio is greater than a third threshold value.
However, Akama in the same field of endeavor, discloses a controller (i.e., 1A) (Fig. 1) a control signal (for example see detected signal MD outputted by the duty detection circuit in protection circuit 16) (Fig. 5G and column 9, lines 6-18) indicating a duty ratio of the power conversion module, the control unit (i.e., 1A) (Fig. 1) sets the control signal (i.e., detected signal MD) (Fig. 5G) to instruct the power conversion module to stop inputting or outputting the first AC power when the control unit determines that the duty ratio (for example MD) (see column 9 lines 6-18) is greater than a third threshold value (i.e., H) (for example Akama discloses that when the duty ratio becomes very large, the output of the drive pulse is stopped, see column 8, lines 1-3. More particularly, Akama discloses When the detected signal MD becomes H, the output of the drive pulse OUT that is currently being outputted is immediately turned off-column 9, lines 13-18) for circuit protection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide a the control signal indicating a duty ratio of the power conversion module, the control unit sets the control signal to instruct the power conversion module to stop inputting or outputting the first AC power when the control unit determines that the duty ratio is greater than a third threshold value in Somani, as taught by Akama, in order to protect the circuit.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somani US 20180109111 (Somani) in view of Chen et. al. US Patent 10215784 (Chen).
Regarding claim 5, Somani, as applied in linking claim, disclose the claimed invention but fails to disclose a phase detector of the phase-locked loop circuit performs Park transformation on the real-time voltage signal to obtain the amplitude component and the angular velocity component.
However, Chen in the same field of endeavor, discloses a PLL comprising a phase detector to perform Park transformation on the real-time voltage signal to obtain the amplitude component (i.e., Va) (Fig. 1) and the angular velocity component (i.e., Ө) (Fig. 1) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide a phase detector of the phase-locked loop circuit performs Park transformation (i.e., 2) (Fig. 1) on the real-time voltage signal into Somani, as taught by Chen, in order to obtain the amplitude component and the angular velocity component.
Conclusion
/YAHVEH COMAS TORRES/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838